I have one growing, just in case.

DSC_0001

It’s a grey windy morning but without the fog they had predicted I’m sorry to say. Fog just make any day so much nicer., especially now when it’s autumn and dreary. But I guess it might be too warm for autumn fog, I’m not even sure it was this warm last year at this time and last year was warm. It stays around 7C- 10C (45F- 50F) even during the nights at the moment. Normally it should be just around 0C (32F).Β 

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

 

Last winter killed a lot of my plants and I guess it was because they aren’t used to warm winters. I live on a cold spot so normally it is as cold here during winter as it is in the upper half of this country. Well, I can always get new plants and won’t complain because I like these warm winters and I guess we better get used to them since the climate is getting warmer. Not warm enough for a mango tree in the garden I’m afraid πŸ™‚ I di however have a tiny one growing by my kitchen window just in case πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0009

DSC_0014

 

I also have several passion fruit plants and am hopeful that they will produce at least a few passion fruits next summer. I’ll just plant them towards the south heading wall where the wind won’t reach them and they’ll do the rest. They and the honey bees my neighbor keeps and all the other kind of bees that lives here. All farmers here grow ecological so no pesticides are sprayed and no other poisons are allowed either, that’s why we have so many cats here and all strays that may pass by will find a home in any of the barns they might like. They’ll also be fed besides the mice eating so that they want to stay for as long as they live.

 

I didn't take that many photos this morning but thankfully I have plenty left of those I was supposed to show You during the week.

I didn’t take that many photos this morning but thankfully I have plenty left of those I was supposed to show You during the week.

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

 

I also have a Poinsettia growing there. Do You remember that I bought two last winter and told You that they most likely would die within a few weeks πŸ™‚ One actually survived and is now a rather nice little bush. It is possible to make it flower year after year if one can give it absolute darkness for 14 hours every day in up to six weeks, naturally some flower anyway but never those I’ve had because they normally just die instead πŸ™‚ I think I’ll try to give it that much darkness by just putting it away in a paper bag as soon as I come home from work, even the light from a lamp is said to be too much light.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

It is time for a pot of tea and after that a nap I think, or perhaps I’ll watch a dvd instead.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your weather is warmer than mine. Not fair! πŸ™‚ I woke up during the night and saw that the ground was covered with snow. I had heard a truck that sounded suspiciously like a snow plow or salt truck even earlier but dismissed it as impossible. It was a salt truck. The ground was not covered with snow but it was covered with a very heavy frost. It was mostly gone by dawn, though.

    Minor celebratory event here this morning; Piki Dog finally pooped in the yard. Of course I had to take him almost all the way down to where the wild part starts but it was still on the lawn and still all my yard so it still counts. πŸ™‚

    I wish I could grow a mango on the windowsill. Not enough light gets in through my windows to make that happen. Some day maybe I will put some heat out on the south facing glassed in porch. Then perhaps I can grow more things in the winter. It’s 90ΒΊF out there on a sunny winter’s day but on a winter’s night it’s colder than midnight on Pluto. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    November 15, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Since You live at the same hight as southern France You should have it much warmer than I have it. But I must admit that I do like this warm weather πŸ™‚ You’re actually having our November weather now. I don’t think they even put out salt those days they had predicted for lots of snow here, for once they did the right thing πŸ™‚

      I have To congratulate Piki Dog for taking that big step πŸ™‚ none of my dogs has ever had any problems with that part. They prefer to do it where I walk as most and where it is impossible to see at night πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My mango survives but not much more πŸ™‚ It gets the rising sun light and that window does let in pretty much daylight. The big problem here is that the air is too dry so it gets attacked by pests and the leafs dry out. I’m thinking of letting it live in a see through plastic bag during the dark hours so the humidity will be enough most parts of the day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2014 at 5:22 pm

      • Height isn’t everything. πŸ™‚ Southern France gets the benefit of North Atlantic current and whatever comes up from the Mediterranean. I get Northeasters off the North Atlantic ocean and Montreal Express from Northern Canada and Polar Vortex from North Pole. πŸ™‚

        November 16, 2014 at 3:24 pm

      • Hi Caryn!

        I’m not sure if southern France get much benefit from the North Atlantic current but we up here certainly do. We would have the same climate as Alaska if we didn’t. But the Mediterranean must be a big radiator during winter helping a lot to keep the climate nice and even.

        Yes the polar vortex, my enemy in winter time πŸ™‚ It helps the arctic air to blow down to us way too easy πŸ™‚

        November 16, 2014 at 3:33 pm

  2. I would love a warmer winter ,, enjoy!!! My Mother saved her Poinsettia for many years, she put it in the flower bed in summer then gave it darkness then brought it out, it always flowered, just like magic!

    November 15, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Poinsettias are the Christmas flower number one here so they only sell them this time of year. Unfortunately it’s usually rather cold here by now and they can’t take any cold so most of the poinsettias we buy dies withing two weeks just because they don’t package them properly so no cold air can reach them. So very few even get the chanse of keeping them for another year πŸ™‚

      I’ll se if I can place mine dark or cover it so that it flowers again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 16, 2014 at 8:01 am

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Fog does make for some very nice photos as you always show us, Christer. We have seen some flurries, but no snow here in NH (I will explain about where we are in a separate email). Good luck with getting the poinsettia to realm. While I have bought these plants in previous holiday seasons, but then later stopped as I heard that they were poisonous to pets who might be curious enough to try and eat the leaves and years ago, I had a cat. Now I no longer have a cat and also no poinsettia plant.

    November 16, 2014 at 2:07 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Too bad fog mostly only comes when I must be outv driving in it πŸ™‚

      We’ve only had some flurries too so far and I’m glad it didn’t go as they had predicted, they told us we would get 6 inches of snow that night πŸ™‚

      Yes poinsettias are poisonous but I can promise You that no animal woule try vto eat them because they taste absolutely awful, bitter and it hurts at the same time, I know I tried as a kid πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But to be honest, many of our potted plants are poisonous, we just don’t know it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 16, 2014 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

