It’s calming down.

The gravel roads are very icy now.

The gravel roads are very icy now.

Several of my work friends had woken up last night because of a big thunderstorm, it was around 3 am and most of them had had problems falling asleep again. I know my dogs tried to wake me up around that time, but I wasn’t especially inspired to get up for who know what reason so I just told them to go toi sleep again. I guess it was the thunder that woke them up. Normally I always get up when they wake me up because it’s a pain cleaning up the mess if I don’t πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

Lots of pine twigs on the roads now.

Lots of pine twigs on the roads now.

 

It didn’t blow that bad when I drove to work and the roads were reasonable good for once. It did blow a lot when I drove to the supermarket after work though but I had the wind in my back so I didn’t need to press down the gas pedal especially much πŸ™‚ I had the wind towards the right side of the car when I drove home from the supermarket though. Most parts were protected by the forest but every now and again the wind reached me anyway and tossed around my car as it wished πŸ™‚ but I came home safely.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0028

DSC_0036

 

We walked out to the bog when I came home, sounds a bit stupid to be honest but it was rather calm in there and since the wind gets less strong every hour now I didn’t think any more trees would fall. There are a few more trees that either has fallen or broken and I’m not surprised since both snow and rain made the branches so much heavier this time. Bertil followed us today and he was unhappy the entire time. I’m not sure if it is the wind he doesn’t like or if we had wild hogs close to us.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

I bought two dvd’s at the supermarket today, The Hobbit and Gravity. I’ve read the book about the hobbit and it is actually one of the most boring books ever written πŸ™‚ It was written as a child story and later on rewritten to fit an older public. I remember reading it as quite young and thinking how boring it was when comparing it to the books about the ring, I tried to reread it last year and it is just impossible πŸ™‚ But I’ve heard that the films are quite good so I’ll give at least the first one a try. How he managed to make three movies and interesting as well from this boring book is a mystery πŸ™‚ I’ve heard Gravity is good so I think I’ll save that one for later.

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

 

It’s time to give us all something to eat and I’ll also have a pot of tea. I feel like taking a nap but I’m so tired that I’m afraid I won’t wake up until tomorrow morning is I do πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I loved The Hobbit book but agree that it was not as good as the Lord of the Rings. I read those three first when I was a teenager and then I read The Hobbit so it was probably more disappointing than it might have been if I had done it the right way around. πŸ™‚ I’ve read them all several times since then and still enjoy them.
    It was surprising that someone could stretch The Hobbit to three films but it seems that the producer can’t get the rights to other Tolkien books so he had to make his money somehow. If you stick in enough CGA, you can stretch anything to three movies. πŸ™‚ Wasn’t the second Hobbit movie just about killing Smaug? That was only a few chapters in the book.

    It doesn’t look particularly wintery at your place. I may be a tad jealous. Here we have a dusting of snow with another dusting on the way. After that it will be back into the Plutonian midnight temperatures again. 63 days until Spring.

    Enjoy the CD’s and the evening.

    January 16, 2015 at 4:27 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did it too, read the Lord of the Ring books first which wasn’t good at all πŸ™‚ I’ve also read the books about The Lord of the Rings several times too and those I truly enjoy πŸ™‚

      I understand that a long part of the first film is about Bilbo packing his clothes when in fact he does no such thing in the book πŸ™‚ He must leave in a hurry so Gandalf says he will pack something instead πŸ™‚ I don’t know much about any of the other movies though.

      It isn’t wintery at all here, it’s more like autumn with autumn storms all the time!!! But it will get colder from Sunday and it will last for at least a week they say and it will snow some too. I don’t care any longer just as long as we don’t get another storm πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’ve downloaded the Edixa photos now πŸ™‚ The film was very old and kept in the worst conditions so I am surprised over how good it turned out after all. Lots of overexposed photos and some parts it looks like the film has been a bit destroyed and the focusing was very bad in a few of them too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ll start showing them tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 16, 2015 at 5:37 pm

  2. Christer,
    I really liked The Hobbit which I then followed up right away with the trilogy. Maybe it was the order which made me like The Hobbit so much. They were books in the book locket the Peace Corps had given me or I might not have found them on my own until the movies. I liked Gravity.

    Two pictures were my favorites: the one with the twigs in the road and the one with the small tree between the rocks. The pictures look as if the world is cold, but there are few signs of winter.

    We are in for a 0-10˚ night.

    Stay warm and enjoy your movies!

    January 17, 2015 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I think reading them in the right order do make a big difference.

      The Lord of the Ring books had a period of bigger popularity when I read them, then the interest in them died out for a while until they started to talk about making the films. I do like the books much better than the movies but I have to say he has made fantastic movies from those books!

      I have heard a lotof good about Gravity!

      It is unusually warm so the photos lie πŸ™‚ It was like walking on a carpet made from pine twigs and it smelled so nice πŸ™‚
      Still around 34F here, it will be colder from tonight they say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 6:10 am

  3. Hi Christer! I read the Hobbit first and have re read it several times since. Then I read the trilogy. I bought the books in a set. I’ve read them many times and even read the Hobbit outloud over the phone to a friend over a period of time. I will read it again one day I think. The films were good and I enjoyed them..but I honestly think I enjoyed reading the books much more than watching the movie. Of course I have a wild imagination so….
    What an imagination Tolkin had!! I know he began writing the stories for his young son, but they certainly made great adult reading for the child in all of us. The description of the hobbit house’s, the way Smegel (sp?) looked..the description of under the mountain, the orc’s, all of it. I’m glad I read the books first..but I think it is said that you should watch the film first..then the movie or you will be disappointed. They often cut out a lot when they turn a book into a film. Watching films and reading are two things I love to do when I am relaxing, and usually have at least three books goingm jumping from one to another. FUN! Same with films! First time for story line, then for set design, casting, all sorts of things and you cannot take everything in the first time through. Sometimes when I read a book for the second time, I am amazed at what I missed the first time through! πŸ™‚ You must read “A Painted House” if you get the chance. Have you heard of it?

    I love stormy weather. When it comes to not getting up an letting dogs out…NOT a great idea! πŸ™‚ Mel sleeps with me and she goes out the very last thing and makes it through the night with ease..thankfully. Once you’ve gotten up in the middle of the night and stepped in poop…it is definitely a motivation for you to get UP the next time! πŸ™‚ I would rather get up than chance stepping into a pile. Wrote WAY too much. Sorry.
    G’night, Christer!
    Mona

    January 17, 2015 at 7:29 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I think it is very important to read the Hobbit before the Lord of the Ring books! I did it the other way and I can’t enjoy the hobbit especially much.
      I normally don’t like to watch movies if I already have read the books. I’m glad the Lord of the Ring films were so great as they are πŸ™‚ Lucklily I didn’t know that the Hunger Games are books as well so I’ll buy the books after seeing all the movies this time. At least I won’t be disappointed when seeing the movies because of all they have left out from the books πŸ™‚

      What a great idea! to read the book through the phone!

      I haven’t heard of the painted house, must see what it is called in Swedisg!

      I don’t mind a good storm but noiw we’ve had way too many πŸ™‚ But it will cool down here from today and the wind will finally calm down πŸ™‚

      It is usually Orvar who has problem with his stomach if they want to go outside in te middle of the night, most of the time he’s fine though which I’m happy for πŸ™‚

      Have a great day! (It was morning here when You wrote πŸ™‚ )
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

