What I accidently bought myself :-)

Itb is hard to believe that this photo is taken around pm, it's so dark now.

Itb is hard to believe that this photo is taken around pm, it’s so dark now.

It has been a gray and dull day with some drizzling and some heavier rain too but thankfully not over my village because the old boys weren’t especially muddy. It rained a lot more up on the mountain when I went to the grocery store/ postoffice in Gudhem. The new owner of the store was so sick, an awful cold that also hits more and more people at work, so she really should have been at home in a warm bed drinking lots of hot cocoa and eating yummy cookies πŸ™‚Β 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

It is the same film that I use in my Hasselblad.

She must have had a high fever because she was a bit slow in thinking πŸ™‚ and her eyes didn’t follow especially well when she was looking towards me. Well that’s life when one has ones own business, it’s impossible to be sick and to stay at home if one can’t find or afford someone else to come in and work instead. I opened up the package as soon as I came home, something the dogs didn’t like especially much since they were expecting us to take a walk πŸ™‚

DSC_0003

DSC_0007

DSC_0005

I wasn’t supposed to buy this camera at all but I was looking around on the Swedish eBay, called Tradera and no one had placed a bid on this camera and it was just a few hours left until the auction was going to be over. Normally the bidding starts as soon as the first bid comes in so I never thought I would get it πŸ™‚ I paid the astonishing amount of 29 swedish kronor (that would be around $ 4 US) for it. It is fully functional and the speed on the shutter is correct too. The fun thing is that a precisely exact camera was sold for a lot more the same day πŸ™‚ The shipping however costed almost twice for whar I paid for the camera πŸ™‚

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

I will of course try it at least once with film in it but after that I think it will just stand as an ornament here at home. It took some time until I realised how to put in a film in it, one simply removes the camera from the case and puts it in from the front πŸ™‚ The camera needs a good cleaning though, it is impossible to see through the seeker at all πŸ™‚ The lens is also a bit dusty but that seems easy enough to reach from the inside. It is made sometime around 1930ish and has been standing in a camera shop camera museum in northern Norway. I guess the seller might haveΒ inherited all these cameras because he is putting out lots and lots of them right now, perhaps not the best idea if one wants to make money on selling them. He sort of floods the market.

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

It is time to give the dogs, cats and myself something to eat and after that I better start writing those cards so I can send them away on Monday.

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! That camera is fantastic!! Very steam punk look!! And the price was certainly right wasn’t it? I wish it was raining today here but sadly not. Although “they” say its going to warm up to +3 by next Thursday! Should I hold my breath? I think they will be very wrong, but what do I know….that plus numbers would be lovely tho. The pictures today are great – I love the one especially of the tall trees and the forest, so pretty! I hate city living – one day we will make the move to the country I am sure. Have a happy Friday evening!!!!

    December 5, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is beautiful and probably rather difficult to take photos with :-)and I really can’t complain about that price πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is big as a mobile phone but weighs probably five times more πŸ™‚

      “They” say so much but I do hope they are right this time! You do deserv a warmer weather after that nasty cold period You’ve had. We will stay around 0C +- a degree or two. +3 after a period with that cold You’ve had will feel like spring πŸ™‚

      I never really liked living in the city even though I grew up in Swedens next biggest one. I was thinking of moving to the islands outside Gothenburg but it is rather expensive to buy a home there, so I moved to the opposite, deep forest πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 5, 2014 at 6:44 pm

  2. jaz

    i remember those cameras from when i was young. they were old cameras even then! we are about to have lots of rain here. i sure wish it was snow but now our december looks like it is going to be very mild. go figure! i started my baking marathon today. i have so much to do in the next few weeks!how long until you start your yule vacation?

    December 5, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I never thought I would get it since it is so old and even if there are many left very few works any longer. It’s around80 years old now πŸ™‚

      How odd! Both You and us on this side will get warm weather at the same time! That’s very unusual during winter, normally we have it cold and You warm or the opposite.

      I do love baking but I have to admit that I’m glad I don’t have to bake as much as You do πŸ™‚ I guess this will be the ultimate test for Your new owens πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and have fun baking!
      Christer.

      December 5, 2014 at 6:48 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    You have two antique cameras that I know of. If you have two of something, it’s a collection. I think it’s a rule. πŸ™‚
    It looks a very nice camera and really cheap, too. I like the pretty fruits and things painted on the front plate. They don’t do that kind of thing anymore. It reminds me of my old treadle sewing machine with all the gold vining and flowers painted on it.

    I have an old bellows camera that originally used 4×6 inch glass plates. My father tried it out way back in the early 70’s when he got it. He used cut film which he had to load into the holders in a dark room. Too much trouble for me. I’ll let it sit there looking interesting.

    It’s a little cold today. 38ΒΊF. It was sunny earlier on and I dropped the dogs off at daycare so I could shovel out the house and run some other errands without having to feel bad about them being stuck home. I figured if it was going to be sunny that would offset the cold. But now it’s cloudy and still cold.

    Bertil looks annoyed at something in the road.

    Enjoy the day and I hope you don’t get that lady’s cold. πŸ™‚

    December 5, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Isn’t it three you need to have a collection πŸ™‚ I like how it looks but I think it’s difficult to use, even more so than the Hasselblad πŸ™‚ It is too bad they never even try to decorate anything now days, everything must look minimalistic it seems. I have an old sewing machine like that too πŸ™‚

      It is possible to buy film cut in the right size now days and I think it can be loaded in daylight too. It would be fun to use glass plates but one has to develop them oneself and only handle them in the dark unless one have several casettes to swap between. This camera will also look interesting on the old linen cupboard πŸ™‚

      We’ll have aropund 33F the coming days but with a bit of luck we’ll get fog tomorrow after sunrise πŸ™‚ otherwise it will rain all day tomorrow.

      I’ll try to avoid that cold! I think I actually already have it but it refuses to break out properly, it only makes me tired and with a stuffed nose πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 5, 2014 at 9:16 pm

  4. Wendy from NY

    Pretty nifty old camera! I love old things also, I’m sure it will indeed look great on the old linen cupboard.

    I enjoy baking also, unfortunately I have the baking version of a brown thumb. Nothing ever comes out as expected 😩. Bread, I can make pretty good bread.

    I LOVE that last picture of Bertil, he looks as though he saw a ghost! What an expression on his face!

    December 6, 2014 at 2:57 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      It is rather nice looking πŸ™‚

      I’ll see if I get energy enough to start baking anything today, right now I just feel like sleeping is the best way to go πŸ™‚ I might be getting that cold after all, I sort of can feel it in my lungs right now πŸ™‚

      He did see something but I couldn’t no matter where I looked. Could have been the neighbors cats but he rules over them so I doubt he would look so curious if it were them πŸ™‚

      Have a grerat day!
      Christer.

      December 6, 2014 at 8:07 am

  5. Christer,
    That camera is wonderful looking.

    I have a friend who collects antique cameras and he would be really jealous. That was so inexpensive too.

    No rain at all today, just cold, really cold once the sun went down. It will be the same for the weekend.

    Have a great evening!

    December 6, 2014 at 3:57 am

    • Hi Kat!

      They should make todays cameras a bit more beautiful, the more expensive they are the more plain they look πŸ™‚

      I really can’t complain about that price πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wonder why no one bid on it but I’m glad they didn’t πŸ™‚

      They predict rain and fog today but above 32F temperature most of the day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 6, 2014 at 8:10 am

  6. What a great buy on such a cool camera!
    Bertil looks to be in a trance. LOL!

    December 7, 2014 at 4:02 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is πŸ™‚ I’ve cleaned the lenses and the seeker as much as I can so I’ll try it this yule vacation πŸ™‚

      One never knows with Bertil πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 6:16 am

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Years ago, I had some similar old camera and they were great fun to handle and look at, but impractical to use. Eventually I just sold them all on ebay. I never had enough space to display them, and the. They would have just been dust collectors. Goid luck with trying yours out, Christer.

    Rany here as well and very mild too.

    December 7, 2014 at 5:44 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I think it is the impracticallity I like about them πŸ™‚ Bot this one and the Hasselblad are very impractical πŸ™‚ Everything must happen so fast now, we want the result before we even start doing anything. I like it when it comes to everyday photographing but it is nice to have towait for the result, even if it’s nasty expensive πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Thank You for the card! The one from me should be on its way tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 6:21 am

Leave a Reply

