Strange winter this one.

I didn't need to adjust this photo at all.

I didn’t need to adjust this photo at all. I get that black line at the left side of the photo in many if not most photos and it has to do with how I load the film.

Something very strange happened yesterday night, all my aquarium fish died! The day before they swam around like always and ate with healthy apatite, the next day they are all dead?! I have no idea what caused this and my only guess is that the pump/ filter, that still works might have electrocuted them. It survived the day the lightning hit but may have been damaged but why do anything now? I’m just guessing because I haven’t checked it out yet. I’ve unplugged it now though so I can pick it up this weekend to check it.

 

If You look at the top of this (and next photo since they are the same :-) ) You can see the bottom of the next photo

If You look at the top of this (and next photo since they are the same 🙂 ) You can see the bottom of the next photo

This is the slightly edited photo.

This is the slightly edited photo.

I didn't have to do anything with this but it didn't turn out as I thought it would when I took it :-)

I didn’t have to do anything with this but it didn’t turn out as I thought it would when I took it 🙂

Didn't do any editing on this one either but it too turned out very different to how I thought it would :-)

Didn’t do any editing on this one either but it too turned out very different to how I thought it would 🙂

 

I got an e-mail yesterday and it was a notice that I now could download the photos I took before Christmas. The cd is on its way but I can already now download the photos from their website. So today You’ll see how they turned out and how they look after I edited them some 🙂 Snow and a bright day forces the photographer to adjust the camera so everything won’t be too bright in the photo. I thought I had underexposed the photos enough when thinking how I did when we had bright light and fog but I should have underexposed them slightly more. I learn something new every time. I also learned that taking a close up photo with a telephoto lens make the photos slightly mat.

 

These close ups of tree funguses get a very mat shine to them, so now close ups from now on if I use the tele-photo lens.

These close-ups of tree funguses get a very mat shine to them, so now close-ups from now on if I use the tele-photo lens. This is the edited version.

1a

2

This is the edited version.

 

2a

 

I can also see that I’m doing something wrong when loading the film into the camera, You’ll see it too when You look at the photos. Not quite sure what I’m doing or how to fix it though 🙂 I’ll send in the film roll I took with the Edixa as soon as the negatives and cd arrives because they’ll also send a bag so I can send in more film rolls to them 🙂 

 

11a

edited one.

edited one.

6a

edited one.

edited one.

 

The weather is behaving rather strange now as it has all winter to be honest. This morning the winds was nasty strong, now it’s absolutely calm and tomorrow it will start to blow again. It’s rather warm now but tomorrow night will be cold just to get warm again during the day and the winds! I doubt it will be storms as they have predicted but it will be strong winds once again, just to calm down some and then strong winds again and this is just within a few days 🙂 The cold weather they said would arrive already in early January seems to have blow to the American continent instead.

 

2a

The camera makes such a loud noise so most animals flee when they hear it 🙂

 

2

The edited one.

 

7a

7

Slightly easier to see the tree in all the snow in this photo 🙂

 

 

The fire is burning in the stove, I have a cup of tea by my side and now it’s time for a pot of tea. The dogs are all sleeping, Sune just beside a hot radiator. Strange that he can’t feel how hot he gets, I can when he comes to me 🙂

 

5a

I think I managed to take reasonable good photos this time even if some editing help them to be better.

 

5

9a

9

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. beautiful photos, there is so much to learn about photography! I’m sorry to hear about the fish, thats so sad, will you replace them, our daughter has a huge aquarium with two Oscar fish that are huge! They are 6 years old and have nasty teeth, she has another aquarium with a few smaller fish among them a cat fish that our grandson brought home, they all get along very well, I know they would be very upset if they died. I think we have kept all this snow and cold long enough to ourselves here in Canada I will send it your way!

    January 8, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think I managed to take a few good ones, I’m still learning a lot by using an old camera 🙂

      I can’t understand what happened to the fish?! I’m not sure I will replace them or if I just should stop having an aquarium for a while.

      I do like Oscar’s! I would like to have a big enough aquarium to have a few of them but I’m not sure how the floor in this old cottage would manage the weight 🙂

      I’m in no need of winter really but it is nice of You to think of us 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 8, 2015 at 8:31 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I think you did take some reasonably good photos. The matte effect on the telephoto close ups is probably just because the camera seems to produce that a little bit anyway. I forget why that happens. Something to do with film speed maybe?
    Anyway, I love the photos of the snowy trees.
    Don’t worry about having to edit them. Film photographers did quite a bit of editing. You’re right there with Ansel Adams doing the digital version of dodging and burning. 🙂

    It is very cold here today. -3ºF when I woke up and still that when we went for the first, very quick, walk. Piki Dog didn’t do anything because he’s Piki Dog. Out we went again several hours later when it was 3ºF. No minus sign this time. They both did everything this time and I found a dandelion blooming in the frozen, snowy lawn.
    Later on I went down cellar to check the oil tank and the washing machine. The filler pipes for the washing machine are frozen. That’s new and different. Usually it’s just the trap that freezes. There’s heat in that room but the pipes are mounted on the only wall in the cellar that isn’t covered by earth and is exposed to northerly winds because why should a plumber ask about those sorts of thing. :/

    Hope being back at work was not too shocking.
    Enjoy the day.

    January 8, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I managed to take a few good ones but I must think of adjusting the camera some more than I did this time. Those mat ones had a slow shutter speed so I guess that can be it! I’ll think of that next time I’ll try a close-up!

      Normally I donät like to edit any photos but I do tend to take too dark photos 🙂 but it’s nice to be in the company of photographers as Ansel Adams 🙂

      -3F is a bit too low! Well as long as there’s no wind it can be rather nice but it is nicer to stay indoors those days 🙂 It seems Nova is less fussy when it comes to doing her business on very cold days 🙂 Normally she can turn around for several minutes until she either decides it after all is a good spot or just change her mind and tries elsewhere. Cold days howver make her fast 🙂 No fussing at all, just do it so we can go home again 🙂

      I hope You won’t get any problems by those frozen pipes! Keep an eye on them when it gets warmer just in case. One winter here was so cold that it froze down in my cool cellar, it was the cold cellar that year 🙂 I didn’t have any radiator down there so I bought one and placed by the water pipes. Now I have a green house light down there and it keeps the cellar just cool, not cold no matter how cold it is outside 🙂

      It was very schocking 🙂 I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to normal again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 8, 2015 at 8:41 pm

      • Film is different from digital. As I recall only folks like me who didn’t process their own negatives showed anything that was straight out of the camera. Even that was controlled by whoever was processing the film for you, Professionals either processed their own film and edited it a lot or they had someone who did it according to their specifications.
        There’s heat in that room but the pipes are right against the cement and the heat just can’t compete. I aimed a small space heater at the metal pipes and let it run for an hour or so. There is water running into the washing machine and nothing is leaking so far. I managed to get some newspaper in behind them in hopes that it would provide a little bit of insulation from the cement wall. I also called my plumber and we chatted about moving those pipes away from the wall and insulating them properly. He said when they thawed they would either burst or not and to call him when I got water in whichever manner it arrived.

        January 9, 2015 at 2:27 am

      • Yes very much so 🙂

        I have a friend that did all himself and I remember how he could do things while making paper copies to make the photo look better, it was quite fun 🙂 I’ve never really liked to do it though, even if I do make some brighter because I tend to take dark photos 🙂

        I’m holding my thumbs so the news papers are enough and that the pipe won’t burst! I think that it won’t burst since You’ve heated it and put thge papers there.

        January 9, 2015 at 2:56 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Photogrpahy is such a tricky business – very precise!! I love the photos, edited and not. I wish we were having your strange winter, instead we are having a typical Canadian winter. Cold, blowing nasty wind and bitter temperatures. But enjoy it, you never know what next winter will be like! 🙂 I am sorry to hear about all your fish! What a strange thing to happen. One dying you can understand, but all of them? Strange. I hope you find out what happened. I hope you enjoyed your tea – I will have mine after dinner. Enjoy your Friday!

    January 8, 2015 at 10:24 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes it is and especially with these old cameras and I guess that’s why I have so much fun 🙂

      I do enjoy this winter and now another storm is headed our way but I don’t think it will be especially bad here, it will most likely go much further south.

      I still have no idea why they suddenly just died, it’s so strange. I think I’ll empty the aquarium for this time though and perhaps have it down in the cellar for a while. I can have eventual goldfish in it down there next winter.

      I always enjoy my tea 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 2:50 pm

  4. jaz

    hi christer! so sorry about your fish! i wonder if they were electrocuted. so sad. my fish must be fishcicles right now. i have no idea how they survive these extremely frigid temperatures. the ponds are now frozen solid! your photos are wonderful as usual! joyce

    January 9, 2015 at 12:00 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I just can’t figure out why this happened! I thnk I’ll empty it now and have it down in the cellar next winter with eventual goldfish in it. I can use that space up here for other things instead 🙂 Some goldfish can be fishcicles for a while during winter and survive 🙂

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 2:53 pm

  5. Christer,
    I hope work is not too taxing for you. I always hated hearing the alarm at 5:00 on the first day back after vacation. That’s weird about your fish. Did you find out what happened?

    I never did go out today. It was just too cold. I did get my tree outside all by myself. I figured out a way to do it, and it worked. I have to vacuum the needled tomorrow. Luckily there are not too many. Today I got the tree down, changed my bed and ordered my groceries. It was a busy day even though I was home. Tomorrow is laundry day.

    It was minus 2 this morning. Gracie was out and back in a flash. She even slept under the covers last night. Usually she starts panting but not last night.

    I liked the pictures. It does take a while to get used to a new camera, especially an older camera.

    Have a great evening!

    January 9, 2015 at 2:32 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It always is 🙂 but I have to admit that I’ve had a good start this year 🙂

      No I still don’t understand why this happened and might never do.

      Having four dogs forces me out no matter what I really want 🙂 They get so bored if we don’t go outside for walks and start behaving insanely indoors 🙂 All that energy must go out of the system and it’s not enough to just let them out of the door, I must go outside too otherwise they’ll just go inside again 🙂 🙂 I think they secretly hates me 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll have laundryday on Sunday as always, I’m a creature of habit I guess 🙂

      That is nasty cold! but as long as there’sno wind it actually can be rather nice walking around in it. Thankfully we rarely have any wind at all when it is as cold as that.

      It does and I’m having so much fun 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 3:01 pm

  6. Vad trist med dina fiskar! När vi hade akvarium för många många år sen hade jag namn på alla fiskarna och skulle blivit enormt ledsen om alla dött samtidigt!! 😦
    Bilderna blir ju helt klart bättre efter redigering och min favorit var den med nyponen på. Mycket vacker! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 9, 2015 at 10:49 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Om jag bara kunde förstå vad som hände?! Detta var ju dessutom fiskarna jag har i vattentunnorna varje sommar så de hade börjat bli riktigt stora nu.

      Ja redigeringen gör underverk med bilderna 🙂 Det syns dock ännu bättre här i datorn än det gör i bloggen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

