It wouldn’t be popular today.

Today I'll have a few photos that I took yesterday mixed in with the ones I took today. You can easily see the difference, yesterday had frost.

Today I’ll have a few photos that I took yesterday mixed in with the ones I took today. You can easily see the difference, yesterday had frost.

We started early this morning by taking our morning walk when it still was pitch black outside., I was thinking of bringing the camera and just randomly take photos with the flash on but then I remembered that even if I took a lens with autofocus it wouldn’t focus since it was so dark it couldn’t find anything to focus on πŸ™‚ After that I jumped in to my car and drove to FalkΓΆping, I was going to pick up a package in Gudhem on my way home and I thought it best to buy all the food I’ll have during Christmas.

 

DSC_0007

My garage.

My garage.

My neighbors cottage.

My neighbors cottage.

 

There were two things I really needed to get before it was too late, cat food and toilet paper, so naturally I’ll need to go to the store tomorrow to get those things πŸ™‚ I got everything else I wanted though πŸ™‚ The package came from Dianna in Canada and I sort of know what I’ll get πŸ™‚ I’ll show You all on Christmas Eve when I open them and the big package from Joyce πŸ™‚ Christmas Eve is the big day here but I can’t tell You why because I’ve never heard any reason for why we have the big day then when almost all other have it on Christmas Day. I guess the old Lutheran protestant priests didn’t like us to have fun on a day when we’re supposed to celebrate the birth of Christ, to be honest, those guys really didn’t like us to have fun at all πŸ™‚

 

The Hazel is ready for an early start.

The Hazel is ready for an early start.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

We’ve had a sunny and very warm day here today and tomorrow will be much the same they say but they are changing the predictions faster than the eye can blink. Yesterday they predicted snow and below 0C (32F) temperatures for Christmas Eve evening now it’s more like rain and those temperatures, they didn’t predict a sun for tomorrow either but they do now, I do hope they are right now. Fewer people would die in the traffic if the sun did show, today and tomorrow are two of the worst days when it comes to that. Now is also the time when homes burn down, it’s sort of a tradition I almost said πŸ™‚ People tend to forget to put out those advent candles and since the candlesticks are decorated with moss, that at this time is rather dry and burns easily , the fire spreads rapidly.Β 

 

This one was so dark I had to make it brighter, I guess that's why they have such a blueish fur :-)

This one was so dark I had to make it brighter, I guess that’s why they have such a blueish fur πŸ™‚

A bridge can be dangerous, at least I think that's what they are thinking here :-)

A bridge can be dangerous, at least I think that’s what they are thinking here πŸ™‚

DSC_0035

 

I love a fire in the stove but I never have any candles burning, after all this cottage is over 100 years old and only the chimney is made from stone. It would probably not take long before the entire cottage had burned down. But then again, mice can chew through electric cables giving much the same results πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

 

Have You ever heard about the Grim? I don’t mean the one in the Harry Potter books and I don’t mean the great tv show they are making. We have the Church Grim here and while all other beings do what they can to stay away from christianity this one is a protector of it and made by humans in the most nasty way. They created the Grim by, when they were building the church, walling in a living animal in the walls. When the animal finally died it became the church grim.Β 

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

The grim looked much like the animal that was walled in, usually a dog, a cat, an ox or a rooster but it looked like a dog/ cat/ ox/ rooster from hell. Glowing eyes, huge fangs, razor-sharp beaks, spiky horns like an ice pick and claws that could rip up even metal. They were so scary that not even grave robbers, church thiefs and other evil humans stayed away, even the other beings were so afraid of it that they wouldn’t come close to a church. I guess that’s the reason they tend to steal from modern churches now day, it wouldn’t be popular if they walled in a living animal in te walls now days πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

DSC_0002

 

It’s time to check the rice porridge I’m making and the rice I’m boiling for the dogs too. Orvar has an upset stomach again and if he gets rice the other ones wants it too πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jaz

    poor orvar…another upset stomach. hope he feels better soon. some people here open all their gifts on xmas eve. i never do that. i am almost done wrapping. it is going to be 60 degrees tomorrow. i need snow!

    December 22, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      He would be so much better if he didn’t eat all crap he finds πŸ™‚ I too hope he’ll feel better fast though πŸ™‚

      We have alwayd opened our presents on Christmas eve here in Sweden, I’ve tried to find out why but haven’t found any answer.

      We were supposed to have sunshine tomorrow but now the predictions show cloudy all day. I’ll know tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 22, 2014 at 7:23 pm

  2. I love hear o the folklore, its wonderful, such a rich history you have. We always let our children open one present Christmas eve and it was always pajamas with a small treat, I wanted them in new pajamas for photos in the morning, lol, we have snow falling as I type, its not really cold though, minus 8 Celsius,

    December 22, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’ve always loved these stories but the younger generations lern less of it unfortunately.

      We have always opened them on Christmas eve but I’ve never found out why. I can’t remember us ever taking a photyo of us at Christmas πŸ™‚

      Send some snow to Joyce, she wants it badly πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    They aren’t blue. They are shiny. Shiny on black dogs comes out blue in daylight photos. Nice shot of them, too. I he like the shot of the little mushroom right above that photo, too. Very delicate looking thing.

    Your garage looks festive with the lights. And the neighbor’s cottage looks lovely. I like those icicle lights.

    Today is another grey, cold, damp but not raining, dull day. I had plans but I had no energy to undertake them so I have been goofing off on the internet all day so far. I’ve taken the dogs out a couple of times, too, but that’s the extent of my journeys. It must be a slappardag. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    December 22, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      The photo below shows their color better. I do like that photo of the mushroom but my favorite one is the first photo.

      It sure look much better than with the old light chain that was supposed to look as it was dressed with spruce twigs πŸ™‚ The odd thing at my neighbors cottage is that they only have that icicle light chain and it only covers half the cottage πŸ™‚ Sort of very Swedish, yes we are decorating but not too much πŸ™‚

      I must go to the store tomnorrow too but after that I have so much food at home that it will last at least a week πŸ™‚ So I’ll have plenty of slappardagar from tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 22, 2014 at 9:16 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am glad my package found its way to you! And mostly on time – well done Canada Post! πŸ™‚ We are sitting at +1 today (!!!) and misty. I like this weather a great deal. Had some fantastic large snow this morning, but that has stopped. I hope you enjoy your little gift! πŸ™‚ Poor Orvar! Our husky, Tor, is not doing very well with the tumor. I fear that he may not be with us much longer, but I hope that things turn around and we are wrong in our predictions. I have some ground beef out and will make him hamburger and rice tonight as he is off his food. Poor dog. I feel so bad that we just can’t fix this problem, but its too big to fix and given his age I don’t think surgery would be the best thing for him. I love the story of the Grim! That’s fantastic!! Your photos today are perfect! I love the blue on the dogs, makes them look a bit spooky! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!!

    December 22, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m looking forward to christmas eve πŸ™‚

      We had almost 7 degrees here today!! It’ll be slightly cooler tomorrow and on the night towards christmas day it will sink below 0. I wonder if winter will start now?

      Orvar would have a fine stomach if he didn’t eat all garbage he finds when we’re out walking πŸ™‚

      I do hope that things turn to the better for Tor! Surgery is always a gamble when they are old so I understand how You’re thinking

      I love these old stories but I wonder where they would wall in an ox? They are after all quite big πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 22, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  5. Robin Larkspur

    That is a terrible story about the grim!
    Beautiful contrasting pictures today.
    Naturally you must give rice to all! Just like little kids, those dogs!!
    Hope you are enjoying these days before the 25th

    December 23, 2014 at 3:55 am

    • Hi Robin!

      It is a cruel story and I can’t for my life understand how an animal walled in alive to slowly die there would help us humans πŸ™‚

      Yes if one get something the rest must too πŸ™‚

      Here it’s the 24th that is important when it comes to presents πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 5:18 am

  6. Christer
    I know you said it was warm, but the woods look cold, almost uninviting. The dogs are beautiful.

    The lights were great to see. They really lit up in the darkness. They are a bit different than the lights on my house, but both yours and mine are beautiful.

    I don’t remember the last time I saw 5 o’clock in the morning. I think might have been when I last traveled because here I stay up late and sleep later in the morning.

    Have a great evening and enjoy your errands.

    December 23, 2014 at 5:25 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Those cold photos are from the day before, the rest are taken when it was almost 44F (nothing else the temperature converter said otherwise at the beginning πŸ™‚ ) πŸ™‚

      Finally I fixed those lights and it is nbice to see that a few other neighbors also have put up some, still compared to how it is in Your country this is nothing πŸ™‚

      I almost always wake up around 5 am, I’ve always been a morning person and I rarely stay up after 10pm πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

