Isn’t it typical.

DSC_0021

It’s slightly above 0C (32F) outside. No wind and lots of fog which makes it rather nice to take walks with the dogs. Today we’re having that weather I’ve been waiting for so I could use my “new” old camera so naturally I used that last roll of film yesterday 🙂 So typical 🙂 But I have ordered new rolls and I’m hoping they will arrive this afternoon or tomorrow. Would be great if they arrived today because they predict much the same weather for tomorrow, most likely we’ll have less snow though because it has started to melt away now.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

 

People were up early today so there was no chance in imagining being alone in the world. One neighbor waved to me from his kitchen window, one drove to work? rather early and someone, I think the big forest owner here started to work in the forest while we were out walking, he was using a chain saw and he has thinned out lots of small trees for quite some time now. He needs to do this so that the trees he wants to grow big get a better chance to do so. 

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0035

 

I’ve made apple pies these last two days, half sized ones so together they really became one normal sized 🙂 I’m not sure why but they came out delicious! I did put in some cardamom in them and I love cardamom so that was probably one thing that made them so tasty. But I also had problems getting the right temperature in the wood stove, too hot is never a good thing so I kept it low instead and the pies actually stood in the oven for an hour, I only put in more fire logs for the last five minutes so it became really hot in there. They became sort of more crispy but there was something else too, something I can’t put my finger on. I guess I’ll never get the same result again if I try 🙂 

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

I must go to the window closest to the bird feeders every now and again to scare away the magpies. No small bird dares to be there at the same time and it is the small birds I want to feed. Magpies are big enough and daring enough to get food everywhere. I do like them but not around the feeders. I have no Jackdaws here though, they all seems to stay around the feeders up at the farm instead. I wouldn’t mind them here because they don’t scare away the smaller birds and to be honest, they are my favorite birds 🙂 No they aren’t beautiful, more distinguished in black and grey but they are fun. I once had a tame one, before it became illegal to have them as pets. 

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

 

He, I have no idea if it was a he but I named it Robert 🙂 Had broken its right wing and had no chance to survive in the wild. So I caught him and tried to fix him, too late I’m afraid so he stayed with me.He was an evil bird 🙂 He tortured my other pets just because he knew he could 🙂 The other pets, two dogs and two cats knew they weren’t allowed to do anything towards him. He learned how to talk and he stripped the wall from the wallpaper when he was bored 🙂 Unfortunately jackdaws smell rather bad 🙂 So he got a tiny room for himself where I could have the window open all year long. Of course he only stayed there when I wasn’t at home, when I was at home he loved to sit on my shoulder picking hair from my head 🙂

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

 

Today it is illegal to save any animal unless one has a certificate and I know it’s like that in many places on this earth. Well to be honest, I can’t find any animal saver with a certificate in the phone book and can’t find any when searching on the net either so I really wouldn’t care about the law if I found an injured animal that I knew I could help. The problem on earth isn’t that there are too many people wanting to save animals, no instead there are too many that wants to kill them.

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0058

DSC_0060

 

It’s time for a cup of coffee and after that a short nap I think. The fog is laying heavy out there so it will be nice to take a walk in it after that nap.

 

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. texasann

    Christer, I thought most of the photos were in black & white film, until I finally saw a bit of brown on the tree trunks. And, of course, the red cottages. I lived in Japan through 3 winters, and have seen enough snow for my lifetime, thank you very much. We still get excited here in the southern gulf coast when snow is predicted, but it’s 1/2 inch or less, and the entire city shuts down. But your photos are nice to look at, and then I appreciate my fireplace all the more. Temps here today will be 38 – 48 F, so that’s cold enough.
    Happy New Year!

    December 30, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    • Hi texasann!

      They do look like black and white but I did change a few into black and white and they do look very different, so I changed them back again. Todays technology is fantastic 🙂

      This is not a favorite season of mine, I’m not a big fan of snow but I don’t mind if it gets a bit cold though. It is getti8ng warmer again though, very odd.

      It’ll stay around 32-33 here and slightly cooler tonight, most of te snow will be gone in a day or two I guess.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 30, 2014 at 2:44 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful, misty weather in your part of the world today. It looks like the snow is turning to fog without melting first.

    Hmm…slow roasted, smoked apple pie. Could be a trend. 🙂 Do you suppose the apples might have caramelized a little bit with that long a baking time and the final burst of heat? You will have to experiment some more. For Science. Tasty, tasty Science. 🙂

    Wasn’t it always true about film cameras that the good shots showed up just after you had finished the last frame on the last roll? 🙂 Nowadays the battery always dies just before that great shot but it’s a little harder to do.

    It’s still early here. It looks like it might be partly sunny and rather cold. I’ve been out with the dogs already. I wore my coyote fur ushanka and had the ear flaps down. But I only had to wear a sweater and a quilted vest to be comfortable. If the head is warm, the rest is warm I guess.
    I’ve already done my errands for today. I feel so accomplished that I shall goof off for the rest of the day lest all my success goes to my head. 😀

    Enjoy the day.

    December 30, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It did melt rather rapidly, I know this because we stood beneath a big pine 🙂 🙂 🙂 There’s nothing left on the trees now.

      It could be that they caramelized, it was something that much I can say and caramelizing would explain that crispyness. I need more apples to be able to try it again to be certain though 🙂 I’ll let You know next time I’ll try this 🙂

      Yes it was as the battery dying now days 🙂 No new film rolls in the mail today though so I’m hoping for tomorrow, they usually deliver mail on new years eve.

      The temperature is dropping slightly now so I’m glad I don’t have to drive tomorow, the roads have been nasty slippery today they say and will be much the same tomorrow. The ground is still very cold so meltwater freeze directly.

      I didn’t need to have a sweater under the jacket 🙂 No cap but a scarf wrapped around me 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 30, 2014 at 4:05 pm

  3. what an unusual pet, why do they smell? you were kind to take him in for sure, sounds like you are enjoying your days, the photos are truly lovely,

    December 30, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It was and a funny one too 🙂

      All birds smell more or less and jackdaws belongs to those smelling really bad 🙂

      I do enjoy my vacation, too bad it passes so fast 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 30, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      • I wonder if that means dinosaurs smelled, too? I suspect they probably smelled rather bad considering how big they were and most of them were plant eaters with all the methane production that process entails. 🙂

        December 30, 2014 at 11:51 pm

      • I’m pretty sure they did, at least those with feathers because it is the feather that smelles.
        Jackdaws eat anything from seed to meat to well anything edible and I wonder if that has anything to do with it? Parrots smell too but not bad and they only eat seeds, well at least in captivity they might snatch something like insects or small rodents in the wild?

        December 31, 2014 at 7:04 am

  4. Igår var vi till Visby och när vi åkte hem – då det fortfarande var ljust som tur var – så var det en hemsk dimma och temperaturen sjönk snabbt från–2 grader i Visby till -9. Senare på kvällen gick det ner till -10, hemskt! 😦 Så man var riktigt glad när den visade på +1 grad i morse!! 🙂 🙂
    Jag vill passa på att önska dig ett riktigt trevligt slut på det gamla året och ett fint GOTT NYTT ÅR!
    KRAM
    Susie med familj

    December 30, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det kan gå fort ibland! Jag har inget emot dimma så länge jag inte behöver köra omkring i den när det är mörkt 🙂

      Ni är inte så vana vid låga temperaturer på Gotland 🙂 -10 är ju trots allt inte så farligt, här brukar det sjunka till -30 varje vinter 🙂

      Ja ha ett gott slut och ett riktigt gott nytt år!
      Christer.

      December 30, 2014 at 9:26 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, that’s so magickal where you are! Perfect, spooky, ethereal photos! Love walking in fog, especially when its quiet. Perfect!! We had another frigid morning here, -39 celcius with the wind. The temperature is supposed to get warmer for the next few days, but then right back to the cold. I have Wednesday and Friday off from work, so I am looking foward to having some relaxation!! 🙂 I love cardamom! I put mine in my rice pudding. It tastes so good. I wish I could make pie, but my pastry making abilities are not very good. We have a wood cook stove at our cottage – anything cooked in it tastes delicious! Have a good Wednesday!

    December 31, 2014 at 1:55 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      There is something special with fog, it does make everything look more interesting and it helps even more when snow and frost stays on the trees 🙂 Now all frost and snow is gone from them though.

      -39 here and I wouldn’t go to work 🙂 Here the weather will be wobbly for a while ahead, some days rather warm other days rather cold 🙂

      Why ot make a cobbler? It’s impossible to fail with those 🙂 I too have cardamom in my rice porridge from time to time 🙂

      I’m so glad they saved the wood cook stove here, the best thing I’ve ever had 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 31, 2014 at 7:08 am

  6. Whoa, super cool photos.
    I would never want to get out of bed though if it looked like that outside.
    You raised a Jackdaw. How cool and how kind.
    But then I already knew you were very kind.
    Hope you had a good yule.

    December 31, 2014 at 4:16 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      It was actually quite nice out there, around 32F and fog with no wind 🙂

      It was such a funny bird, much bigger than one think 🙂 It tried to take my eyes before it understood I didn’t want to hurt it and it is a big enough bird to be able to do that 🙂

      I had and I hope You had too!

      Christer.

      December 31, 2014 at 7:17 am

Leave a Reply

