Wolf?

It is around 10 cm (4 inches) long and slightly wider.

It is around 10 cm (4 inches) long and slightly wider. It’s not the best of photos but it isn’t a bright day and mud is dark too 🙂 This is a print of a front paw.

 

 I got up at 5 am as usual and the sky looked rather clear so I was hoping for some sun when we were going out later in the morning. But first I had to do to the super market, they open at 7 am and I was hoping that I would be rather alone in the store at that early hour. Lots of people had been thinking just the same thing 🙂 But most of them were still wandering around in the store when I had paid my things and started to drive homewards again. I only needed three things and knew exactly where to find them. I was home again before even an hour had passed.

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

and then the sky turned dark grey.

 

DSC_0017

 

We went out just before the sun was supposed to show but it never did, the clouds had thickened and there were only a few rips that still let the sun shine through. We walked down to the creek and started follow it upstream. The ground was strangely enough semi frozen, I say strangely because yesterday we had up to 7C (45F) and it never fell below 0C (32F) all night. It was actually 4C (39F) when I got up this morning. But it was good that it was semi frozen because the road was rather muddy and it was possible to walk there just because of the cold road. I had stopped to photograph something when I looked down on the mud.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

 

 I could see one very good print just beside my foot and compared to Orvar’s foot print this is huge! At least twice as big and as You know Orvar isn’t a tiny dog 🙂 He’s 75cm (30 inches) at the withers and weighs a bit over 50kg (100 pound). The print couldn’t be more than a few hours old so I kept my eyes open when we continued our walk, not because I was worried but I really would like to see a wolf 🙂 This is most probably a young one walking around trying to find a place of its own. But I kept the dogs close to me, especially the old ones since they have their leg problems. The smaller ones were leashed. I can say that they were very interested in this track and I guess they were wondering who this new dog in the neighborhood is 🙂

 

I had planned on walking in on this road but this isn't how dark it really was, it was much darker. I sort of felt that I might need something to protect the old guys just in case we would meet the wolf in there. I doubt it would do anything if we met it, a wolf is smart enough to know it would be outnumbered even if two of them are really old.

I had planned on walking in on this road but this isn’t how dark it really was, it was much darker. I sort of felt that I might need something to protect the old guys just in case we would meet the wolf in there. I doubt it would do anything if we met it, a wolf is smart enough to know it would be outnumbered even if two of them are really old.

DSC_0025

Mushrooms can the the oddest shape.

Mushrooms can take the oddest shapes.

 

I couldn’t find any more tracks and no sight of any wolf either but it might have been that one who followed us from some distance. Both the dogs and I could hear some twigs breaking and something ran away very quietly when we came closer to the village. That could of course have been wild hogs too but it sounds cooler with a wolf 🙂 

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

Tomorrow is our big day at Christmas and even if it is Wednesday I’ll write something but I won’t write anything on Christmas day since most people reading my blog celebrates on Christmas day and have funnier things to do 🙂 I think I’ll tell You about our gnomes, the yule goat or yule buck as we actually call it, the pig who is a very important yule symbol here even if most people don’t know why 🙂 and perhaps something more too 🙂

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

 

Have a great day!

17 responses

  1. Kul att det “kanske” varg en varg som följde efter er! 🙂 Fast lite läskigt också, även om jag personligen inte är rädd för vargar. Men har man liten hund så….. 😦
    Jag har fått lära mig en sak av en bloggväninna som bor i vildsvinsrikt område. Hon har två hundar och en katt som alltid går med henne ut, men hon har lärt sig att luktar det “gammal ingrodd unken ladugård” då vänder hon och går åt ett annat håll. Då är det nämligen svin där!
    Hon har för några år sen av misstag gått nära förbi en stor tät gran och ut under den kom en sugga och en massa halvvuxna kultingar. Som tur var så sprang dom åt andra hållet, så hon kom aldrig mellan suggan och hennes ungar…..för det är inte tillrådligt! 😦
    GOD JUL
    Susie

    December 23, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är just för hundarnas skll somjag är lite försiktig, annars hade jag inte brytt mig.

      Jag kan berätta att det stinker av vildsvin överallt här 🙂 Så jag pratar högt med hundarna hela tiden, vildsvin är mer skrämmande än vargar. Men både jag, hundarna och katten Bertil höll ju på att vandra rakt in i en vilande flock med vildsvin 🙂 Det blåste hårt och från sidan så varken vi eller svinen kunde märka att vi var nära varandra 🙂 Trettio meter innan vi skulle mötts upptäckte Bertil dem och tjöt högt 🙂 Galten var enorm och som tur är vet de om hur stora och farliga de är så de anfaller inte i första taget har jag läst. Han var så imponerande att jag glömde fota honom 🙂 De sköt honom senare och han vägde över 180 kg 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 2:35 pm

  2. I enjoyed these photos so very much. Really beautiful shots.

    December 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    • Hi spanishwoods and welcome to my blog 🙂

      I’m glad You like them!

      Have a great day and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 2:36 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    Yes, it is much cooler with a wolf. No wolves here yet. Too heavily settled with people. They are all around me in the wilder areas. Officialdom does not admit that they are there but a lot of people have seen them a lot of times. My brother is among the lucky ones and he has seen several.

    So far it looks like you are having the year of dark photos instead of blue photos. 🙂 I’ve decided that blue photos must mean that it is very cold and there is snow everywhere. This is based on absolutely no scientific evidence whatsoever. 🙂

    Tomorrow the dogs will go to day care in hopes that they will still be very tired on Christmas Day when I have to leave them alone in the house for several hours. I’ve tried this strategy once and came home to only one skein of yarn dragged around the house and no other messes. That’s a win. 🙂

    I look forward to gnomes and Jul pigs and Jul goats tomorrow.
    Enjoy the day.

    December 23, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It sure is 🙂

      There are actuakky wolves living in abnd around cities down in Rumania and Bulgaria but here they stay outside the cities so far. Officialdom doesn’t allow them in our cities either so they usually try to scare them away when they do pop in for a visit. They had one running around in central Gothenburg just a few years ago. I think it finally got hit by a car. I would like to see this one (because the size of that print says it is a wolf) but either if I’m alone out taking photos with the hasselblad or from a good distance if I have my dogs with me.

      Yes this is the year of dark photos 🙂 and I agree, it is the light reflecting on the snow that gices the blue light. I rarely get those colorsotherwise.

      I wish we had day cares like that here, Sune would love it and he does have energy for five dogs 🙂 I have tried to play with them shortly before I leave home, throwing something for an hour or so and both Nova and Sune usually sleep for hoursa after that. The old boys always sleep anyway 🙂

      I think I’ll toss in a very close relative to the house gnome too 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      • Maybe that can be your retirement business. Doggy daycare in the country. 🙂
        You’d have to do some hard marketing, perhaps, because it appears to be mainly an American thing right now. Kids go to day care. Dogs are furry kids, therefore dogs go to daycare, too. Logical. 🙂
        It would probably be most successful in urban areas, though.

        December 23, 2014 at 8:48 pm

      • I would have to move to a bigger place though 🙂 But I know people would love it but as You say I live a little bit wrong out here at the outskirts of the world 🙂

        December 23, 2014 at 8:54 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That is one massive paw print! I wonder if you could google what a wolf paw looks like to match it? That would be really cool if you could see a wolf. I have seen them close up when we visited British Columbia – they are beautiful. Our Tor, we think, has wolf in him. He has lots of wolf-like traits. Keep your pets close, you don’t want them to give chase! 🙂 I love the mushroom shape today, quite interesting. That picture to the entrance of the dark forest looks inviting! 🙂 It just say “come on in and take a walk”. Have a good Tuesday evening!!

    December 23, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is! and I did google it and found a site from an organization that tracks wolves for scientiffic studies here in Sweden. One of the tracks was identical to my photo even if that was made in snow.

      It would be cool. I hope that I either see it close when I’m outside with my old Hasselblad camera because I don’t bring the dogs if I use that one or from a safe istance if the dogs are with me. I think this must be a young one but I will still have my dogs close to me 🙂

      I love walking in there and I quite often see moose running around there. But I don’t want to meet wild hogs or wolves in the dark 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 3:42 pm

  5. jaz

    whatever that is, it must be pretty big. i hope it isn’t a werewolf! now that would be really scary. i was just thinking about you because i was making meatballs! we don’t often use them on sandwiches but as i was making them and thought of your sandwiches, i thought…why not! so that is what is on the lunch menu here!

    December 23, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m pretty sure it is a wolf print, I found an almost identical paw print when I found a swedish site from a group that studies wolves.

      Meatball sandwiches are the best 🙂 I understand that our beetroot salad is different from Yours but that works great with meat bals, and paprika or tomatos and cheese and I could go on like this forever 🙂

      I hope You all enjoy them, I know I would 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    • The Swedish werewolfs seems to be more peaceful than those down on the continent and quite often the person becomming a werewolf does it on his/ her own free will, by magic of course. I would know immediately if it was a werewolf I met because they are yellow like a Golden Retriever 🙂
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm

  6. Christer,
    It is 50 here . The rain started last night and continues today. I did two of my errands, the biggest being shopping for Christmas dinner which I had to bring home right away to refrigerate. I have PT at 3 then I’ll do my last 2 stops. The most important is Agway for cat food and sunflower seeds for the birds. Tomorrow I just need to go to the dump and start working on dinner.

    We have no wolves but plenty of fox and coyotes. The fox are being seen more and more during the day. The coyotes are a good size, bigger than Western coyotes. One used to cut through my yard, but the 6ft. fence keeps it out now. Good thing as Gracie would be aggressive and lose. She is an older girl now.

    Have a great day!

    December 23, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I bought a huge sack with cat food today, almost as big as the one I buy for the dogs 🙂 Now I won’t need to go to ant store for a week I think 🙂 Just as well because it looks as if it’s changing soon, the cold weather is on its way now. Can’t say I like it but at least they don’t predict especially much snow 🙂

      I watched a program about Your coyotes and they´are in fact a wolf hybrid. When wolves became rare they couldn’t find a mate so they turned to coyotes instead. That’s why they are so much bigger and they have in fact killed humans. I’m glad we don’t have them but we do have foxes. I rarely see them in winter but often in summer when they desperatelt tries to find food for their cubs 🙂

      Nova only cares if she meets an aggressive dog so if she would meet an aggressive wolf I’m pretty sure she would attack and she would most likely not stand a chance.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 8:35 pm

  7. I suppose we never know who is following us in the forest, maybe its better not to know! Just to always be prepared, carry a big stick!!! Have a great day tomorrow!

    December 23, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Perhaps it is best not to know 🙂 god knows what lives out there in and by the bog 🙂

      I had a knife with me but I think I would have preferred to have a hammer instead 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 23, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

