I wouldn’t mind some chinese food.

Salmiak wasn't happy at all to see us :-)

Salmiak wasn’t happy at all to see us 🙂

Finally it’s here, Christmas vacation and I hope it will be much more calm than what the National Lampoon’s had 🙂 That is my absolute favorite christmas movie. I’m not much for those over sugary sweet with happy endings ones. We Europeans do love a tragic ending when everything seems to go the heroes way but suddenly change and ends with death and despair 🙂 I guess that the ultimate European christmas movie will have lots of people struggling to finally, after lots of troubled lives but all problems now solved, a family will spend one happy christmas together but just as it seems to come true they all die by poisoning 🙂 That is a movie I would like to see 🙂

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

The sun was shining when I was on my way home after work today. I needed more fire logs and I had to get Orvar’s and Hector’s medicine and also Nova’s medicine for her ear (we are trying cortisone now to make the swelling in her ear go down). I also needed to renew my lottery tickets and to buy some food. Too bad that the notice that I had a package at the post office at Gudhem have been laying at the post office for more than five days didn’t arrive yesterday because then I could have fetched it too today. 

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

and then the rain started to fall.

and then the rain started to fall.

 

So I drove to Falköping since that would go most fast. As soon as I stepped out of the car in Falköping the smell of chinese food hit me in the face 🙂 Too bad it would take too long to get all things since I had to go to several places otherwise I would have brought some with me home. But I need to do some shopping next week anyway so perhaps I’ll buy some then. The sun started to hide behind clouds when I came home and the snow, hail and rain started falling when we were on our way home during the walk. I didn’t mind especially much as long as we were walking in the forest but the winds got strong as soon as we stepped out by the fields and that wasn’t nice at all 🙂

 

The sky became darker and darker and it happened fast too.

The sky became darker and darker and it happened fast too.

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

 

I finally found the yule spruce I’ve been looking for all autumn, we call it Room Spruce but it is actually called Norfolk Island Pine (Araucaria heterophylla). I had one when I had my garden center that was around  2 meters high (6,6 foot). I brought it home when I closed the place but it didn’t like to move from a green house to a cottage with much drier air. I’m hoping this small one will make it much better and naturally I forgot to take a photo of it today but I’ll do it until tomorrow.

 

DSC_0015

and it just got worse

and it just got worse

and worse.

and worse.

 

It is time to give all the animals their food and after that it’s my turn. I hope there’s something good on tv otherwise it will be an early evening for me.

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Hooray for the start of vacation!

    That little mushroom group looks like a mustachioed Victorian gentleman peering out from under the log. 🙂

    My favorite Christmas movie is A Christmas Story. It’s very funny and not entirely for kids. It’s about Ralphie who desperately wants a Red Ryder BB gun for Christmas and goes to great lengths to request one from Santa. Everyone keeps laughing and telling him “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid.”
    Ralphie has interesting family and friends and gets into many situations in the course of the movie. The neighbor’s dogs break into their kitchen on Christmas day and eat the turkey. The movie ends with the family having Christmas dinner in the local Chinese restaurant. The waiter brings out a roasted duck with the head still on it which causes the mother to shriek and everyone else to laugh. The other waiters all sing a Christmas song.
    There is a cable channel here that shows that movie and nothing else for 24 hours on Christmas Day. I love it. 🙂

    It’s colder and still damp here today.

    Enjoy the thought of Chinese food at least until you can pick some up. Enjoy the rest of the day.

    December 19, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes Hooray! 🙂

      I have to admit that I didn’t see that until You wrote it here 🙂

      As I remember they had a lamp shaped as a womans leg 🙂 but I have to admit that I don’t remember the chinese restaurant in the end though 🙂

      Kind of nasty outside, windy cold and rain every now and again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 6:54 pm

  2. jaz

    hi christer! i love seeing salmiak! he could give grumpy cat a run for his money! it’s hard to find chinese food here anymore. it has been replaced with thai mostly. we have ice here again and it is treacherous.

    December 19, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is fun that the two most grumpy looking cats are best of friends 🙂

      I think there is a Thai restaurant in Falköping too but I’m not sure. I like that too but there’s something with chinese food that I prefer.

      Too warm for icy roads at the moment so it was quite nice driving around today 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 6:56 pm

  3. I had a Norfolk Pine in our house but mine died when we moved, I do not know why, sadness I suspect, I laughed when you said hat about Chinese food because when we were out today at the Grocery store the restaurant beside it is a Chinese one and the smells coming from it make us soooo hungry too! We always treat ourselves on our anniversary , the 21st of this month to Chinese meal, I hope you have a wonderful holiday season and you’re right, that cat looks very unhappy!

    December 19, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    • HI Laurie!

      I think they don’t like to be moved to another indoors climate. I think apartment air is just too dry.

      I love chginese food or that food we call chinese. I’ve read that most chinese food in chinese restaurants actually is vietnamese 🙂 I need to go to falköping next week to get me some 🙂

      So! Anniversary the 21st! Congratulations just in case I wouold miss that date 🙂

      He really doesn’t like dogs that cat 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Chrtister.

      December 19, 2014 at 7:00 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! YAY, they are finally here! Lovely holidays for you I am sure! I hope they go by nice AND slow! 🙂 We are having crazy weather. More freezing rain today and its just not stopping. You have rain, ours is freezing. Ridiculous! But I am not complaining (really) I’d rather have this than -40 with a wind that makes it -50. I love the picture of the mushrooms that look like a small face. Too cute!! Have a good evening!

    December 19, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Anything is better than -40 and wind 🙂

      I hope so too but we both know these days will pass by like a rocket faster than the light 🙂

      Freezing rain is nasty but I have to admit that I’m a bit tired of warm rain too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 19, 2014 at 9:15 pm

  5. Dianna

    Part 2 – I forgot to mention, Salmiak’s face cracks me up!! What a cat!! 🙂

    December 19, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    • He sure doesn’t hide his feelings 🙂

      December 19, 2014 at 9:16 pm

  6. Vi brukar snabbt bli trötta på julmaten – trots att det blivit färre och färre sorter på bordet. Alltså, när det gäller syltor (har vi inga alls längre), revbensspjäll (bara jag som gillar), salt kött (alldeles för dyrt), patéer och pastejer (vem orkar göra sånt). lutfisk (återigen bara jag som gillar), Gurras sardiner (som bara Rolle gillar på julborder – men i år får han inga), sallader (går aldrig åt), lådor (det blir bara Janssons) osv. Men det blir faktiskt mer fisk för idag var vi till Katthammarsviks Rökeri och inhandlade kallrökt lax, varmrökt lax, gravad lax, ål (en pytteliten bit), böckling och färsk strömming samt 6 st salta sillfiléer som jag lagt i blöt.
    Strömmingen åt vi till middag med potatisstomp och sursöt dillsås och dom få stackarna som blev över har jag lagt in. I morgon ska jag lägga in böckling -det är jättegott – och så två sorters sill. Sen ska jag nog köpa en skinka. Fast inte så stor i år. Åker kanske till Havors och köper en okokt och kokar själv. Det blir så gott spad som man kan göra ärtsoppa på!
    I Katthammarsvik tog vi en ordentlig runda nere vid havet och i skogen och det var riktigt skönt. Just där var det lä. Vi försökte dock innan gå runt Sysne Udd, men det blåste så jäkligt att inte ens Santos ville gå dår utan gick tillbaka till bilen. Det enda han inte gillade under prommisen var att det kom en jättestor svart hanhund – ensam – springande mot oss och var på Santos hela tiden. Santos blev jätterädd och skällde på honom, mend et var en unghund så han förstod inte vad Santos menade. Så när matten kom efte ren stund så var hon tvungen att koppla sin hund. DÅ tyckge Santos han var kul….. 🙄
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    December 19, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Som du säger, det är trots allt väldigt få olika sorters mat vi har på julbordet numera, som tur är kanske 🙂 Varmrökt lax går ju an men annars är jag inte speciellt glad för den fisken. Älskar rökt ål men eftersom den numera är utrotningshotad struntar jag i den. Jag hittade faktiskt ingen okokt skinka i affären så jag hoppas den jag köpt smakar bra, man vet aldrig med de där kokta.

      Kan tänka mig att den andra hundärgaren trodde hon skulle vara själv där ute i vädret 🙂 Ingen ursäkt för att inte ha koll på sin hund dock. Mina brukar bli så glada när vi faktiskt möter en annan hund att de blir så intensiva att de skrämmer bort den 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 20, 2014 at 5:20 am

      • ja, det var precis vad den här 14 månader gamla – men jättestora – hunden var! Och Santos tyckte han var enormt stor och läskig!!
        Susie

        December 20, 2014 at 11:01 pm

      • Tänk då när fyra hundar lika lyckliga vill fram och träffa främlingen 🙂 Så ser jag en hund på avstånd ser jag alltid till att alla hundar är kopplade 🙂

        Chriser.

        December 21, 2014 at 6:12 am

Leave a Reply

