I’ve bought the ham.

DSC_0038

Not much to say today, In worked in the neighbor factory and time passed fast. On my way back to my ordinary work place I went by the grocery store to buy me a yule ham. Mo yule without a ham here in Sweden, unless one is a vegetarian of course 🙂 It weighs a bit over 3,2 kg (7 pound) and is already cooked, all I have to do is to put it in the oven again to grill it with a coating of eggs, mustard and bread crumbs.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0023

DSC_0034

 

I don’t take any break while working in the other factory so I had a fifty minutes break to take when I came back, so I jumped in the car and drove to a nearby tractor/ harvester/ anything mechanical to a farm store and bought some oil to my car. I still had over minutes left on my break when I came back. It’s warm again and it is raining but the roads were nice so who am I to complain 🙂

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

How about another being? The Lantern man, I think You call him Jack O’ Lantern in English. He’s a tiny man most often dressed in grey or green carrying a little lantern. Normally one only see the light from the lantern. Sometimes it moves slow, sometimes very fast and often very erratic. The Lantern man is believed to be a damned spirit who one time stole land from someone else by changing the poles that marked where the property lines were. His punishment for this is to forever walk along the wrong property lines . Often one can hear him talk to himself saying this is the right property line, this is the wrong one. Only if a human follows him and place the property poles on their right places he will get piece again.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0033

Lots and lots of stars.

Lots and lots of stars.

 

It happens quite often that he just out of spite make people get lost and quite often he make them go out on bogs and let them drown in a deep hole. But he can actually be nice too if he find lost people and if one gives him a coin after being helped all is well, if not ha can be so angry he hits You and then put a spell on You so even if You’re just a yard from Your home You won’t find it. There is one thing one can do though, turn any clothes You wear inside out and the spell goes away. Quite easy to be honest 🙂

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003 - kopia

DSC_0005 - kopia

It is time for some tea and something to eat. 

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. I enjoyed your post so much, I love to hear the stories, it reminded me today of the children’s book Fablehaven, beautiful photos, and your ham sounds wonderful!

    December 18, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them 🙂 There are a few more beings I haven’t told You about yet 🙂

      We do love our ham 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 18, 2014 at 8:19 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Dear me. These other beings are so testy. And they make you do such inconvenient things. My first thought was how uncomfortable it would be in the dark of winter to have to strip off all your clothes, turn them inside out and then put them back on. If you haven’t frozen to death by the time you’ve complete the process you deserve all the luck you can get.

    I’ve never heard of using egg as a coating on a ham. We put weird things like coca cola or ginger ale on ours so I shouldn’t be surprised. Mustard and bread crumbs seems standard. We also use brown sugar in the mix.
    Ham is not one of my favorites, though. If I’m going to eat pig, I’d rather eat it as bacon or roast pork loin. 🙂

    The lawn guys came last night and did fall clean up on my yard. Yes, they were out there in the dark blowing sopping wet leaves in various directions and sucking up other things with the lawn mower. The viola which had bloomed through wind, rain, snow, sleet and dark of many sunless days did not survive the lawn guys. 😦
    I had to go check out the work in daylight this morning because it looked like they had done so thorough a job that they had removed the marker stones from a couple of pet graves. A couple of the stones had been moved but I can put them back. Sort of. As long as I’m in the general area, it should be okay. If someone after me decides to dig there, they might be unpleasantly surprised. 🙂

    It’s cold, cloudy and damp with little peeks of sun now and then. I should be working on Xmas gifts but I’m wasting time online instead.

    Enjoy the ham and the day.

    December 18, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are 🙂
      I don’t think however that one need to put more than one clothes item inside out 🙂 The important thing is to always have some coins in the pockets, at least for some beings. Other ones want other things.

      I doubt that You would find any Swede pouring coca cola or ginger ale on our ham 🙂 But the we mix the eggs, bread crumbs and mustard and spread it thick on the ham. Soo delicious and the only time I want mustard, otherwise I can’t stand it 🙂 Our ham is put in brine for some time before we eat it.

      Too bad about the viola but I wouldn’t be surprised if another one showed up is it just stays above freezing point. But I have to say that I’m surprised they came to work in the dark 🙂 Well one can’t complain if they would miss anything, after all it was completely dark 🙂 Maybe it will be fossil hunters that one day willdig there 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 18, 2014 at 8:27 pm

      • They started at about 2:30PM on a day that was already dark and drear. Sunset is 4:13PM more or less. It was actually almost dark at 3:30 when I went out with the dogs. They did an excellent job considering the lack of visibility. They cleaned up places I wouldn’t have bothered with. They even took the barrel of brush and leaves that I left on the back stairway, cleaned that stairway and the useless piece of overgrown space next to the stairs that I don’t mess with because it’s on top of a retaining wall and I don’t want to fall off. 🙂 I was worried that they had cleaned up my aquilegia and mint. I saw the aquilegia but I forgot to check for the mint. It was a nasty tasting mint anyway so I won’t be sad if it’s gone. 🙂

        It won’t be fossil hunters. It will be new homeowners who are digging up that spot to put in a spiffy patio or something. They’ll find the remains of Tegan and Monster instead. If they dig behind the wall they’ll find Fritz, too.

        December 19, 2014 at 5:27 am

      • It gets so dark so fast and early now but now it’s only two moredays until it stops getting darker 🙂 I’m glad the aquilegia made it through the cleaning and I’m pretty sure the mint did too 🙂

        I can imagine what they’ll be thinking when they find those remains 🙂

        December 19, 2014 at 3:33 pm

  3. Robin Larkspur

    This Lantern Man sounds very creepy; except when he is nice, which doesn,t sound very often.
    We have ham for Yule too, with a cheesy potato casserole, corn, green beans. Delicious!

    December 18, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Just never follow erratic light when walking in the dark close to a bog where he can drown You 🙂

      The yule ham is one of the dishes at the Yule bord, most of us have it on a sandwich with lots of mustard and beetroot salad 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:23 pm

  4. jaz

    these stories are so interesting. i would love to see a pic of your ham! is that possible? i have never seen a ham made this way!

    December 19, 2014 at 12:37 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like them too 🙂

      I’ll take a photo of it when I have grilled it and perhaps one before grilling too 🙂 It is put in brine for at least three days before we cook it. No christmas without it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:24 pm

  5. Christer,
    I just ordered my pork roast for Christmas. My guests don’t like ham so I figured pork would be good. It marinates overnight which sounds great. I’ll look for an apple recipe as one of the sides. I also bought stuff to start making cookies tomorrow. This has been a busy week.

    For us, a Jack O’Lantern is a carved pumpkin. It is named after the flickering bog lights sometimes seen in Ireland. Maybe your Jack is the cause of those flickering lights.

    Today was damp and cold. No snow in the forecast but ski country has tons. They are quite happy for so much snow this early.

    Have a great evening.

    December 19, 2014 at 12:45 am

    • Hi Kat!

      The chritsmas ham is just one of loads of dishes at the yule bord but that’s the one thing we all eat. Pickled herring in god so many ways are other dishes 🙂 🙂

      I guess both Your Jack O’Lantern and our Lantern man have musch the same job, drowning people 🙂

      The weather was so nice when I came home but changed really fast while we were out walking, Now at least it doesn’t either snow or rain I think.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:27 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I am intruigued by your coating for the ham. Eggs? Do you mix the eggs with the crumbs and mustard? I love mustard with anything so I find it fascinating. We are having everyone over on the 24th and ordering Chinese food. On the 25th we head to my brother’s outside of our city for the big feast. I am glad I don’t have to cook it! 🙂 Lucky you for having mild temperatures! We are okay at -7 currently (its just gone 8:00 p.m.) and we are due milder temps for the next few days. Some snow tomorrow too. Just look at those stars!!! Love that picture! Our Jack O’Lantern is our carved pumpkins. I just love your stories!! So fascinating! Tomorrow’s Friday – YAY!

    December 19, 2014 at 3:12 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes we mix the eggs and mustard, some of us mix the bread crumbs too while other sprinkle it all over the egge/ mustard mix after it has been put on the ham. I can’t stand mustard exept when it comes to our yule ham 🙂 Then it’s a must 🙂

      Chinese food! I love it! But here the 24th is the big day so anyone ordering chionese then would be seen as a bit odd 🙂 🙂

      Yes it is above 0 but we’ve had snow, hail and rain within just a few minutes today 🙂

      Christmas vacation has started 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:31 pm

  7. “Lyktgubben” har jag faktiskt aldrig hört om – eller så har jag glömt bort det! För det ringer en klocka när jag kom till det där med att man skulle sätta kläderna ut och in när man var i skogen!! 😆
    Jaså, du har köpt dig en skinka och en redig sån också. Men det är väl inga problem med att bli av med eventuella överblivna bitar eller…..!? wink:
    Själv har jag gjort köttbullar på 1 kg färs,samt testgjort ett nytt recept på revbensspjäll. Men det blev inte speciellt gott, vi åt det till middag i förrgår, så det blir inga spjäll till jul. 😦
    Sen håller jag just nu på att baka – jag som egentligen inte gillar att baka. Men det är faktiskt 3:e gången jag gör surdegsbröd. Vi fick smaka ett levain-bröd som en bekant hade gjort och det var så vansinnigt gott att jag köpte mig en hushållsassistent och började baka. Man ärt aldrig för gammal för att lära sig nått nytt….. 🙄 Tidigare har vi haft lite svårt för surdegsbröd, vi gillar inte den sura smaken, men det här blev kanongott så nu blir det nästan bara hembakt matbröd. tänk så man kan ändra sig! 😛
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    December 19, 2014 at 9:50 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Lyktgubben var en av de första, efter troll och häxor förstås, som jag hörde talas om 🙂

      Inte blir det någon bit över av den skinkan inte 🙂

      Jag gör ingenting i matväg förrän dagen innan julafton, det kommer inte att finnas något kvar annars 🙂 Men du kan väl köpa nya och använda ett gammalt recept på dem?

      Bröd bakar jag oftast hela vintern, vedspisen är ju ändå igång jämt, kakor och annat blir det dock mindre av tack och lov 🙂

      Surdegsbröd går väl an men jag tycker inte det är så gott som många säger.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:36 pm

  8. texasann

    Love the photos today, Christer. The path among the trees looks like and adventure just waiting to happen. And the tree growing from the stump looks very much like our Christmas tree this year. Impossible to decorate with such soft branches, but Hubby likes a real tree to plant after the season is over. Outdid himself this year! Colors in your photos lately are great – really sharp and crisp. Don’t know whaich camera you are using, but it does good work.

    December 19, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    • Hi texasann!

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      So You have a tree with a root? I had that for several years here and now it grows in the garden. So far not even Orvar has tried to pee it to death 🙂 I do agrre with Your husband, it is nice to be able to plant it afterwards 🙂 I’m hoping the one I have will grow fast so I can have lights in it during winter soon 🙂

      I have a Nikon D5100. I bought it for half the price at a pawn shop action 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

