Even a blind chicken…..

This photo is taken long after the sun had risen somewhere behind those clouds. ISO 2000 but still they turned out pretty dark, so I changed to ISO 5000 later on.

This photo is taken long after the sun had risen somewhere behind those clouds. ISO 2000 but still they turned out pretty dark, so I changed to ISO 5000 later on.

The morning was quite calm with just a little snow fall but then the wind started to blow and the snow flakes grew bigger. It won’t become a storm though, it will be gale force on the winds but the gusts can reach almost storm speed and it will continue all day and night. The snow is already turning to rain though so the white garbage on the ground won’t last for long. So it looks like the weather forecasters got it right this time but You know even a blind chicken can find a corn πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0114

DSC_0116

DSC_0117

DSC_0118

 

I have no tv this morning, it says the signal is too weak or not existing at all. I’ve checked the connection to the antenna (it is hanging inside the house because I’m terrified each time I need to go up on the roof πŸ™‚ ) and the connection to the tv but everything is just as it should. So I guess there’s something wrong with the big antenna from where the signals are sent. I doubt that there’s anything I want to watch but it does annoy me that it doesn’t work anyway πŸ™‚

 

It was snowing all the time but it's tricky to get snowflakes to show in photos. It looks more like fog.

It was snowing all the time but it’s tricky to get snowflakes to show in photos. It looks more like fog.

DSC_0124

DSC_0125

DSC_0127

 

I want it next week though because on Saturday the third season of Grimm starts and that I don’t want to miss. They will also start showing something called The Strain. I think I have the first book of that trilogy and it was so boring and filled with clichΓ©s that I got bored already after a few chapters. That doesn’t mean the tv.series is just as bad and we do have so little of sci-fi and fantasy shown on tv here, at least on hoursΒ when I’m still awake πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0131

DSC_0135

DSC_0137

DSC_0138

 

The weather is so bad that not even the old boys want to go outside now πŸ™‚ So I guess this will be a day of total relaxing πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find that book, The Strain, and see if I can find it more interesting this time πŸ™‚ Otherwise there’s always the option to take a long nap too πŸ™‚

 

 

Square photos are Hasselblad photos.

Square photos are Hasselblad photos.

-10

-11

-12

 

But first I’ll have a pot of tea and perhaps something little to eat.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! The photos today are great! They have a bit of a spooky look to them due to the snow, I quite like that! πŸ™‚ I fear I may have your dilemma all of next week. Starting tomorrow my son and I are heading to the country to house and puppy sit for my brother and his family as they are heading to warmer climes for 2 weeks. The internet is very spotty and the power goes out often apparently. And they have no TV. I guess I will be reading lots and knitting! And napping….I am back at the end of next week but my son will be out there for another week. It will be interesting to be sure! We are still in the middle of a deep freeze, I fear my weather reports are the same all the time. They are promising a warm up – but as you say – the bind chicken….. πŸ™‚ Have a great Saturday and I will catch up when possible!!

    January 10, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can see tv again so now I’m not interested to see anything any longer πŸ™‚ There is nothing I want to see all evening so it could just as well have stayed as it was πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ve had periods when I haven’t had a tv, years at a time but winters are dull and boring so that’s usually the time I get one again πŸ™‚

      I hope they have a good fireplace if the power goes out πŸ™‚ That’s one thing that works great here, we seldom lose power and if we do it usually only last an hour as most. It was very different before I moved here, the power went out as soon as someone sneezed πŸ™‚ We took a long nap but >I still haven’t found that book, just as well it was really boring πŸ™‚

      No deep freeze in sight here, just below 0 as coldest it seems. That also means lots of strong winds so when this storm has passed others are standinf in line πŸ™‚

      Have a great time in the country!

      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 4:14 pm

  2. jaz

    hi christer! your photos show where i would like to live. they are beautiful. we have bright sun (blinding) and very cold temps. i am still hoping for snow but there is none in sight. joyce

    January 10, 2015 at 4:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The snow is almost gone again, the rain and warm winds melted it rather quickly. I actually saw the sun for a few minutes before it went down bwhind the forest and we might see it tomorro in the morning if we’re lucky. I hope You’ll get some snow before it is too late!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 4:16 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    How irritating it is when the cable doesn’t work and it’s something on their end of the cable that you can’t do anything about.

    After scrolling through the dark pictures, I thought the Hasselblads were over-exposed. But I looked at the Hasselblads later on and they look fine. Everything is relative, I guess. πŸ™‚

    Today there is nothing much on my TV. Not even on my normal weekend fallbacks of C-SPAN 2 and 3 which are the channels that televise activities in Congress. On weekends, when the Congress does not sit, those channels show interviews with non-fiction book authors or history programs. Much more interesting than the activities of Congress. I’ve found many good books through watching. But there is nothing much going on with those two channels today.
    I may just binge view my online course on Dinosaurs while I sit and knit something relatively uncomplicated but useful. Like a nice warm scarf or some mittens. πŸ™‚

    Today is cold, 19ΒΊF, and it feels like 6ΒΊF. It is much warmer than that -3ΒΊ day but it feels colder. It’s sunny but there is also more moisture in the air which may be why it feels colder than -3ΒΊ.
    The dogs and I went out early. Twice. Once for Rocky to do his thing and once again for Piki Dog. It didn’t take long for the two of them to start limping around because the very cold snow was hurting their feet. I have to find that jar of Musher’s Wax. I put it away last spring and don’t remember where.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 10, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was irritating and just because I couldn’t watch any tv I really wanted to do just that πŸ™‚ Now when it’s back I don’t care πŸ™‚

      They are slightly over exposed but as You say, look worse than they are because of those dark ones before them πŸ™‚

      My fallback channel, the knowledge channel, only show reruns today.Interesting programs but since I’ve already seen tham it’s kind of boring seeing them again πŸ™‚ I don’t even have a dinosaur course to do πŸ™‚ I’ll surf the net for a while and see if I find something interesting to read or see. I can always watch youtube videos πŸ™‚

      None of the dogs here wanted to go outside in this weather, I think the roar from the wind might be scary for them. It really blows hard here now, every now and again a strong gust finds my cottage so it trembles πŸ™‚ But I am so glad that I live here and not on the plains, the wind must be awful out there now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 6:33 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    The pictures make the world totally uninviting. I’m with the old boys and will stay close to home today. I like the Hasselblad photos. They are bright and so clear I can see even the tiniest details.

    Last night they showed a Grimm repeat from this season, and I wasn’t happy, but it did set up for next week’s episode. You will find season 3 great, but then every season has been. I am a season ahead of you, and so much is happening but you’ll not get spoilers from e.
    Have a great day!

    January 10, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The first ten minutes this morning was quite nice πŸ™‚ After that it has gone down hill πŸ™‚ In just minutes the wind has become much stronger and the riar outside is magnificent. I do hope the wind doesn’t change direction too much πŸ™‚ I miss the old spruces my neighbor had, they would have stopped the wind that does reach unless this would have been the storm that pulled them down πŸ™‚

      I do like those old camera photos, I still over expose them though but I think I know how much I must adjust the camera to get the photos as I wish them.

      I so look forward to this season. I’m not sure why we are a whole season behind You, the first two were shown just a few weeks after they were shown in the US
      Thank You, that would make ma a bit grumpy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 10, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Leave a Reply

