We should have gone out there in the morning.

DSC_0020

Today started out just as wonderful as yesterday was (now it is cloudy though) but a lot colder, I didn’t mind since there were no wind. It actually felt warmer than warmer windy days. We walked down to the creek over the fields and for once I could have Nova unleashed and she just didn’t care about a single thing I told her to do so she soon got leashed again. She also behaved like insane when leashed so we weren’t happy with each other at all and she was cranky for hours after that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

 

I learned that if one stand in a field with forest on both sides and shouts after a dog that just doesn’t care it echoes so much it scares the crap out of the dog πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure it scared all wild life too because we couldn’t see any animals anywhere and the birds were totally quiet πŸ™‚ A few flocks of swans passed above us and it was only their wings that made any sound so I guess it was mute swans, trumpet swans (or song swans as we call them ) always make lots of noise, I wonder if those honks works like pep talks? “Only a thousand miles left, keep flapping those wings of Yours, soon we’ll meet summer again” πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

The wild hogs sure knows how to turn the ground :-)

The wild hogs sure knows how to turn the ground πŸ™‚

 

Our second walk brought us out on the bog. I didn’t feel like going there this morning, I wonder why? but I wish I had because the night had been so cold that the ice on the bog was frozen solid. At first I sort of slid over the ice prepared to break through any second but then I took a close look at it, it was possible to see that the ice was at least 10cm (four inches) thick πŸ™‚ We didn’t walk especially far but it was nice to be out there again. I did bring a camera but not a digital one but my Edixa, the latest one. I hope the old film and the camera works reasonable so I’ll be able to show You those photos later on.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

I wonder if this might be the beginning of a new beaver dam? Look how the ice has frozen in steps! Looks like there are rock beneath the water but there isn't.

I wonder if this might be the beginning of a new beaver dam? Look how the ice has frozen in steps! Looks like there are rock beneath the water but there isn’t.

 

It will stay cold tonight too but tomorrow will be cloudy and windy so I doubt I’ll go out on a windy bog, well it depends on what direction the wind comes from. If it’s from south to north-west the forest on the islands out there will protect us from the wind and then I might go out there again. Winter is still far from over so we will most likely get the chance to have a frozen bog again before it is over. The bog is around 10 square kilometers big (have no idea what that might be in square miles) soΒ it’s best not to get lost out there πŸ™‚ Well, as long as one walk in a straight line there’s no bigger problem really, the bog is surrounded by smaller roads and sooner or later one will walk in to one of them.

 

This pine is probably just as old as I am and still it's so small. Bogs doesn't have lots of nutritions so they become dwarfish in size. Beautiful though.

This pine is probably just as old as I am and still it’s so small. Bogs doesn’t have lots of nutritions so they become dwarfish in size. Beautiful though.

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

DSC_0064

 

It is time for a pot of tea and perhaps a tiny nap, it is a bit late for a nap to be honest but it is so nice and I still have tomorrow free from work πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0065

18 responses

  1. Hello πŸ™‚ I have only read a few posts but my first impression is of a very beautiful little blog. I get a great feeling of peace and of being outside. Your photographs are quite beautiful. I am wondering where you are, it would help me to understand the wild life that you have around you. 14000 Cranes in spring, Scandanavia maybe or Eastern Europe? If you do not mind then I will follow this blog until I learn more. Now it is time for a pot of tea and perhaps a little nap. My best regards to you Sir – Colin

    January 5, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    • Hi Colin and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I live outside in Sweden, in a paert called Skaraborg. The lake is HornborgasjΓΆn and now days 14 000 cranes are too less, lately we’ve had around 20 000 of them here. I’ll post a link to the different web cams they put up every by the lake every spring if I remember it when it happens.

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚
      Christer.

      January 5, 2015 at 4:54 pm

      • Thank you Christer πŸ™‚

        January 5, 2015 at 5:38 pm

      • πŸ™‚

        January 5, 2015 at 5:45 pm

  2. sounds like you are enjoying your break, your weather has been so mild, I had some problems with my blog today, a few others have had the same issue, then on top of that I found several of my signed paintings being sold on Etsy by another person, that problem has been corrected but not the blog problems, the blog posts are all there just in draft form, if I publish it will flood everyone;s readers, so it will be a fresh start once I cool my temper at my work being sold by other people. If I wished to sell my paintings I would, but to see thieves making prints of my work is infuriating, and very sad. They did not notice I have each one signed in an obscure spot, hard to see my signature unless you know what you are looking for. Three of them were water marked and the crooks removed the water mark. They had sold 21 copies, very sad , but Etsy fixed the problem quite promptly, life goes on,,,

    January 5, 2015 at 6:07 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I am but I only have tomorrow left and after that work starts again. Well I am happy that I have a job but vacation sure is nice πŸ™‚

      I can’t understand how people can do like that!!! Stealing other peoples work! Yes water marking is useless now days I’m afraid, they found out how to erase that without a trace too quickly. I’m glad You managed to stop them!

      How odd that all Your post suddenly became drafts?? Odd things like that happen at Blogger more often than in other places like that.
      I hope that no one steals from You from now on! Now they know they can get caught!

      Have a great day despite those problems!
      Christer.

      January 5, 2015 at 6:54 pm

  3. Your pictures the last two days have been extra nice. I think it’s the winter light and ice. Just lovely. Your Bertil does look a bit demonic in that pic : ) But all cats can go from devil to angel in the blink of a eye!
    Warmed up enough here to uncover the plants but we so desperately need rain and snow in our mountains.
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.

    January 5, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    • Hi dustbunny8!

      I think it is the sun shining πŸ™‚ That has not happened too often this autumn and winter.

      The angel part is something I’ve never seen in Bertil πŸ™‚ He can be a truly nasty cat when he is as his best and other days I just toss him outside and he’s not allowed in again until he behaves. That thankfully happens more less now when he’s getting older πŸ™‚

      I wish I could send You some of our rains πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen the bog this filled with water since I moved here years ago. I do hope You get the rain You need this winter!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 5, 2015 at 6:57 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love the golden trees silhouetted along the top of the hill. Lovely shots of Bertil and Teodor as well. Teo looks very good in early morning light. It enhances his color.

    Maybe Nova finally feels better after her chronic ear problem and she was just too full of herself to listen.
    Bellowing in an open field between two forests would probably clear out anything that heard you. Not surprising that you saw only swans high over head. Everything else was probably thinking you sounded really angry and they should beat feet out of there. πŸ™‚

    Today was sunny, very cold and very windy. The windchill factor is down to 12ΒΊF and the wind is blowing at 30 mph with gusts to 50. I could hear it roaring all day. It wasn’t too pleasant taking the dogs out for their walks though they didn’t seem to mind. Wind makes them playful even if it’s colder than midnight on Pluto outside. πŸ™‚

    Speaking of bogs, my own personal bog in the back of the house seems to have gotten bigger and wetter. The separate areas of standing water seem to have joined up to form one irregularly shaped frozen pond with tiny islands of shrubs or trees. Very interesting.

    Enjoy the evening.

    January 5, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Teodor does get a rather deep and beautifl color in that light.

      That miight be why she behaved like she did! Soi many other things to find on that field sp why listen to me πŸ™‚ She was grumpy the entire day πŸ™‚ I hate having to shout like that when we’re out walking, we were in the middle of a big field so there was no risk of surprising any hogs anyway. I wonder how far my shout reached πŸ™‚ The trees probably dampened the sound a lot but I think it might have reached the village anyway, I have big lungs πŸ™‚

      Too bad about the wind now when You had sunshine. Midnight on Pluto is usually rather cold πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but I do like the sound from the wind when it roars like that.

      A bigger bog! That’s always nice until the mosquitos comes or if the rain just keep on filling it πŸ™‚ I remember this summer when it rained so much the bog started to look much like the old lake it once was πŸ™‚ It was rather beautiful but I can’t say I enjoyed those nasty flies lateron πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It looks much like You describe Your bog here in my bog too now.little lagoons with small islands in it, perfect photo opportunities πŸ™‚ I only could walk out there because the water had frozen, otherwise I’m afraid I would have sunken down to my waist in many places.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 7:07 am

  5. Christer,
    Like your bogs, the sea water hampers the growth of the pine so they are all scrub pine with lots of limbs without a whole lot of pine needles. They are a bit fragile, and I always lose a few branches in a heavy wind. Two are down in the backyard now.

    Gracie is a runner or maybe was a runner as she hasn’t done that in a long while. She stays near the door and doesn’t try to bolt, but I am still nervous she’d run, and she goes to strangers, not me.

    We have the big freeze coming Wednesday night with temps down to zero and minus when you add the wind chill.

    That’s about it around here tough we did have two coyotes stalk and kill a wild turkey at the end of my street. The rest of the birds flew to the boughs of trees and stayed there for safety. The coyotes were huge according to my neighbor who saw them both. Even though I have a fence, I went out with Gracie that night just in case.

    Have a great evening!

    January 6, 2015 at 12:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes I can remember that from when I lived by the ocean and the wind shaped the trees so they all leaned towards east since the wind almost always blow from west here πŸ™‚

      They do tend to calm down when they are older, not all though πŸ™‚ Nove has behaved really good until yesterday so I’m hoping it just was like Caryn Thought. She will get the chance walking of leash today too πŸ™‚

      The predictions says over 32F all week, some rain, some snow and actually tiny bits of sunshine too for the coming ten days. The big weather institutes around the world all said the nasty cold winter was going to come already now so I guess they were wrong this time too. So far it looks like it will continue like it has.

      Yes go outside with Gracie for as long as You know those big ones still are around, they can jump much higher than a normal coyote and work together like wolves.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 7:14 am

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am late chiming in today….just one of those days you know?!? πŸ™‚ I am glad you are having great weather! Makes for living through winter so much more bearable. We are not having a good winter. Well, we never really do. Its so bitterly cold out. I had such a good giggle at your bird story – how they speak to one another to keep going. Then I finished reading your blog and the last picture had my giggling again! You are hilarious!! πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy your last day of freedom tomorrow!! I have next week off, but have to be out in the country at my brother’s to house/dog sit. Then my son takes over the week after. They are off to the in laws holiday house in Florida. I bet the weather is nice there! πŸ™‚

    January 6, 2015 at 2:04 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m often asleep when You on the other side of the ocean comments here πŸ™‚ especially on working days since I can’t start writing my blog until 6:30 pm. Right now it’s 7 am and I am having a pot of the Canadian coffee I got from You, it is soo tasty! I do like both the coffee and tea!

      This is a very unusual winter here. It was like this most of the time where I grew up by the ocean but here winter usually is cold and snowy. I don’t mind this winter though πŸ™‚ I can’t remeber this little snow since I moved to this part of the country 18 years ago πŸ™‚ It will most likely kill a lot of plants in my garden though, they aren’t used to winters like this πŸ™‚

      It must besomething like that they say those swans πŸ™‚ The mute swans only move from one lake to another but the trumpet swans must be pep talking all the way south πŸ™‚

      It’s never wrong to get out to the country and dog sit πŸ™‚ but Florida sounds rather nice too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 7:22 am

      • Dianna

        I am so glad you are enjoying the coffee and tea. If I am honest, the coffee is not my most favorite (I prefer McDonald’s) but I do love the tea!!

        January 6, 2015 at 4:59 pm

      • I’ve never had a cup of coffee at McDonalds πŸ™‚ so I can’t compare πŸ™‚

        January 6, 2015 at 5:07 pm

  7. Hi Christer, beautiful photos as always. I been awhile since my last visit as the holidays were spent in my home state of NJ. Thank you for the condolences and I know that my mother is now at rest and no longer in any pain.

    January 6, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes You have had more important thigs to do than visit blogs!

      It’s never easy to lose a loved one.

      Take care!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

