Back in the cyberspace.

One of the problems, the tin wall had left the building and placed itself on the power lines.

One of the problems, the tin wall had left the building and placed itself on the power lines.

The storm was much worse than predicted but I have to admit I didn’t notice it much while it kept on blowing. Every now and again a gust hit my cottage but that was it. I did think it was a bit chilly in my bedroom when I woke up though and my neighbor said the power went out at 11:30 pm yesterday night. I had had the fire burning in the stove all day so the cottage had been warm almost all night anyway.

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

After the storm the snow came and now the world is white once again, no use really since it all will start melting away already tomorrow afternoon. But it does look nice when looking out the window and the dogs loved to walk around smelling all scents they can find in the forest. We couldn’t go in there this morning though, they had decided today should be the big wild hog hunting day and had brought in tougher dogs, I think it might have been Coonhounds. I have to admit that I didn’t think it would work especially well since the snow was falling as much as it did.

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

 

They did give up fairly early and I only heard the dogs barking once. Si we could take a walk in the forest after they had left and I’m a bit surprised about how well the forest had managed to cope with the very strong winds, almost hurricane force. I saw a few trees that had fallen and one had broken in the middle. Last time we had this strong winds it was much worse. 

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0053

 

Even if the power came back just before 1pm I still didn’t have any water pressure, the pump needs to be restarted after a very long power break as we had this time and my neighbor wasn’t at home and neither his son or I know which power switch we must push 🙂 I know one is for cleaning the filter and hat wasn’t something we wanted to do 🙂 I just checked and my neighbor has come home again so now I have water in my pipes 🙂 There was no problem though since I already had tapped enough to manage a day without it. The pressure in the pipes last so long that I have plenty of water until it’s gone anyway 🙂

 

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

DSC_0062

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. The power is back, the water is back and all is well in the village at the outskirts of the world.

 

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Glad the power is back up and you have water and heat. It looks like it was bad from some of your photos.
    The ponies look extra shaggy out there in the snow. Hope they weren’t out during the windstorm.

    I didn’t think coonhounds would be used for boar hunting. I thought they were mostly treeing hounds used for prey that climbs trees. Things like bears and wildcats not boars.

    It’s sort of bright but cloudy outside. And still cold but not windy. It’s getting a little boring and the dogs are getting really antsy because no long walks. I’m getting a little antsy, too. 🙂 Snow is due tomorrow and then it will warm up a bit.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 11, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I can manage quite well without electricity but I do like to have water 🙂 My neighbors qhos cottage takes all the wind said it sounded as if their roof would be torn of, I heard barely nothing 🙂 The photos were taken when the wind had calmed down conciderable 🙂

      He must force those ponies to go inside when weather like this comes, they don’t like to go inside even when it is as worst. But I’m pretty sure he must have brought them inside.

      I asked the hunters what kind of dog they would use and they said something that sounded like Coco dog. No dog is called that so I wonder if that is a kind of nick name for any breed. I checked Coonhound though and they are actually used ad hog dogs here in Sweden and with great success. They seem to have the right attitude towards the hogs, a tough one 🙂

      Still cloudy here but the snow has finally stopped falling. I think we got 4 inches today and tomorrow it will start to melt awayagain so what’s the use 🙂 🙂 🙂 Sune and Nove has been chasing each other in the snow, finally the effect of the pills I give Nova has calmed down 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 4:05 pm

      • Caryn

        Coonhounds do have attitude when it comes to hunting so I guess they would hunt boar just as enthusiastically as they hunt bears and pumas.

        My dogs have gone to day care so they can work off some excess energy. They were driving me crazy but neither one of them wanted to be outside long enough to walk off some steam. Fifty yards from the house and they were both heading back for the door. Nooooo! Too cold! 🙂

        January 11, 2015 at 5:13 pm

      • Hi Caryn!

        I’ve only read about them and seen photos, I like how they look. They told me not to walk my dogs where they were because they would be in hunting mood and most probably don’t care if it was dogs or hogs they met 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Thank god Nova is back to normal so she and Sune plays rough again 🙂 Lots of energy is used and they are less restless now 🙂

        January 11, 2015 at 5:26 pm

  2. jaz

    since i can’t seem to get any snow here this year, at least i can enjoy it by looking at yours! these photos are just beautiful!

    January 11, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Good thing I took lots of photos today since those are the ones I’ll show next week 🙂 It’s still to dark to get any photos after work.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 5:24 pm

  3. Här kom det också massor med snö igår, men när sen stormen kom som blåste det mesta bort och lite senare regnade det också. M en jäklar vad det blåste….. 😦
    Jag blir ju lite rädd eftersom jag hela tiden väntar på att nått jätteträd i kohagen ska fall över tomten och sen på vårt hus, men inte ett enda träd i skogsbrynet har ramlat – konstigt nog! Däremot längre in i kohagen!! 🙂
    Sen har det varit ett jättetrist väder hela dagen med kraftig blåst, regn och snöblandat regn eftersom det frös till lite framåt kvällen. Så när jag var ute nyss med Santos var det halt på vägen, så jag höll mig i gräset bredvid. 😛
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 11, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Här snöade det ju först, sedan kom regnet. Därefter stormen som följdes av snöfallet när det lugnat ned sig 🙂 Blev nog 10 cm till slut.

      Inte många träd som fallit här trots allt, blev lite förvånad med tanke på hur hårt det blåste! Alla grannar säger att det lät som om deras tak skulle slitas av och här märktes knappast stormen alls 🙂 Jag är så glad att grannens stuga och garage tar all vind här 🙂

      Det har varit helt stilla här hela dagen 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

