Sowing season starts now.

DSC_0043

The world is covered in a light fluffy layer of snow now. It’s a bit strange because normally when it’s just around 0C (32F) it doesn’t get this fluffy. Even though we have gotten perhaps 10cm (4 inches it is still easy to just sweep away instead of shoveling it. I’ve done neither because I am a bit lazy to be honest 🙂

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

 

The roads are surprisingly well kept and it’s easy to drive on them with no risk of sliding around as it usually is. I guess we’re lucky for once since I read about accidents all the time in the news online. I think it’s better when there is some snow on the roads because then there are no doubts about the road being slippery and there’s no risk of being surprised by black ice either. By saying that I still won’t say I like snow 🙂

 

2

It did take me a lot of time before I knew what was wrong with this photo (and I know it was my fault too). It looks like I have photographed an icy lake but it is actually the sky from the next photo that shows in the bottom :-)

It did take me a lot of time before I knew what was wrong with this photo (and I know it was my fault too). It looks like I have photographed an icy lake but it is actually the sky from the next photo that shows in the bottom 🙂

 

I bought a packet of hazel nuts the other day, I wonder if they are treated with sprout inhibitors because I thought I should try and sow some of them. When sowing any kind of seed with a very thick shell one should place them in a container with water. At first they float like a bobber but those that will have a chance of germinating will start to sink after a few days or so. But that’s not a good sign if they are treated, then it’s just a sign that they would have germinated otherwise 🙂

 

5

I could hear the swans from a great distance and pointed the lens upwards and hoped for the best :-)

I could hear the swans from a great distance and pointed the lens upwards and hoped for the best 🙂 The Hasselblad camera isn’t a good camera to photograph moving animals with.

 

This is the time of year when I start to sow, especially perennials and bushes/ trees that need a cold period to be able to germinate. Some plants, like the Californian tree poppy can actually benefit from being almost burned and then placed chilly. Or one can put a lot of ashes on top of the soil and pour almost boiling water over it and then place cold. Tricky business trying to get seeds to germinate 🙂

 

8

9

 

It is time to make some cocoa and a few cheese sandwiches I think. Tool bad it’s soo dark because I’ve just loaded the Edixa camera with a new film 🙂 Well, I have this weekend to try it again and I hope we’ll be able to take a walk on the bog on Sunday. I’m not sure there will be anything written on Saturday, I have some things to do.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0026

DSC_0041

DSC_0047

 

Have a great day!

20 responses

  1. Last time it snowed here, I used a rake.
    I only raked a small are wide enough to walk. 😜

    January 22, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I rarely rake anything here, I just walk on the white garabage until it is flat 🙂 I do need to showel where the car is though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 22, 2015 at 7:00 pm

  2. Area not are. Damn autocorrect

    January 22, 2015 at 6:55 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!!! If you wait long enough, it will melt I am sure! 🙂 It is hard to drive when it snows, usually around here when it snows and stays the drivers are so impatient that they make it more slippy than need be by spinning their tires to get away from the stop signs. We are due to some melting to happen, typical January melt. Then I am sure we are to get frigid again, its only a matter of time on the Canadian prairies!! 🙂 Your pictures are lovely today – even the moving one of the swans. Have a good evening!!!

    January 22, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Some years I have doubted that it ever will melt away, it’s not so many years ago when we still had lots of snow in early May 🙂 It seems that people around here actually drives slightly more careful when there’s snow on the roads. But there’s always the xception of course.

      January is usually cold here and February is our coldest month when the temperature often drops down to -30C, thankfully there’s usually no wind at all when that happens 🙂

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 22, 2015 at 8:01 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It took me a little bit to figure out that photo, too. At first I thought it was a mistake but then I thought, no, it couldn’t be that because you took the photo and you don’t make those mistakes so it must be an icy lake with the sun reflected in it. Then I decided the shore line was too straight and it had to be slipped film. Then I read the caption. Should have done that first. It’s a beautiful mistake though. 🙂

    You remind me that I have forgotten to plant that quince I found under my bush. It’s around here somewhere, dried up and shriveled, so I suppose it is not viable anymore. If I find it, I might give it a try anyway. You never know.

    No snow here but there was some close by. The TV said it was cold out this morning but I took the dogs out without a jacket or extra layers and it was okay. It’s been so very cold here for so long that 20ºF with no wind now feels comfortable. 🙂 The sun is behind a cloud layer but is managing to make it bright if not actually sunny. I’ll take that.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 22, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did wonder what lake I had been even remotely close to when I took that photo 🙂 But I had not fixated a thingy on the camera allowing the film to slide back a bit 🙂 I do like it a lot 🙂

      It is most likely viable still! Just put the seeds in a cup of water for a few days and then put them cold. If the seeds still are in the fruit they are protected by it.

      As long as there’s no wind it usually feels warm enough anyway 🙂 We will actually get a chance to see the sun tomorrow if the predictions are even remotely close to the truth 🙂 I could only find an ISO 800 to my Edixa but I’ll try it in strong sunlight tomorrow, if the sun shows that is 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 22, 2015 at 8:07 pm

  5. Christer,
    Your snow was a bit deeper than mine which is now all gone. It was a small amount which the sun easily melted.

    I have spots in my front garden for new perennials this spring. Two bushes which had gotten too big were moved to other spot in the yard. I love buying flowers. I’m looking for some which are late bloomers as I have plenty of early bloomers. I actually saw a shoot this morning. It is far too early.

    I finished my errands so now I’m just going to read and enjoy the rest of the day.

    Have a great evening.

    January 22, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The snow is so fluffy here that I think it isn’t especially much even if it is almost 4 inches thick.

      I still need to buy some more perennial seeds, I’ll see what I can find in Gardens North web shop. I won’t buy any perennials since I don’t want the spanish forest slug here. It eats everything, is slimy and has no natural enemies here. I have garden friends that kill almost a thgousand every day and still see no end to it. I need something that flowers in the middle to end of summer. I was thinking of perhaps some kind of sunflower but most of them are terrible weeds 🙂 I haven’t checked if the snow drops show yet, they tend to start growing in the middle of winter.

      I’m off to bed now 🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 22, 2015 at 9:07 pm

  6. your snow shovel will be gathering dust this winter! Its still snowing here, cold, lots of snow!

    January 22, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      That’s when I like my snow shovel best 🙂

      No snow fall today, just cloudy and slightly cold.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 23, 2015 at 2:54 pm

  7. jaz

    that fluffy snow sort of takes care of itself. i am wondering, what kind of cheese is most typical in sweden? i know of gedost, is it swedish? and havarti and tilsit which are two of my favorites. what cheese do you most often eat?

    January 22, 2015 at 11:42 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it does. Some hard wind and it has all flown away again 🙂

      The most common cheese here must be a variety called Hushållsost, house hold cheese. It usually doesn’t taste much but is perfect to have on warm samdwiches or pizza. Two other ones that are rather popular are called Greve and Herrgård.They are much like the Norwegian Baron and Jarlsberg. My favorites are amongst those four last mentioned and another one called Maasdamer. I do like Havarti and its cousin Danbo. I’m not sure if I’ve ever tasted Tilsit but it is fairly easy to find here.

      I think Gedost might be Danish because of the spelling. In swedish it would be getost and in Norwegian Geitost.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 23, 2015 at 3:01 pm

  8. It was so icy here this morning that they were warning drivers on the News to be careful.
    I actually didn’t think it was that bad but apparently it was because I guess my boss fell as soon as he got out of his car.
    My niece saw him and asked if he needed help and she said he yelled “NO!”
    I’m glad I wasn’t out there at that time because I might of had to laugh.
    😀 😀 😀
    (thought I’d come back and read the rest of your post. 🙂 )

    January 23, 2015 at 2:47 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      The embarrasemnet when falling and someone sees it 🙂 🙂 🙂 The smaller roads are a bit slippery now but the big ones are really fine to drive on.

      I accidentally posted that short bit when I was going to use the spell check 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 23, 2015 at 3:04 pm

  9. Your photo’s of the snow and tree’s are just gorgeous. Just what I would love on my walls.. 🙂 Hot cocoa? Gosh that sounds good. I found a photo that you took a while back, of your front steps…why I love wooden steps, I have NO idea. Must be some hidden memory back in my childhood.

    January 23, 2015 at 7:04 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It does look good when looking out the windows 🙂

      I love hot cocoa on cold days like these and I’ll have it tonight too 🙂

      Wooden steps do look nice and they are very nice to sit on and drink a cup of te when the sun shines 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 23, 2015 at 3:06 pm

  10. Vi har fortfarande MASSOR av snö kvar, det smälter aldrig undan på vårt tomt. Gotlands snöigaste brukar jag ju kalla den – och det är inget skoj, det stämmer tror jag! 😦
    Intresset för att gå långprommisar ligger nere just nu, man vågar ju inte åka ner på småvägarna ifall man skulle fastna. Förra vintern fastnade vi på ett parti där det var plogat, men där det sen hade blåst in en massa snö. Det såg inte alls så djupt ut, men visade sig vara det. Vi stod fast på underredet, så vår kompis fick komma och dra loss oss med en stor traktor. 😦 😦
    TREVLIG HELG ❤
    Susie

    January 23, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Snön ligger kvar här och lär väl göra det så länger det är kallt och inte blåser.

      Snödrev är förrädiskt! Gäller att ha fart och inte tveka 🙂 Blir alltid här när det snöar och blåser samtidigt och då brötar jag bara på med bilen tills jag är igenom 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 23, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

