Now I have a collection :-)

DSC_0047

We’re having a rather nice day here, sunshine, a weak breeze and above 0C (32F). I drove to the grocery store/ post office in Gudhem to pick up a package that arrived yesterday, a “new” old camera πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The postage costed more than the camera this time too πŸ™‚ I think one need three items to have a collection so I thought one more wouldn’t hurt πŸ™‚ I’m not a person that collects things, I usually get bored just after the first thing I get in what ever it is that have caught my interest. But I already had two older cameras so I thought why not, especially since this was one I’ve never seen before. I have to admit that I had forgotten about my old Minolta XG-1 πŸ™‚ and I don’t count my digital cameras yet πŸ™‚

 

I can actually decide how much light I want in the viewer to make it easier too get a clear shot. Too bad I can't do that on my Hasselblad.

I can actually decide how much light I want in the viewer to make it easier to get a clear shot. Too bad I can’t do that on my Hasselblad.

DSC_0020

Hector.

Hector.

 

It is an Edixa Reflex but I can’t say if it is type A, B, C or D πŸ™‚ It sort of doesn’t fit any of the descriptions on those πŸ™‚ The fun thing with this one is that one look through the viewer from above. It is however easy to change to a more normal viewer if one so wish. Edixa only exists because of the Marshall help and F. Porsche the older is the designer of the camera. It is known for not having the best quality on details πŸ™‚ but this one seems to work just fine. I found twoΒ really old film rolls (35mm or 135 film) that haven’t been kept in the best conditions but I thought it might work anyway, the colors is most likely very wrong but this is just a test to see if the shutter works reasonable right when it comes to how fast it should work. I understand that it is very easy to clean the mechanics in the camera, just remove the bottom, clean it with either some petrol or alcohol, drop in some oil, like the one that is used to sowing machines and put the camera together again.

 

I wanted to walk out on the bog this morning and try to reach the island behind the hunting tower.

I wanted to walk out on the bog this morning and try to reach the island behind the hunting tower.

Unfortunately the ice was too weak now and this is how it looked everywhere. I think it will be easier tomorrow since it's going to be rather cold tonight.

Unfortunately the ice was too weak now and this is how it looked everywhere. I think it will be easier tomorrow since it’s going to be rather cold tonight.

I treid to reach it from anothet place but the result was just the same.

I tried to reach it from another place but the result was just the same.

 

I still need the light meter but it is easy to focus when looking through the viewer. It turns out that any lens to older Practica/ Pentax cameras can be used to this camera, good to know if I would like that one day. I’ll show You how those photos turn out if the film wasn’t too old. I now feel that I don’t want another camera πŸ™‚ That’s a good thing of not being a true collector πŸ™‚ I still haven’t heard anything about those film rolls I posted just after Christmas but I guess that’s to be expected, I guess they wanted a vacation now too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

I was lucky to find the right brand of dog food in the grocery store, Hector won’t risk starving for day now πŸ™‚ The fun thing is that he eats the other brand as treats but then again, treats can be anything so that doesn’t disturb him at all, in fact he gulps it down πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I was planning on bringing my camera with me and stop by the old abbey ruins but You know how plans work, they usually don’t πŸ™‚Β 

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

Nothing much on tv today, they show the Mummy with Brendan Frazer for the zillionth time and that’s it. I don’t mind that movie but they tend to show it too often πŸ™‚ They are also showing The Simpson’s and Family Guy like they do every day. I don’t know how many times they’ve shown each and every season πŸ™‚ Well maybe they’ll show an episode that I actually haven’t seen πŸ™‚

 

They are putting up new electric cables around the pastures, the wild hogs are getting a bit too close to the village now.

They are putting up new electric cables around the pastures, the wild hogs are getting a bit too close to the village now.

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

It is time for some tea and something to eat. it’ll be a clear and chilly night so perhaps I’ll go outside and watch the stars and imagine how I travel the universe to go there no man has gone before πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I love your new camera! I can’t wait to show my husband this one – he appreciates these camera like you wouldn’t believe! πŸ™‚ I could send you some of our weather so you can walk in the bog. Its -37 this morning with the wind. It has stopped snowing and there are snow drifts everywhere. I am sure a bit of our weather would freeze the bog right up! πŸ™‚ We are due some extreme wind chills today, tonight and tomorrow. In the -45 celcius range. I think I will get to the store later this morning then stay in until I am due back to work on Monday. Funny how the dog food thing goes eh? Ours will do the same thing if we have to change up their food. It will sit in their bowls and they will live off fresh air for a couple of days, but if you feed it to them as a treat, they are all over it. Dog minds!!! Have a good rest of your Saturday!

    January 3, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like it and it seems to be working as it should too πŸ™‚ It turns out they made around 60 different variations of this camera πŸ™‚ so it isn’t easy to know exactly what it is I have πŸ™‚ I do understand Your husband so well πŸ™‚

      It is so strangely warm here now, normally we have temperatures closer to Yours! If it wasn’t for the Gulf Stream we would have worse than You :-)But it almost never blow any wind when it is that cold here, a big difference and to our advantage πŸ™‚ I don’t mind a warm winter but I would like a week or two with at least -10. The roads actually get better at that temperature because the ice gets rough.
      No work for me until Wednesday πŸ™‚

      It’s only Hector that behaves like this, the other gulps down anything πŸ™‚ so it isn’t that he doesn’t like it, it’s just wrong to have as dinner πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 4:05 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Now you do have a collection. I’ve not heard of that camera either. Interesting that it came out of the Marshall Plan and had a Porsche designer. I look forward to seeing what you do with it.
    I have an accidental collection of cameras. Accidental because I don’t tend to get rid of things when I’ve replaced them with newer ones. There’s my old Minolta SKR, a really old Kodak that I had as a kid, the antique bellows camera that uses glass negatives and there might still be an Leica that my father used to use. I’d have to dig deeply into the layers stored in Scary Room 2 to find that one, though. πŸ™‚ I think I still have an old 8mm Kodak movie camera, too.

    Maybe if you threw Hector’s share of the new dog food out into the yard, he would eat it because he’s not supposed to eat stuff he finds in the yard? No? Oh, well. πŸ™‚
    Rocky used to be that fussy but he has learned to eat what is there or Piki Dog will eat it for him.

    Today is sort of sunny but cold and a little windy. A storm is heading our way and will leave some snow followed by icy rain and then rain. And then it will get really, really cold.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 3, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes now I have one πŸ™‚

      It’s so fun because I’ve never heard of this one but suddenly I saw three more being sold on our ebay called Tradera. I gues that first one needed to be sold before anyone else wanted to try it too πŸ™‚

      You should look for that Leica! It’s worth its weight in gold You know! They have one at Tradera and the price rose from nothing to $420 US in minutes and it is an old one. The actiuon is over on Tuesday and I can’t even guess what they’ll sell it for. Leica and Hasselblad was and is the Rolls Royce of cameras. I do miss my old Minolta though but it would probably cost more to fix it than to find another one πŸ™‚

      Since it’s tossed out as food he would most likely not take it πŸ™‚ and he wouldn’t mind if the others ate it, that was what happened last time. He just walked away while thwy ate his food πŸ™‚

      It will be colder and sunny for a few days, no storm is predicted so I wouldn’t be surprised if one turned up πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 4:16 pm

  3. I think cameras are a perfect subject for you to collect, you have such an interest in them and you do have skill with them, the only thing I had a collection of was fountain pens, I had just three, lol, but when we moved three boxes were stolen and of course my pens were in one. , your photos are so calming, thought provoking with talk of the wild pigs, I think they are quite frightening, even though I have never saw one, they don’t live this far north east, YET ! The Mummy is on our channels as well, again and again, I think I have watched it at least 5 times! I read the Hunger Games so now I watched the movie, I always do things backwards, lol, the books were quite good, something like Maze runner,

    January 3, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I guess this is what I would have a collection in but I know myself, from now on I won’t find it fun to buy any more cameras πŸ™‚ But I will use the ones I have, of that I’m pretty sure. I do have fun with them πŸ™‚

      Isn’t it typical that it was in one of those boxes You had Your pens!

      I’m more worried about our wild hogs that I am about wolves. One never knows how wild hogs behave but usually they tend to flee as soon as they hear a human, so I am always talking loud when walking in the forest and on the bog now. But I’ve understood that the bigger a boar is the less is the risk of him attacking. The sows however are just as dangerous, especially if they believe I would try to hurt the pigflets. So talking loud is what I’m doiung all the time πŸ™‚

      It is a fun movie but why do they show it so often?? I hope the actors get extra pay every timne they show it πŸ™‚

      I always prefer to watch the movies first and then read the books. It’s easier to accept the changes in the movie if I read the books after the movies πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 4:25 pm

  4. jaz

    i used to have so many cameras and i have no idea what happened to all of them. we have horrible ice here right now. there are wrecks all over the city. it is terrible! we have had way too much ice this winter. i went out on the patio this morning and did the tard dance. i will be sore tomorrow. i need snow really bad!!!

    January 3, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ve only had a few cameras and I know I tossed the first one because I had to hit it hard in to a wall or tree to make it work πŸ™‚ It was an Agfamatic 126. It’s just recently I’ve started to hoard cameras πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I hate ice! We’ve had some this winter and I hate driving around in it! Compared to ice snow is a blessing πŸ™‚
      I hope You don’t feel too bad tomorrow!

      No snow is predicted here, just cold temperatures. I do hope You’ll get some snow before spring arrives at Your home. But to be honest, don’t You often get summer directly instead of spring πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 5:05 pm

  5. Christer,
    My neighbor called last night and warned me about two huge coyotes. He told me another neighbor was walking his dog when he saw the coyotes stalking a wild turkey which they then grabbed. The other turkeys flew up onto the tree boughs. I don’t think they can get through my fence, but I kept watch anyway. The turkeys live near the pond at the end of the street. I hope they don’t continue to attract coyotes.

    It is cold here as well. I really don’t want to go out, but I haven’t a choice.

    I’m glad Hector will have his food. Soon enough so will Gracie.

    Stay cozy and warm!

    January 3, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve read about Your western Coyotes and they are in fact wolf hybrids, much bigger and stronger than normal coyotes. Take a look into the yard before You let Gracie out, these big coyotes have killed people so a dog isn’t safe especially if there are two!

      I don’t mind if it’s cold as long as there’s no snow πŸ™‚

      I didn’t think this little store woulΓΆd have that brand since it was sold out at the super market.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

