I’m using lots and lots of ginger.

She understood that I had spotted her but the ground was so filled with twigs and branches that she could move only with tiny steps.

She understood that I had spotted her but the ground was so filled with twigs and branches that she could move only with tiny steps.

We’ve had sunshine today, this I know because I’m at home trying to get rid of that cold of mine. I slept through most of it but saw it when I woke up with a nasty cramp in my left calf muscle πŸ™‚ The clouds came back but every now and again the sun peeks through the few gaps there are between the clouds.

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

DSC_0012

 

The birds in the area have understood that I’ve started to fill the feeders so there are so many now that it is impossible to count them. They are all looking for the few sunflower seeds in the mixture and toss out the other seeds from the feeders to the ground, spoiled little brats πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ No unusual bird around yet though, the winter is just too mild for them to leave the security they have in the forest.

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

Nova accepts the cats but she has never really shown that she likes them, so You can understand my surprise when I saw her cleaning Bertil’s right ear one day and she continued to do so the entire day. Naturally I had to see if he had an ear infection or had put his head in something sticky. It turns out he’s been in a fight again, most likely with Teodor this time because they can at the moment not stand each other. He had a wound that poured out pus! I’ve cleaned it with hydrogen peroxide and it looks to heal very good. Nova still keeps her interest in that ear so I’ll be checking it for some time more.

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

 

It seems Teodor also had a big fight with Salmiak some days ago, Salmiak was once brave enough to walk in to our garden and Teodor has never forgiven him πŸ™‚ It can also be that he doesn’t like the fact that Bertil and Salmiak are good friends or a combination of both. Teodor is otherwise the cuddly cat here, almost too cuddly so this was a bit of a surprise too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0026

Could this be the beginning of a new dam? I wish they could start perhaps 3 meters (much the same in yards) further up stream because the creek is flowing much deeper there with high walls on both sides. If it is here they will most likely destroy it again.

Could this be the beginning of a new dam? I wish they could start perhaps 3 meters (much the same in yards) further up-stream because the creek is flowing much deeper there with high walls on both sides. If it is here they will most likely destroy it again.

DSC_0028

 

The kettle is on the stove and I’m boiling water to make rose-hip soup. Lots of ginger in it and I have no idea if that helps against the cold but I sure do like the taste πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Cat politics are inscrutable to us mere humans.
    Nice of Nova to let you know Bertil had an issue. She takes good care of her boys, I guess. πŸ™‚

    If that’s a new dam, the beavers are putting it in the best place for them. I except it’s easier and quicker to block the stream in a shallow place especially if the water flow is slower there.

    Back at the end of summer I bought myself a coyote fur ushanka. One of those Russian furry flap hats. It is stored on top of three plastic storage bins in the hallway. About 4 1/2 feet off the ground. Well, I went out to dinner last night and when I came back three hours later, the hat was in the living room and there were bits of coyote fur all over the rug. Either I knocked it off its perch somehow or one of my dogs can levitate. I think I know which dog that would be, too. The hat survived with a tiny bald spot in it.

    It snowed here overnight which then turned to freezing rain. Now it’s just plain old rain on top of the ice. We’re having a northeaster for the next couple of days. Whoopee. :/

    Enjoy the day off as best you can and drink lots of tea and soup.

    December 9, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true πŸ™‚
      She sure doea take care of them even the ones she really doesn’t like πŸ™‚

      The creek makes a zig-zag turn right there but it does so further upstream too. In all other places the road goes a few yards above the creek but in that place it goes just a few inches above the creek. That will make the creek flood huge areas I’m afraid.

      Dogs can make their necks soo much longer when we humans aren’t at home πŸ™‚ They’ll reach anything they want but not allowed too πŸ™‚ A small bald spot is ok though.

      We’ll get snow during early morning tomorrow but the temperature will be so high that it most likely will melt away as soon as it hits the ground. The sky is clear right now so it’s rather cold right now. Can’t say I like it but at least our winds are rather warm πŸ™‚

      Lots of tea and soup here, soon it will start running out from my ears πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 9, 2014 at 4:11 pm

  2. jaz

    wow…lots of cat activity. hope you get rid of your cold soon. you sure are having a mild winter so far!

    December 9, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      A bit too much πŸ™‚

      I hope so too!

      It is unusually warm here, even more so than last winter. I won’t complain though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 9, 2014 at 4:12 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope that the ginger and sleep will get rid of that cold! Sometimes all it takes is rest and time. What a sweet photo of the deer! She’s so hard to see! I hope the ear clears up and no more infection is to be seen! I am not sure if its an old wives tale but apparently dogs have healing powers in their saliva. Sounds like it did the trick along with the peroxide. I am off for my lunch time walk now, so I wish you good evening and hope you feel better!!

    December 9, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I guess that is what I need to get rid of this but I’m adding ginger to give it a kick too πŸ™‚

      It was even hard for me to see that deer even if I knew where it was πŸ™‚

      It is true, dogs have bacteria in their saliva that helps with healing. Unfortunately they also have lots of bad and even dangerous bacteria because of all nast things they eat πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Still, it’sbetter than cat saliva that if they would bite actually can kill us πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I can barely speak at the moment but I do feel a bit better πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 9, 2014 at 7:31 pm

  4. Hi Christer –

    Too bad your sore throat is hanging on. I saw a medical show the other day where they said it has been scientifically proven (they didn’t say how) that drinking pickle juice will cure a sore throat in 5 minutes. Let me know if try it & if it worked. Inquiring minds want to know.

    I am surprised Theodor attacked Bertil’s ear bad enough to cause an abcess. Of all the cats I have had, they never attacked one another with more than a hiss or whap of the paw. With cats you can never tell who started a fight or what exactly happened. Too bad they can’t all get along, but that is a rediculous thought. At least Sune helped Bertil get medical attention from you. He must have a lot of scars under all that thick fur. I wouldn’t be surprised if Bertil decided to move in with Selmiak. My sister had a cat in her neighborhood years ago that started making it clear he wanted to move in with her & her husband. First he would come in only in the daytime & finally all night. Turned out his owner’s had decided after 8 years of Fred being the only cat to adopt a kitten. Fred would have none of it & decided to find a new home of his choosing & move in with people that had no kittens or other pets. My Sister found out who Fred’s owners were & talked to them about where he had been living for the past year. The neighbors agreed that Fred was much happier living with his new family. They sent his food bowl & bed home with my sister. Fred lived happily for another 10 years. Cat’s know what they want & are capable of doing whatever it takes to make themselves happy. Theodor would probably like Bertil to move out & over to Selmiak’s house. I think Theodor would be smarter to keep Bertil on his good side rather than have 2 cats with a grudge against him.

    Your trip to work in the snow & ice sounded like a lot of exciting fun. Nothing like driving around on a crowded road covered with ice & snow and then almost having a truck slide into you to get your adrenaline flowing. Glad to hear nothing more happened and think, it is not even winter yet.

    I noticed in today’s photos that even when the woods appears dull & drab in late fall there are always bits of new greenery springing up or in the form of lichen & mosses. Love the last few photos of the fern tendrils uncoiling with bright green color. Even when the forest floor appears dormant, there is so much happening just below the surface of the earth.

    December 10, 2014 at 12:26 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I doubt that I’ll ever try pickle juice πŸ™‚ But there’s usually a lot of spices in that so I guess those are the ones that might be helping to ease the pain in the throat.

      Normally both Teodor and Bertil get along very well and even now while they are fighting they still have moments when they sleep close together πŸ™‚ Cats are odd πŸ™‚ No risk of Bertil moving to Salmiak though, they know how nasty Bertil can be so they don’t allow him inside their home, besides their other cat Sally would go crazy if he did πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My brother shared a cat with three other neighbors when he lived in Gothenburg πŸ™‚ The cat just moved along to one of the others after staying for a while πŸ™‚ I wonder if he chosed where to live after what kind of food he got πŸ™‚

      Yes it was quite exiting πŸ™‚ I hope it doesn’t happen too often though πŸ™‚ They say this will most likely be the kind of winters we’ll get from now on. Either it starts warm like this and later on get nasty cold for a short period of time or the opposite. Long cold winters may not happen especially often this far south in Sweden. We’re having a strong storm here at the moment but the forest and my neighbors cottage takes most of the wind thankfullyIt will be even worse on the night towards Saturday they say but the wind will come from more or less the same direction.

      Everything is grey and dull here at the moment. It’s so dark I have to use night time adjustments for my camera but soon it will change and move towards longer days and hopefully sunshine πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 10, 2014 at 6:55 am

  5. Robin Larkspur

    Hi Christer! Sheesh, I finally tracked you down. Somehow your other blog was missing from my blog list. I didnt see your blog, so I thought you weren’t blogging. So I saw your comment on Joyce’s blog today so I click on it, and then find out that you have moved. So here I am. You can’t get rid of me that easily. I so enjoy your fab photos. And have missed your furry family. Hope that cold gets better very soon. We are getting lots of snow today. Brrrrr!!

    December 10, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      And to add to the problem to find me Blogger refuses to let me use this blog address when I comment in Blogger blogs πŸ™‚

      I feel just fine early in the day byt after noon it all goes downhill πŸ™‚ Now it looks like the fever is gone but the coughing has started instead πŸ™‚

      The snow did fall here long after it was predicted but it was so warm that it melted as soon as it hit the ground. One storm hgas passed and another one will come on the night towards Saturday.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 10, 2014 at 8:39 pm

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Include my late well wishes to all the others, Christer. I hope that you received our holiday card which was mailed earlier than usual this year as we are relocating as explained in my note. Thankfully, we have not had any snow while we were moving, but some is predicted this week, and we will stay indoors unpacking stuff. Bertil seems to be having a tough time lately.

    December 11, 2014 at 5:30 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Thank You πŸ™‚ and thanks for the card! I posted a photo with my little christmastree and that card because it was the first card to arrive πŸ™‚ I posted all my over sea cards on Monday so I hope You’ll get it before christmas (I put Your new address on the envelope).

      We’ve had some snowfall but nothing has stayed for more than a few seconds thankfully πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:21 am

  7. jopan

    Hello. I’ve not posted on here before but I thought I’d mention that the ginger is probably what made you cough. It helps get the phlegm in your lungs moving which makes you cough. This explains your sleepless night. The photos you take are beautiful by the way.

    December 12, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    • Hi jopan and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      So that’s what the ginger does! I knew it did something but thought it helped keeping the fever down πŸ™‚ Well it is good to get all that phlegm out of the system! Better to use ginger than to buy all those different cough syrups. Thank You!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 6:34 am

Leave a Reply

