So close but still so far away.

The moon shone a bit too much to get a good photo of the stars last night.

The moon shone a bit too much to get a good photo of the stars last night.

We’re having a fantastic weather here today! Sunshine, no wind and a few degrees below 0C (32F). The sun is actually giving away some heat because as soon as I walked in the sunshine it felt like I was boiling but as soon as I was walking in the shadow that feeling soon went away 🙂 I started early this morning, well it depends on how You look at it, if this had been summer I would have started very late :-). Anyhow, I went over to my neighbor to let out the cats and give them some more food because he’s been away a few days. I have to say that Salmiak is a really nice cat, well Sally too of course.

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

DSC_0040

 

After that we went away to the bog, before the sun had risen. I had hoped the ice would have frozen enough but unfortunately no, it hadn’t. I was a bit disappointed I must say, it wouldn’t have been any problems if my rubber boots hadn’t been leaking. I must buy a new pair or find a bicycle repair kit to fix it because I know exactly where the rubber boot is broken. So we just walked around where we usually do and went home again.

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

DSC_0049

 

Then I remembered that my neighbor had told me there is a bridge over the creek further up-stream. I had to walk on the other side of the creek to reach it though. So we had barely come home before we went away again. I think it would have been a smarter choise to just keep walking on the side we always do because the swampy place where we usually turn back home again seemed to be deep frozen today 🙂 But we continued and even though it looks like it is going to be easy to walk on that side it isn’t, lots of debris lies on the ground after a thinning of the forest and my feet kept getting stuck in it 🙂

 

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0055

 

We passed what I think is a fox burrow or perhaps a badger sett. I think it is a fox burrow though because badgers tend to dig a lot and push out all dirt while foxes are happy with the space it gets. I wanted to take a few photos of the different entrances we found but all the dogs were a bit too interested on trying to get down into it 🙂 We followed the creek until it makes a 90 degree turn to the left and there we saw the hunting tower I knew was going to be there somewhere. I also saw the bridge, well I think that is a bit too much to call it 🙂

 

Salmiak sunbathing beside the bee hive.

Salmiak sunbathing beside the bee hive.

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

Lots of water in the bog now.

Lots of water in the bog now.

 

I knew as soon as I saw it that I would be able to get over and both Sune and Nova too even if Sune most likely would jump in to the creek just because he loves to swim but I knew it would be impossible for both Hector and Orvar. Their legs just aren’t good enough any longer. So we kept following the creek that actually got wider than it is elsewhere. We could have continued until it would end but I know that it is very swampy where it begins and I also wanted to be sure that it wouldn’t be too much for Hector to walk back again.

 

DSC_0072

They have renovated all bridges that leads to a hunting tower, I dare not use any of the other :-)

They have renovated all bridges that leads to a hunting tower, I dare not use any of the other 🙂

DSC_0074

DSC_0076

 

We’re only half way through winter here, it will last until the end of March if this would have been a normal winter 🙂 Sometimes even April is a winter month here. So I’ll get another chance to go there and to the lake in the middle of the bog. Perhaps leave the old boys at home and only bring Nova and Sune. I would then of course have to take a walk with only the old boys after that 🙂 but I think they would be happy to just walk to our usual places.

 

The "bridge".

The “bridge”.

DSC_0078

As You can see, this is not a good place for dogs with bad legs to cross the creek :-)

As You can see, this is not a good place for dogs with bad legs to cross the creek 🙂

The creek continues for quite a distance.

The creek continues for quite a distance.

 

It is time for a pot of tea and then perhaps a little nap 🙂 Only two more days of vacation and then it’s back to the real world again.

 

DSC_0083

Bertil followed us all the way and would have walked out on the bog too if we had.

Bertil followed us all the way and would have walked out on the bog too if we had.

DSC_0085

DSC_0086

The fox burrow is quite big. the next photo is also a part of it as well as the photo before this.

The fox burrow is quite big. the two next photos are also parts of it as well as the photo before this.

DSC_0088

DSC_0089

 

Have a great day!

 

and Jesus is sunbathing :-) He's still alive so I hope this means he will make it!

and Jesus is sunbathing 🙂 He’s still alive so I hope this means he will make it!

12 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Lovely pre-dawn photograph of the brightening sky.

    Jesus is sunbathing. It sounds so odd but makes for an amusing mental image. 🙂 I hope he makes it, too.

    Salmiak is well hidden as he sunbathes by the bee hive. I had to look hard to find him.

    Only three more days? That doesn’t sound right. Hasn’t it only been a week? Man, vacation time passes so quickly.

    We had snow last night but it turned to sleet and then rain. Now it’s just murky and the snow is melting into slush. I’m going to wait until later on in the day to see how much is left to be removed. It’s supposed to be in the high 50’s F today but no sun so the snow won’t melt real fast.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 4, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that photo when the first light shows behind the mountains.

      I giggled when I wrote that 🙂 So far he seems just fine and plays with another small calf during the day 🙂

      It’s fun that it is so hard to find Salmiak in the photo, even I had some problems 🙂 because he was very visible when I took that photo 🙂

      Time just flies! It feels like one day 🙂 but reality says otherwise I’m afraid 🙂

      We’ll have one more day with cold temperatures and then it will get warm and rain will arrive, I’m not too happy about that but I am happy that it at least isn’t snow 🙂 The high 50’s would melt away that snow preety fast with or without the help from the sun. Lets hope the sun shows anyway, it’s so much nicer when it does 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2015 at 3:46 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oh how I wish we had your winter! This morning we are currently sitting at -46 celcius (including the wind chill). Its not fit to go outside as there are warnings all over the place saying that skin will freeze in less than 2 minutes if you are not covered up appropriately. This is the hardest month for me with the deep darkness and having this frigid cold to add to it makes for an unhappy me!! Tomorrow when I go back to work I will use my SAD lamp. It helps, but only temporarily. Your photos are excellent! There is one that reminds me of a prehistoric beast (7th from the top). The one of the stars is incredible! 🙂 I was watching Jupiter rise through my kitchen window last night. I have an app on my mobile phone that tells me where planets and stars are in the galaxy, otherwise I don’t think I would have known it was Jupiter! 🙂 Have a good Sunday!

    January 4, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I have to say I’m glad we have this winter too 🙂 I wouldn’t like Your temperatures at all! Normally I don’t mind cold weather but -46 is just nasty! I’m not sure my car would make it through that!

      I didn’t win a SAD, I would have needed it when February starts, our coldest month and still not especially much daylight.

      I have a jiggymathing I got from Joyce that shows in what direction I must look to find the different plantes we are able to see, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to say what’s a star or what’s a planet :-)I also got a lot of different star charts so I know what kind of zodiac signs I can see!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2015 at 3:52 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! it just cracks me up that bertil goes on those long walks with all of you. maybe he thinks he is a mini dog? it’s good to see that jesus is relaxed and sunning himself. it was 60 degrees when i woke up this morning but a cold front is blowing in. we have high winds and tonight it will be in the teens. what a weird winter! joyce

    January 4, 2015 at 4:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think he wouldn’t follow me if I walked away alone, it’s only the dogs he loves 🙂

      That was a quick change in weather! Yes we do have a strange winter this year 🙂

      I hadn’t seen Jesus in a few days so I feared the worst but then I saw him all day today. He sure enjoyed that moment in the sun 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  4. Förstår att du passade på att ta ett par ordentliga prommisar när ni hade så fint väder! Här var det visserligen också strålande sol, +1 grad men…det blåste värre inatt och idag än det gjorde när dom varnade för storm! så idag har vi faktiskt hållit oss hemma!! 😛
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 4, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Fortfarande ingen vind här, stjärnklart och -7 just nu. Det kändes inte ens kallt när jag gick ut en stund med hundarna utan jacka. En riktigt härlig dag, synd bara att vi aldrig kom ut till sjön 🙂

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2015 at 8:30 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    Gracie would love walking in the woods though she’d take off if she saw any animals. I’d have to keep her on a long leash. She would want to cross the bridge but that’s because she doesn’t realize that she’s older and less agile.

    It just started pouring about the hardest it has. It sounds great from inside but I should has heck would’t go out.

    Have a wonderful morning!

    January 5, 2015 at 5:22 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I almost always have Nova on a leash since she would do the same if she saw a hare, she just goies crazy when seeing them 🙂 Sune is easier, he always turn back if I tell him so and the old boys aren’t interested in other animals. Sune would however rather swim across than walk over that bridge 🙂

      The weather forecast says no rain but fog today and chilly. The rain won’t arrive until Thursday but I’ll believe it when I see it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 5, 2015 at 6:11 am

  6. Hi Christer…THANK YOU so much for the Christmas card! 🙂 I was very proud to get a card from so far away.. I’m afraid I didn’t get one single card out this year. Just too much going on…and I haven’t even been blogging. Camera is still not letting me download my photo’s..OR it’s the computer. I have not had time to figure out which one is the problem. I’ve tried everything..so..now when our company leaves, I will have to find help with the problem. In the meantime, I’ve missed out on all the holidays. 😦
    Of course Bertil would have followed you! What a great cat! In one photo it looked like someone had built a den of sorts but it looked built by a human..I was curious about it. I’ve missed my vertual walks in the forest! 🙂
    Mona

    January 5, 2015 at 10:49 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m so glad it arrived 🙂 I think actually most did this year, amazing what difference it can be by just changing which mailbox one use 🙂 🙂

      I guess it’s Your computer, it’s very new if I remember right and then they can argue a lot 🙂 Do You have windows8? If so I might be able to help You if I just can find the right words to explain what I mean 🙂

      Bertil just loves to follow the dogs an walks, I don’t think he cares especially much if I’m there too 🙂

      I think the den is human made, well made and made but it is lots of stones they must have dug up when they made the creek deeper and wider. They tossed all stones at the same place and stone piles like that are perfect for both foxes and badgers to make a hom beneath.

      I’m glad You’re back 🙂

      Have a great continuing of the new year!
      Christer.

      January 5, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

