It was inevitable I guess. the world is fluffy white.

When I woke up. I'm not sure but I think the dark area at the bottom is where the flash didn't reach because of the lens.

When I woke up. I’m not sure but I think the dark area at the bottom is where the flash didn’t reach because of the lens.

I woke up to a whit fluffy world, I knew it would be so but I still felt somewhat disappointed. They are so seldom right in their prediction but oddly enough not when it comes to weather one really doesn’t want 🙂 Ok it isn’t much so I don’t need to shovel any of that white garbage away. As long there’s some kind of light around the world does get a bit lighter but if the sky is covered in clouds it’s just as dark as if it hadn’t fallen at all. 

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

 

The dogs like it though so who am I to complain. The predictions say we’re having sunshine at the moment and since I want some sunshine it naturally isn’t any 🙂 Thankfully there’s no wind so it is quite nice taking walks and I’ve been out with the old hasselblad camera too today, so now I have three rolls of film to develop, there might be more since I have one more waiting in the fridge.

 

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0059

 

They just had a press conference on tv, we won’t have any elections in spring after all. The opposition stretched out a hand (actually they did not so long ago but the sitting government more or less spat at it) and now they have negotiated some rules that will allow a minority government to get through its budget and they have also agreed on cooperating in some other big decisions, like foreign policy, our defence and important things like those. The racist party got a bit angry 🙂 🙂 and will now force a vote of non confidence in the parliament but will of course be the only one voting to remove the sitting government since the other big parties already have come to an agreement 🙂

 

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

DSC_0071

 

Today, like all days so far on this vacation will be a day of relaxation 🙂 I’ll soon take a short nap and I’m hoping that the sun actually will show up just in time for our next walk. I doubt it though, the sky is very evenly led grey with not even the slightest rip to be seen anywhere. I’ve fed the birds and they have become spoiled because they kick away most of the seeds, they want sunflower seeds. To my big surprise a Jay showed up, we call them nut screamer 🙂 , and I have never seen them so close to my cottage before. I must say that they aren’t picky, they gulped down every seed they found and flew back to the forest 🙂 The smaller birds didn’t mind them at all but as soon as a magpie showed up all small birds flew away.

 

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

DSC_0075

DSC_0076

 

It is time for a pot of tea and then that nap.

 

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

DSC_0088

DSC_0093

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jaz

    ahhhh…snow!!!! at least someone has some. the forest photos are gorgeous. i don’t know if we will ever see snow here again. today it is going to be in the 60’s. i am not liking it one bit!

    December 27, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s only for a short while though, warmer western winds will arrive early next week. I hope this is what we’ll get when it comes to snow but I now we have at least three more months with winter here 🙂

      It is odd that it is so warm where You live! I wish we could swap 🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    At least it’s pretty nuisance snow. But your doorstep candle isn’t lit. It would be pretty with the snow on it. Of course, the snow wouldn’t be on it very long if it was lit. One of the benefits of battery operated exterior candles. They don’t get very hot and melt the decorative snow. 🙂

    I’m still recovering from Christmas, I think. I have no energy to do anything. Even the dogs are dragging around a bit. They are both curled up on the couch next to me at the moment. Piki Dog is sleeping with a new toy as a pillow. Just in case Rocky might want to play with it. 🙂

    Blue Jays here have no reluctance about visiting the feeders. They just barge in. They’re not as pushy as Grackles and they don’t come in flocks but they are bigger and tend to hog the perches. The little birds work around them. Usually the Jays will concentrate on one feeder that is more comfortable for them while the rest of the birds use the other feeders.

    It’s sunny and it’s supposed to get much warmer today. Maybe mid 50’s F.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I can stand it as long as we don’t get any more 🙂 It will start to melt away early next week thogh 🙂 I would have to remove the snow if I want the lantern to shine but the candle I use doesn’t give away that much heat so most snow would actually stay on it.

      Still no apetite here and the dogs seems to sleep most of the time 🙂 They did like the snow though so we’ve been out playing in it.

      The jays here are very shy, as soon as they suspect I am near they fly away, the ones in the city are a bit less shy but not much. I’ll buy lots of nuts next time I go to the store so they return more often 🙂 My feeders are too small for them to sit and eat from so they walked around on the ground.

      We never got any sunshine and now it looks like fog is rolling in, too bad it is getting dark.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 3:54 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sad as it is, the snow makes for pretty pictures! We are still snowing and the temperatures are falling. This week coming is going to be horrid. The day time highs are somewhere in the -28-030 range. Lovely. Glad to hear your vacation is going well and nice and restful! 🙂 I get some time next week and I can’t wait. We have blue jays here and when they arrive to the feeder, all the little birds fly away. We don’t have magpies here, but they are close, about 1 km away. I have heard that they can be pretty mean to the little birds. The blue jays here are mean to the little ones, they even raid nests. They do scream horribly don’t they? Have a lovely Saturday evening!!

    December 27, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It does but I’d rather see in in other peoples photographs 🙂

      I won’t complain about our temperatures, around -9 at night. It looks as if fog is rolling in here now but it is too dark to see anything really. I hope it stays until tomorrow, preferable the entire day because we won’t see any sun anyway 🙂

      It doesn’t seem to bother the smaller birds that the jays come here but magpies are known for taking smaller birds if they can so I usually chase those áway 🙂

      Yes jays do scream and I guess the blue ones scream just as much 🙂 We don’t have them on this side of the ocean, perhaps a good thing but I do like their color!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 6:15 pm

  4. I morse när man vaknade var det jättetjusigt ute – om man gillar vitt! Det var bara + – 0, men massor av snö, så idag har vi inte varit ute och gått i skogen. Det är inte kul när man har en liten låg hund, fast han verkar inte ha något direkt emot det. Men vi har…..*fniss*
    GOD FORTSÄTTNING
    Susie

    December 27, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Här har inte varit varmare än -4 idag och nu har det sjunkit ned till -9, så att snön knarrar när man går på den.

      Tänkte nog att det var ni och inte Santos som hade något emot att vandra i djup snö 🙂

      God fortsättning!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 7:41 pm

  5. Christer,
    I am not a fan of snow, but it always looks so lovely as do the houses and the trees when they’re covered. You got just the right amount.

    The northern part of New England has gotten feet of snow already this season. The ski runs are open at most mountains. I am glad for them and would wish they’d get all the snow.

    I too am about to take a nap. The days seems perfect for it.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    December 27, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The same here but I do like to see snow in photos 🙂 I’m so glad that we didn’t get more even if we’ll most likely get some just before the warm winds arrive again.

      I think they have opened up the ski runs here too, they better do it early since we never know for how long the cold period will stay.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2014 at 9:00 pm

  6. I really enjoy the snow photos, I find them beautiful even though we live with so many months of the year, I enjoy winter, I do not mind the cold, I enjoy the snow, its the messy spring thaw I dislike,

    December 28, 2014 at 5:56 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      I like snow in photos too 🙂 and we hwven’t had any snow until now so I’m trying to enjoy it 🙂 I don’t mind the cold either, just the snow or perhaps all the work and trouble it gives 🙂

      I can taje the messy spring thaw since I know something so much better i scoming 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2014 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

