It has no name yet.

This is the only photo from today I'll show. The rest comes from one or two days ago when we still had some snow here.

This is the only photo from today I’ll show. The rest comes from one or two days ago when we still had some snow here.

Not the nicest of weathers here today, rather warm though but windy, grey and dark. The snow we still had yesterday is now gone and only a layer of ice on the roads reminds of a colder period. That will be gone by this afternoon I guess but as latest tomorrow because we’ll have some rain coming our way tonight. I really don’t mind cold weather, just the snow so the cold could have stayed if it had been up to me, this weather is just depressing πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Yesterday night was very calm here, they had predicted a cloudy and foggyΒ Β night here so the few fireworks that were shot up in to te sky were shot rather early. Not even Hector got stressed by them and when the new year arrived both my dogs and I were sound asleep. They did however wake me up at 3:30, it’s amazing how happy they can be at that hour πŸ™‚ So I let them out and when they came in again we all fell asleep and slept until just before 7am, very late for any of us πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

Not a good day to walk around on the bog, my neighbor did and he got a bist lost and found out he was much closer to home than he thought πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031

 

This I wrote before I happened to see the weather forecast for tomorrow. I was going to write that I wouldn’t do a single thing today and drive to town to buy some milk, dog food and perhaps something more tomorrow. It turns out all weather forecasters are saying we’re going to have a storm passing by from tonight and at least all day tomorrow, they still haven’t named it though it is the Norwegians that do it here. Not so surprising perhaps since we’re having the warmest winter in ages. It’s the force of the wind that is a bit more surprising though. We’ll get gusts up to 27m/s (60,4 mph) perhaps even more. We normally don’t get that strong winds here so far from the coast. I guess I’ll be able to smell the ocean tomorrow, I usually can when we’re having such strong winds and I live at least 100 km (62 miles) from the ocean πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

 

So I drove to the supermarket already today, naturally they still hadn’t the brand of dog food I usually buy so I bought another kind that I’ll start mixing in with the food I have here at home. I’ve put a clay pot in water because I’m going to bake a bread later on and the clay pot will break if I don’t soak it in water for a couple of hours. I will of course put it in my fire heated oven, especially bread gets so much tastier if I bake it there. The reason bread get better in these old stoves is that there is no kind of ventilation in the oven, all moisture stays in there and make the bread so much better.Β 

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

 

We usually don’t lose power here but even if we do I’ll manage very well since I have my fire heated stove πŸ™‚ The wind will come from west, west/southwest so I’m not sure I’ll notice much here because both the forest and my neighbors cottage will take most of the wind. You’ll know tomorrow what it is like here πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0071

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0079

 

It is time to start that fire in the stove and preparing what I need for the bread. It’ll most likely be a rye rosemary bread but it all depends on if I find the rosemary first or if I find any other spice πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0084

DSC_0086

DSC_0094

DSC_0095

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    I slept in too. Until 7:00
    The dogs tried to wake me several times but I just yelled and pulled the blanket over my head.
    I’m still feeling a bit ill. :p
    I’m currently mixing dog food too and it’s a pain since it’s seemed to make their stool soft.
    I thought of staying with this new food but No. not if it effects them in this way.
    The ocean is only 62 miles away???
    I didn’t realize it was that close to you.
    I’m glad that you made to trip to the store and didn’t wait.
    You can’t drive in that kind of wind.
    Stay safe and enjoy your bread.

    January 1, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Happoy New Year πŸ™‚

      I don’t dare to do that, usually itr’s only a matter of minutes until it’s too late to let them out πŸ™‚

      My dogs always get that problem when I change the brand of their food. It’s tricky to mix it in slow enough πŸ™‚ But it’ll pass as soon as they get used to then new food. If they like this I’ll start buying this instead. Much the same price but bigger sacks.

      Sweden is a very long but rather thin country so it isn’t that much far to the ocean to the east either πŸ™‚ well a bit but not very much πŸ™‚

      It would most likely be impossibe to drive tomorrow if the predictions are right (they have been wrong so many time when it comes to storms lately) and authorities usually tell people to stay at home unless it’s an emergency.

      I will, both of them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 1, 2015 at 4:14 pm

  2. Happy New Year, Christer!

    I think the dogs and I were asleep for New Year, too. I’m not sure because I can’t see a clock from my bed. Another perk of retirement. πŸ™‚ I did see Hawaiian New Year, though. Close enough. πŸ˜€
    Now I am waiting for our L Street Brownies to take their traditional New Year’s Day dip in the ocean. After that I am taking the dogs to a New Year’s Day house party. They went to day care yesterday so they should be tired enough to be good guests. Well, Rocky is always a good guest. Piki Dog is a little young still but he tries, bless his heart. πŸ™‚

    The photos of the raindrops in the sun are my favorites today. Like diamond drops hanging on the trees.

    It’s sunny and cold today. There’s supposed to be a wind chill factor, too, but the wind hasn’t put in an appearance yet. I was out with the dogs earlier and it wasn’t too bad though I did need my down parka and had to have the hood up, too.

    Enjoy your New Year’s Day and I hope the wind is not so bad as they predict.

    January 1, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn and Happy new year!

      I watched the new year in Sidney πŸ™‚ I felt that was enough for me πŸ™‚

      I think they have a similar tradition in Gothenburg, my old home town. They rush down, take a dip and then rush up again πŸ™‚ At least they don’t have to force through and ice this year πŸ™‚

      It’s not easy being a kid, no matter what one is πŸ™‚

      I like that one too.

      It is too warm to feel any wind chill factor here πŸ™‚ I can hear the wind but it doesn’t reach my garden πŸ™‚

      I hope they will be wrong this time too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 1, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy 2015! I think that is the best smell in the world – the sea! πŸ™‚ We are completely landlocked so no sea for thousands of miles! πŸ™‚ We rang in the new year – went to see the fireworks at 8:00 p.m. and by 12:00 and about 20 seconds I was tucked up in bed sound asleep! We are due a cold snap starting today – the temperature is going to drop to about -21 and the wind will make it feel like -35 or so. January is the worst month for me – its so long and cold and you can’t do much, so I will be using my SAD lamp frequently! πŸ™‚ Your pictures for today are beautiful, really lovely! I hope your bread turned out well – nothing like a wood stove to make it the best! Have a good evening!

    January 1, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Happy new year!

      The ocean is the only thing I miss from living down in Gothenburg. The smell a warm summer evening is the best I know.

      February is our worst month even if the days have more daylight, it’s usually bitter cold here then and -30 isn’t unusual and that is without the wind chill. Oddly enough we rarely have any wind here when it is that cold.

      I’ve just put the bread in the oven, it’ll be ready in half an hour or so, depends on how well I managed to get the temperature right πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 1, 2015 at 4:28 pm

  4. I admire your baking skills in such an oven, I had a wood cook stove for a while and never ever mastered bread making in it, the rosemary bread sounds good! I just took a loaf of white plain bread from the oven here, New Year, fresh bread, hope the storm misses you!

    January 1, 2015 at 7:34 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      The trick is to never put in a new log until the one already in the stove is only burning coals. It’s better to have a slightly too low temperature than a slightly too hot. It came out rather nice πŸ™‚

      So far so good πŸ™‚ I can hear the wind but it is still rather calm. We’ll know better tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

      Happy New Year!
      Christer.

      January 1, 2015 at 8:02 pm

  5. Christer,
    The bare trees look almost foreboding. The snow is still pretty in spots especially near the water. You can see the day is getting warmer The pictures go from dark to light.

    The bread sounds delicious. I am a rosemary fan.

    Have a great evening and enjoy your bread!

    January 1, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yesterday it was really warm here and today seems to be too but very windy πŸ™‚ The Norwegians have named it Svea πŸ™‚

      The bread cajme out rather good πŸ™‚ The two first warm sandwiches with cheese were rather delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 2, 2015 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

