The first card has arrived!

My little yule spruce. I like  it but it could have been a bit bigger :-) The wooden figure You see beside it isn't a gnome, it's a Vätte, a Wight.

My little yule spruce. I like it but it could have been a bit bigger 🙂 Also, the first Christmas card! Thank You Beatrice and Grenville! The wooden figure You see beside it isn’t a gnome, it’s a Vätte, a Wight. The red Bull that You barley can see is a symbol for a region called Dalsland.

 

So the tree is dressed and I have bought batteries so the lights shine so nice in the dark room (I didn’t turn them on while taking the photo though). I think I’ll ask a work friend if he would like to bring some spruce branches from his forest so I at least can get the smell even if it is a fake tree. Perhaps better to wait a week or so before I do because they only smell for a short time and then the needles fall off. I’ll be putting decorations around the tree too but I’ll wait until Saint Lucia’s day the thirteenth. Even though we aren’t catholics (well now days there are plenty of catholics here)  here we still celebrate her.

 

DSC_0003

I think this  is a fox track.

I think this is a fox footprint.

DSC_0008

 

I think the day has been grey and dull all the time, it was at least that when I went to the grocery store to buy some dinner since I forgot to order any at work 🙂 and the temperature has stayed around 0C (32f) both night and day. Winter is reluctant to start here and I don’t mind. I’m not a fan of snow but I do like a light dusting of that white garbage around Yule though., I’ll stay here at home anyway so I won’t have to drive around in it. They say it will start sometime in January and that it from there will be nasty cold and lots of snow. They blame this change on El Niño, it will calm down around that time and then it will be nasty here. But they said something similar last year and that was one of the mildest winters in ages 🙂

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

 

You can see a Vätte, a Wight, beside the yule spruce in that first photo and they live around our homes, they actually seems to like us 🙂 Normally they live under a tree or beneath a barn/ stable but they can actually chose to live beneath the home too, preferable under the fire heated stove. They are related to the gnome but unlike him they are living in big families and won’t bother humans as long as we don’t bother them. They are rather tiny, big as a rat perhaps and usually dressed in grey or black.

 

DSC_0015 - kopia

DSC_0017

DSC_0023 - kopia

 

If they have any problems with us humans they usually contact us to let us know what it is they don’t like. For instance if they live beneath a stable they might get problems with the horse poop and urine dripping down into their homes. They normally want us to let the horses stay somewhere else in the stable or perhaps they want us to build a new stable somewhere else 🙂 It’s also important not to throw out hot water on the ground, if one do one must shout:Look up down there. They rewards us plentiful if we solve problems fast. If we don’t solve the problem at all they might give us diseases but usually they just bite our nose 🙂

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

 

They normally take the shape of an animal we often see around us if they need to walk around during the day, like an unusually big toad or a mice. If You should see a frog in clothes there’s no doubt that it is a Wight 🙂 They are probably the nicest beings we might have around us. I think I heard some sounds close to my fire heated stove earlier today so I guess the entire family enjoys the warmth from it now 🙂

 

This is a Vätte. The artist’s name is Johan Egerkrans and I’ve borrowed this photo from the Internet.

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    I thought that was a gnome. He’s very cute. I might like one around my house.
    If Vätte decide to live under a stable, what do they expect to rain down on them? 🙂

    The red bull is interesting. Is it related in any way to the Dala horses?

    What are the things with the bright yellow tips in the 7th photo? It looks like new evergreen buds but the plants look more like moss.

    I have a lot questions today. 🙂

    It’s cold and damp here and the sun is hiding. It’s about 30 degrees cooler than yesterday. Tomorrow will be 20 degrees warmer than today. Whiplash weather. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    December 2, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      He is very cute and unlike gnomes he’s kind too. Gnomes are grouchy and can be rather nasty if one would see him. I have been thinking just the same but who am I to say that to a being 🙂 🙂 🙂

      That bull is sort of related to the Dalahäst. It’s called Tjuren på Dal and comes from a region south of from where the Dalahäst comes and the bull is much less known.

      I can’t for my life remember what that evergreen is called right now 🙂 It’s related to the ferns though. I’ll tell You what it is as soon as my brain desides that I’m worth that information 🙂 I think it is endangered though so no picking even if it would look great in a pot.

      I would love some of Your whiplash weather 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 2, 2014 at 9:14 pm

      • Could it be a club moss of some kind?

        December 3, 2014 at 5:14 am

      • Thank You 🙂 I think it is Stiff club moss.

        December 3, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  2. jaz

    i LOVE your little yule tree! i like all decorations. i just like that anyone takes the time to decorate and enjoy it! life is too short to not have some fun!

    December 3, 2014 at 12:25 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like it but it is a bit tiny. I didn’t want the 7 foot or higher one and the one I wanted didn’t have a price tag. Why bother to hire enough staff so I could ask anyone? 🙂 🙂

      I still need to get up the electric Advent candlestick though and there will be more things around the tree too. I didn’t decorate for years but now I think it’s funny again 🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 3, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  3. Christer,
    I love anything Christmas and your tree is lovely. I really love the Wight too. I’m going to keep an eye out for any dressed creature. No wood stove here to keep him warm but maybe he can huddle near the outside lights.

    Today was cold and tomorrow will be in the 50’s. Crazy weather! I’ll put the rest of my lights up tomorrow.

    Have a great evening!

    December 3, 2014 at 1:09 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is a bit small but it’ll do 🙂

      I really like my little vätte and the painted one is soo cute 🙂
      They could live where the hot air flows in Your house 🙂

      Chilly here during the day with lots of sunshine! The night looks to be clear and the temperature is dropping fast now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 3, 2014 at 6:19 pm

  4. Här har också det första julkortet anlänt, från våra vänner i England. 😀 Jag har också packat klart alla mina – färdigskrivna – kort (c:a 65 st) bvarav 6 st som ska skickas utomlands; Till england, USA och tyskland. 😛
    KRAM
    Susie

    December 3, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Mona har inte kommit hit hem än, men jag har fått meddelande om att de är på väg 🙂 Jag hoppas att de som skall utomlands hinner iväg i tid!

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 3, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

