It missed us totally.

The big black spot on this cats chin makes it look surprised :-)

The big black spot on this cats chin makes it look surprised 🙂

I don’t think we had any wind to speak of last night, the storm missed us totally. The snow became rain but we were very close to it, I could see snow on the mountain and even on the farm at the base of it only 500 meters (much the same in yards) away. It was a snow chaos not far away though so we were lucky this time. Well I can’t say I love rain but it’s better than deep snow 🙂

 

Snow on the mountain and doesn't it look like the barn has snow on the roof?

Snow on the mountain and doesn’t it look like the barn has snow on the roof?

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

 

Even though it has been more or less wind free here around my cottage it still hasn’t been an especially nice day, it has been in to the bones chilly but that gives an excuse to stay indoors keeping the fire burning on the stove. I was going to vacuum the floors but swept them instead. The thought of using my huge vacuum cleaner that sounds slightly more than a jumbo jet wasn’t at all appealing 🙂 The second package from Joyce arrived yesterday but I forgot to take photos so I’ll do that until tomorrow instead.

 

DSC_0021

We took shelter in the old stable for a while when the rain was as worst.

We took shelter in the old stable for a while when the rain was as worst.

DSC_0024

 

Even if I took a nap earlier today I still have no energy to do anything really. Too bad because we’ll get a clear sky tonight and isn’t a meteor shower supposed to happen this weekend? Would have been nice to see it when we for once have a clear sky. It will be cold too tonight so I’m hoping for some frost photos tomorrow morning.

 

This is as high as the sun gets this time of year here.

This is as high as the sun gets this time of year here.

DSC_0002

DSC_0003 - kopia

 

It’s time to give the dogs something to eat and to make a big pot with coffee for me. I’ve had tea all day and need a change 🙂

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Christer,
    That was like the rain we had for three days. The low areas were all flooded, but, like you, I was just happy it wasn’t snow. It just hasn’t been cold enough here for it.

    Yes, tonight is the Geminids, but we’re all clouded in so I figure we won’t see them. We also missed the last meteor shower because of clouds.

    Have a great evening and stay dry!

    December 13, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes, it’s much better than snow 🙂 Too warm here too.

      For once I might see it then 🙂 So far it’s semi clear sky here but the clouds will blow away later on. I can’t remember when we had a clear sky when we were supposed to have a meteor shower last time!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 4:45 pm

  2. I’d much rather have rain instead of snow. We don’t get much snow here in the Houston area, but that doesn’t hurt my feelings.

    Have a great day!

    December 13, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    • Hi Jim!
      Nice to see You here again 🙂

      I agree, it doesn’t hurt my feelings if the snow never falls here again 🙂 So gar so good but we’re only half way through winter yet 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 8:44 pm

  3. jaz

    i am so glad it arrived! that is a cute cat!

    December 13, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I did worry that it would have disappeared on the way. That scarf is so soft that it’s amazing!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 8:45 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    The circular puddles of water, is that a path or the creek?

    The sun is out. There is blue sky overhead. I can feel the warmth on my skin as I sit out on the top step with the dogs. My weather widget says it’s snowing. It was snowing early this morning; the kind of snow that drifts down sporadically and doesn’t stick anywhere. Sparkly air snow. 🙂 The best kind.
    I checked the side yard after walking the dogs this morning and saw the viola was still there. It’s been under a few inches of snow, frozen, deluged with rain for days on end, subjected to gale winds and more snow and ice and Piki Dog. It’s raggedy looking but it’s persistent. An example for our times. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    December 13, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      That’s on the road by the field. Strangely enough some puddles were frozen and other big areas were so soft we sank down in the mud 🙂

      Weather widgets live a life of their own 🙂 I have one in my mobile phone that says it shows the weather as it is and we’ve been so surprised at work many times because it shows that we have thunderstorms but we could see a clear blue sky with lots of sunshine several times 🙂 🙂

      I think we’ve had too many frost nights for any flower to still hang around here in the village. I can’t blame any animal for not having any around because the dogs don’t care about them and the deers still think there’s enough food in the fields 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  5. Robin Larkspur

    Beautiful rainy photos, I love the puddles and the drain pipe running with water. It definitely looks cold and dismal there today. We rarely if ever get to see celestial events because of heavy cloud cover. I love that cat with the black markings. Have a very good weekend.

    December 13, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Wasn’t that nice to walk around in it though 🙂 🙂

      We do for once have a clear sky so I’ll go outside later to see if I can find any falling stars to make wishes to 🙂

      It is a cute cat 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 13, 2014 at 9:11 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Is it normal for you to have rain this time of year? We have had 0 degrees all day and fog! I have been in my happy spot because of the fog. It is messy out because of the melting but this will all go away come Monday. Back to cold temperatures and sun. Blah. I hope you have enough energy to see the meteors tonight! We are off to listen to our local symphony tonight – they are playing the Messiah. I am looking forward to it, I hope I don’t fall asleep!

    December 13, 2014 at 11:35 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s usually much too cold for rain here this time of year but every now and again we do get a milder period in December with rain. Our coldest month is February and I can’t remember many rainy Februaries in my life :-)They say it will turn in January because El Niño will stop down in South America and then ther cold weather will arrive here too.

      I’ve been hoping for fog a lot now but it seems it rather stays close to the mountain so far.

      I did have energy enough to go outside and see the meteor shower 🙂 It was beautiful! I’m Pretty sure the Messiah was too! One of my absolute favorite music!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 14, 2014 at 7:30 am

  7. Det var inte mycket till storm här heller, vilken gladde mig otroligt! Varje gång det blåser så väntar jag bara på att få höra braket när nått träd i kohagen dråsar ner på tomten…eller poolen…eller altantaket…eller t.o.m. över huset om det är den stora lärken!! 😡
    Idag däremot har vi haft ett fantastiskt fint väder, srtrålande sol och +5 grader men…när vi tog en liten prommis med Santos så kunde vi inte gå nere vid havet, det blåste iskalla vindar, så det blev i en liten skog istället. Och jag frös i alla fall….. 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    December 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nä det gjorde inget att den missade oss 🙂 Grannen har ett par björkar som skulle kunna ge sig men de brukar stå kvar stadigt i stormen. rötterna går såpass djupt att det skall mycket till för att de skall rasa.

      ´Det har börjat blåsa hårt här nu, annars har det varit lugnt hela dagen här och mulet. Lite trist väder men det regnade i alla fall inte 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 14, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

