Something is burning my eyes.

DSC_0001

I used ISO 4000 to be able to get any photos. That’s why some might look a bit gravely.

Something is very wrong and nothing prepared me for this! The sun is shining! They didn’t predict this at all, on the contrary, so now I think I need to go to my car to get my sunglasses 🙂 I had to hang a big towel to cover the window in the kitchen door since it was impossible to see what I was writing on my laptop 🙂 and I couldn’t see much og the photos I took this morning either before the towel came up 🙂 I am however very pleased with this weather and I better enjoy it because a new low pressure is waiting to fly over my country and we might even get some snow tonight but that will melt away long before I wake up.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

It got slightly cold during the night since the sky cleared up and as lowest it hit -3C (26,6F) but with the help of the sun it now is balmy 3C (37,4F) 🙂 But it wasn’t cold long enough to make any frost even if we had really thick fog. It started think and by the time we came out for our morning walk it thinned out a lot but suddenly even thicker fog rolled in over the fields again. Too bad that it is hunting day today because it also looked as if it was very thick in the forest and by the bog. Of course no hunter went out hunting in the fog, they wouldn’t have seen anything anyway but fog can vanish fast and if it does they’ll go out and that’s not a good time to wander around out there 🙂

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

The fog was still around when we came home after our walk so I left the dogs in the cottage and went out for a walk, the exact same one I’ve just walked, with my Hasselblad camera. I did exactly what the light meter told me when I took the previous roll of film but today I under exposed some photos and used the telephoto lens all the time. For You not familiar with under expose means it means I made the photos slightly darker by letting the shutter work a bit faster than what the light meter told me. It might work really good but can also be a total failure by making the photos almost totally black 🙂

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

As many of You know we Swedes don’t say that winter (or any other season) starts at a special month, we go only on average temperature. We say summer begins when the average temperature is above 10C (50F) for an entire week (winter is when the temperature is below 0C (32F) during a week) . But I would like to say that even if we actually still is on summer and autumn temperatures here in southern Sweden winter started this weekend because so did the cross-country ski world cup and the ski biathlon world cup. From now on that will be shown on tv as soon as someone thinks about skiing 🙂

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I emptied the big water barrels I have in my garden yesterday and brought in the gold fishes and the koi carps. One koi was dead but all the others were just fine. The water smelled nasty but it is after all more or less aquarium water since the fish have lived there since spring. I had planned to have them in a plastic bucket all night so they slowly could adjust to the temperature here in the cottage but I hadn’t noticed the thin crack in the bottom of the bucket but I did when I walked in the water that had leaked out on the bathroom floor, so they had to move in a bit earlier than I had hoped. But they all looked fine this morning so I hope they all feel fine too.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and then a walk, hopefully in the forest. The hunters are usually not that patient so they should be out of there before 1pm. But they did bring a dog today and I guess they all might stay out there until it has returned to its owner. It has been very quiet though so I doubt it has been running around especially much before they gave up.

 

Growing in my hedge.

Growing in my hedge.

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your hedge mushrooms are so cute. 🙂

    ISO 4000. Was there ever a film that went to 4000 that normal people could buy? I don’t know. Fastest film I ever used was 1000. My results were so-so.
    I love the photo of the dogs running in the… Fog? Dark? They look like The Wolfen. 🙂 A good book, by the way, but maybe not so good a movie.

    The boys and I went out for our walk about an hour ago, just after sunrise. It was cold. I’m glad I didn’t look at the temperature before we went out because I would have been discouraged. It was 20ºF which would be a reasonably normal day in January but is bitter cold now. Temperature is relative to how long one has been walking around in it, I guess. I’m not used to winter cold. The dogs were not in a hurry to do their business. They only wanted to eat dry grass and squirrel/rabbit poop. Especially Piki Dog. Argh!

    The sun is out here, too, and the temperature has come up a few degrees. It’s supposed to get warmer as the weekend goes on and it’s going to be in the mid-60’s F by Monday and 50’s by Tuesday. Then it’s going to snow on Wednesday. Of course, it’s the day before the holiday. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    November 22, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    • Hi Caren!

      One could say they are deadly cute 🙂 If I’m right it is one of the most poisonous mushrooms we have here 🙂

      I have seen one fil with ISO 2000 but never used any faster than 800 myself. Those photos got rather gravely and I never went higher than 400 after that.

      I think we can say they ran through dark fog 🙂 I do remember that book and I also remember liking it a lot! I can’t have been much older than fifteen and I haven’t read it again. I didn’t know they had made a movie from it! I guess that if they can write a good manuscript and with todays special effects it could be rather good but I guess that movie is pretty old now too.

      I don’t mind low temperatures if the wind doesn’t blow. This morning was rather nice just because of that. February is our coldest month and it isn’t unusual that the temperature drops to -22F for a week or two. That can go on in to March if we’re unlucky 🙂 Deer poop is the big thing here unless they can find wild hog poop but they know I’ll get insane if they try to eat that or even worse roll around in it 🙂 🙂

      We’ve had a just wonderful day here, not warm but sunny and wind free. I hope they are wrong about tomorrow too so we’ll get another day like this again 🙂 It will turn towards warmer here again during the week and thankfully no snow is predicted 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

      • The Wolfen film was okay but the big deal about it was that they had developed a film camera carriage that was very low to the ground so they could shoot scenes from the wolf point of view. I think they also put some infrared type stuff in the night scenes. It was novel. The book was really good.

        There is deer poop out there as well. When Piki Dog finds it, he rolls and rolls until his white fur is quite yucky yellow brown. Rocky is not interested in deer poop. Fox poop, on the other hand, is like cat nip for both of them.
        They should know by now that enthusiastic poop rolling always results in a visit to the evil bathtub monster but they fail to learn.

        November 22, 2014 at 5:42 pm

      • I always saw the wolvens as more or less standing on their hind legs, like humans do. So for me that camera would have irritated me quite a lot 🙂

        Fox poop is interesting but not more and it’s the same with badger. They never seem to learn though 🙂

        November 22, 2014 at 6:56 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Congratulations on seeing the sun. We had a brief glimpse of it yesterday, but I think he was heading to Sweden! 🙂 We are due some really nice above 0 temps today and tomorrow, then “they” are predicting the highs for the middle of the week of -18. I can’t speak. I hope this winter is not like last – I won’t make it if it is….I will have to move away! Lovely pictures today! So very ethereal!! I am looking into whether or not I can ship lingonberries from Sweden to Canada. So far no joy, but I am doing my research. One of the doctors I work with is on a lingonberry kick, but the stuff (syrup) they sell in Ikea just doesn’t cut it for what he wants. I may ask a favor soon if I can find my information! 🙂 Have a happy Saturday evening and be careful of the hunters!

    November 22, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You! It was almost scary 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It looks like if we get warm winters You’ll get cold ones and I really want another warm winter this year 🙂

      I do like fog! and everything look so much better in it 🙂

      I have no idea what kind IKEA is selling but just tell me and we’ll solve it somehow 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 22, 2014 at 6:52 pm

  3. jaz

    i hope you get a warm winter and we get a good cold, snowy one! we had freezing rain today and it has just been treacherous. we could’t let teddy out and she really had to pooh! it finally just warmed up enough for the ice to melt. teddy is very happy!

    November 22, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes, lets hope we both get what we want 🙂 Freezing rain however is just nasty so let us hope none of us get more of that! I’ve read the roads here in this region were very slippery today and that many cars slid of the roads.

      Poor Teddy! and with her bad paw that would have been treacherous trying to walk on icy ground.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 22, 2014 at 8:55 pm

  4. Re Wolfens: They weren’t werewolves or supernatural. They were wolves that had long ago adapted to living in cities and preying on humans. Their hunting instincts and intelligence level had improved to a great extent because of the new habitat and prey. That was the brilliantly chilling point. It could happen just that way. 🙂

    November 23, 2014 at 1:19 am

    • I have always understood that they weren’t werewolves and I don’t think I’ve ever considered supernatural 🙂 But I have always pictured them as more humanlike but still fully canine. I remember more and more of that book and since I almost never toss away a book I might still have it here somewhere 🙂

      November 23, 2014 at 7:33 am

  5. Christer,
    Your weather has been so weird this year. I love all the fog. Often we have it by the river, but you have to be there early to see it.

    Today was a lazy day, and I loved doing nothing. Tomorrow I have a few things to do, but I won’t tax myself.

    I do hope you don’t get snow and have a warm winter. We had a cool summer so I’m going for warmer winter than last year.

    Have a great evening!!

    November 23, 2014 at 2:52 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ve had two very warm summersa and now two very warm autumns so I’m hoping for a second warm winter too 🙂 Even though we’ve had fog we still haven’t had as much as we usually do and not close to as thick as it can be. Once I missed to turn in the road to my work since I couldn’t see it and I drove really slow 🙂 🙂

      It seems as if we get a warm winter You’ll get a cold one, why can’t we both get warm ones and then they can have the cold winter in China and Siberia 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 23, 2014 at 7:37 am

  6. Här sken solen också igår (fast det regnade också) och trots att det skrivits och pratats om att vi bara har haft 1 timmes sol dom första veckorna av nov så har åtminstone vi här nedre på sudret haft sol ibland. Vilket varit jätteskönt. 🙂 Även om det inte varit ofta precis! 😦
    Men alla väderprognoser utgår från Visby trots att vi har en gräns som går vid Tofta, c:a 2 mil söder om Visby. Nedanför den har vi näsrtan alltid betydligt bättre (=varmare) väder som tur är!! 🙂 🙂
    MEN…inatt blev det jättekallt, vi fick -1 grad och nu på morgonen var det frostvitt ute. Usch! 😦 😦
    Det där med att jägarna är ute i skogen den här årstiden gör att man får vara extra försiktig. Inte för att jag tror att dom skulle missta mig för en hare, men det skjuts någ vildsvin här ibland – och då ligger man ju illa till! *fniss*
    KRAM
    Susie

    November 23, 2014 at 8:08 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det föll ned till nästan – igår kväll, men sedan kom molnen och efter det har vi haft ett par plusgrader. Hade inte gjort något om vi haft en kall natt och morgon igen. Här stämmer aldrig temperaturangivelserna för jag bor ju i ett köldhål. Mycket kallare på vintrarna men å andra sidan mycket varmare på somrarna 🙂

      Här slog de ihop två jaktlag och jag får säga att det nya är riktigt bra! De sätter upp skyltar vid vägarna när de jagar och ingen av dem gillar trofé jakt. De anser att de skall se till att naturen mår så bra som möjligt, inte att det är viktigt att få upp horn på väggarna 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      November 23, 2014 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

