It’s a safe job :-)

I'll start with a few photos from this morning.

I’ll start with a few photos from this morning.

I woke up this morning with a head ache slightly bigger than the county I live in but a big pot of strong coffee and a long nap took care of that. It was a quite nice morning otherwise, around 0C (32F) with very little wind and a sky with very few clouds. That however changed rather quickly. Now we have strong winds again, clouds and rain is predicted. Yesterday they predicted sunshine for most parts of the day, no winds to talk about and slightly cold.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

I’ve now downloaded the latest film rolls I mailed and one of those rolls was taken with my latest old camera, the Edixa. The film was probably ten years old and had not been kept as good as it could have been 🙂 So I was surprised to get any photos at all. There were lots of damages to it though but I have cut the photographs that were really bad so they have a more square shape than they otherwise should have. It looks like the camera works just as it should though, the photos are slightly over exposed but that seems to be normal for me with these old totally manual cameras 🙂

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

 I’m just looking out the windows and it’s snowing like crazy 🙂 I guess the best career advice one can give a kid is to be a meteorologist, it doesn’t matter how wrong they are they still have a job and it seems we have plenty of them now days too so there will most likely be a shortage of jobs in that area 🙂 

 

Now some Edixa photos. I haven't done much with them, toned down the highlights and cut them where the film was damaged.

Now some Edixa photos. I haven’t done much with them, toned down the highlights and cut them where the film was damaged.

3a

I do like this photo.

 

5a

6a

 

I also downloaded the latest photos from the Hasselblad camera, they turned out much better this time, almost a bit dark instead 🙂 Only two photos got destroyed and that was because of me, I know what I did and thought I might have messed up the entire roll of film. So You’ll see all of these photos the coming week. 

 

As You can see on the edges of this photo it looks sort of whitish. It got worse for a while so some photos are square because I cut out those parts.

As You can see on the edges of this photo it looks sort of whitish. It got worse for a while so some photos are square because I cut out those parts.

9a

10a

The focusing is somewhat sad sometimes :-)

The focusing is somewhat sad sometimes 🙂

 

The dogs want to go outside all the time but as soon as I open the door they just stand there looking at the snow and turn back inside again 🙂 I need to fill the bird feeders again, they eat like crazy but still very few more unusual birds find their way here. The Jays comes in the morning though but still no Bullfinches or Goldfinches. I guess it still is too easy to find food in the forest and fields.

 

12a

13a

It looks like the film has been slightly out-of-place too but it could be some film damage too I guess.

 

14a

15a

 

I better fill up those feeders and force the dogs to take a walk 🙂 I’m wondering if the ice on the bog is strong enough to walk on, the roads are deep frozen but I’m not sure the water out there is. I’ll see today and if it looks good enough I’ll walk out there tomorrow when the winds should start to calm down and the temperatures should start to fall. But as we all know, it’s no use believing predictions until we see if they are remotely close to the truth 🙂

 

16a

17a

18a

I tried to take a photo by turning the camnera. I like this one perhaps just because it isn't straight at all. A problem with this camera is that it looks like I turn the camera the other way when looking through the seeker so I really had no idea how this photo would turn out :-)

I tried to take a photo by turning the camera. I like this one perhaps just because it isn’t straight at all and slightly unfocused. I get a feeling of old photo when looking at it.  A problem with this camera is that it looks like I turn the camera the other way when looking through the seeker so I really had no idea how this photo would turn out 🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

I thought a Hasselblad photo would end todays post.

I thought a Hasselblad photo would end todays post.

16 responses

  1. Ja inte är dom speciellt trovärdiga vädergubbarna precis! 😦 Fast vi ska inte klaga just nu, varken på vädret eller vädergubbarna – vi har haft otroligt fint väder både igår och idag!! 😀
    Hoppas helgen blir trevlig för dig! Själva ska vi på middag hos vänner ikväll och på måndag ska vi ha 4 vänner här, så jag som gillar intensivt socialt livet känner mig riktigt uppiggad. 😛
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 17, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nä det kan man inte säga direkt 🙂 🙂 Här har det bara stormat, regnat och snöat så det hade varit gott med lite solsken idag, men det lär vi inte få se på åtminstone över en vecka.

      Jodå, helgen kommer att bli bra här. Ännu bättre blir den om det bara kunde sluta blåsa 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 4:15 pm

  2. Glömde kommentera bilderna! 😕 Men din favorit var också min! 😉
    Susie

    January 17, 2015 at 1:48 pm

  3. the photos are beautiful from both cameras and films, some have a sepia quality to them, like you said, old photos, I laughed when you said that about children choosing to be Meteorologists, they would never have to worry about doing a good job, because my husband always said the very same thing ! He had to retire early, at 52, and is obsessed with the weather . I have had to listen to him complain about the weather channel for over 10 years years,
    ( he watches the weather channel alot ), too much!

    January 17, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes they do have an old look to them but I had actually been hoping for even mopre sepia tones 🙂

      Yes it is a totally safe job and it seems there are loads of them around 🙂

      Swedes are known for being obsessed with weather, I guess it’s because it either rains or snow here so we’re all hoping to see some predictions og sunshine 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 4:18 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You did rather well with the Elixa and old film that wasn’t in good condition. Old film usually shows off colors because the chemicals don’t work right.
    I chuckled when you talked about turning the Hasselblad. The LCD screen on my A57 flips all around. Sometimes I turn the camera and then flip the LCD screen so I can get a shot without having to get down on the ground. But when I do that I have to move the camera up and left to get the image to go down and right on the screen. Very confusing. Impossible to do with anything that is moving itself. I don’t know how those old time cinema camera operators managed because they had to do the same thing.

    Today is very cold but sunny. It’s 8ºF at the moment and not going to get very much warmer. Tomorrow will be much warmer and raining. It’s roller coaster winter!

    Enjoy the day.

    January 17, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wasn’t sure how the Edixa photos would turn out since the camera is know for less good quality 🙂 🙂 and I had hoped for more sepia tones from that film.

      It’s the same with both the Hasselblad and Edixa, the image in the seeker turns the opposite way! But the Hasselblad gives square photos so there’s no use in turning that camera, it is too heavy to to do that 🙂 I guess the old camera operators got used to it but I must admit it just makes me confused 🙂 and it was just impossible for my brain to get it when I turned the edixa to get a high photo 🙂
      By the way, i haven’t edited the last photo at all! I managed to get it right anyway this time 🙂

      Windy, rainy, snowy and semi cold. The ice on the bog was strong so I am hoping for a cold night so I can go out on the bog tomorrow morning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 4:23 pm

  5. jaz

    that last photo is fabulous! we are having a bight sunny warm day. i don’t know that we will get any winter this year. they sure were off with their predictions.

    January 17, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like that photo and the good thing is that I didn’t have to edit it at all 🙂

      I wish we had Your day over here, we really need som sunshine here after all the storms.

      They are never right in their predictions 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 17, 2015 at 4:24 pm

  6. Robin Larkspar

    Hi Christer. I enjoyed looking at the photos from the old films. Really good looking to me. They do look like old photos from a long time ago photo album. Nice hobby working with old cameras.

    January 18, 2015 at 1:09 am

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like that old look 🙂 Too bad I don’t have lots of old film rolls that have been laying around in bad conditions for at least ten years 🙂 The next roll will look very much newer I’m afraid 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 18, 2015 at 6:06 am

  7. Christer,
    The pictures are wonderful today. I love the ones you get from the two old cameras. They have a distinctive look which seems to emphasize the subject. The dogs look as if they were having a great time together. I don’t blame them for not wanting to go out in the snow. Gracie never minds rain but she hesitates with the snow. I think it is because she can’t see what she’s walking on.

    The day was really cold, and I didn’t go out at all. Tomorrow I have a couple of things to do so I’ll be forced to go out. The big football game is tomorrow at 4:30. If the Patriots, my team, win they’ll be in the Super Bowl.

    Have a great evening!

    January 18, 2015 at 2:19 am

    • Hi Kat!

      The new digital cameras have passed the old ones when it comes to the quality of the photographs but the old ones give a certain feeling to them, especially if the film roll is very old and treated badly 🙂

      The do have a good time on our walks 🙂

      The night started out cold but turned rather warm after a while. They say it will turn to cold weather now but I’ll believe it if it happens 🙂

      I have a work friend that followsthe Patriots and really hopes they will reach the Super Bowl. He will watch it anyway and has taken the day off since he must stay up all night to see it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 18, 2015 at 6:11 am

  8. dq

    love to see the cats

    January 18, 2015 at 5:29 am

    • Hi dq!

      🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 18, 2015 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

