I will put up a fight :-)

DSC_0014

I can’t say that I’ve had a good night, every time I tried to swallow it hurt so bad that I woke up. I also needed to go to the bathroom a lot because I drank a lot of hot tea and rose-hip soup, it was the best think to make my throat feel a bit less bad. That part I could have thought of before I drank all that πŸ™‚ My throat is still very sour but better than it was last night, now I have a head ache instead so I think I safely can say that the cold has found me πŸ™‚ Still no fever though! Well it will come later onΒ I think πŸ™‚

 

Not especially more bright today but every now and again I have seen a rip in the clouds and blue sky has shown for a second or two.

Not especially more bright today but every now and again I have seen a rip in the clouds and blue sky has shown for a second or two.

DSC_0001

DSC_0003

A nights work from the wild hogs. We could both hear and smell them but from different directions, so I guess we had at least two flocks of them close to us.

 

 

I had hoped for some frost this morning because the night was clear and rather cold but it was warm and very windy when we woke up and now it rains. No heavy showers but enough to make me want to stay indoors, even the dogs rather stay here in the cottage. I must go outside in a while anyway to fill the bird feeders, I’ve just bought 30kg (66,14 pound) of wild bird seeds. Normally I almost only buy sunflower seeds but I’m hoping to see some Gold finches and other birds who don’t like sunflower seeds especially much.

 

It's never wrong to save some photos from the summer :-) Looks so much nicer than how it is outside now :-)

It’s never wrong to save some photos from the summer πŸ™‚ Looks so much nicer than how it is outside now πŸ™‚

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

 

The result of buying wild bird seeds, is that the right way to write it? it sounds like I could use those seeds to sow wild birds πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ , is that next year will have to pull up lots of hemp plants, they are so illegal to have even if they have been sowed by birds πŸ™‚ I’ll also pour out some deer food later but I’m hoping the rain will calm down some so the pellet’s don’t dissolve to a porridge before the deer arrive. I was planning on checking the light chains outside too but the weather really don’t encourages me to do so πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

The laundry is hanging on the patio to dry in the wind but I think the rain might reach it, well I can always see it as an extra rinsing πŸ™‚ It can stay out there for a few days before I need to bring it in to dry properly, at least as long as the wind don’t get stronger or change direction. It comes from the right angle today so most of my garden is wind free.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0037

DSC_0041

 

It is time for more hot tea, some ginger and honey. I might lose the warΒ against the cold but I will at least give it a proper fight πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    troll spindles!!! hope the nasty cold leaves you soon!

    December 7, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have plenty more troll spindles to show πŸ™‚ They are favorite insects of mine πŸ™‚

      I’ll put up a good fight but the fever seems to closing in I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 2:18 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    No, it’s never wrong to have some photos of summer when the weather is nasty, cold and damp. Nice troll spindles. πŸ™‚
    Lovely portrait of Nova, too.

    It would be wonderful if we could put out wild bird seed and grow a flock of wild birds. πŸ™‚
    I’m not sure they put hempseed in any of our bird food. Mostly what grows under my feeders the following spring is millet. Interesting looking plant. I saw some ornamental millet recently. It’s cool looking stuff and I might want some of that in the yard.

    Take care of that cold. Rose hip soup sounds like an excellent idea because it has all that vitamin C.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 7, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I needed to see some summer today πŸ™‚ I did get a lot of troll spindles in my garden late summer this year and I could come really close to them as well.

      I think that’s the beat portrait I’ve ever taken on Nova.

      I would probably only get a flock of Magpies with my luck πŸ™‚ Our laws about hemp is slightly odd, It’s forbidden to sow them, even the ones without the narcotics in them need special permissions to be allowed to sow but they can sell thge seeds without any problems. If the seeds that fall on the ground should germinate which they always do we will get punished if we don’t pull up the plants πŸ™‚ Why on earth are the seeds allowed then??

      We have very little millet and sorghum seeds in our mixes but I usually get a few plants of each every summer, the birds don’t like them especially much. I’m not surprised since they are very bitter and slightly toxic before they have been heated. I’ve baked nice bread with both millet and sorghum but it becomes a bit dry no matter how one does πŸ™‚

      I was thinking of putting ginger in the rose hip soup too but I’m afraid I’m losing rapidly now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 2:43 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am sorry to read you are under the weather. Nothing worse than a sore throat in my opinion. Just keep hydrated, it will eventually leave but it has to make its way to the door first! πŸ™‚ What FANTASTIC summer pictures!! I could just smell the flowers and feel the warm winds! That’s funny – I have never thought of wild bird seed as sowing wild birds. I will from now on to be sure! πŸ™‚ Loved the troll spindles too! We are due some snow today (2-4 cms) but then “they” are saying we are to get to +8 by the middle of next week!! That is going to be terrible and messy. I can’t say I want cold temps but from -10 to +8 – coupled with the snow we are due today – oh dear!!! Well, we spent our day at Ikea yesterday. I got my lingonberry sauce and some swedish meatballs and that’s what we had for dinner last night! So good! I love Ikea but you need to spend a good portion of your day there as the store is so big and I like to look at everything. We got our fresh tree and put that up last night. The dogs and cats think its great, another water bowl for them!!! πŸ™‚ I was so tired last night – shopping takes alot out of you! Well, I must dash – the day won’t start itself. Feel better!!

    December 7, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was expected, it hits everyone now. I wonder if it is a common cold or the influenza?

      It doesn’t sound strange in Swedish but reading it in English made me a bit unsure πŸ™‚ It would be nice to sow a flock of Bullfinches πŸ™‚

      I needed those photos today πŸ™‚ I like the litte male Shrike photo.

      We’ll have around 0C plus minus a degree or two here the coming week and they say it might snow next Friday but that’s so far away in the future I don’t believe it at all πŸ™‚ The roads always get awful when it goes from -10 to +8! The road is still very cold so the melting water will freese and it will be like driving on a ice skating rink πŸ™‚

      I haven’t been to IKEA for over twenty years now, they are placed too far away but yes You are right, one need to be there a day to go through everythging πŸ™‚ It’s hard top find days when there are less people there troo, I hate it when the place is crowded and it takes hours to get out again. But I must admit I do like walking around in those stores πŸ™‚

      Orvar would lift his leg towards that tree and the cats would climb it πŸ™‚ I can only have a small tree standing on a table πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 2:52 pm

  4. I think it should be illegal to post summer photos. πŸ˜‰
    Kinda cruel if you ask me!
    πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„
    If your throat is horribly raw and sore, this is what you do. Stir a couple of tablespoons of salt into very warm almost hot water. Then throw your head back and gargle. Open your throat like you are about to swallow it but don’t. (Do over sink because this will make you gag and you’ll automatically spit it out) do this 3 or 4 times in a row and I swear it will work. I mean it will still be a sore throat but no longer raw. Really, it works.

    December 7, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      πŸ™‚ I needed to see some summer today and there will be more before this winter is over πŸ™‚

      I’ll do that tonight, at the moment it’s just soar but not raw. It was last night though πŸ™‚ If I don’t get a fever I’ll go to work so it would be nice to get an entire night of sleep πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2014 at 4:12 pm

  5. Christer,
    I put out thistle seed for my gold finches but they seem to like the sunflower seeds and hang around perched on the sunflower seed feeder. The chickadees like the thistle so it doesn’t go to waste.

    I never went out today and the dog only went out for a couple of times. She came running in with tongue hanging and spit on her face. I figured she ran around the yard a few times for the exercise.

    I’d love to see the sun again, and your summer pictures helped.

    Have a good evening.

    December 8, 2014 at 3:59 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I did find thistle seeds for our gold finches but it is so expensive that gold seems cheap πŸ™‚ Otherwise that’s their favorite food but they’ll have to do with what I have instead πŸ™‚

      In stayed indoors almost all day yesterday, the weather was just too nasty. The dogs only went out for short moments to do their businesses.

      I have a few more summer photos to show before it’s time to take new ones πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 8, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

