We know it’s still out there.

DSC_0003

I took a two hor nap earlier today and now I sort of can’t wake up properly even if we have been outside walking in the temporary sunshine. We never made it in to the big forest or the bog today because for once the hunters had patience and stayed until now, almost 3 pm. I think this was the last time for this year and that’s why they stayed longer than normal. It annoyed me quite a lot to be honest but now I’ll have the forest to myself for at least two or three weeks.

 

This year the villagers have decorated with lights, two places have lights in one bush each this year. Can't remember ever seeing this much yule decoration ever here :-)

This year the villagers have decorated with lights, two places have lights in one bush each this year. Can’t remember ever seeing this much yule decoration ever here 🙂

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

 

I finally found a have a heart trap that didn’t cost me half my pay check to put in my pantry, I still have mice going in there every now and again. I keep everything in containers but still it is gross finding mouse poop in there. I put some peanut butter in it and hope that our mice love it 🙂 So far no luck though so I might need to change bait soon to something else, jam perhaps?

 

The WOW trees.

The WOW trees.

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Not only did they stay in the forest for a very long time today, they also came here early.

 

 

I don’t think I’ve ever told You about the Lindorm (Lindworm in English). A Scandinavian Lindorm is a close relative to a dragon but it has no wings, only two front legs and can´t spit fire. Instead it has nasty big fangs and it can spit the same kind of poison ants use and the Lindorm aims very well. In Norway a Lindorm also can be a sea snake. It is a huge snake-like being with a mane shaped like a crown on the head. It usually lives beneath old oaks and it’s easy to find such a nest because that oak stays green all year round. If You find such a nest You’ll also find the Lindorm’s huge treasure it has collected through the years.

 

Not the best of photos but I didn't have time enough to adjust the camera.

Not the best of photos but I didn’t have time enough to adjust the camera.

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

 

It also happens that it sets its nest beneath old churches where it eats all the corpses in the crypt. The only way to kill a Lindorm is to trick it to follow You through three big fires, it will get caught in the third one where it will be burned alive but beware, it has happened that the Lindorm just before dying has captured the hunter and dragged him into the fire to die with him. A Lindorm has a smart way of moving around a bit faster than if it should crawl on the ground, it just bite itself in the tail making a circle or wheel and rolls away.

 

In my neighbors garden.

In my neighbor’s garden.

Thankfully there's a small forest close to the village where they never hunt. I did miss the forest walk today.

Thankfully there’s a small forest close to the village where they never hunt. I did miss the forest walk today.

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

 

The Lindorm is a mighty being with lots of magical powers, so if one is lucky enough to kill one, one must eat its flesh because then one will get magical powers too. For instance, if You make soup of it You’ll get the power of see into the future, the power of healing and perhaps the power of talking to animals. But if one isn’t daring enough to run through three big fires it’s quite enough to just get the skin it sheds every now and again because that is enough to get some magical powers. The beliefs in the Lindorm’s existence stayed way in to the late 19th century here in some parts of Sweden but after a man would give a huge reward to anyone capturing one and no one managed to do so the beliefs in it quickly died out but we all know that they are just too difficult to catch and we all know they still are out there, don’t we 🙂

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

It is time for a pot of coffee, I feel I need to wake up before it is time to go to bed.

 

My new little Yule Spruce, a Norfolk Island Pine.

My new little Yule Spruce, a Norfolk Island Pine.

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jaz

    when i was young and lived in apartments, i always decorated norfolk island pines. mine never lasted long after xmas though. they seemed to dry up no matter how much i watered.

    December 20, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s the apartment air, it’s just too dry so the poor pine feel like it lives in a desert. I’ll shower this one every now and again to try to make it survive easier. I really want it to survive so I can dress it next yule 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 20, 2014 at 6:47 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hpoe you have woken from the nap – I know how that feels and I hate that feeling. That must have been a pretty deep nap! 🙂 What a great bunch of pictures today! Love the little mushroom village – I can just picture the fairies underneath! Your photos look like what spring looks like here – all puddles! I was hoping my package would have reached you by Yule but I fear the Canada Post system has done it again. Typical. They are the slowest postal system in the world I am sure. I hope it gets there soon!!! Its been 2 weeks!! Love the Lindorm fable! I wish I could live in a world with all those magickal beings. I could only imagine you’d have to really watch yourself with all the mischief! I’ve got a day of baking – thimble cookys, mocha crinckles and more gingersnaps. Tomorrow is about 1 million more butter tarts and some spice muffins. The house smells good! 🙂 Have a good Saturday evening! 🙂

    December 20, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t say I feel tired any longer but still I sort of do 🙂 Better now though 🙂

      I got a paper that I have a too big letter, might just as well be a package, witing for me at the post office. It didn’t say from where it came though 🙂 I’ll go there on Monday to pick it up. I’ll let You know if it was from You 🙂 Sweden used to have a fantastic postal service but it has gone down the drains to be honest.

      I do like this old folklore and it’s easy to believe these old stories when living close to a big bog like I’m doing or further north where the really big forests are 🙂

      No baking here yet, I’ll wait until Tuesday before I do anything like that here because I’ll eat it directly 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 20, 2014 at 6:54 pm

  3. Christer,
    Stay with the peanut butter. I had an infestation of mice last winter. They were in the eaves upstairs and were eating the cat food. I heard them at night and they’d be in my bedroom and the animals never even noticed. I bought a have-a-heart trap and it worked perfectly. 46 mice were involuntarily moved to places more than a mile away. I think I read somewhere a mouse can find its way home up to a mile so I took them further away. I found a reproduction of a neat trap which I used more recently. It has a wood base and is made of wire. You put the peanut butter on the bottom inside the walls of the trap. The mice can get in but not out. They went for rides as well. So far no mouse poop!

    Have a great day!!

    December 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The winter is too warm so far so I don’t hear especially many mice yet but I see the signs in my pantry. Bertil and Teodor sits outside the pantry door listening every now and again but it doesn’t help opening the door, the mice just ran back into the opening where an electric jacket sists. My have a heart trap looks just as the one You describe! I’ll just bring them down to the other side of the little creek out on the bog, there are some stoats living there so if they try to walk back they are doomed.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 20, 2014 at 7:31 pm

  4. Gillar sägnen om Lindormen – även om den inte va<r något jag kom ihåg precis. Tror inte att såna här sägner flirerade så mycket i Stockholm där jag är född! *fniss'
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    December 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Vi fick faktiskt lära oss en hel del av dessa mytologiska djur i skolan i Göteborg, kan ju ha berott på en lärare som var intresserad förstås 🙂 Har alltid fsacinerats av de här historierna 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 21, 2014 at 6:11 am

  5. Hi Christer,
    I read the first sentence as you took two more naps and I though you shouldn’t be tired after two more naps. Then I saw it was a two hour nap. Ok.

    I have a little Norfolk Island Pine Christmas tree, too. What they do here is jam 10 tiny trees in a smallish pot and put decorations all over the little trees. This one started out like that last year. At some point 9 of the little trees dried up and died. This one remains. It was out on the porch from early last spring through to a week or so ago when I had to bring it in. Too cold at night. It seems to be okay sitting next to the 45 year old Christmas cactus which is in bloom again no doubt because I forgot to water it until recently and it thinks it’s going to die. 🙂

    The next to the last photo is my favorite today. I like how the light falls on the road. It’s like a shining path through the dark forest.
    Very appropriate since there are roughly 21 hours until the Winter Solstice and the light begins to return to us.

    Today was the monthly knitting group’s Christmas party. We had a lovely brunch of baked ham, spinach strata and grapefruit arugula salad. It was all good. Dessert was a trifle of chocolate cake, lemon curd and whipped cream. Really tasty.
    Tomorrow my niece is hosting dinner. Thursday is Christmas with my brother and sister-in-law. New Year’s is a house party. After that my social calendar goes back to practically zero until this time next year. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    December 21, 2014 at 2:52 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      🙂 In Swedish that would have been totally clear since that is one word, a twohournap 🙂 🙂 Yes if I had continued being tired after two more naps something must have been wroung 🙂 🙂

      You have treated both the Norfolk Pine and the Christmas cactus just perfect 🙂 The Norfolk Pine is hard to stay alive that first year, here they are so expensive that they wouldn’t sell anythiung if they put ten together 🙂 and the cactus need a long period with drought to feel as best 🙂 I have a Easter cactus that survived a few nights with frost here so now it stands by a window and get very little water but that one wonät start to flower until early spring.

      I do like that photo best too! even though I do like the grass with frozen water drops on them too. Today and tomorrow will be the turning point here, both days are just as short and on the 23d the day will already be around 1 minute longer 🙂

      I do like that brunch! especially the dessert sounds delicious 🙂

      I’ll stay at home the entire holiday season, I refuse to go out in the traffic since this is the time of year most people are killed out there.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 21, 2014 at 6:23 am

      • The 45 year old Christmas cactus has almost died at least once. It should be massive by now if I had been at all good with caring for it. All my Christmas cacti used to spend the winter in an unheated back hall that had a south facing window. It was bright and cold and they were happy there. One weekend it got way below zero for several days in a row. Normally, I would open the door to that hall and let some heat into the area but I forgot. When I did check on them, they had all frozen. I brought them in and put them in a warmer room with bright light and watched as all the frozen leaves fell off leaving only the fleshy stems. They sat like that for 4 or 5 months. Finally, three of the cacti started to show little bumps on the stems which eventually turned into leaves. The Old Man was one of the three. The other two eventually died but the Old Man remains. 🙂

        December 21, 2014 at 11:42 pm

      • But to be honest, it did survive so You are doing something right 🙂

        I usually have my cactuses outside too during summer and most have died because I’ve forgotten to bring them in before winter starts 🙂 This easter cactus is tough though, it managed to survive outside for several days with frost.

        December 22, 2014 at 6:05 am

Leave a Reply

