I guess I shocked them.

We had thick fog here one evening so I went out and took a few photos.

We had thick fog here one evening so I went out and took a few photos.

Nothing much has happened this week, as I guessed. The rain has kept on falling and the sky has stayed steady grey. I did however manage to get both Orvar and Hector in to the shower two nights in a row without a big struggle and a major cleaning of the bathroom and the rest of the cottage. I guess they got so shocked that they didn’t know what to do and I’m pretty sure it won’t happen again in the near future πŸ™‚ They do allow me to shower them in the garden with a hose but it was just too dark out there after work.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

They have been renovating the painting machine at work these two last days and most things works as they should now but it seems the lightning we had this summer may have damaged the main computer in the machine so one or two things still needs to be worked in manual mode. I’m pretty sure that is very expensive to fix so my guess is that we will continue to work that way for quite some time, perhaps even until it is time to scrap this machine. No bright future with other words πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

The wild hogs have been busy in the forest.

The wild hogs have been busy in the forest.

 

I think I’ve told You that the vet station I go to is sold to an animal hospital in a nearby town. I don’t like the place especially much any longer (and I’ve heard the old vet, not so old actually, had a heart attack some days ago. I do hope he’s better now). Back in the days this vet station always have had a laid back attitude, no stress and they have known all of their customers. Now it is a high-efficiency place with much higher prices and they know nothing about anyone. Even to get a recipeΒ for the old boys medicine is a big thing. It was always free before now one has to pay almost $ 15 Us just to get the recipe. Time changes I’m afraid and sometimes I just don’t want to follow if You understand how I mean πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

It is time to give the dogs their food and perhaps something to e as well. Tea of course but perhaps a sandwich or two too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0018

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Showers two days in a row without a struggle. Amazing!

    I like that first photo of the house in the fog. The lights look very bright and the silhouettes are cool.

    It snowed here last night but only a dusting that didn’t stick to the pavements. By morning it had turned to light rain but snow still lay on the grass and leaves. Piki Dog was better about it so Rocky decided to be the prima donna. I guess someone has to be the prima donna. πŸ™‚
    The sun is out now and the front porch is toasty warm. Rocky’s out there.
    It’s about 40ΒΊF outside and that’s pretty much as good as it’s going to get for the next week or so.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 14, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      That will never happen again πŸ™‚ and they didn’t even try to shake all the water off until they came out! Perhaps the greater powers in the universe wanted to givbe me an early Christmas present πŸ™‚ I would have prefered a lottery winning but I guess one has to be happy for what one get πŸ™‚

      Rocky this time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s too warm here for snow and it will stay that way for quite some time they say, I don’t mind πŸ™‚ It’s pretty much the same temperature at night as it is during the day here and very much warmer than normal, between 40F-50F.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

  2. jz

    hi christer! we had our first snow but not much remains on the ground. i love those fog photos. teddy needs a bath but she isn’t about to let anyone give it to her. she is so stubborn. good thing chows don’t smell! joyce

    November 14, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It looks like You’ll get winter before us this year too. Very odd but I won’t complain πŸ™‚

      Orvar and Hector have actually a very pleasant smell, not at all as dogs usually smell. Not even when they are wet but they were muddy because they just refuse to go inside the dog house when itraines and prefered to stay in the mud all day πŸ™‚ Sune and Nova however smells just awful when they are wet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm

  3. I think I will never tire of seeing photos of the forest floor, the stumps and moss and the small ferns, thats a shame the Vet clinic has gone modern, some progress is just a step backward in my opinion,

    November 14, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      We are much the same about that, I love the forest floor.

      There are of course thing that have become better but not many eanough to the bad changes. I must see if I can find a vet that doesn’t work in a big vet station here in this county.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 7:35 am

  4. Hi Christer,
    Those fog pictures are remarkable and beautiful. The light from the windows is the perfect backdrop for the fog.

    Gracie is on her third vet. The first one accused me of pulling so hard on the leash I hurt Gracie’s neck. I was horrified. Gracie never even went for a walk without a harness, not her collar. The vet didn’t believe me. The second left so we’re on number 3. I like her as does Gracie. The problem is always money.The last visit cost me $677.00, and we have to go tomorrow for another heart test, but she is part of my family so I’ll write the check.

    It will be quite cold tonight. Winter is visiting early!

    Have a great evening!

    November 14, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I especially like the first one but I do like them all.

      There were two vets that worked with small animals and two or three that worked with big farm animals. They split it into two businesses and suddenly the young vet we all hoped would take over moved home to his old home town to start working with his father who also is a vet. So I can say that my dogs so far only have met two vets in their entire life. I think I’ll start looking in to the one vet stations nearby my home. Preferable a young vet so that we don’t have to change again before I die πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      This vet station has always been comparebly cheap but now when the animal hospital has taken over the prices has risen rapidly. Normally I’ve rarely paid over $150 but that will from now on just be a sweet memory I’m afraid. But since it is my dogs it’s all about I just smile and pay πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 7:41 am

  5. Oh! I really loved that first photo! Spooky!
    Yep. Vet care can be outrageous and that’s one of the major reasons I doubt I would ever leave my job. I can bring in one of my pets and have the vet look at him and I don’t get charged the $45 exam fee. Also MY vet a lot of the time will just give them a Chiro adjustment as he is talking to me. That runs $35. Although he would only charge a regular person one or the other amount. Yep, with my big fur family I’d be in trouble if I left!

    November 15, 2014 at 1:50 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is a good photo πŸ™‚

      So far I’ve been lucky and rarely have had to pay more than $150 / dog. Well the neutering cost more of course, around $150/ dog. But now prices will rise a lot. I do understand why things cost, the equipment isn’t cheap and they do have to pay the ones working there too. But since the former vet could take less I’m pretty sure the new owners could too.

      There are new rules from the authorities here too about the ones working in a vet station, they all have to be licensed. It doesn’t matter if they are the best animal care takers in the world, if they don’t have a license they are no longer allowed to work as animal care takers!!! Only one had a license in the old days and they were magnificent but now they all need to go back to school so they can get that license. I do hope they all make it, they are just too good not to be allowed to go back.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 7:47 am

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I LOVE the first picture!!! Its incredible! I love fog and to get a good picture in the fog means you must be a great photographer!!!! Well, to tell you the truth, I have no faith in vet’s and their pricing. Our middle dog, Willow, has a nasty cyst on her shoulder that she has had for a year. She keeps scratching it open and it bleeds everywhere. We are worried that this will never go away and a secondary infection might set in. So, she goes for surgery this coming Wednesday. The cheapest price we haggled is going to cost us $900 Canadian dollars. Not sure how much that is in swedish kronors but its just ridiculous. But it has to get done. What a rip off!! All for a 15 minute procedure. Makes my blood boil the prices they charge!! I hope your Saturday is good. We are in a deep freeze. Sadly. 😦

    November 15, 2014 at 5:08 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like that one too. I saw how it looked from my kitchen door window and thought I just had to get a photo of it πŸ™‚ This one however was more or less the camera’s work πŸ™‚

      The old vet had low prices but the new owners only think of big profits like most other big owners do now days. Most big vet stations are now bought by venture capitalists and they normally want their money back in three years. They also tend to push the vets to take unnecessary tests so profits can be even higher.

      The old vet would not come even close to that price You’ll have to pay, half perhaps. But the new regime will take at least that price or even more. A cyst is after all not especially difficult to remove, plenty have been taken from my dogs too πŸ™‚

      Today look just as grey as the rest of the days have this week but it doesn’t look to rain anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 7:54 am

  7. It’s still hitting the 70’s here and beautiful. I agree with Katry. The photo’s of the cottage in the fog are wonderful. Fog, to me is spooky..but it’s cozy too. I love any kind of cool weather. At my age I am delighted to be in a warm climate. I’ve asked my husband why he didn’t return to the cottage he owned in Maine right on the ocean..and he just looked at me and said, “if you ever spent just one Winter there, you would understand!” He never returned to Maine for more than two weeks at a time. We seldom have fog here but just up the coast north..you bet they have it. That is why the giant coastal Redwoods live there..in abundance. Thousands of years old they say.
    You captured a fantastic photo of Bertil!! Isn’t he wonderful? If I ever get another cat..I want one that looks just like him. (fat chance!) πŸ™‚ I have to go back and see what sort of trouble the dogs got into. πŸ™‚ Take care, Christer.
    Mona

    November 15, 2014 at 7:21 am

    • Hi Mona!

      You have our summer temperatures πŸ™‚ I do like that photo too.

      I love fog and I love to walk by the bog on really thick fog that happens too rarely. Real winters here are like they are in Main, just longer and darker πŸ™‚ So I can fully understand Your husband πŸ™‚

      WEW have the fog and rain enough for redwood but the winters are just too long and dark here. They do actually manage to survive along our southern coast line but they grow very, very slow.

      Nast cat but beautiful πŸ™‚ No new problems with the dogs though, they just need their medicine for their joint problems.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

