I didn’t notice any change in speed.

I have a macro setting on my tele photo lens. I can't say it was easy to photograph this lichen :-)

I have a macro setting on my tele photo lens. I can’t say it was easy to photograph this lichen 🙂

The roads this morning were soapy slippery when they were as best 🙂 Strange really because it had been above 0C (32F) almost all night but it seems the last rain that fell was icy rain and it froze as soon as it hit the roads. I always hit the brakes as soon as I come out on the big road outside the village. I could hear and feel how they were working but didn’t notice much when it came to speed loss 🙂 I can tell You that I’m glad I always leave for work in good time because I needed that today 🙂

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

I was almost alone on the road when I started driving on the high way so I tried the brakes again and the car stopped immediately so I started driving like I always do. The problem is that I cross the border to another county so it isn’t sure the road is as good there as it is in my county. It was when I met long caravans with cars that I understood that the road was worse in the other county. They all drove very slow so I did the same. Didn’t help much because suddenly my car started to slide a little, at the same time I met a lorry that also started to slide a little 🙂

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

We missed each other with a few inches I think and at least I came to work as planned  🙂 and with a few minutes left before I had to walk to the neighbor factory to paint some. I can’t say I felt super fine but I did feel a bit better than yesterday. I work with a fresh air mask while painting so the air is rather cold on winter days, the only thing they do is to remove any humidity in the air because that air is also the air that keep the pressure equipment going. So it didn’t take long before my nose started running and I started to cough. The cold air chilled down the blood in my lungs so I started to freeze but my body started to heat up instead 🙂

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

Salmiak and he's not happy to see us :-)

Salmiak and he’s not happy to see us 🙂

 

I went home early 🙂 and now I have a fever. This might pass during the night and if so I’ll go to work tomorrow, if not I’ll stay at home. The dogs will be happy if I don’t go 🙂 I have the fire burning in my stove and Sune is sleeping beside the kitchen radiator. Personally I don’t think it is especially cold but if Sune sleeps close to a radiator I guess it must be 🙂

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

DSC_0052

 

It is time for lots of tea and rose hip soup. I’ll have ginger in both I think, it will give it all a christmasy feeling to the taste 🙂

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hate ice on the roads. Makes for a white knuckled drive wherever you go. And those other drivers who slide towards you, that makes me so nervous! We have had a bit of melting yesterday so it was sloppy on the roads. We are cooler today but then we “heat” up. It will be interesting. I am sorry to hear of the fever – I hope it breaks overnight for you. Nothing worse than a fever and sore throat. That picture of Salmiak made me laugh out loud. What a face!!! Cats are hilarious when they show their emotions…too funny! I hope you feel better, have a good evening!

    December 8, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      But at least there’s no chance of us falling asleep behind the wheel 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think that lorry driver was more worried than I was, he knew that if he would hit me he would live with that memory for the rest of his life. But all went well and most people drove very carefully thankfully!

      The fever can be a reaction to that cold and dry air I was breathing, normally that’s no problem but with a cold in the body just waiting it is a bit tiresome.

      Salmiak is such a nice cat but he really doesn’t like dogs 🙂 It’s easy to see in that photo 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 8, 2014 at 4:03 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Sorry to hear that fever has been added to the cold mix. Doesn’t sound like a comfortable day at work especially after such a thrilling commute. 🙂

    I took the dogs out this morning thinking it was a lot warmer than it actually was. I didn’t check the temperature or anything intelligent like that. I just assumed it was around 30ºF. After a few minutes of walking, it occurred to me that it was a hell of a lot colder than 30 and the wind was blowing, too. It had little bits of snow in it. I had on a baseball cap, a silk scarf and a thin quilted vest over a fleece shirt. The dogs were having a wonderful time but I convinced them to do everything before I totally froze my fandangos off. I checked the temperature when I got back and it was 17ºF. That’ll teach me to assume.

    I love the macro of the lichen. Very alien looking. I find it difficult to do lichens and fungus because I can’t get down on the ground all that easily. Well, that’s not accurate. I can get down. Gravity works. 🙂 It’s getting back up that is the problem. Thank god for the convenient flippy LED view screen on my camera. It twists in lots of directions and makes such photos easier on my knees. 🙂

    Salmiak and Bertil could be brothers. Similar fur pattern. Similar angry cat attitude. 🙂 Does Salmiak mean anything in English? It’s an unusual name.

    Drink the tea and rose hips soup heavily laced with ginger and feel better. Enjoy the day as best you can.

    December 8, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was bound to happen I think 🙂 That drive did wake me up rather well 🙂

      🙂 🙂 🙂 17! That is quite a difference 🙂 and with a wind it must have been nasty! Isn’t it typical that they enjoy it while You don’t 🙂 It has been raher nice here because the sun chose to make an appearance and if there was any wind it got stuck in the trees.

      I photographed lichens on high tree stumps 🙂 No need to bend down at all 🙂 As You say, it’s easy to go down but up is another thing 🙂 But I was suprised to see that there is a macro settig on a tele-photo lens!

      They do look very much alike. Salmiak has deep brown eyes though and is slightly bigger than Bertil. Salmiak can be two things, either a very salt liquorice or Ammonium chloride. I think he is named after the candy 🙂

      Lots of ginger this evening 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 8, 2014 at 6:08 pm

      • Yes, it can be done and it’s so much easier now. I remember using telephotos for “macro” back in the dark ages of film. You needed a converter tube and you had to do some mathematical calculation involving the square root of something in order to do it. I spent a lot of money on a scientific calculator because it was also the dark ages of early calculators and those were the only kind that had a square root function. There was no way I was going to be standing out there with my slide rule. 🙂

        December 9, 2014 at 4:00 am

      • Come to think of it, I have one of those converters for my “Hasselbladare”. I had forgotten aboutthat one. The great thing with that one though is that there’s no eed for calculations, the camera, even though it is totally manual otherwise, takes care of that itself. I’m not sure I’ll try it though 🙂

        December 9, 2014 at 6:16 am

  3. jaz

    salmiak looks meaner than cat piss! we have had lots of ice this year. not a fun thing when you live on top of a mountain!

    December 8, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      He sure does 🙂 But he’s actually a very nice cat but a bit shy.

      I can just iomagine how bad it must be driving down and up a mountain on icy roads! It’s hard enough on flat ground 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 8, 2014 at 6:27 pm

  4. Jag hoppas du är bättre – eller det kanske är bättre om du fick LITE feber så du höll dig hemma i värmen ett tag och kurerade dig! Man ska vara rädd om sig själv, det är ingen annan som är det!! 😕
    Här är det än så länge plusgrader dygnet runt och jag hoppas verkligen att det håller i sig över torsdag. Då ska jag nämligen till Visby och hålla föredrag och bildvisning för Trädgårdsamatörerna. Råkade i våras lova att presentera mig själv och min trädgård som nybliven webmaster. 😦 Men…då tänkte man ju inte på att det kan bli snöstorm. I vilket fall som helst så ska det tydligen blåsa ordentligt, så jag hoppas verkligen inte det blir snö också. 😦 😦 Har kört en gång från Visby i snöstorm med rykande snödrift och lovade då att det skulle jag aldrig göra om. Istället för 45 minuter hem, tog det 1,5 timme och var fruktansvärt jobbigt. Och då var vi ändå två i bilen, på torsdag blir jag ensam…..usch! 😯
    KRAM
    Susie

    December 9, 2014 at 8:58 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Kan inte direkt påstå att jag är bättre idag 🙂 Så jag är hemma och snorar och nyser 🙂 Känns lite som om mina lungor blivit brända 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Minus på nätterna här men hyfsat många plus på dagarna, vi hade till och med lite sol förut! I morgon morgon kan vi till och med fgå lite snö här, men torsdag verkar snöfri så jag hoppas det gäller för er också! Inget roligt alls att köra omkring i snöstrom med snödrev så jag förstår hur du känner det!

      Du kommer att få det så roligt med föredraget 🙂

      Ha det så gott!
      Christer.

      December 9, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

