This time it was much worse!

Today I, to my big surprise, woke up to a rather chilly cottage. We have no power so the storm must have been pretty bad. The last time we had a longer power break (for two hours) was when the storm Gudrun passed for ten years and three weeks ago. So I guess this must have been a pretty bad one too. They named it Egon by the way πŸ™‚

 

So there’s a fire burning in the stove and I have plenty of batteries to last for a week πŸ™‚ I don’t think this will last for long though. But if it does You’ll understand why I won’t write anything more today πŸ™‚ I have been outside to check my roof and it looked just like it did before the storm. Since the storm must have been much worse than they predicted, the newspapers online doesn’t say much because they prefer to show cool photos with waves on it instead :-), I consider myself lucky that the wind came from west because my neighbors cottage and garage take almost all wind from that direction.

 

Well I better check that fire so my home gets warm again πŸ™‚

 

An update: My neighbor just told me that we haven’t had power since 11:30 pm (they have to pay their customers if we are without power for more than six hours πŸ™‚ The snow has started to fall now but I can’t remember they predicted that yesterday, they also predicted rather warm weather today, now they predict -6C (21F) πŸ™‚ Once again I’m very happy for that stove of mine πŸ™‚ The tea is ready πŸ™‚

Christer.

6 responses

  1. jaz

    wow…stay warm and cozy! we have another ice storm on the way tonight. i love winter but not ice!

    January 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The power is back and the stove kept me warm all day πŸ™‚

      Ice storms are just nasty! I hope it doesn’t become bad!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

  2. keep safe, the dogs will keep you warm if need be,

    January 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m back in the world again πŸ™‚ If the dogs won’t I’m pretty sure the fire stove will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 3:32 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Stay warm. Hope the electricity comes back on before too long.

    January 11, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Everything is back again and I’m so glad I have my stove in the kitchen πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

