Down the memory lane, with puppies.

It isn't the best of photos but I still love it.

It isn’t the best of photos but I still love it.

I rarely walk down memory lane but yesterday I did when I found lots of cd’s with my old photos. There were especially three that I found that made me just sit down and watch over and over again. The first cd had photos from fifteen years ago but they were put on cd ten years ago. The second and third was taken eleven years ago. The quality isn’t too good but I just couldn’t stop looking at them 🙂

 

Hector. He was mostly alone already from the start.

Hector. He was mostly alone already from the start.

He wasn't liked by his sisters or his mother. Orvar has never cared about how anyone is but he liked to play with his sisters so He spent most time with them.

He wasn’t liked by his sisters or his mother. Orvar has never cared about how anyone is but he liked to play with his sisters so He spent most time with them.

Image025_25A

 

Today You’ll see photos from the second and third cd and I think the first photos were taken just days after Orvar, Hector and their two sisters were born. Everything went wrong that time. Their grandmother had puppies five years earlier and that is a story to tell and I will when I show those photographs but everything went as it should. When her daughter Erna was about to give birth to her puppies everything went wrong.

 

The others had loads of fun together ...

The others had loads of fun together …

and Hector spent most time alone.

and Hector spent most time alone.

Image021_21A

 

She had shown signs that she was about to have them but nothing happened. She walked around a little and moaned a little but nothing happened. I did look around to see if I could see some green spots anywhere, because the amniotic fluid from dogs get green when it dries up. I did worry and this was on a Friday evening and I didn’t sleep much that night. The morning after I rang to my vet station and unfortunately only a big animal vet was in and he didn’t care much about dogs and said that nothing sound wrong and so it went on the entire day. On Sunday morning I found the green spot on a white t-shirt that I had given Erna and it was totally dry.

 

Image035_35A

Image036_36A

Image034_34A

 

I called the vet again and he had no wish at all to check on my dog and he refused to call any of the other vets either. He just told me to call the animal hospital in the nearby town Skara. I had done so several times but they had, for the first time ever, closed because of stomach flu. Finally I found a vet that at least could check my Erna, unfortunately she was just a substitute and didn’t have the right equipment but luckily enough one of the ordinary vets at that station came in and checked Erna. It didn’t take five seconds before she started using the phone.

 

Image032_32A

He did try to play with the others sometimes but he just doesn't get how to interact with other dogs. Mostoy it ended with his booth sisters chasing him away. So Hector became my little buddy. His mother wasn't nice to him until after she was eleven years old but his grandma loved him from the first second.

He did try to play with the others sometimes but he just doesn’t get how to interact with other dogs. Mostoy it ended with his booth sisters chasing him away. So Hector became my little buddy. His mother wasn’t nice to him until after she was eleven years old but his grandma loved him from the first second.

Orvar.

Orvar.

 

At first she called the animal hospital and of course got the same answer as me and then she called my vet station. Finally the idiot vet understood that he had made a fool of himself and the vet station, still he claimed it would take half the day before any other vet could come in, which was such a stupid lie since they all lived close to the vet station. She finally found an animal hospital that could help directly, only one thing was a bit bad. It was in a big city 50km (31 miles) away and I had no idea where this animal hospital was placed.

 

Image004_5

Image005_6

Image007_8

 

To make a long story about driving there much shorter I found the place by mistake 🙂 The first they said when she had checked Erna was that they doubted she would survive and it wouldn’t be easy to hand raise puppies but who cares about those petty things 🙂 It didn’t take especially long when they came out and said there were eight puppies, four would  die or was dying and four were just fine. So I decided they should concentrate on the ones that would survive.  They came out with the four healthy ones and one of them was twice as big as the others and it was most likely he who had stopped it all and that dog was Orvar 🙂

 

How fun they all had..

How fun they all had..

Here You see another family member back in the days, the cat Cosmos.

Here You see another family member back in the days, the cat Cosmos.

but Hector sat by himself.

but Hector sat by himself.

 

By the time I could drive home with the puppies ands Erna who had made it through the cesarean it was starting to become dark and the first night with frost was about to start. I hadn’t slept in 48 hours but was strangely awake 🙂 and my brain worked in mysterious ways. I thought for instance that the car was breaking down all the way home and the only thing I could think of was if I would be able to carry both Erna and the puppies all the way home 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Image011_12

Even though Erna probably was one of the worst mothers ever she still didn't allow her Mother Viran, to help out. Viran was the mother of all living things even if all living things didn't want that :-) It wasn't until the puppies were around 8 weeks old that she finally took over no matter what Erna thought of it. She became Hectors best friend.

Even though Erna probably was one of the worst mothers ever she still didn’t allow her Mother Viran, to help out. Viran was the mother of all living things even if all living things didn’t want that 🙂 It wasn’t until the puppies were around 8 weeks old that she finally took over no matter what Erna thought of it. She became Hectors best friend.

Yeah, You get the picture. Hector is alone.

Yeah, You get the picture. Hector is alone.

 

So now I sit here eleven years later with the two surviving puppies that’s left. The two sisters are gone and I can only hope the two brothers still have at least a few years left. I could smell that sort of nice but disgusting breath puppies have of sour milk when I saw these photos again, strange how memories work 🙂

 

Viran.

Viran.

I did worry that Cosmos would leave because of all the tough love he recieved but he just loved playing with them :-)

I did worry that Cosmos would leave because of all the tough love he recieved but he just loved playing with them 🙂

Image020_21

 

Have a great day!

 

Erna was my little girl but to be honest, she was pretty nasty towards other dogs :-) If they didn't recognize her as the queen of the univewrse she simply bit them until they did :-)

Erna was my little girl but to be honest, she was pretty nasty towards other dogs 🙂 If they didn’t recognize her as the queen of the univewrse she simply bit them until they did 🙂

Image025_26

Can You see how much she looks like Nova. She was just twice the size 🙂

 

Image027_28

 

 

By the way! They were so ashamed over how I had been treated by that big animal vet that my vet bills were much lower for quite some time afterwards 🙂

19 responses

  1. Christer,
    These are the best pictures. Watching puppies play is so much fun. They wrestle and chase each other. I’m glad you were able to get Erna to the vets in time to save four puppies and Erna. I know how scary it is when your dog is so sick and might now survive. We all go through that and it is always so painful.

    Fern is the boss in my house. Gracie too doesn’t really like other dogs except for her friend Cody from down the street.

    There is nothing we won’t do for our dogs, our family!

    November 17, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It was so fun looking at all these photos and I do remeber exactly when I took them and what was happeing around us at the time! Strange how memory works really.

      They said she wouldn’t have made it if I had come in one hour later so I’m so glad that vet could find a place at that animal hospital!

      Erna was a truly nasty dog but she was still my little girl 🙂 But even I got angry at her when she behaved like she did towards Hector and I was so glad when Viran finally took over 🙂

      No, we do everything for them, as we should 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 17, 2014 at 7:54 pm

  2. such beautiful dogs,, they truly are part of our families, there is nothing we won’t do for our family,

    November 17, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I can’t see myself living without dogs.

      I remember when my economy hit rock bottom after I had closed my garden center, I always bought my dogs food before I bought any tome just so I knew they wouldn’t suffer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    Those photos are lovely. I was wondering about poor Cosmo in that first shot. He was overwhelmed with puppy. Seems he survived just fine, though.
    I have a “baby book” for my old dog Tegan. It has photos from when she was about 5 weeks old on up to when she was very old. I stuck her ribbons and things from her show days in there, too. It has entries like “first mouse kill” and “first ride on the bus”. Silly but it was fun.
    I didn’t do that for Rocky or Piki Dog. Instead I take photos through the year, starting with the day I adopted them. At the end of a year’s time, I take the best of them and make a photo book online. Rocky’s into Book Six. Piki Dog is still working on Book 1. They’re fun to do, too, and a lot easier to look at than a pile of printed photos or pages of photos on my computer.

    It’s raining here. It was not very cold out today but it felt like it.

    Enjoy the evening.

    November 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I remember wondering for how long he would stay but he just loved to run around playing with them 🙂 He accpeted everything they did to him without even one protest 🙂

      Not a bad idea to have a baby book like that. I have all photos taken with a old camera on cd’s and thumbnails of most photos on the case thry are laying in,just like the ones I get now with my Hasselbald camera. I just save a few now when I can take photos all the time and only inmy computer. I was thinking of ordering paper copies of all the dogs that have lived with me and frame them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That was some story! I am mad at that stupid vet for not doing his proper job….grrrrrr! Poor Hector! All he knows is his own good company – but sometimes that’s ok too. Have a good Tuesday!

    November 17, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I remember the panic I had when I thought the car was breaking down as if it was yesterday and naturally when I thought I was going to lose Erna. This wasn’t planned at all, puppies I mean, that she fixed all by herself with her own brother 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I never had any problems with any vet after that 🙂

      I’ve never understood if he really wants to play with other dogs, he has tried but it never works to be honest (well it did work rather well with Orvar after the two sisters had left but not always).

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 6:19 pm

  5. jz

    oh christer…i teared up while reading this. how precious hector was and is. i love how you love your dogs. you have such a wonderful pack! any dog that lives with you and every cat are the luckiest pets ever!

    November 18, 2014 at 12:10 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      He has always been my buddy 🙂 Thankfully Orvar sort of understands him too now.

      I do love my pack but my pack is not sure about loving me at the moment. Especially Nova is doubtful since I keep dropping medicine in her ear 🙂 and both Orvar and Hector shows they really don’t like me when I give them their medicine 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  6. Bäste Christer! Till slut så hittade jag rätt bland alla hänvisningar och hamnade här – och då trodde jag först att det var något riktigt sorgligt som hänt! Nej!! Men så läste jag allt och då förstod jag att det bara var nostalgin som slagit till – och visst är dom underbart söta valparna. 🙂
    Som sagt så blev jag tydligen aldrig ansluten till “Follow”, vilket jag trodde. Sen har det varit en en del tråkighete (en av mina bästa väninnor dog i “the Big C”), så jag har varken haft lust eller tid att leta ordentligt. Men nu börjar livsglädjen återvända och då saknade jag dina inlägg – och en del andras – så nu är jag på plats igen.
    Jag ska nu – försöka – ansluta mig igen, om inte så hör jag av mig!
    KRAM
    Susie

    November 18, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det var ett tag som inget fungerade bra här på WP, förutom att lägga in bilder i bloggen för det har alltid funkat konstigt nog 🙂

      Jag har också förlorat en av mina bästa vänner till the Big C, det tar sin tid tills man orkar med igen.

      Jo, det var bara nostalgi, något jag väldigt sällan hänger mig åt. Men det var omöjligt att stoppa när jag såg alla valparna 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 6:25 pm

  7. I’m at work reading this and I’m trying not to cry!
    This is probably one of my most favorite posts of yours!
    Please go give Hector an extra hug from me.
    😊
    Cindi

    November 18, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      It was a few tough days but inthe end all worked out fine.

      I’ll give him an extra hug as soon as he stops sleeping 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 6:26 pm

  8. Wendy from NY

    Great pictures, thank goodness for them! I wish I had more pictures of my pets from the distant past, but am making up for it now! Poor little misunderstood Hector! I guess the differences between us are what makes the world go round.

    I get what you mean about remembering the smell of puppy breath. Many years ago I raised a puppy for a leading guiding eyes for the blind foundation. She was with us for eleven months, then went into guide dog training. She graduated with her new blind owner and we never saw her again. Then when she was being retired from service they contacted us to see if we would like to adopt her. When we went to pick her up, she didn’t seem to remember us, but when she got close enough to smell us, she exploded into a greeting frenzy! She remembered! We still had two dogs at home that she grew up with and they all fell back into place with each other as if she had never left. I believe that scent is one of our strongest memories, animals too.

    November 18, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      I am so glad I took these photos. I have more somewhere and I’ll start saving more from those I take now.

      He is sort of autistic or perhaps more like someone with Asbergers syndrome. He just don’t understand how to interact with anything really 🙂

      What an interesting story! I’ve never heard that they do like that here, I think those dogs usually stays ans pets with the blind person they have lived together with. I would have loved to get back a dog that way.

      Yes smells are the best sence when it comes to bring back memories. There are some smells I don’t feel that often but when I do the same memories always turns up again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      • Wendy from NY

        As for the seeing eye dog, when you return the puppies to them for training, they ask you if you might ever want that dog back if for some reason the owner didn’t want/need it any more. I said yes and they made a note of that in the dogs record. I don’t know why this dog came back to them, but when they called me, I didn’t hesitate one minute. Having her remember us so profoundly was heartwarming! Alas, we only had her for another eighteen months when cancer took her from us.

        I did know of one blind person who fell and hit her head so badly it caused brain damage and she could no longer use her guide dog. A tragic event for her parents who were trying to help her become as independent as possible.

        The guide dog foundation had a waiting list of people who wanted to adopt their rejected or retired dogs, at quite a cost also! Who wouldn’t want a fully trained, well-exposed dog?

        November 19, 2014 at 1:28 am

      • I don’t think they do like that here but what a great idea!! I wouldn’t hesitate for a second either 🙂 Too bad about the cancer!

        Of course lots of people would like a dog like that. Here that dog would be destroyed within minutes and become just as wild as my other dogs 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Christer.

        November 19, 2014 at 6:42 pm

  9. Wendy from NY

    🙂

    November 20, 2014 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

