They don’t like it but they do it.

No more puppy photos but I hope Bertil is a good replacement.

No more puppy photos but I hope Bertil is a good replacement.

The fire is burning in the stove again, it didn’t last evening because the chimney sweeper came here today and I never have a fire in the stove the day before that person arrives. They don’t vacuum hot ashes, which is fully understandable and I only had a plastic bucket to spare for ashes. Not a good thing if the ashes still is hot πŸ™‚ I normally never stay at home when they come here, instead I leave the doors unlocked. I would never do that if I lived in a village or town but no one finds this place even if they have a map or follows the directions from a GPS πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

It seems as if the panic Orvar and Hector always had when I tried to get them in to the shower is gone now. They won’t go in there willingly and they try to refuse for a while but it is actually possible to shower them indoors now πŸ™‚ So much easier now in winter since it is pitch black outdoors and trying to hold a flash light at the same time I must hold a dog and shower it at the same time is a bit tricky πŸ™‚ I have to clean the entire bathroom after they have been in there, oh the joy of having big dirty dogs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

 

WeΒ might get frost this weekend so I’ll load my Hasselblad camera with film and hope for the best. It would be nice to get some frost photos with that camera or some fog photos but it lately we’ve only had fog when it is a work day and we haven’t had much frost at all to be honest. Winter will come but I already have one roll of film waiting to be shipped to be processed. It would also be fun to get some photos with sunlight in them, I can’t remember when I saw the sun shine the last time πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

 

Talking about photos! I must find a Yule card photo now! I thought I had lots of time to do that but now I’m a bitΒ late. I would like a fun photo but I’ll take what I can get since I have so little time left to do it. It will most likely not be taken with the Hasselblad camera though πŸ™‚ I can’t even pretend those photos are good enough yet πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well. Tomorrow’s Friday and a short working day and I was thinking I would look through all the old photos to see if I should post any here.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jz

    i am always happy to see bertil! just north of here by 3 hours they have 9 feet of snow. i used to live there and i know those snows only too well. but it is going to warm up this weekend so they will be getting rain. then they are going to really have problems. we still have only had flurries and a little bit on the ground.

    November 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Most of You are πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We have all been following that light snow fall via our newspapers here πŸ™‚ So incredible lots of snow πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But as You say, they will get terrible problems when the rain comes!

      We had even less than what You had but I can’t say I miss it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

  2. I can’t see you having any problems choosing a photo with the amazing selection you have!

    November 20, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Well, the problem is that I delete almost all photos after posting them here in my blog πŸ™‚ So I must take a few more and hopefully find one I like.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    I get suspicious when dogs suddenly start complying. They are planning something and we probably won’t like whatever it is. πŸ™‚

    I ordered a few Christmas cards for a special thing that I am involved in right now. I’ll have to come up with some other design for regular Christmas cards pretty soon, though. There are a few that I’ve considered but I’m not overly thrilled with any of them.

    The beavers are still around, apparently. That’s good.

    Today is relatively warm. 47ΒΊF as compared to yesterday’s 20ΒΊF with a nasty wind chill. The wind is blowing but not like yesterday and the sun is shining brightly. That makes everything feel much warmer. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    November 20, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m afraid You’re right πŸ™‚

      It is getting a bit close now for cards that will travel to Your side of the ocean. This time I won’t use the mailbox in the village where I work though, too many of those never reach their destination πŸ™‚

      They were last weekend anyway and I hope they’ll let them stay until they move in the the nature reserve, it’s just a few hundred yards until they do.

      It’s around 35-37 here but it will drop to just below 32 at night this weekend they say and if it does it will most likely drop a bit more here in little Siberia πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 20, 2014 at 8:51 pm

  4. Hi Christer –
    The forest around your cottage is looking very wintery & bare now. All that’s missing is a dusting of snow. Have the deer been coming up looking to be feed yet or are they in hiding from the hunters? The big blizzard warnings we had last week, as usual, did not appear as the weather know-nothings predicted. I am so tired of weather being hyped so people get panicky and rush out to buy snow tires, food supplies & things they would never spend money on otherwise. The weather reporters don’t ever mention how wrong they were in their predictions or that they scared the schools so much that they closed most of the schools for nothing. Parents were ticked because there were already 2 days that weeks that their kids had school off & now they had a 3rd day to find child care or missed work. I still think they would have better predictions if they just looked in a crystal ball. At least more entertaining.
    Glad to hear the dogs are not opposed to showering indoors. You would thinkv they would love being able to have some warmer water to bath in, rather than icy garden hose water. It sounds like laying out some plastic tarps covered by a few old towels might be one way of keeping the mess down. I really enjoyed seeing the puppy photos & hearing about Viran & Erma. They sure had different temperment for mother & daughter. Poor Hector with his mother rejecting him. I was so glad to hear his grandmother was finally allowed to give him some love & attention. You can see in his eyes he was not quite right. Did he have a hard time adjusting when Viran died? It is good that you can give him as much attention as he needs to adjust & have a good life.
    I understand your urgency to find a good photo for your Yule cards. I cannot believe how fast time is flying and that Thanksgiving is next week already and then just 4 weeks until Christmas. I really want to send out cards this year since I have gotten lazy and did nothing the past couple of years. Could you please send me your mailing address & let me know how long it might take to reach you. I know a lot of people now send out cards at New Year, but I still like mine to arrive before Yule. Are you going to put up a Yule tree & light again this year? Your decorating looked great last year. I am hoping to find the energy to put my tree up as usual. I think my decorating will be fairly minimal since I run out of oxygen & energy pretty quick these days. I figure if I can get the tree up & then put the ornaments on a little bit every day that should work OK. I want to get a fresh pine wreath & some greenery to decorate the fireplace mantel. I was thinking of using fresh fruits like pineapple, oranges & apples or pomegranates to decorate on top of the greenery & place votive candles to burn at night. I did this many years ago & I loved how it looked & smelled. I am saving all my citrus peels to let them dry out. When they are good & dry I like to throw a handful into the fire & it smells amazing. Putting the peels in a low oven does a good job of removing any moisture. I also like to put dried orange peel in the coffee maker to brew with the coffee. I love the smells at Christmastime – all the spices, Christmas cookies baking, the special blends of coffee that are only available at this time of year. These scents bring back the best memories of when I was a kid at this time of year. I once read that it is our sense of smell that most often triggers our memories because each time we smell a different smell our memory has to recall when we last smelled that same scent & where we were when it happened. They even know that people who lose their olfactory senses also lose a good part of their ability to recall their memories.
    Toby is still managing & when the vet increased her pain med. & gave her another injection of anti-inflammatory it improved her comfort a lot. She has been eating on her own for the past few weeks so that is an improvement. She does hate when I have to inject her pain medicine a couple of times a day, but I don’t blame her for that. It is hard to find much muscle or tissue on her back legs, so I try to rotate sides & do it as quickly as possible. I am lucky animals don’t hold a grudge & I am forgiven immediately. Last week she started sleeping in bed with me for the first time in months so I hope that is a sign she is feeling more like herself & in much less pain. Once she started eating better the cancer seems to have slowed down, but I don’t fool myself that she is getting better. I never thought she would still be here with me, so I count every good day with her as a gift.
    Hope you have a good weekend.

    Hope you have a good weekend. I’m sure you’ll find the perfect photo for your Yule card.

    November 20, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      It’s closing in towards winter now but it doesn’t look as if we are even close to any snow. It will be a bit colder tomorrow but already on Sunbday it will be warmer again, all the weather sites seems to agree on that. But we all know how great they are on predicting the weather πŸ™‚ They have actually aplologised here for their bad predictions and promised to become better, so far no luck in that though πŸ™‚ We must however have snow or winter tires as we call them from December 1st.

      I am trying to find a nice little tree but so far no luck. The ones I’ve seen haven’t been good enough and I have no tree that I can dig up in my garden either.
      Yes take a little at a time. I usually like it best with just a few red yulebabubles and some glitter in the tree but then I see some trees that are so decorated it is hard to see the tree at all but still look amazing πŸ™‚

      It is quite popular to decorate with apples and oranges here and I too use the orange peel but I have it in my tea and I also add some cinnamon and cardamom to it πŸ™‚ I don’t put cloves in oranges any longer though, the oranges only starts to mold and it isn’t nice with a furry green thing hanging in the windows πŸ™‚

      Hector has never understood how to interact with anyone really πŸ™‚ Old Viran understood him and I do but it was sad to see him as a puppy always by himself. He did take it hard when Viran was gone and it toolk quite some time to make him happy again. He and I have our rituals that we need to do every day at around the same time too πŸ™‚ and Orvar became a good friend to him too even if I don’Γ€t think he really understand his brother at all πŸ™‚

      I’m glad Toby feel better with the help of her medicines. I think also that she feel better since she has returned to the bed again, she wouldn’t do that otherwise. It is lucky for us that animals rarely holds a gruge on us πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 21, 2014 at 3:21 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I think your Yule photo should be the orange mushrooms! πŸ™‚ That would be my first choice! πŸ™‚ None of our dogs like the shower or the tub, but its a necessary evil to be sure. Especially if there is muddy paws or a roll in something muddy. Never easy to lift them in either. We have been in the throes of winter for a week and a half. This morning our wind chill was -25 celcius. And its only November!!!! The department I work for in the hospital bought me a SAD light. I call it my happy light. We shall see if it changes anything at all during the long, dark winter months. It was nice of them to do that for me though! πŸ™‚ Have a good short Friday!

    November 21, 2014 at 3:29 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      πŸ™‚ It must be a photo I’ve never shown anyone before. My favorite one through all times shows the inside of a street car πŸ™‚

      I do put out old towels and I run out with them before they get a chanse to shake all that water of from their fur πŸ™‚ Still, my bathroom is a mess after they have showered πŸ™‚

      No winter in sight here even if we might get some frost tomorrow morning. It’s just grey and dark all the time so I would need that SAD light too. I’m hoping I’ll win one in a advent calendar lottery I’m in, the grand prize is a SAD light πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 21, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

