Svea is kind of nice.

DSC_0020

The storm (now named Svea) won’t be as strong as they predicted, to be honest it is quite nice to walk out there in the winds. I would say it’s borderline to be called storm at all even in the stronger gusts. I do love a good storm but this is better. We’ll even have sunshine later today and it’s around 6C (42,8F) and it might even get warmer 🙂 This time of year is actually when we have more storms than any other time so we might be seeing more of this still. 2014 was the warmest year recorded since 1934 but that doesn’t mean this year will be warm too I’m afraid 🙂 It seems to take much longer for me to be able to have a mango tree in my garden than I had hoped 🙂

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

 

Hector doesn’t like the new food I’ve bought, he simply refuses to eat anything where I’ve mixed some in. So until I can buy the ordinary brand I’ll have to give him what’s left of that and the others will have the new food. He really doesn’t like change that dog and perhaps it isn’t that strange since he is a bit autistic. I don’t change the routines without upsetting him 🙂 Every time they’re getting their food I start with saying: What do You say Hector, are You hungry? otherwise he won’t come to the kitchen at all. After that he walks to the stairs and waits for me to scratch him a bit and have a little talk. He will stand there until I do so, so I better remember it 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

This will be a do nothing day, I did what I needed to do yesterday and I can’t think of anything special to do today. I won’t drive anywhere even if the wind isn’t as bad as they predicted, it’s bad enough to rather stay at home. They only show garbage on tv except for a couple of interesting programs on the Knowledge channel. I have lots of dvd’s I haven’t seen so I might watch a few of those or perhaps a good one I’ve already seen. I have noo good books to read but I might go online to order one or two. I bought seeds yesterday to Metasequoia glyptostroboides, Red dawn redwood. A Chinese species that is a bit hardier than the American sequoia’s. It drops its needles in autumn and becomes beautiful yellowish-red before they drop. 

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

 

It is time for a pot of tea and then a short nap I think, I do love vacation time 🙂

 

Three older photos I haven't shown before. The ever happy Sune :-)

Three older photos I haven’t shown before. The ever happy Sune 🙂

DSC_0076

DSC_0077

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Looks like you’ll have start working on that green house after all. Global warming just isn’t fast enough for a mango tree in your garden.

    Hector needs his routine. There’s comfort in the familiar.
    My dogs kind of have a routine. Piki Dog doesn’t care what the system is as long as there is food as soon as possible. Rocky likes to wake up slowly and have a nice stretch followed by my rubbing his face and scratching him for a bit. He doesn’t get as much of that as he used to because Piki Dog usually jumps in the middle of it and starts nipping and squirming. I can only toss him off the couch so many times before it gets tiresome. 🙂
    I put their food in the dishes and add water then we go off for our first walk while the food is soaking. After that I make them sit and wait while I put their food down because Piki Dog is a bit of a pain about grabbing food. He has to wait longest. He’s getting better at that. I don’t have to correct him more than once or twice per serving. 🙂

    It’s sunny and 35ºF. That’s probably as warm as it’s going to get today but it’s warmer than yesterday. Sunday is supposed to be 54ºF but it will be raining. Oh well. Can’t have everything in the dead of winter, I guess. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    January 2, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m afraid that it wouod be so expensive to keep that greenhouse warm enough that it would be cheaper to just travel to a place where they already grow 🙂 🙂

      Yes he does and finally he ate all his food again 🙂

      I wish any of my dogs liked to wake up slowly 🙂 Not even the old ones do that 🙂 Sune does just the same if I scratch Nova, she gets at maximum one minute and then he’s there 🙂

      I pour hot water on their food and cool it down some with cold water. None sits but they are all waiting for their turn to get their own bowl. Hector is the only one stealing food from any other dog, his brother of course 🙂 I have to keep my eyes on him so he doesn’t push away Orvar, he might get a lot of food compared to the others but he does need it all 🙂 Sune once tried to steal Nova’s food and that is something he’ll never try again 🙂 🙂 🙂

      We got a very nice day here, not much sun though but warm and nice despite the wind. Tomorrow will stay reasonable warmish but we’ll have below F temperatures on Sundy but with lots of sunshine. Well I believe the sun part when I see it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 2, 2015 at 4:33 pm

  2. Christer,
    Sune is such a handsome dog, and I love the way his hair ruffles in the breeze as he runs.

    The cats are the picky eaters, not Gracie. They only like certain flavors of their food. Gracie eats all sorts of hers. She loves the brand and the kind of dinner doesn’t matter. The food is so good that meat is the first ingredient on the cans, and there are lots of vegetables. Gracie hates peas. When they are in the can, she leaves then all around the inside circle of the dish. That is quite a talent.

    The sun is out today, and it is in the low 40’s. I could go out but I’ll wait until tomorrow and go to the drugstore, the dog food store and the dump. Those always seem to be the places I go. I think I need a life!

    January 2, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      He is a cute one and he vacuums the forest floor with that fur 🙂

      My cats only eat one brand of food and only two varieties of it as well 🙂 It is strange that he is so picky with the food since he eats all kinds of garbage as soon as he goes outside 🙂
      That is a true talent 🙂

      There was an envelope in my mailbox today, I have a package at the grocery store in Gudhem. Normally I just get a paper so the mail woman knows to bring it but for some reason this note was in an envelope?! So I need to go there tomorrow to get it, I’ll see if they have the right dog food here at home.

      Life is overestimated 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 2, 2015 at 8:19 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Glad to hear the storm wasn’t as bad as they thought! We are under a special weather statement at the moment. We are due about 10 cms of snow starting soon until tomorrow morning. Then the winds will kick up and make it a bit blizzardy out. No fun for going out, but I am home for the evening and quite like it that way! 🙂 The way you explained that you have to get Hector to eat, etc is very dear! Special tricks and you do what you have too! The photos of Sune crack me up! So happy, love to see when they are happy like that! I have chicken baking in the oven, rice ready to be made (with extra for pudding with cardamom tomorrow) and kale. Supper is almost done and then I will sit down with tea myself. Have a good Saturday!

    January 3, 2015 at 12:08 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Hi Dianna!

      Yes it’s always better if they aren’t as strong as they predict, I still got that roaring sond 🙂 Blizzards are never fun! It’s impossible to see where one is driving and the snow drift make those piles of snow that are impossible to pass with the car. I didn’t mind it when I lived in the city though 🙂
      Yes we do what we have to 🙂 Sune is always happy, running around having fun even if he does it by himself 🙂

      I still have some christmas food that needs to be eaten but after that it will be so nice to go back to normal food 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 6:36 am

  4. jaz

    hi christer! that is cute how hector loves his routine. god knows teddy loves hers too! we are having such a mild winter and i am not liking it one bit. we are about to get cold for a day or so but no signs of any snow at all. laurie is keeping it all up north of here for herself! gld you are enjoying your time off! joyce

    January 3, 2015 at 1:06 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes those routines are important 🙂

      It’ll get cold here for a few days and then it’s back to warm again. I do wonder if anyone of us will get a somewhat normal winter this time? I don’t mind if we don’t 🙂 Yes Laurie seems to keep that snow for herself 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 6:39 am

  5. Visst är dom som gamla envisa och gaggiga gubbar när dom blir äldre! Men man älskar ju dom här “olaterna” också!! 🙂
    Jag tänker osökt på vår strävhåriga tax Brasse som blev 18. Han hade många “idéer” sista åren. Bl.a. kissade han inte borta längre, då höll han sig hur länge som helst – vilket gjorde besök hos släkt och vänner lite problematiskt. Men så fort man kom hem då kom det. I flera minuter! Sen satt han ner som en tik också, han hade haft en liten hjärnblödning när han var 15 så han vågade inte längre lyfta på benen. 😦
    Här har det inte heller blåst nått att tala om, vilket var jätteskönt. Då var det betydligt värre i våras när det dråsade ner träd bakom oss i kohagen. Så man är lite orolig när man vet att det ska blåsa, för det finns ett stort antal STORA gamla träd kvar! 😦 😦
    GOTT NYTT ÅR
    Susie med familj

    January 3, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      hector har alltid behövt sina rutiner, autistisk som han är. Det funkar ju för mig också så vi håller på 🙂

      Orvar har fått en fix idé, han måste skita mitt på en väg när vi är ute och går 🙂 Han kan bara inte göra det i gräset på sidan om eller ute i skogen, mitt på vägen skall det vara och efter kommer jag och kickar bort det 🙂 Hector och Orvar alternerar mellan att lyfta på benet eller inte, vet inte riktigt vilka kriterier som spelar in där 🙂

      Nog gillar jag en redig storm men det är allt skönt när det inte blir så illa som de trodde, har ju turen att bo i en svacka så vinden brukar inte vara så svår här.

      God Fortsättning!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

