It’s like a little drummer boy is in there.

DSC_0099

Finally the first work week after the vacation is over and I have to admit that it has been rather good even if I don’t like admitting that πŸ™‚ It felt like years passed though but at least everything worked as it should and nothing broke down. Today I went to the neighbor factory to paint there but the ventilation system had broken down because of a broken pipe, not a good thing when working with very toxic paint πŸ™‚ Β so I had to walk back to my normal work place again.

 

Not the funniest weather to walk around in.

Not the funniest weather to walk around in.

DSC_0101

DSC_0102

 

It was very slippery on the roads when I drove to work this morning and very windy too, a slightly creepy combination. The strange thing was that it was above 0C (32F) all night and the ground beside the roads were soft but the roads were icy. I wouldn’t have been surprised if the rest of the ground was hard and frozen too but we have absolutely no ground frost at all otherwise. But I drive to work before most people on Fridays so I could drive as slow as I wished without disturbing anyone.

 

DSC_0103

Bittersweet berries. Very toxic.

Bittersweet berries. Very toxic.

DSC_0106

 

The wind had calmed down when I left work for the day and the roads were much better too. But it started to rain some and then the snow started to fall. Not much though and it melted as soon as it hit the ground. Tonight will be cold and tomorrow it will start to snow again for a few hours. It won’t take long until warm and strong winds arrive though, with rain. Very odd weather indeed. According to the predictions the storm will pass much further south than here but they say we’ll have gusts up to 22 m/s (49,2 mph) on the night towards Sunday. Not much to brag about to be honest πŸ™‚

 

All square photos means Hasselblad photos.

All square photos means Hasselblad photos. I was lucky that the film corrected itself because this was the first photo in that roll of film.

3

4

 

The cold night and the snow will give me a good chance of using my old camera again πŸ™‚ It’s fun because that camera doesn’t fog as soon as I get it inside when it is cold outside. All my digital cameras fog like crazy and it can take an hour to get them unfogged again. I guess they just made the cameras in better quality back in the days.

 

8

9

10

 

My right ear is behaving strangely. It sounds as if I had a little drummer in there every now and again πŸ™‚ I’m used to all kinds of sounds in it since I have a slight tinnitus in it but I’ve never heard a little drummer in there before πŸ™‚ I guess it has something to do with the cold that never ends, I’ve had it for almost four weeks now. Well it could be worse, it could be an entire rock band in there πŸ™‚

 

-4

-5

-7

 

It is time to fix something to eat for all of us, I already have a pot of tea ready and waiting.

Have a great day!

 

Jesus's mother has become a much better mother now, she calls for him as soon as hew walks away too far :-)

Jesus’s mother has become a much better mother now, she calls for him as soon as he walks away too far πŸ™‚

14 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’m so glad Jesus’ mother has improved her parenting skills. πŸ™‚ Is Jesus going to be a beef steer or will there be a longer life span for him?

    You are definitely getting good with that Hasselblad. I love the three shots right before Jesus. The light in each of them is lovely.

    About loading the film; I’m not sure how the Hasselblad loads but I just remembered that when I loaded other kinds of film, I always rewound it a little bit to make sure there was no slack in the film that could screw up how it was fed through the camera. I wonder if that might be helpful.
    I read somewhere that when you are finished photographing outside in cold weather, you are supposed to put your camera in an airtight plastic bag before you come inside. Supposedly that makes the condensation form on the outside of the bag instead of on or in the camera. I’ve never tried it but I’ve never had a camera fog up. Probably because usually I’m going back to a cold car so the camera warms up slowly while the heater in the car is warming up.

    It’s snowing sideways here at the moment but it’s 25ΒΊF which is a lot better than -3. There’s a wind chill factor that makes it feel like 13ΒΊF but it’s still better than -3. Amazing how relativity works. πŸ™‚

    Glad you survived your first week back at work after vacation. Enjoy the day.

    January 9, 2015 at 4:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wonder if hios mother is called Mary (or Maria as we call her) πŸ™‚
      So far I’ve never seen any of the cattle or sheep being sent away πŸ™‚ I don’t know what will happen to him but Ihope they don’t slaughter him, after all he is born just outside my cottage πŸ™‚

      Those two are my favorites too and the one with the old ruin. I do just that too but I load the film outside the camera in a sort of cassette and I might accidentally hit the wall with the film when I load it into the camera. I’ll see if I can remember to photograph how I do tomorrow because I’ll load it with a new film in the morning.

      My digital cameras always fog up badly when I get home again when it is cold outside. I’ll see if I can find a good enough plastic bag tomorrow and try it. Sounds strange but I won’t know until I’ve tried it πŸ™‚

      πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I would think 13F with the chill factor is better than -3F without it, the wind just make life nasty!

      I have the tv on and they are sending live from Paris. We just heard four explosions and it sounds as if it was the French police that made a move. I feel so sorry for the muslims in Europe because they will pay for this even if it was terrorists that did this in Paris.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 5:18 pm

      • Caryn

        Yes, I agree. 13F with wind is not better than -3F without the wind. I discovered that today when I took the dogs out in sunshine and 25ΒΊF with a 30 mile an hour wind. They did their business fast and we trotted right back inside. The house was warmer, though. And the pipes didn’t freeze.

        Suddenly, for no apparent reason, I have to fill in my details every time I reply.

        January 10, 2015 at 12:46 am

      • πŸ™‚ it’s always best without any wind when it’s cold πŸ™‚ and I’m so glad the pipes didn’t freeze, could have been an expensive damage if they had!

        That is very irritating! I need to do that every time I comment in a blogger blog and I can’t comment with this blog address, I must use the previous blog address!!!

        January 10, 2015 at 6:21 am

  2. well I hope that ear soon corrects it self! Its very kind of you too go quietly down the roads, its interesting that the old camera doesn’t fog up, I think you’re right, things were made better back then,,

    January 9, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It comes and goes πŸ™‚ It isn’t unpleasant, just strange πŸ™‚

      Back in the days they made things to hold, today they build things to break after a while.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 5:20 pm

  3. Wendy from NY

    Laughing, I knew someone who went to the Dr. for a regular check up, and upon looking in his ears, found a dead fly!! How disgusting is THAT? So maybe you do indeed have a little drummer boy in there!

    LOVE the frost pictures! That little Jesus is sure small! He is lucky with the weather so far, we have been down to -14F. With daytime highs around 10F. And WIND! I went out on my four wheeler to check my trail camera and barely made it back! Had to keep stopping to defrost my eyeballs, hands, nose, glasses…at least the days are getting longer…;)

    January 9, 2015 at 4:42 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      How nasty but still so hilariuos πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So suddenly the odds for me having a drummer boy in my ears rose a lot πŸ™‚

      He’s just two weeks old yet so he is tiny but he lives. They have lost three calves born just a few days before him. His mother behaved a bit stupid in the beginning, this is her first calf so she had no idea what to do, so she took a long nap after giving birth to him, in the snow fall! I talked to her for over twenty minutes and told her to bring him inside and finally she got so bored with me that she did πŸ™‚

      That is nasty cold! -2F is the coldest we’ve had here this winter I think, or was it -4F? But that was only for two nights. I so like our strange winter πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 5:26 pm

  4. jaz

    hi christer! the hassleblad photos are beautiful! i hope your drummer doesn’t invite the rest if his band to join him. we are still freezing and got a bit of snow. have you made any of your soups yet? joyce

    January 9, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      No I sure hope he doesn’t invite the rest of the band πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ He has calmed down some though πŸ™‚

      I’ve concentrated my efforts to the candy and coffee so far, all delicious! I’ll have the first soup tomorrow and I’ve decided it will be the Country Corn Chowder. I love corn in all ways πŸ™‚

      We seem to have every second day weather here so the night willbe cold, the afternoon warm and then weΓ€ll get cold weather again πŸ™‚ Very odd πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2015 at 6:03 pm

  5. I really love your photos and it is peaceful to scroll down your blog. Nature and country life in true harmony. You show some of the best of Sweden. I am glad to follow your blog and see all this beauty. Best regards, Charlotte.

    January 10, 2015 at 12:10 am

    • Hi Charlotte and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Thank You! I’m glad You like it here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcomne back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 6:13 am

  6. I hope your ear is better! I do love those hasselblad photos πŸ™‚ They have such beautiful atmosphere. Have a great day, Alice

    January 10, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • Hi Alice!

      It still acts funny but is much better though πŸ™‚

      It is so fun using these old cameras πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

