Frosty.

DSC_0020

The temperature dropped down to -13C (8,6F) during the night so I woke up to a white world covered in frost. The weak wind we had when we went out for our morning walk made it quite nasty out there but as soon as we came in to the forest it turned and became a rather nice walk. Birds tweeted and I could hear some hunting dogs in near by hunting areas barking like crazy as they were following some poor animal.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

I showed one of my neighbors (and he’s also one of the hunters in this area), the photo of the paw print and he is sure it is made by a wolf. He wasn’t to happy about it, not so much for the fact the wolf hunts too but he is the owner of that calf who was born outside my cottage. They’ve had four new calves lately and three of them died early, only the one I saw still lives. I told him that I’ve been talking to the cow to go inside with the calf and for so long that she finally got tired of me and went indoors 🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

It is a little bull and they gave it the only name it really can have being born at Christmas, so now Jesus is walking around in a pasture just outside my cottage 🙂 🙂 A perfect name for a perfect little bull 🙂 He also told me that we now have a new neighbor here, a beaver. For some reason it has chosen a ditch with very little water flowing in it. It is a bit unlucky though because that ditch will be dug up soon, it doesn’t work especially well as a ditch any longer. But if its lodge manages to be undamaged this ditch will most likely be perfect to live by.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

 

We’ve had lost of sunshine here these two last days and perfect weather for using my Hasselblad camera. So now I have two rolls of film that I’ll send away to be developed as soon as possible, most likely next Monday. I have no plans on driving anywhere as long as I have food and fire logs enough here at home and the mail woman won’t come until Monday either, Boxing day is a holiday here so most people don’t work today. Perhaps there will be more rolls because I have three more here at home and we’ll have this cold weather for some days until it turns again. We’ll even get some snow tonight they say, I can’t say I want it but I can’t stop it from falling so there’s no use in complaining 🙂

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

It is time for some more tea and then we’ll head out for another walk. Perhaps I’ll bring the old Kodak with me this time, I must try it at least once but it is so cold outside that I’m not sure to how that old camera will react, it might freeze and stop working 🙂

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

 

Have a great day!

 

I promised Jouce some photos on my Christmas ham. Normally I onlu buy a brined netted ham. It has been brined for ariund 15 days.

I promised Jouce some photos on my Christmas ham. Normally I onlu buy a brined netted ham. It has been brined for ariund 15 days.

This time however I boght an already cooked one. One can either boil the ham (one hour/ kg) or oven bake it and I always oven bake it. When it is done remove the net and trim away the skin and most of the fat. It is important that there's a lot of fat on the ham when boiling/ oven baking it because the fat bring out all the falvors. But most fat can be removed before grilling though.

This time however I boght an already cooked one. One can either boil the ham (one hour/ kg) or oven bake it and I always oven bake it. When it is done remove the net and trim away the skin and most of the fat. It is important that there’s a lot of fat on the ham when boiling/ oven baking it because the fat bring out all the falvors. But most fat can be removed before grilling though.

I mix one egg and two to three tablespoons with a strong mustard, ad a tea spoon with sugar too. I normally pour in some bread crumbs sotherwise it's so runny. I spread it as evenly as I can over the ham and then I sprinkle lots of bread crumbs over it all.

I mix one egg and two to three tablespoons with a strong mustard, ad a tea spoon with sugar too. I normally pour in some bread crumbs sotherwise it’s so runny. I spread it as evenly as I can over the ham and then I sprinkle lots of bread crumbs over it all.

This is how it should look when ready. I live those first lukewarm slices but it is perfect as cold too. Christmas ham on a sandwich is delicious :-)

This is how it should look when ready. I live those first lukewarm slices but it is perfect as cold too. Christmas ham on a sandwich is delicious 🙂

14 responses

  1. Vi fick också lite snö på julaftonskvällen, fast inte mycket precis – men det ligger kvar på gräsmattan i alla fall för det var -7 igår. Men nu är det bara -2, så det går åt rätt håll. I Stockholm hade dom -12/13 inatt och fortfarande runt -7/8 så det är skönt att man bor här numera! 🙂
    Härlig skinka, den såg riktigt fin ut. Vår blev också bra trots att jag bara köpte en liten på 2.8 kg i år. Men brist på mat hade vi inte igår, trots att jag dragit in på det mesta eftersom vi var ensamma på julafton. Men nigår hade vi gäster så då frossade vi ordentligt! 🙂
    Nyss åt vi upp det sista av Jansson till lunch, vi ville ha något riktigt varmt. För eftersom jag älskar att tända en massa ljus så stängde Rolle av värmen igår eftermiddag – och glömde naturligtvis att sätta på den- och så blev det så hemskt kallt inatt! Så det var nog inte mer än en 18-19 grader inne, vilket jag tycker är isande kallt. 😦 😦
    Dina bilder på verktygen var väldigt snygga. Ja, dom andra också förstås, men det var lite extra med dom isiga verktygen! Och julkortets bild var också tjusig!! 🙂 🙂
    GOD FORTSÄTTNING
    Susie

    December 26, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag vet inte om det finns någon snö kvar alls här, vi fick ju knappt någon alls. Det kommer att bli betydligt mildare här inatt, -6 ungefär men istället får vi ju nsö.

      Jo den blev riktigt bra skinkan, jag tar lite då och då så jag inte tröttnar för fort 🙂

      Brasan i spisen håller stugan riktigt varm under natten, så länge det inte blåser ute tar sig inte kylan in här. Men fungerar inte er värme så att termostaten stänger ned om ljusen håller temperaturen uppe? Här står elementen på 15 grader, där går min gräns 🙂

      God fortsättning.
      Christer.

      December 26, 2014 at 3:45 pm

  2. happy boxing day! Jesus, what a perfect name for the calf! Your ham looks very good and you prepare exactly as we do ours, your frosty photos are lovely. I think you need more snow, let me send some OK ?

    December 26, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I wish You the same! We call it Second day of Christmas.

      It is and it’s so nice to see Jesus walking around in the field 🙂

      I have to say that the ham is perfect 🙂

      We’ll get some snow tonight and I think that will be just enough so please keep the snow You have 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 26, 2014 at 3:48 pm

  3. jaz

    i’ve never seen a ham baked that way but it sure looks good! thanks for showing it. your frost photos are gorgeous. i wish we would get frost or anything resembling winter. we are having such mild weather. it is awful! i sure hope the wolf doesn’t get jesus. are you eating many of your treats?

    December 26, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like ham made tis way and back in the days it was a great way to brine it so it lasted longer.

      I do like frost and rime even more but rime need really low temperatures and that I don’t like 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is strange that we both have had such a mild winter but it looks as if it has turned here now, we’ll have low temperatures for quite some time they say.

      It would be sad if the wolf ate Jesus. But it seems his mother finally have understood that she must protect him, it is her first calf so she has been a bit confused for a while. So I’m pretty sure that if the wolf comes he’ll meet several rather pissed cows 🙂

      Yes I am and I’m trying to slow down some since I want it to last for a while 🙂 Everything is sooo yummy 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 26, 2014 at 3:53 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love the frosted rake. The crystals are so delicate and frosty. 🙂

    Jesus the bull calf. Hmm. Yes, I also think that is the only name he could have had. I hope you keep talking to his mother so she’ll bring him inside. It would be too bad if the wolf got him.

    We don’t have Boxing Day here. Today is the day we bring unwanted Christmas gifts back to the store to exchange them for something that is wanted. 🙂

    The ham looks delicious. I’ve done something similar to coat chicken but with French mustard that is not so strong. It makes a great coating for chicken.

    Christmas day here was pouring rain for the first part. Later on the wind picked up, blew the clouds away and the rain stopped. It was a little chilly because of the wind. I was having Christmas with my brother’s family so I had to leave the dogs home alone for about 7 hours. They’d gone to day care the day before so were a little tired. They had a couple of walks before I left. I came home to an intact house with no balls of yarn wrapped around the furniture and no random shredded things on the floor. I was a little surprised and very pleased.

    Today is sunny and relatively warm. For the first time in over a week, I can open the front door and let the heat from the porch into the house.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    December 26, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that one and the stone as well!

      She now stays closer to the others and closer to go inside if it would be needed. It is her first calf so she was a bit confused in the beginning 🙂

      I think they started to return unwanted gifts already on Christmas day here :-)Because they start the middle day sales here already the day before Christmas even so now they can buy more things for the money they get for the unwanted present 🙂

      I’ve never had this coating on chicken but I have it on a kind of sausage we call Falukorv. It’s quite tasty as it is but nothing compared to how it is as grilled 🙂

      It is always nice to get pleasantly surprised after being awy for seven hours and having dogs in the house 🙂 It has happened here a few times, not often enough though 🙂

      We’ll get snow tonight they say, up to two inches. The fire is burning in the stove because it is rather cold outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 26, 2014 at 6:29 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I must say, the story about Jesus walking around in your pasture made me giggle until I had tears in my eyes. That was the funniest thing I have read in a long time!!! 🙂 That ham looks delicious! I have a ham in the freezer, but its a small football-shaped one, not like the one you have. Our Boxing Day is just as bad for the greedy as shopping before the holidays. I am going out to wash the car, that’s it. We are due frigid temps starting tomorrow. One day early next week they are claiming the high will be only -27. *sigh* This weather was too good to last. Its snowing now and we had snow Christmas Eve which was lovely. I hope the rest of your evening is relaxing. Watch out for that wolf – keep your camera handy!!! 🙂

    December 26, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      🙂 That’s the reaction I was hoping for 🙂 Not many people can say that and not lie 🙂 🙂

      It is a rather delicious ham and I had forgotten that since it already was cooked it didn’t shrink anything so it is a bit too much ham for me 🙂 especially since I bought a lot of other things to eat as well 🙂

      We’ve had -4 all day so no car washing here, it is in fact totally covered in frost and together with water that would make a ice cover harder than concrete 🙂 It will warm up again some time early next week. -27, is that the coldest or warmest 🙂 I alway get confused when someone says high and minusdegrees at the same time 🙂

      It has been a very relaxing evening, it’s not even 9pm yet and I’m ready for bed even if I’ve had a long nap today 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 26, 2014 at 8:50 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi again!! Sorry for confusing! The day time high of -27 will be the warmest, it will go down to about -35 or so overnight. So nasty, isn’t it?

        December 27, 2014 at 4:26 pm

      • 🙂 That was what I thought You meant and yes that’s nasty!

        December 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

  6. Christer,
    My pork roast also had a rub with all sorts of good stuff like soy sauce, Dijon mustard and more herbs and spices. It smelled great while baking, and it had a wonderful taste, a wonderful flavor.

    It was so warm yesterday it didn’t seem like Christmas. The rain finally stopped, days of rain.

    I’m watching a Doctor Who marathon on BBC America. I DVR’d the Christmas day special and will watch that tonight.

    Take care with the wolf.

    Kat

    December 26, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It does small great while cooking 🙂 But it actually smells less when using a fire heated stove sinc it doesn’t have any went like modern electric stoves and the oiven door sits quite tight too.

      The snow finally started to fall and I hope we won’t get any more than we’ve gotten now. Enough to make things look pretty and so little I won’t have to do anything on the path to the gate 🙂

      Oh how I wish I could see that marathon! I’m not sure they even show it on the two BBC channels we can watch if we have the right cable company.

      The wolf might already started to walk elswehere but I will keep my eyes open and the camera close 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 7:10 am

Leave a Reply

