Now we have two, at least.

Yesterday morning.

Yesterday morning.

I was a bit lucky today, I drove to work before the rain started to fall and they had fixed the roads when I was driving home. I drove behind the plow lorry the last part on the way home and for once I could see more cars than mine because we were plenty that drove behind it 🙂 It was so big that even if anyone of us had wanted to pass it, it wasn’t possible. Cars from the opposite direction had huge problems when they met it 🙂

 

The last seven photos from my drive home on Saturday.

The last seven photos from my drive home on Saturday.

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

 

I’m waiting for news on the huge snow storm in the north-eastern USA. I’ve read it will be the biggest one in over  years but so far I can’t find anything online. I hope they are mistaken because it’s one thing getting that much snow on the countryside, we usually have fire places so we can stay warm if the power breaks, not so many have that in big cities and I’m pretty sure the will be power breaks if the predictions are right. 

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

I only took photos when I was alone on the road and the camera was placed on the dashboard so I couldn't aim especially well :-)

I only took photos when I was alone on the road and the camera was placed on the dashboard so I couldn’t aim especially well 🙂

Finally home, that is Bjurum church You can see.

Finally home, that is Bjurum church You can see.

 

The dogs started to behave rather annoying when we were out walking yesterday afternoon, it would be to put it mildly to say that they were very interested in something. They were all over the place and at first I couldn’t understand what it was. They followed what I first thought was one track and that animal had dug some in the ground, perhaps just minutes before we arrived. Then I saw it, that giant paw print in the snow. Then I saw another just as big following alongside the first prints I saw. We now have at least two wolves here and I guess that means this now is wolf territory.

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

 

One of my work friends said he had found wolf tracks where he lives and that is around 50 km (31 mile) away from here and they also say that they have found tracks south of here. My guess is that they now have the bog as base and then walks around in their new big territory. I’m really annoyed about missing them since they must have been at least almost visible when we came walking 🙂 Some people are afraid but I’ve told them that the risk for humans is minimal but they should have their dogs close if out walking. Personally I like this but I can understand why people with sheep, cattle or horses aren’t happy about this.

 

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

 

I was thinking about getting a paintball gun. Not that I’m a fan of paintball 🙂 But since we now have wolves here it would be good to have some kind of defence if they would get a bit too curious or come a bit too close to my dogs. I don’t want to kill any wolf, just scare them. They say it hurts like h… when being hit by one of those bullets 🙂 Perhaps getting one of those things they often have on soccer games, horns driven by an aerosol can. We would most likely all become deaf 🙂 but if it scares too curious wolves it’s worth it 🙂

 

DSC_0083

These were so dark that I had to brighten them up quite a bit, so they look a bit sort of dusty 🙂

 

DSC_0084

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

DSC_0089

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. The dogs have already eaten and so have the cats. I think I’ll make some cocoa, the weather sort of demands that 🙂

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I just love it when the days are so gloomy that there is a blue tinge to the air and sky. Your first photo is just like that, perfect!!!! We are melting today and tomorrow but then just when you think its all good, we are back to a high of -25 for Saturday! 🙂 Can you believe it? Just like that. My girlfriend who lives out where out cottage is sent me a couple pictures last week of two wolves that were caught and killed. They are massive. I can’t believe. One fit the whole of the back of a pick up truck. I always take one or more of the dogs when walking out at the cottage, wolves don’t scare me but bears do. I would get one of the those air horns – that would be a good scare for them. We use those in the summer when we go to the polo matches to signal the end of a chukker. They are very, very loud!! I am watching the news about the storm because it is also going to hit the eastern Canadian shores. If it happens it will be epic apparently. I hope everyone takes it seriously. Even if it doesn’t get as bad as it does, always good to be prepared. I hope your cocoa was delicious, have a good evening!!!

    January 26, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m not a big fan of that blue tinge to be honest 🙂 But we’ve had very little of it this winter so I’m not bored of it yeat 🙂

      It’s amazing how the temperatures change so fast! They say weäll get colder weather late in the week but they’ve said that for quite some time now 🙂

      Wolves are really big! They tend to kill dogs here so I need something to scare them away with. I’ll definetaly get one of those horns and maybe a paintball gun too. I really don’t want to hurt them, just scare them so they’ll know how dangerous I am 🙂 We rarely have bears this far south, thankfully. People here seems to think bears are nice and cuddly 🙂 They attack a few people here every year but no one has died so far. Moose kill more people here than any predator to be honest.

      Yes I’ve understood that this is the mother of all storms, if they are right in their predictions 🙂 I’ll follow it as good as I can from this side of the ocean.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 26, 2015 at 9:03 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Nova and Sune, smiling all the way. 🙂

    The photos look rather dreary at your place. Wet and dreary.

    Wolves. Wow. Yes, I’d get something to scare them away. Paintball sounds good.

    The other day, before the most recent snow fall, I took the dogs out back to do their business. There, frozen in the mud, was a very big paw print. Too big to have been Rocky or Piki Dog, even accounting for deformation by mud. Coyotes have been seen around the church that is on the next road. There’s a big rock outcropping that is completely grown over with juniper and other shrubs. I call it Our Lady of the Fox Den because there’s a statue of the Virgin Mary on one end of it. Coyotes would find it comfy, too. 🙂

    It was snowing out a few minutes ago. Small flakes but steady ones. It seems to have stopped for now. We’ll see whether it’s an historic storm or just another ordinary storm. I hope it’s ordinary. Historic storms are uncomfortable. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    January 26, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Sune always smile and finally has Nova’s medication lost its grip on Nova 🙂

      It’s even more wet and dreary today 🙂 I’m still waiting for that winter they’ve predicted for so long 🙂

      I don’t want to hurt those wolves, just scare them and show how dangerous I am 🙂 So I’ll see if I can buy a paintball gun and one of those horns. Iäll probably give Hector a heart attack if I have to use it 🙂

      I’ve read that Your coyotes actually are wolf hybrids, much bigger than the western coyote and less afraid of humans. They have actually killed people in Canada. Perhaps You should get a paintball gun and a horn too 🙂 I think coyotes wouldlove to stay there too.

      I hope that it is an ordinary storm too but for some strange reason they tend to get it right when it comes to really bad weather 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 26, 2015 at 9:11 pm

      • Caryn

        In this part of the country we have a total mashup of hybrid canids. We have wolves, coyotes, coy dogs, coy wolves and wolf dogs. The Eastern Coyote appears to be a hybrid of Western Coyote and Eastern Red Wolf but there are also dog, Grey Wolf genes mixed in. I think they are pretty close to deciding that the Eastern Coyote is a distinct species. Considering all the interbreeding that’s going on between the canids in this area, I’m not sure it’s justified yet and may be an attempt to get some kind of protection for them. It’s open hunting for coyotes in most states.

        I’ve always carried a short horse whip whenever I walked my dogs in places where I thought I might have a problem. I’ve seen coyotes while out walking but have never had to do anything to move them off. I have had to use the whip to fend off loose dogs that have come after me or my dogs.

        January 26, 2015 at 10:39 pm

      • Here they kill any hybrid between dog and wolf as soon as they discover it, those hybrids tend to be dabngerous since they have very little fear of humans. But perhaps it would be good to keep a few since our wolves are inbreads all of them, they all seems to origin fromone or two wolf couples. It would have been better if not poachers had been so successful in killing those migrating here from Russia and Finland.

        Yes I think itneeds to be something that hurts and a horn might be a good help to the pain 🙂 We’ve had a few attacks on dogs walking around with their owners with a bad result for the dog. One happened just two days ago.

        January 27, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  3. Christer,
    It has been snowing since 1 o’clock. The snow is small and quick and sticking. It is supposed to be wet and heavy which will result in losing electricity. Nstar, my electric company, has almost guaranteed we’ll lose lights.

    I have plenty to eat as do the animals. I got cans and cans of cat food today. Gracie is all set. I bought several things I don’t have to cook in case I lose my stove. Tonight I am having soup. I bought it from a store where they make it in-house. It is the perfect snowy night dinner.

    They are calling the storm crippling and potentially historic.

    I love the pictures the dogs. They look great against the snow.

    Have a great evening.

    January 26, 2015 at 10:43 pm

    • Hi Kat!’

      I’ve heard it didn’t become that bad as they had predicted after all 🙂 So I do hope You still have Your power!

      But it is always good to have extra food at home just in case. There’s nothing like hot soup on a stoirmy winters day 🙂

      They had so much fun chasing each other in the snow 🙂 Nova is much faster than Sune but he can turn much quicker so it takes a while until she catche him 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  4. Christer, odd that you haven’t been able to read anything online about this major snow storm cause all the news casts have been full of advance warnings. It is already snowing heavily in our native New Jersey, but as of now we have not had any. We did have a nearly 6 inch snowfall over the weekend to get everyone ready. The roadways are all clear from that storm, so it must be time for a new one. I too hope everyone will be safe as we will be indoors watching films we got from the library today.

    January 26, 2015 at 10:47 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Normally I find anything happening over on Your side in our online papers but not this time. But I have heard it didn’t become as bad as they had predicted.

      The snow we got is melting away rather fast now and leaving a thick sheet of ice on te gravel road instead. It was rather difficult to just get out of the village this morning 🙂 🙂

      Have fun watching those films!
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 6:25 pm

  5. the dogs look so happy, Bertril too! If you have wolves in your area hopefully they will be like our wolves that live in our forest, we never see them but we are certain they see us and of course we hear them at night.. I think your dogs make enough of a noisy presence there would have to be a big pack of wolves to take them all on , or very very hungry! We carry bear spray here, and if we are deep in the forest Garry carries a rifle, he has never had to use it to scare wolves or bears, only when he hunts Partridge,

    January 27, 2015 at 12:00 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      They had so much fun chasing each other in the snow 🙂

      We’ve had a few attacks on dogs when they were out walking with their owners. The wolves didn’t care about the owner, just the dog. It didn’t turn out well for the last dog just two days ago so I think it is best to be prepared just in case.

      I’ll see if I can get both that horn and a paintball gun so I know that I’ve done what I can.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 6:28 pm

  6. We sat on the front porch and had our coffee this morning..broused the paper and read of the expected storm. Our sun was gone by 3PM and rain began. Not enough but there is hope for more. I have folks and many friends on the east coast and it does concern me. Especially when one of them is 84 and alone. It’s definitely a worry.
    I hope Joyce gets her snow..she has been unhappy at the Winter they have had so far.. I love snow..but..perhaps not as much as is being predicted.
    Love the photo’s of Bertil, of course! Wolves..no, I wouldn’t want them hurt either..but does Bertil know about wolves? I know he is street smart..but if wolves are new to your area ..it’s got to be a concern where your outside animals are concerned.
    If my dogs acted up I would be home faster than …well..FAST! I hope they don’t prey on domestic animals..but If hungry..who knows. If a wolf pack moves..it’s it for better hunting..or a depleted territory? Of food I mean?? Wonder what info I can find on the computer.

    I doubt dogs are any match for wild wolves. I recently read of the difference in size of the wolves here in our country. Apparently wolves and coyotes have mated and we now have a new breed. Smaller. Something called a “Coywolf” I guess they never thought such a thing could happen but with the wolves been hunted to near distinction at one time…and are still hunted by cattlemen to a degree..they were desperate for mates and thus a new breed. I found it interesting..as they traced them across this country..and found out what had happened.

    Wolves are making a come back in some area’s..but this new hybrid out there now. Wolves have always been frightening to be because of the horror stories I have heard of them attacking people when they are starving and are not so afraid of humans anymore.

    So. 🙂 be careful my friend.

    January 27, 2015 at 5:54 am

    • Hi Mona!

      That sounds so nice 🙂 I long for spring when I can do that too. Well I can do it now but it would be a bit too chilly to feel nice 🙂 I hope You’ll get more rain soon!

      Bertil hates all animals that isn’t his dogs 🙂 So I’m pretty sure he’ll be ok even if those wolves would come close.

      I could see on the tracks that they already had passed us and was on their way away from us. But we’ve had a couple attacks towards dogs walking with their owners. The wolves weren’t interested in the humans at all, only the dogs and two days ago they killed one.

      Yes there seems to be lots of different hybrids around now when they have hunted the wolves too hard. That would never have happened otherwise. Those hybrids tend to be more dangerous for humans too, they aren’t shy like real wolves. We don’t have coyotes here so that’s a hybrid we won’t see anyway 🙂

      I’ve never bee afraid of wolves even if I too read those stories 🙂 I guess that’s because we didn’t have wolves here for almost 60 years. No idea to be afraid of something that doesn’t excist here 🙂 There are very few occasions when wolves have attacked humans, as Yoiu say they need to be desperate to do that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 6:36 pm

  7. Åh vad vettig du är! Jag vill inte heller att vargar dödas, men det är ju lätt för mig att säga som sitter här på en ö utan vilddjur!! 🙂
    Fast jag tror ju inte heller att vargarna skulle ge sig på oss när vi är ute i skogen, jag pratar för mycket och för högt för det, men Santos vore nog en trevlig munsbit för dom. Alltså är det skönt att dom inte blivit inplanterade här…..och dom har ju heller aldrig funnits här.
    Men både en färgpistol och en horn låter jättebra för dig. Det vore ju hemskt om nått skulle hända dina hundar!! 😦
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    January 27, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag förstår de som är rädda för vargen även om det knappast finns några bevis för att de anfaller människor. Trots allt finns det mer varg I Estland än det gör här och där händer det inget sådant.

      Det har ju hänt ett par attacker mot hundar som varit ute på promenad med sina ägare och nu senast gick det inte bra för hunden tyvärr! Så jag känner att det kan vara bra att förbereda sig så mycket man kan. Skall se om jag kan få tag i bägge snart.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

