Like giant heart beats.

The night sky yesterday.

The night sky yesterday.

To bad the weather couldn’t stay the same for one more day. Today is grey and windy and even though it is much warmer it feels much colder. I’ve had the fire burning in the stove all morning but still it feels like the heat stays close to the stove, as if it too freeze if it wanders too far from the fire 🙂 The weather will stay much the same all day but tonight we’ll get snow, not much around 2,5 cm (an inch) but after that the rain comes and the roads will be nasty to drive on. I’m glad I drive to and from work when most people either already are at work or already at home.

 

and this is how it looked with lots of editing :-)

and this is how it looked with lots of editing 🙂

DSC_0072

This morning.

 

DSC_0074

 

They are warning for a new storm this weekend, well the Swedish meteorologists are but not the Norwegian and since the Swedish ones have been fairly wrong in their storm predictions lately I think I’ll trust the Norwegians this time. The wind will come (if they do come) from west so I’ll most likely not notice much of it anyway here in my cottage. 

 

DSC_0079

DSC_0081

DSC_0082

 

Nova behaved so much better on our walk this morning, she isn’t used to me yelling at her so I guess she really didn’t want to experience that again 🙂 We were walking across the same field when I realised that we have rather big five earth mounds on an otherwise absolutely flat surface. They are all rather smooth in their surface and very even all around so I’m guessing they must be old tombs. There are absolutely no reason to why they would be there on that almost absolutely flat surface otherwise. I must see if I can find any info about it. People living here would most likely know a lot but they tend to keep quiet because if they aren’t known to make them known would give them lots of problems. They might be forbidden to use the area until it had been looked through and it can take many, many years until anything would happen.

 

This is a popular mushroom this year :-)

This is a popular mushroom this year 🙂

DSC_0084

DSC_0085

 

Yesterday evening when I went out to take a photo of the moon I heard the strangest sound from the bog and it was rather loud too. It sounded like giant heart beats. dum-dum……….dum-dum………dum-dum……. and it kept going on for a very long time. I wonder what it was, I must say I was rather curious but I’m not insane trying to go out there 🙂 Nothing sounding like giant heart beats can be a good thing to walk in to in the middle of the night 🙂 Nothing odd could be seen from where I was this morning though but then again I can’t see much of the bog here 🙂

 

This is the biggest of the mounds.

This is the biggest of the mounds.

Two smaller here

Two smaller here

and here is actually a sixth mound, Stone Circle Hill as I call it.

and here is actually a sixth mound, Stone Circle Hill as I call it.

 

I think it’s time for a short nap, then a pot of tea before we’re going out for a walk again. I got the new film rolls yesterday but the weather isn’t inviting enough to bring out that heavy camera 🙂

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Weird sounds from the bog. Unknown barrow mounds. Creepy.
    It’s probably too late for migrating bitterns and there is no Swedish Kakapo. Do grouse make a booming sound? They don’t make it at night, though. Yes. Creepy. Definitely. 🙂

    Those mushrooms are very popular with trees and tree stumps around here, too. I just call them shelf mushrooms and leave it at that. I know there are all different kinds.

    It’s cloudy and very cold this morning. Temperature is 14ºF with a wind chill factor so it feels about 3ºF. I’m not looking forward to that morning dog walk and am putting it off as long as possible though the temperature is not going to improve all that much. Thursday will be even colder, they say. Spring is only 73 days away.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 6, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well some bitterns do stay here over the winter as long as they can find ice free waters but this was not the same sound and much louder and unfortunately as You say, we have no kakapo here 🙂 Grouse makes lots of strange sounds but nothing that even remotely sounds like a heart beat 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Almost all tree stunps have the exact same kind of mushroom growing on them now, normally I can find six or seven that look different but all new ones look just the same 🙂

      It was nicer here when it was 12F and no wind than it was today when it was 32F and windy 🙂 Here it will only be warmer again, I do wonder how the rest of the winter will be like, we have at least three more months before spring will arrive 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 2:44 pm

      • I was trying to remember what other birds drum. I have heard bitterns can make a really loud sound. I’ve seen bitterns but haven’t heard them. But none of them really drums much at night.
        I once had a woodpecker who discovered the wonderful acoustic properties of aluminum downspouts and PVC pipe much to the detriment of human ears. He was probably a very successful breeder that year. 🙂
        We’re expecting snow squalls today, really cold temperatures for Wednesday and Thursday and more snow squalls for Friday. After that there will be more really cold temperatures. Seems to be a pattern. I hope it doesn’t last too much longer.

        January 6, 2015 at 6:11 pm

      • It was more like a drum sound than a bird sound 🙂 and poor soul having a hgeart in the speed a woodpecker pecks 🙂 🙂 🙂

        So far we’ve only gotten a few flakes but more will come tonight and the day after tomorrow will be rather warm so what’s the use? 🙂

        January 6, 2015 at 7:41 pm

  2. jaz

    the photo of the moon is awesome!!! wow..i wonder what was making that noise? the bog can be such a scary place!

    January 6, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like both of them 🙂

      I have absolutely no idea what it might have been but bogs are rather mysterious.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 2:45 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I would have loved to find out what that sound was, but never on my own! I would have dragged an army of people with me just to investigate. Maybe it was a spaceship landing! 🙂 I would love to live near a mysterious bog. Or a cemetery. Very quiet (except for heart beats) and lovely I think! The moon picture is awesome! Love the moon!! Have a good last day of freedom…..I hope your weather stays as good as it has been. Today’s our warm day at -18 celcius for the high!!

    January 6, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      But it is when one drag along a lot of people the problem never get solved or all killed, at least in horror movies 🙂
      I do like the idea of a space ship 🙂

      Many of these old bog have also been used as places to sacrfice humans, so it might be both 🙂 They have found offerings in a nearby bog, broken swords,silver, gold and corpses from what I’ve heard. This bog however used to be a shallow lake until a few hundred years ago when they started to empty it from water. They never succeeded properly, the lake is still there and the ground is not good enough to grow anything on it. So now it’s just a very big bog 🙂

      The wind is blowing and I’ve seen some snow flakes falling already, winter is far from over 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  4. Här har det varit riktigt bra väder idag, men det hade man ingen glädje av tyvärr. Jag kände mig lite halvdålig med ont i halsen och lite feber, så jag har suttit inne hela dagen. Antingen framför datorn och planerat semestern i juli (yes, redan) eller framför TV´n inlindad i en värmande filt och glott på skidåkning. Inte så där jättekul…men det kommer väl nya dagar!
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 6, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är inget kul med bra väder när man är sjuk 🙂 Hoppas du piggnar till fort!

      Ingen dum idé att planera semestern redan nu, då hinner du ju ändra dig hur många gånger som helst till den kommer 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2015 at 7:43 pm

  5. Christer,
    If your walk had been part of a science fiction movie, the giant heart beats would mean a creature under the mounds are emerging from hibernation.

    Cold and getting colder here. Gracie is quickly out and back inside. Tomorrow will be the worst of it, and I am staying home nice and warm.

    Be careful driving!

    January 7, 2015 at 2:44 am

    • Hi Kat!

      My mind wandered in those lines too 🙂 Naturally it would have some kind of followers that were standing there in the middle of the night with huge bonfires drumming at the same pace as the heart beats from the creature 🙂 They would of course be its first victimes 🙂

      Snow this morning, then rain and temperatures below 32F followed after that of course 🙂 Well the drive home was anything but boring 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2015 at 6:45 pm

  6. Wendy from NY

    Now I understand why you have four dogs! Company for hearing creepy sounds out on the bog. Not sure I would be able to sleep after that! ;). Super pictures of the moon! Love them!

    January 7, 2015 at 9:08 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      It is a good reason even if it isn’t the reason 🙂

      I thought it sounded very interesting and since I love scinece fiction my mind immediately wandered in that direction 🙂

      I do like both photos of the moon but the non edited best, something with the clouds just makes it eery, fits with that sound 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2015 at 6:48 pm

  7. texasann

    Christer – I like the first moon photo better thant he edited one, especially with the bog sounds story – seems to work together.

    Predicting a hard freeze along the Gulf Coast tonight, about 25 degrees for several hours, with winds of about 30 mph starting about noon today. Thankfully we are dry, but we may see some rain and possible flakes on Friday and Saturday – so say our infamous weathermen. I hope not – this city absolutely freaks out and closes down when snow is seen, although it usually melts within just a very short time.

    I might like to be a meteorologist in my next life. What other job can you have and be wrong 50% of the time, keep your job, and others keep asking for advice? Sounds like a pretty solid carreer.

    Happy New Year, and thanks for the birthday greeting.

    January 7, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    • Hi Texasann!

      Yes that photo goes well with that sound, the clouds have an eery feeling to them 🙂

      It’s colder where You are than here 🙂 It will get warmer here and the storm has decided to arrive a day later it seems 🙂 We had snow here this morning and after that the rain arrived just to be followed by below 32F tremperatures. The drive home was slightly exiting 🙂
      We do need quite a lot of snow to close down here but they tend to do that much earlier now days than they did before. They never closed schools just because it snowed a lot or because we had a storm when I grew up, they do now days though. We aren’t any vikings any longer 🙂

      I’ve been thinking the same 🙂 They can be so wrong so many times and still they keep their jobs, if I had been just as losuy at my job I would have bveen fired long ago 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

