I changed my mind.

It will take some time but the t-shirt will dry even if it is freezing outside. Up to six weeks but it will dry :-)

It will take some time but the t-shirt will dry even if it is freezing outside. Up to six weeks but it will dry πŸ™‚

-18C (-0,4F) as coldest tonight but at the time we came out on our walk it was balmy -12C (10,4F) πŸ™‚ It was actually quite nice because there was and still is no wind what so ever. Not a sound could be heard, not even a single tweet from any bird and it felt like we were totally alone in the world. There was however smoke coming out of the chimneys when we reached the village again and a tractor has passed my cottage so I know we’re not alone πŸ™‚ It will stay cold for a few more days and then it will turn towards warmer again. It’s a good thing we didn’t get that much snow, it’s so messy when it all melts away again. But we’ll have at least three more months with winter so I’m pretty sure this isn’t the last time we see snow here.

 

2014-12-2 (1)

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

After I wrote this first part I was going to write that I would do nothing today but go to the super market tomorrow. Suddenly however I decided to go today instead and I think that was a good choice, there were almost no people there so I was at home even before an hour had passed and it takes twenty minutes to drive there πŸ™‚ I needed to but more fire logs, milk, seeds for the birds and dog food even if I have enough for a week at home. I also had to renew my lottery tickets even if I rarely win more that I’ve spent πŸ™‚ They were out of the kind of dog food brand I always buy but as I mentioned I have enough for another week.

 

Down to the creek we went.

Down to the creek we went.

DSC_0031

The Forbidden Forest looked quite inviting.

The Forbidden Forest looked quite inviting.

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

 

Have You seen the Christmas episode of Downton Abbey? If not I can say this much, it is full og intrigues, romance, diseases, drama, conspiracies, unlikely allies and a proposal. Not a boring episode at all and well worth watching πŸ™‚ It is strange that a tv series about an upper class family in Britain in the early 19 hundreds can be so popular. No matter what one think of those days and upper classes most people like to watch it. Naturally no upper class family would ever be that concerned about their employees and help them as much as they do, still we don’t care about how reality was we just love these people πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

The fog was the kind of fog that never came close. I could see it where we were going but not when we reached the place.

The fog was the kind of fog that never came close. I could see it where we were going but not when we reached the place.

 

None of us slept well last night, all dogs howled one time or another in their sleep through the night and I woke up feeling a bit worried in the stomach. No problems with me though, it was just gases πŸ™‚ So we are all rather tired today but I won’t take a nap just in case that makes me sleep just as bad again. No problems really since I won’t start working until January 7th πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

 

It is time for a pot of tea and I’m thinking of making an apple pie and have custard with it. I knew I should have bought ice cream but didn’t think of it until I was driving homewards.

 

DSC_0096

DSC_0097

DSC_0098

DSC_0126

DSC_0127

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0121

 

15 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Photos are very lovely and wintery today. I like the one right after the frozen tee shirt; the red building with the snowy trees framing it.
    I was going to ask what is the lovely bird but then I began to suspect, from the blue patch, that it was your jay and if it was your jay, I was going to be just a little bit envious. So I googled it and it was and I am. Just a bit. Even though I know our Blue Jays are flashier. Yours is very elegantly plumed. πŸ™‚ The jay is always prettier in the other fellow’s yard, I guess. πŸ™‚
    So, I will ask what kind of orchid that is instead. Also, are you going to check out the beaver down by the culvert? πŸ™‚

    The calf seems to be doing okay so far.

    Are you saying you couldn’t see the fog for the fog? It’s the kind of fog that you can’t see when you get there because you’re in it.

    I remember when my mother had to hang the clothes out in the winter. They were often frozen stiff as a board. She’d bring them all in again and drape them over chairs near the heating vents. They always smelled so good when they were frozen before they dried. They smelled like new snow. It was a pain the butt, of course, but they did smell nice. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    December 28, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I like how it looks when looking on my photos but not in the real πŸ™‚

      I thought You had those jays too! but I just found out they only live in Europe, Asia and northern Africa. It is a beautiful bird but I wish we had Your blue ones too. As you say, they are always prettier in the neighbors garden πŸ™‚

      The orchid is a Cattleya hybrid, it might be a laeliocattleya or even with another species mixed in too πŸ™‚ The flowers are small but stay for rather long. It smells but so weak it’s hardly impossibe to feel it πŸ™‚

      Those beavers have moved upstream and I’ve only seen trees that the new one has taken down but no other tracks. I’m more into finding wolf tracks at the moment πŸ™‚

      They do smell nice after hanging outside in freezing cold πŸ™‚ as long as the spoiled little birds don sit and crap on it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    • Forgot about the fog πŸ™‚
      I mean that it was quite visiblefrom a distance and looked thick but when we reached that area there was no fog to be seen, instead I saw the same thick fog at the place we had left. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the fog that suddenly moved really fast though πŸ™‚

      December 29, 2014 at 7:59 am

  2. jaz

    how gorgeous! it is raining here today. the calf is so cute with it’s mommy!

    December 28, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does look nice in photos πŸ™‚

      He is and it looks like he will make it, it’s always agamble in the beginning. They have already lost three calves but with his name, Jesus, he must survive πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2014 at 5:59 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I wish we had your temperatures, it got down to -29 last night and the wind made it -35 this morning. Ugh. I fear this week will be horrid. Its never nice for New Years Eve, even if we go and watch the fireworks we have to sit in the car. Not really fun. I am needing to go to the grocery store today but am not really interested. Too cold. The house is settling and it cracks loudly! Lovely pictures today, the stillness that shows in them is perfect with the snow, really beautiful! I must admit, I am a Downtown Abbey addict! πŸ™‚ I have yet to watch the Christmas episode, but one evening when I can sit and focus I certainly will! Glad to hear nothing was wrong with your stomach – there is a GI bug going around here. We have one in the house with a cold, but nothing else, thank goodness!! Have a lovely Sunday evening, back to work for me tomorrow!

    December 28, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes comnpared to You we have summer temperatures here πŸ™‚ But weather institutes are warning for colder weather than normal from early January and three more months. I do like the sound houses do when it is so cold and I don’t mind being outside walking as long as the wind stays calm. The thickness of the rime get amazingly thick when it is as cold as You have it.

      It is a very good episode this year!

      I still have that cold and it seesm it won’t leave me before spring πŸ™‚ I haven’t heard about any other illnesses thankfully, I guess they’ll come as soon as we all start working again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm

  4. Dianna

    Me again! Forgot to ask…what kind of bird is that? Its pretty!

    December 28, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    • That is a Jay, a relative to Your Blue Jay.

      December 28, 2014 at 6:05 pm

  5. its a very good thing you’re not in a hurry for your shirt!!!!! Oh my the photos are beautiful today ( as always ). I cannot decide if the frosty snow photos are my favorite, or the moss, or the spider webs lol, you have a long holiday, thats wonderul,

    December 28, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I can always bring it in if I need it, well a day ahead πŸ™‚

      I do like snowy photos, I just don’t like snow in the real πŸ™‚

      I do like my winter vacations πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2014 at 6:06 pm

  6. Christer,
    The trees are beautiful almost as if in a fairy land of snow. It is good to see the calf up and about with its mother. It did look cold though in the snowy field. We have not had less than 38˚ yet. I don’t know if we’ve had a frost as I’m never out before the sun melts the windshield if it is frosty.

    I love the syfy channel but I have been walking Doctor Who for the last three days on BBC America. It is the current and the last two Doctors.

    My stores were pretty darn near empty, but I only got a couple of things. I bought dog food cans, enough until Friday. I had forgotten to bring the case for the cans. I got the pine litter and some cat food. A most boring stop.

    I’m glad to be home and back to being cozy.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    December 28, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It does look beautiful and it gave me lots of chances of trying my old camera, I now have three film rolls on their way to the developper πŸ™‚ If I’m really lucky they’ll e-mail me copies already before new years eve, they were really fast the last time so I’m hoping they are now too. But then again, they might have vacatin too but I’m holding my thumbs!

      Another great show I can’t see any longer. Well I watch episodes on YoutΓΊbe every now and again but it’s not the same. How’s the new one? Did Yiou watch the “episode” they made on Comic Reliefe? It is so fun πŸ™‚

      I have to say that it was only the christmas things that they had sold out in the super market and the brand of dog food I wanted πŸ™‚
      Pine litter? Is that for the cats? I tried toi change litter here once and got punished as soon as they noticed that πŸ™‚ Strange since they rarely use the litter box but they do hate change those two cats of mine.

      It’s alway best to be home and cozy πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 29, 2014 at 8:06 am

  7. It’s 10 degrees here right now and I’m freezing!
    I LOVE your photos! They are fantastic
    but they are making me feel even colder!
    πŸ™‚
    I watched the first 2 episodes of Downton Abbey and then stopped.
    I swear I must be the only person alive that didn’t love it.
    :/
    Stay warm!

    December 31, 2014 at 4:09 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      That is a bit chilly but on the good side, those temperatures make the ice on the roads a bit rough so it actually get less slippery. We’ve been lucky so far here, it isn’t unusual that the temperature drops to -22F for a week or two. Normally that happens in late January/ early february though, well it can happen way in to March too to be honest πŸ™‚

      No I know a few people who don’t like it either πŸ™‚ but I think You might be considered being a rare species πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 31, 2014 at 7:15 am

Leave a Reply

