Are You tired of puppies yet?

This one was also called Orvar and he's Orvar and Hectors uncle. He was the biggest of them all and I think he actually was a bit bigger than my Orvar who is 5 feet high when he stands on his hind legs.

This one was also called Orvar and he’s Orvar and Hector’s uncle. He was the biggest of them all and I think he actually was a bit bigger than my Orvar who is 5 feet high when he stands on his hind legs.

Are You tired of Puppies yet? Because I also found the photos from the first bunch fifteen years ago. That experience was totally different but oh so scary anyway. You know how it is when they show this on tv, the bitch is just lying there, says a weak humph and there the puppy is. Well, Viran was nothing like that. For one thing she just couldn’t stay calm at all but walked or ran around already in the early morning. Then around 2pm she started to howl and she didn’t do it quietly πŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure about this behaviour so I called the vet. I took a look at her when he answered and screamed in his ears, she’s standing outside and it just pours out of her, has the water broken now?

 

You'll also see some photos that show the surroundings where I lived back then. I lived in a cottage with cold water and a compost toilet. I did have electricity though :-)

You’ll also see some photos that show the surroundings where I lived back then. I lived in a cottage with cold water and a compost toilet. I did have electricity though πŸ™‚

Image002_3

Image003_4

 

My vet, who is a very calm man then said, she’s outside You say? Are You sure she isn’t peeing? Of course she was πŸ™‚ She doesn’t howl especially loud either he said. Why don’t You just take a long walk with Your other dog? Viran will take care of this herself You know. I did try to take a walk with my other dog, Sickan, but ViranΒ refused to stay at home by herself. Taking a walk did at least quiet her down some but not much πŸ™‚ Β Around 6 pm the howling stopped and the, for a better word, screaming started and now she really ran around the entire cottage. I called the vet and he just calmly said, I’ve heard worse. Just leave her alone, why don’t You take a walk? I didn’t πŸ™‚

 

Image004_5

There are root cellars everywhere in that area and I guess anyone can use them if they fix the doors.

There are root cellars everywhere in that area and I guess anyone can use them if they fix the doors.

Image006_7

 

The screaming continued constantly and I’ve always wondered what my neighbors might have thought about it because she could be heard all over the area despite all the doors and windows being closed. At 8pm she also started moaning and that together with the screaming pushed me to what I could take. I called the vet and I could hear that he either was at a party or had guests at home πŸ™‚ I think he by then had understood that taking a walk was out of the question so he told me to perhaps read a book or try to rest before it started and yes he had heard much worse πŸ™‚

 

Image007_8

Image008_9

I had a huge lawn at that cottage.

I had a huge lawn at that cottage. The red in the background is my root cellar I wish I had it today.

 

I was thinking of calling him again around ten that night but since nothing much had happened since the last time I thought it was no idea. Viran had now started to make her bed with such frenzy that nothing was in one piece any longer πŸ™‚ My other dog refused to come close to either of us, she just jumped up into my bed and fell asleep πŸ™‚ At Β pm I remembered that I had read in a book that she most likely would like some help from me so I started to prepare with cloths and handkerchiefs. At 11:30 the screaming was so loud that I felt I was going insane πŸ™‚ So I called the vet again and said that I had never read that anything like this was supposed to happen. Then he said something very smart, don’t read those books, they have very little to do with how it can be and they just make You worried when You read them but I can hear it’s close now.

 

Image011_12

I remember taking this photo and how I was thinking that I never would see them this calm again :-)

I remember taking this photo and how I was thinking that I never would see them this calm again πŸ™‚ The brownish dog is Sickan. She was a mix between two swedish hunting dogs and Golden Retriever. She loved to follow tracks but never cared about chasing any animals.

Image013_14

 

He was right, her behaviour had changed to even worse so I came closer to her with a big handkerchief. Viran was one of the kindest animals I’ve ever met so her reaction was nothing I had expected. She threw herself towards one of corners in the kitchen and pressed her back towards it and showed me all! her teeth πŸ™‚ and at the same time she screamed and moaned also growled towards me and it sounded like that growl came from hell itself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So there shes stood at one corner of the kitchen screaming like insane and I sat at the opposite corner screaming like insane too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Image014_15

This is Albert. He had semi long hair that was sort of wiry.

 

Image016_17

Sickan and Erna never liked each other. Once every year they had this huge fight about who would be the leader and even if Sickan was much smaller she always won. I never interfered, I just took them to the vet if they needed it. After each fight they accepted each other and stayed calm for one year.

Sickan and Erna never liked each other. Once every year they had this huge fight about who would be the leader and even if Sickan was much smaller she always won. I never interfered, I just took them to the vet if they needed it. After each fight they accepted each other and stayed calm for one year.

 

At 00:00 she suddenly got totally quiet and pushed for all she was worth and pressed out two puppies at the same time, well one might have come a second before the other but I wasn’t really that close so I could see it πŸ™‚ She looked at me and sighed loudly and then she sat right down on the puppies πŸ™‚ I had to lift her up to be able to reach them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Besides looking for the placenta she really didn’t care much about them. It was the biggest and smallest puppies that was born first. After that it all happened fast, one after another popped out without too much work for her.

 

Image018_19

Too bad this is a bad photo. This is Maxi (his name when he lived with me was the Norwegian Γ–iwind :-) ). He was the father of Orvar and Hector.

Too bad this is a bad photo. This is Maxi (his name when he lived with me was the Norwegian Γ–iwind πŸ™‚ ). He was the father of Orvar and Hector.

Image021_22

 

Six puppies were born before 1 am that night and even if ViranΒ didn’t show much interest in them at the beginning she became the best of all mothers for them. Things finally calmed down after around two hours and my other dog and I was falling asleep in a sofa beside the kitchen. Just before I fell asleep I hear a tiny bump in the kitchen so I went up to see what it was. Viran looked just as surprised as I felt when we saw a seventh puppy on the floor πŸ™‚ It was rather tiny and looked a bit different from the other ones. Greyish and it looked to have long hair too. I didn’t think it was alive but dried it and shook it and suddenly he started to breathe. He became one of the biggest of them as adult and he also became the father of Orvar and Hector. Too bad that their mother was their father’s sister πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Image022_23

Image023_24

 

Viran was the smartest dog I’ve ever met and the most funny one too. Have You read about Marley, the worlds worst dog? Let me tell You that Viran was just the same πŸ™‚ She destroyed three refrigerators in her life, one garage door and managed to open up a door that we humans had big troubles to open up. There’s a man who still remember ( even though it is over thirteen years ago) when he saw my then three dogs running around on the streets in a big city because of that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can tell You so many stories about that dog and maybe I’ll do one day.

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. kmac22

    Oh my goodness! I don’t know what I would have done with all that moaning and screaming! I would not have been prepared for that! What a story!

    November 18, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    • Hi kmac22!

      II have to admit that it was one of the worst moments I’ve had in my life, well it was much worse when Erna almost died of course. I did learn that never to trust that boos tell the entire story πŸ™‚

      Have a grewat day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 9:09 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Those look like large puppies. No wonder she screamed.
    The screaming would have had me carting the dog to the vet, party or no party. Let him deal with it right there in front of his guests. πŸ™‚
    I have no experience with attending puppy births. Only kitten births. That went very well and the cat Liantha took care of everything. She didn’t scream either. She did do the same as Viran and popped out another kitten 10 hours after she had had the first three. I was not surprised. I just knew she was having four. He was small and I had to pull the big guys off nipples just so he could get some milk. I kept him and he grew very large but not as large as his father.

    Does Γ–iwind mean something?

    It’s sunny, windy and cold today. The morning was mostly cloudy. I wore my winter down parka to walk the dogs. I wanted to get some pictures so I walked them up by the church figuring they would do their thing while I did mine. In his perverse fashion, Piki Dog refused to do his business until I had walked him back to the house and down to back of the yard. Another one that turns everything to the dark side. :/ πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the memories and the rest of the day.

    November 18, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I didn’t know what Γ–ivind mean back then but now I’ve learned that it most likely means lucky warrior. I found the meaning on a Norwegian website that explains what names means. The lucky part was uncertain but it seems to origin from an old Islandic name.

      They were quite big, Especially Orvar πŸ™‚ Viran looked like a ballon before they all popped out πŸ™‚

      If I had known where he was I would have driven to him πŸ™‚ But I must admit that I trust that vet totally so I just did what he said to me πŸ™‚ That day was horrible but so fun to remember πŸ™‚ I would gladely have swapped to s calm kitty birth πŸ™‚

      How strange that it still lived, after all ten hours is a lot! I was surprised Γ–ivind (later Maxi since they felt it was a too odd name πŸ™‚ )

      Some people can’t make their dogs poop in their own property, You don’t have that problem πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I hope at least You did get some nice photos.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  3. that first big pup must have blazed the trail for the others, I have never heard a dog make that sort of commotion but she must have been a very vocal dog, lol,,,, they are beautiful dogs, that vet sounded very relaxed about the whole situation, you on the other hand sounded like a very nervous expectant father, and with her screaming that way I fully understand!

    November 18, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I have always wondered if it was because there were two puppies on the way she behaved like she did. That must have hurt like h…
      The fun thing is that she almost never made a sound otherwise, she rarely barked at all πŸ™‚

      I trust that vet totally and if he says something is like it should I believe him even if I at that time thought she would drive both me and herself insane πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I decided there and then that I never would have puppies again but Virans daughter didn’t care aboiut that promise πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 9:23 pm

  4. jz

    i will never get tired of puppy pics or stories! they are all so cute! close by a great dane gave birth to 19 puppies. i saw it on the mornings news.

    November 18, 2014 at 8:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      You are soo right, it is impossible to get tired of puppy photos πŸ™‚

      I thought seven was way too many πŸ™‚ 19!!! Poor dog and poor owners πŸ™‚

      It is so fun to have puppies but oh so tiering πŸ™‚ They never sleep and they can break through any obsticle they want too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 18, 2014 at 9:25 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! This is probably the funniest post by you that I have read! Poor you and poor Viran!!! We had a husky that had her labour almost just like that – but she wound up at the vet to have a cesarean, she just couldn’t deliver the big pups. I bet you were exhausted after that! Keep those photos coming, never tire of puppies! πŸ™‚ Have a good Wednesday!

    November 19, 2014 at 12:16 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I always laugh when I think back n thsi day but at the momenbt it was horrible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Viran was a rather biog dog heself and the puppies father was a bit smaller so I never thought any of the puppies would be that big. But Viran’s father was a huge New Foundland so I guess Orvar took after him. Viran weighed 45kg and was the smallest one amongst her siblings πŸ™‚

      Cesarean is not especially nice, Erna didn’t understand what those puppies might be and she never really liked to have them around πŸ™‚

      I know I have lots more photos of my puppies, I’ll just have to find those cd’s πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:39 pm

  6. Christer,
    Who could ever get tired of puppies? They are the cutest. The picture of all the dogs on the grass is my favorite.

    I loved the back story on all your dogs. Seeing the brown one was quite a surprise. None of his puppies carried that color on.

    Puppies grow so fast we have to cuddle when we have them!!

    Hope your day is a good one.

    November 19, 2014 at 3:30 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’t get tired of puppies πŸ™‚

      I miss that garden, it was several climate zones better even if it isn’t far away at all and the garden was huge. Not to forget that root cellar, it was just perfect!

      The brown dog isn’t related to the puppies at all. She was my first dog and became a much better dog than I deserved πŸ™‚ I did all beginner mistakes with her and still she was just perfect πŸ™‚

      Theyb grow way too fast! But I have to admit that it was kind of nice when all that should move had moved, for the first time in many weeks I finally could sleep an entire night πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:45 pm

  7. Wendy from NY

    Wow, what a story! Did you ever have a dog that had puppies again after all that? I would never breed my dog again! Poor dog! The puppy pictures are beautiful, you have been a good photographer for a long time! They looked like pure bred Labs when they were small, except for the occasional white spot or two.

    Oh, I HAVE to ask, what are all those small white flowers? And the field of yellow flowers that look like some kind of thistle?

    That root cellar reminds me of one that our neighborhood kids used to sleigh ride past, when I was a kid, in the middle of the woods, AT NIGHT! The door way darker than everything else, very scary stuff. Not sure I could go into one now…creepy!

    November 20, 2014 at 12:26 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      Yes because this was the firstone, that was planned. The other one I wrote about was very unplanned πŸ™‚

      Those white flowers are White Wood Anemone, Anemone nemorosa. You should see in spring how they cover huge areas and it is most peoples favorite wild flower and a terrible weed πŸ™‚ I have a few garden varieties I hope I can show next spring but I also have the wild one and a close relative called Yellow Wood Anemone.

      They do look scary and I’m pretyy sure trolls live in them πŸ™‚ Our trolls are nice and look very human but with long tails πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  8. OMG. This story definitely makes me never want to breed any puppies! Not that I was planning to but now NO WAY!
    Still, I LOVED seeing these old photos. πŸ˜€
    I especially like the photo showing Sickan. I do love Goldens (and mixes of Goldens.)
    I love seeing where Hector and Orvar came from! πŸ˜‰

    November 20, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I did decide never to have puppies again but Erna thought otherwise πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My sweet little Sickan! She was an amazing dog despite me making all beginners mistakes on her πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ She looked like a golden puppy until she was ten years old and she got away with lots of things because everyone thought she was a puppy πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 21, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Leave a Reply

