Now we’re waiting for the next one.

There it is! Only 23 days until I can open it :-) Our big day is on Christmas eve here in Sweden, when children meet the Yule Gnome in their homes and lots of them cry like crazy becauase he scares the s... out of them :-)

There it is! Only 23 days until I can open it 🙂 Our big day is on Christmas eve here in Sweden, when children meet the Yule Gnome in their homes and lots of them cry like crazy becauase he scares the s… out of them 🙂

A storm was passing by here yesterday night, well it continued for quite some time but the worst was during the night. We were supposed to get up to 5cm (two inches) of snow and the winds were supposed to be around 22m/s (49,2 mph). The snow did arrive much later than predicted and it melted as soon as it hit the ground. The winds reached hurricane force at some places so the predictions weren’t that super 🙂 

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0007

 

So how was the winds like here You may wonder, well I heard them but the forest and my neighbors cottage took all of it so it was quite nice here in my garden, almost no wind at all 🙂 Another storm, much worse than this is said to pass southern Sweden starting on Friday night towards Saturday morning. At first they predicted near hurricane forces here too, very unusual this far from the ocean, but it seems they now predict it to go a bit more south so we’ll miss the worst. No matter how south or north it will pass it will have the same direction as the previous one so I will most likely only hear it here and that’s nothing I’ll complain about 🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0021

DSC_0008

 

I was planning on going to work today but after coughing away the entire night I can’t say I was way too tired and probably a dangerous driver. I did manage to sleep a couple of hours around noon and if the coughing stops I won’t have any problems falling asleep tonight :-)I started to feed the deers this week but the weather is probably to mild yet, none have turned up to eat. Perhaps no surprise since dogs are used in the hunting now and they still have plenty to eat out there. Why risk anything by going to a place with four dogs 🙂 Most of the old deers seems to be gone now too so the ones left really don’t know us that well.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

I was surprised to see the mail woman drive down our road yesterday and even more so when she stopped at my cottage. The package from Joyce has arrived 🙂 I’ve promised not to open it up before yule so I can’t tell You what’s inside it until then 🙂 I have now posted all yule cards, I hope, for this year. I do hope the ones overseas will arrive to their destinations, they have a tendency not to. I think it might have to do with the mailbox in the village where I work because it’s mostly those I post there that never reach their destination, so I’ve changed mailbox this year.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0041

 

It’s time for a big cup of coffee to keep me awake 🙂 and perhaps something to eat as well.

 

DSC_0047

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like your cold has gotten worse if you’re coughing enough to keep you awake. Could be bronchitis or something. Better take extra care.

    Maybe you are going to get the front end of the Northeaster that we’ve been experiencing for the entire week so far. It’s crawling away slowly and dribbling rain and a little snow as it does. Inconvenient thing. It’s been grey and dreary and wet and windy and cold all week. The only good thing is Piki Dog has been motivated to do his business quickly and get back inside.
    Both dogs are wicked bored right now and so am I.

    My Christmas cards finally arrived so I can get them out in the mail. I ended up choosing a conventional photo because I couldn’t make my first choice work. Oh, well. Such is life. 🙂

    Take care of yourself and enjoy the rest of the day.

    December 11, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m starting to feel bored so I guess I’m on my way of getting better 🙂

      I think this is a low pressure You’ve already had 🙂 and the one that just passed too. It usually don’t take that many days forthem to cross the ocean. I guess we have more ahead coming from You 🙂 Too bad it doesn’t have that effect on my dogs 🙂 I wish it was summer so that I could have the kitchen door open all day, the dogs behave worse than the cats and wants to go inside as soon as they’ve gone out 🙂 and the opposite of course 🙂

      I always have that problem with my yule cards but I guess the ones we finally chose are the best ones after all 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 11, 2014 at 4:17 pm

  2. jaz

    i sure hope the second box arrives!!! it’s probably somewhere on the other side of sweden! we might get some snow today. i sure hope we do!

    December 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Me too! It might also have been shipped to Switzerland 🙂 Our countries are more mixed up than most people think 🙂 🙂 🙂

      They are changing the predictions every hour here, at the moment we’ll have almost as strong winds as last storm but from west and not southwest as last time. They’ll change it several times before it hits though 🙂 Snow is also added to the predictions now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:41 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!!! We have had nasty, nasty winds for the past 2 days too! No snow, and its very mild (I am happy) but the winds. Kept me up all night last night and the night before. We have a 50 foot pine/spruce tree right outside the bedroom window and its whispers (really loud) when its windy. Beautiful except when you are trying to sleep! 🙂 Fingers crossed the mail finds everyone who it is supposed to! This time of year, anything can happen! 🙂 I hope the cough goes away for you. Never fun, those coughing fits. Can I be completely honest? I think you should send all your pictures to make a calendar. The photo of the drops on the tree limbs is absolutely stunning! I think your photography is so very worthy of recognition!!! You have a good eye! 🙂 Have a good Friday!

    December 11, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They say we will might get rather much snow tonight but mixed with rain and after that the temperature will drop to 0C. If it says 0C in the rpedictions we’ll most likely get some minus degrees here in the village. So if there’s snow on the ground tomorrow it would be great tio test the new oldest camera and the hasselblad too 🙂

      I can usually hear the roar from the wind but that just makes me tired. I never sleep as good as I do during a storm 🙂 Well, perhaps a thunderstorm then 🙂

      The first cards have arrived here in Sweden and that only took one day 🙂 So I’m hoping for the same luck with the overseas ones too 🙂

      I always delete the photos as soon as I’ve used them here in my blog 🙂 I only save the ones I have in my NG album.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 3:01 pm

  4. Hi Christer –

    Sorry to hear your coughing kept you from sleeping well last night; When I had this virus last month it started with sore throat, then to bronchitus which turned into pneumonia and ended with a sinus infection at week 3. I hope you are not headed in that direction although I think I may have been sick longer because of my immune system not working well. Almost all my neighbors in my condo building either have been ill or are getting it. I am basically trying to stay home & away from people & crowds. I would stay home Friday & try to get recovered in time for your Yule vacation. You don’t want to waste perfectly good vacation days feeling bad:) I don’t blame the dogs for getting bored with being inside so much. How do you entertain 4 large dogs in a small space?

    We actually had two hours of sunshine this morning. Now the skies are filling with large dark clouds. After several days of getting 2″ of rain per day, today we have a severe wind warning. It was strangely clam all and now the winds are picking up. They say we could be getting 60 MPH winds and 8- MPH gusts from 3 PM until 9 PM tonight. I had to remove my hanging flower baskets to a sheltered area. Otherwise, my experience is the plants & soil will be tipped out as the wind blows them sideways or they could crash into my picture window with severe wind. They expect lots of power outages from trees falling on power lines. With the ground so saturated from all the rain, it will not take much wind at all to have them uprooting or splitting apart at weak spots. A few weeks ago when we had strong winds 2 people were killed just walking down the sidewalk when trees fell on them. I always have a bit of concern about all the very tall fir trees that surround my condo, especially since I am on the top floor of the building. Hopefully, the arborist who inspected many of them, was right about them being in good condition.

    You must have been excited to see the 1st of Joyce’s packages arrive. I wonder what she found for you this yeu this year. She is an amazing woman. I will never figure out how she gets so much done in a day. I made 10 dozen Christmas cookies last weekend and I felt I got a lot done. Then, I see her post where she made hundreds & hundreds of cookies in about the same amount of time. All I can say is, she must not need much sleep. She is such a thoughtful & generous person. I was going to try making some Christmas stollen & Swedish tea rings today, but I thought I’d best not do any baking in case the power goes out. Instead, I did a lot of the prep for the recipes I will be making. I even made my own candied orange peel which turned out great. Then I chopped all the pecans, pistachios & walnuts as well as dried cherries and these jumbo organic dried cranberries I found. Now I just need to stop looking at new recipes online & settle on the recipes I will be making. Every Christmas I have certain things I traditionally bake, like spritz cookies & Swedish tea cakes, but I always like to try a couple of new recipes. This year I think I am going to try making orange caramels as my experiment. What are some traditional Swedish treats at Yule & what is your favorite? The one thing I look forward to each year is panettone. I love a slice toasted with my coffee in the morning.

    We just had a the strongest gust of wind in 15 years. The building actually creaked & then there was a power surge. Of course like an idiot I forgot to unplug my laptop, but it seems OK. I do have a surge protector on it. The TV news said several large windows in a downtown highrise were blown out and now 55,000 are without power. Since the wind storm just started, I’d better go grab my flashligh and find some matches for the candles. I will really hate it if I have nothing to do but sit in the dark tonight. Also, I just went grocery shopping yesterday, so I have a lot of stuff in the freezer & fridge I would hate to lose. Keep your fingers & toes crossed that it stays on and I will be hoping your wind storm misses you altogether. Feel better Christer.

    December 12, 2014 at 1:32 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I only woke up one time last night because of the coughing thankfully. It is very tiresome just coughing and it’s even worse when one wake up all the trime. It is a cold going around here and it seems to last between a week or two. We all have coughed badly so I guess this is normal, at least for this cold 🙂
      I open up the door to the garden and that helps some but at least the young ones tend to get a bit impoatient and plays tough here in the cottage 🙂 I usually have to put back things ti where they belong after those times 🙂

      I could see the sun shine all morning here and I even cought some sunshine when I came home, now my sky look much like Yours with heavy dark grey clouds. I’ve placed anything that can fly around in my garage and those few things still outside are so heavy that they won’t lift and fly away. I don’t have any hanging pots outside now but they would be completely empty after a storm if I had had any. There are always a few people that must go outside in a storm and they always seems to stand close to trees. I stay at home if we have those strong winds here, no use in riking ones life, not even for a job. Besides no one else would go to work either 🙂 We usually don’t have power breaks here any longer, we get electricity from two main lines now days so as soonb as one goes down the other one takes over. I sure hop that You have power all the time!

      There’s always lots of good stuff in those packages 🙂 She does have loads of energy 🙂 So many cakes! Lots of people will have a nice holiday with her cookies 🙂 I rarely bake cookies just for christmas, if I want cookies I bake them ant time of year. But I was surprised to see something called Swedish tea rings! Never heard of it before and had to check what it was on the net. I found photos of a few different ones, most I recognised and a few not (but I’m pretty sure I would love them all 🙂 I guess they have more or less the same ingredients but just look a bit different). It’s fun that they are called tea rings too because it is coffee most people drink here, after Finland Swedes are the ones drinking most coffee in the world but very little tea. We ourselves call it coffee bread 🙂

      We Swedes eat lots of marzipan two times every year, at easter and christmas. I can’t go through christmas without having at least one big chocolate dipped marzipan pig 🙂 Pigs are one of christmas biggest holiday symbols here so a few gingerbread pigs goes down as well. Many must have Klenät, fried pastry, my grandmother was a master in making those, I’m not 🙂 Risalamand is a must for many too.That is rice pudding mixed with lots of whipped cream. Some have orange slices in it but I think most of us have strawberries or raspberries in it and lots have grated almonds in it too. Nothing for those having a diet 🙂

      I hope You still have power! We are still waiting for the storm, if it arrives.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 3:38 pm

  5. Christer,
    Your tree and package look festive. You don’t have all that long to wait. Patience is always rewarded.

    I just finished wrapping all the stuff for Colorado. It took all afternoon. Tomorrow I’ll go and mail them. Yesterday I mailed two of them, but most are going tomorrow.

    We had that nasty wind for a couple of days. It blew as high as 60 MPH. Nor’easter are always the worst storms.

    We had a dry day finally after the last three days of rain. Off-Cape got snow but no real accumulation. My friends in New Hampshire got some and they still had piles from the Thanksgiving storm.

    Get better!!!!!

    December 12, 2014 at 1:35 am

    • Hi Kat!

      In this case I know patience is rewarded but I’m not especially sure it always is like that 🙂

      The cards sent to addresses here in sweden have already started to arrive so I hope it will go fast to You on Your side of the ocean too!

      I think that’s the wind that we’re having here now, the comming one however seems to go much further south than predicted. I like a good storm but prefer if we don’t have them 🙂

      The sun actually shone here today, I even got to see it after work for almost twenty minutes 🙂 Snow, rain and F is predicted from now on till tomorrow morning. That usually means we’ll get below here.

      I’m slowly getting better now even if I can’t feel that at the moment 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 3:43 pm

  6. All of the photo’s are great, as always, but special thanks for the last photo of my favorite cat! Give Bertil my love 🙂 I’ve been ill so haven’t been blogging or visiting much. Managed to get to Joyce’s (Mrs. Santa Claus!:) and usually hop over here or the other way around.. just lagging a bit is all. I hope your cough goes away. AND I hope in your line of work you are well protected. Back when my son was doing similar work that you do, he didn’t have the protection he should have had and …his health has suffered and he is at risk. I hope they take better care of you than they did Dan. Loved the story about your storm. A BIG one is supposed to arrive here sometime before morning. Our weather predictions can be like yours at times..but we really do need the rain..without the thunder and wind! Take good care, Christer. Hope you make it until Christmas and don’t give in and open the package ……like I probably would!! 🙂

    December 12, 2014 at 7:01 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I hope You feel better now! We all have times when we just feel worse than normal 🙂

      Yes we are all well protected. Companies must, by law, give us the best protection there is to have and I sure can’t complain about my work place. The neighbor factory however is losuy. They don’t give their employees anything until someone tell them what they can demand. Lets say I galedely tell them that and that the high bosses in that factory doesn’t like me at all 🙂 nor do their safety representatives since I tell the workers there that they are totally incompetent 🙂 🙂 🙂

      We are still waiting for our second storm here but it looks as if it will pass much further south than they first predicted. I love a good storm but don’t mind if we miss it 🙂 I wish I could send You our rain because we have gotten much more than we need.

      I won’t even look at that package until christmas eve morning 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

  7. Vilket fantastiskt julpaket! Det skulle man inte ha något emot precis… 😆
    Precis som du förespådde så hade jag jättekul igår på mitt föredrag. Det var väl ett 30-tal källingar (inte en enda gubbe dock) och det blev mycket snack och många frågor efteråt. Det är en helt annan stämning i föreningen nu sen den gamla insöade styrelsen avgått! 😉
    Men tänk att det aldrig kan vara bra väder när jag ensam ska till Visby på kvällen. Igår var det fortfarande en aning blåsigt, men det värsta var att halvvägs upp så började det regna. Ja, alltså vräka ner! Så det tog lång tid både dit och hem, men det var bara att ta det riktigt lugnt! 😦
    Tråkigt att höra att du fortfarande inte är bra, men nu är det ju några dagar över helgen som du kan passa på att kurera dig! :-I
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    December 12, 2014 at 9:02 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jodu 🙂 Mycket mums i det paketet 🙂

      Tyvärr är det ju ofta så att den en gång så bra styrelsen plötsligt vägrar hänga med sin tid och ser förändringar som något ont. Roligt att det blivit en så bra stämning i gruppen nu!

      Du får se det som att det i alla fall inte snöade 🙂 och att vägen frös till en iskana 🙂 Men visst är det jobbigt när det vräker ned så mycket att man inget ser, det är jobbigt nog på dagen så när det är mörkt är det vidrigt!

      Det verkar som om förkylningen håller i sig i två veckor innan den släpper, kan det vara influensan vi har?

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 3:55 pm

  8. Robin Larkspur

    Hoping your cold just gives up and goes away soon. Bad time of year to be sick, with the holiday coming. I wonder if there is another long long scarf in that Yule box? Take care now!

    December 12, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      In a way it’s better to get it now than in summer, then they never give up 🙂

      I got the second package today and yes, there was a scarf in it 🙂 It’s so soft and warm! Will be perfect when the wind hwoles and winter arrives!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 12, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

