Soon the forest and bog will belong to us again.

The roads weer rather good when I started driving yesterday morning. I had the canera on fully automatic mode so I just had to push down the shutter button every now and again :-)

The roads weer rather good when I started driving yesterday morning. I had the canera on fully automatic mode so I just had to push down the shutter button every now and again πŸ™‚

I drove to friends I haven’t seen in years yesterday and it’s strange how one doesn’t realize how much one miss friends until one meet them again after a long time πŸ™‚ It was a bit cold in te morning when I drove away but the roads were actually quite ok, at least in the beginning. But the wins grew in strength and by the time I was driving home again the snow was falling and the roads rather messy. It didn’t take as long as I thought to drive there, Β hours. I thought it might take more than three. It did take longer home though because of the winds and snow.

 

My friends live in a small town or should I call it big village? I took some photos when we were taking my dogs for a walk.

My friends live in a small town or should I call it big village? I took some photos when we were taking my dogs for a walk.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

They have a red point Siamese cat who wasn’t too frilled to meet four rather happy and big dogs πŸ™‚ He was placed high up on a bookshelf and stayed there in the beginning but like a true Siamese he naturally had to come to the kitchen where we were sitting and complaining about our presenceΒ πŸ™‚ and very loudly too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do like Siamese cats, they are great personalities πŸ™‚ I need to go down to them again when it’s Β warmer again, we really only had time to catch up on what’s happening since last time we met this time.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

Today I woke up to a grey and slightly foggy morning. We walked down to the creek over the fields and all dogs were unleashed all the time. I could smell the wild hogs and I don’t think they like dogs too much since they’ve been chased by hunting dogs Β the last couple of weekends. So I thought it was best to give the dogs a chance to flee just in case the hogs would try to scare us away or attack. Nothing happened though and even Nova behaved the entire time πŸ™‚ Well we couldn’t see any hares and she really doesn’t care much about any other wild life.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

I was hoping to get out on the bog this afternoon but hunting dogs from a neighbor area ran around here instead, I hope this is the last weekend they are allowed to hunt so we others can get back our forest and bog again πŸ™‚ I just checked and it seems most of what’s running around here has an end for being hunted on January 31. Fallow deer however is allowed until February 28 and yearlings of wild hog all year round. So lets hope they all are tired of hunting wild hogs by now πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

I’ve done the laundry, paid my bills and cleaned out the kitchen stove from ashes, the cold I got before Christmas is still hanging around like a friend that doesn’t know when to go home and make me tired all the time. So I think I’ll have a tiny nap after this. Not too long though because I want the fire to burn in the stove all day long.

 

This is from my drive home again. There are a few more photos that I'll show tomorrow.

This is from my drive home again. There are a few more photos that I’ll show tomorrow.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

I think I’ll make myself some hot cocoa too before I nap, it does make me sleep so nicely πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

This is from this mornings walk though.

This is from this mornings walk though.

16 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Isn’t it great meeting up with friends? I am meeting one of mine from childhood tomorrow evening for some company and coffee. Its been a few months since we have seen each other. Believe it or not, she lives on the next bay from me – I can look through my kitchen window and see her house. But as life is busy, we never can seen to catch up as much as we’d like. We are having some nice weather still, not really +5 like we had on Friday, but pleasant regardless. We are due to get cold again this time next weekend – “they” keep pushing the cold back which is fine by me. I hope your cold decides to leave, that’s a long time to feel so tired! We had a day of errands yesterday so today I play catch up with laundry, cooking and cleaning. Since my ancestry is mostly Scottish, and its Robbie Burns day today, we are having our supper in honor of Scotland’s favorite son. Neeps and tatties are on the menu, and perhaps a wee bit of whiskey to help things along! πŸ™‚ Have a good Sunday!

    January 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      My friends and I haven’t met in several years and we live fairly far away from each other. Still it isn’t that far away to not meeting more often to be honest. But as You say, life is busy and there are so many things we must do.

      They are saying our temperatures are much lower than they are πŸ™‚ so I don’t know if there’s even any use in looking at any predictions for the coming week πŸ™‚

      I had to check who Robbie Burns was and I can say that I at least know of Auld Lang Syne πŸ™‚
      No Haggis?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 25, 2015 at 4:16 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi again! LOL – no haggis this year! My dad is away on holiday and one haggis is too much for just the 3 of us. Maybe next year. Its a special order!! πŸ™‚

        January 26, 2015 at 8:05 pm

      • I’ve never eaten Haggis myself but I’ve read what ingredients it contains and it doesn’t sound bad at all. I must try it some day πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        January 26, 2015 at 9:04 pm

  2. You have very good friends that let you bring FOUR rather large dogs to visit. None of my friends would be so kind. πŸ™‚
    I like the looks of that big village. It’s pretty with snow.

    January 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      They know I won’t come without them πŸ™‚

      They do live in a nice place, even without the snow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 25, 2015 at 4:17 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    There are some nice-looking houses in that big village. I notice there are not a lot of red houses, though. It almost looks like a New England village. White churches, white houses, a few red barns. There is a fair amount of turquoise, though, which is surprising.
    I think I want that very big house with all the windows. I figure if I could afford that house, I could also afford to have someone else clean all those windows and the rest of it, too. πŸ™‚

    The sun is shining brightly and will probably melt a good deal of the snow that fell yesterday. We are staring down the barrel of a big storm on Monday night into Tuesday. I should practice with my snowblower. I’ve never used one and I suppose there is a trick to it. :/
    I suppose I should also make the French Toast Run to the grocery store with all the other snow-panicked people. Just in case there is something I might need. Like potato chips, chocolate and ice cream. Very important to have those staples on hand in a snow storm. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 25, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think the village is fairly young (from around WW2) and that is most likely the reason there are no red houses. It isn’t that long ago that the city architects in this country allowed more bright colors on houses. They can still be rediculusly strict and forbid even the slightest variation of the original color. They do have a way too big power I think!

      I forgot to ask if that big house is a home or something else. Could be the Swedish Chrurch that owns it and use it for something. I do like it though and I would need to hire people to clean it every week πŸ™‚

      No storm is foreseen here but I don’t trust them for a second so it might be one anyway πŸ™‚
      Yes there’s always a trick to any machine πŸ™‚

      Those are the top things to have during a good storm πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 25, 2015 at 4:25 pm

      • Caryn

        Ours is an Atlantic storm so it might float across the ocean on the Gulf Stream and whack you later on in the week. But your weather people will probably predict sunshine and warm temperatures instead of high wind and icy rain or snow.
        We’re supposed to get 1 to 2 feet.
        I played with my snowblower earlier. It took a lot of pushing and repeat passes, like mowing high grass, but it worked rather well on the heavy wet stuff. So far I am pleased.

        January 25, 2015 at 6:15 pm

      • They suddenly predict strong winds on Thursday so I guess that’s the one πŸ™‚ They will most likely change that prediction several times so they’ll get it wrong in the end πŸ™‚

        I’m glad it worked on the heavy stuff too! The light snow is easy but it needs tougher things to move the wet snow.

        January 25, 2015 at 6:19 pm

  4. jaz

    hi christer! what a pretty village and some wonderful homes. we had rime here yesterday and it was so beautiful. we have a storm on the way so hopefully will be getting some nice snow! bertil is the coolest cat ever!

    January 25, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is but the houses are just placed too close for my taste.

      Rime is very beautiful! We haven’t had much of it this winter, we’ve barely had common frost on the trees here, just snow.

      I hope You’ll get lots of snow this time πŸ™‚

      He is a rather cool cat πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 25, 2015 at 4:27 pm

  5. such a lovely area, friends of ours had a Siamese cat that behaved like that, I love the last photo of Bertril always looks like a cat on a serious mission!

    January 25, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do like that place even if the houses are a bit too close to each other to my taste.

      Yes Siamese cats need to show and tell how bad they like the situation πŸ™‚ Even if it means he needs to go where all the dogs actually are πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Bertil is always on a serious mission that only he understands πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 25, 2015 at 8:52 pm

  6. Christer,
    I have known my friend Maris for 55 years. We speak all the time on the phone but don’t get to see each other, but we have made a dinner date so we’ll get to catch up in person.

    You are so good posting houses for me. I love to see the differences from those here. Yours is a snowy world right now. Ours will be the same starting late tomorrow afternoon. We have a blizzard warning which means it’s coming and get ready.

    Stay warm and get healthy!

    Kat

    January 26, 2015 at 3:23 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Facebook destroys a lot because we think we know whathappens in our friends lives so we don’t call any more, that’s what has happened here. So I must stop checking what they are doing ftom now on and call instead πŸ™‚

      I thought You would like thos houses πŸ™‚ I think there might be one or two today as well but I’m not sure.I think that village mostly is built around WW2 and thecolorful ones in the sixties.

      The rain has melted lots of snow now and I’ve heard You’ll have the snow storm in centuries today! I hope they have made a bad prediction, thatΓ€’s just too much at one time!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 26, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

