It felt like spring.

DSC_0051

I worked in the neighbor factory today and it felt like spring when I walked back to my ordinary work place. It was warm and cloudy, no wind and the birds sang spring songs. The cold weather that they predicted for us seems to stay away around five days. Yesterday it was supposed to come in five days, the same the day before and exactly the same today 🙂 I wouldn’t mind some stable weather for a while, this snow one day and rain the other is getting a bit boring 🙂

 

I have a few more Hasselblad photos I can show.

I have a few more Hasselblad photos I can show.

8

9

 

I’ve heard the snow storm on the American east coast didn’t become as bad as they had predicted. Instead of being the mother of all snow storm it seems it turned out to be the nephew of all snow storms 🙂 Lots of snow but still nothing to write home about if You know what I mean 🙂 Well I am glad it was less bad.

 

This is the other half of that photo which looks like there was a frozen lake on the field :-)

This is the other half of that photo which looks like there was a frozen lake on the field 🙂

6

10

 

Well I really can’t find anything more to write about today. So I better make a pot of tea and something to eat. One thing more, I almost saw daylight after work today 🙂

 

4

I'm not quite sure what I might have been thinking when I took this one :-)

I’m not quite sure what I might have been thinking when I took this one 🙂

6

This is the last of them all, now You'll have to wait a while before I develope any more, it costed me a small fortune last time when I had six film rolls developed :-)

This is the last of them all, now You’ll have to wait a while before I develop any more, it costed me a small fortune last time when I had six film rolls developed 🙂

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    We’ve been lucky with this one. People took it seriously and are well prepared. The power companies brought in lots of extra workers ahead of time so power outages could be handled quickly. The governor put a travel ban on everything except essential personnel. Public transport was shut down. Roads were closed. There was no school and no mail delivery.

    The plows came by frequently last night. Every time one did, Piki Dog started shouting and Rocky ran to the window to see what was happening. Of course I woke up every time because Piki is LOUD. Piki would come back to bed and take Rocky’s spot. Rocky would come back 10 or 15 minutes later and make his irritating growl that means Piki’s in my spot. Move him. No please or anything. All. Night. Long.
    I blowed snow early. I dug a hollow under the neighbor’s arbor vitae so Piki would have a place to poop. He’s special, you know. :/ The snow is falling heavily and most of my work is buried again. My driveway is plowed but the street plows will come by and push it all back in. Oh, well. I don’t have to be anyplace until the end of February. 🙂 On the plus side, I’ve had lots of practice using manual settings to take photos of blowing snow. 🙂

    I love that second photo. It looks like just the right amount of exposure for the snow and the trees. Perfect.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 27, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve heard it hit New Englad rather hard so it’s good that people took the warnings seriously! Lets hope any eventual power break is short.

      I guess You’re pretty tired after a night like that 🙂 The only one making any sound, barking, is Sune. It’s lots of guarding dog in him so he tends to tell the world that he know they are there, even if no one else can see anyone 🙂

      Are You happy with Your snow blower? Too bad You can’t see the work You’ve done, buit it is better to do it several times than to wait until it’s all over.

      Piki Dog is more special than Nova, she takes forever to decide where to poop but nothing like that 🙂 🙂

      So I can look forward to blowing snow photos then 🙂

      I do like that photo and the fourth too, the trees gives color to an otherwise black and white world.

      Have a great snowstorm day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 9:14 pm

      • Caryn

        I was extremely annoyed at my snowblower this morning. The battery charged overnight after working hard the previous day. I went out to clean up the remainder and the snowblower refused to work at all. Nothing stuck in it anywhere but it refused to run. I threw it into a snow bank in disgust and proceeded to clear snow with my stable fork as usual. A little while later, when I was back by the drift where I threw it, I decided to pick it up and bang it against the pavement a few times just for good measure. It started up and continued to run.

        I have figured out that it cannot take snow in increments deeper than 5″ or it will go on strike. Okay. Keeping that in mind, I managed to clean up the front walks and part of the drive as well as a good bit of the iceberg left by the plow. That I had to break down first and then run the blower over the pieces. The battery went dead after an hour and half of this. Can’t blame it. So did I.

        I put the blower away, plugged in the battery and spent a few more minutes digging out a couple of spots for Piki Dog to poop in. Of course he didn’t care for any of them but finally had no choice but to use one or burst. 🙂

        January 28, 2015 at 5:20 pm

      • How annoying! I do the same, if it doesn’t work hit it hard untill it does 🙂 I hope this was the first and last time it happened!

        How often do You get more snow than that? That’s usually the most we get each time here, well one year we got 1,5 yards of snow during one night 🙂 I would have needed something much bigger than a snow blower to get rid of that 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I have to say that it is rather impressive that it managed to work for an hour and a half on one charge! After all it has to do some pretty hard work.

        I’m so glad I don’t have to dig holes for my dogs 🙂 🙂 But to be honest, it would be so much easier to collect iot and throw it in the compost when I new where they all had been 🙂

        Christer.

        January 28, 2015 at 6:16 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Glad to hear you almost saw daylight today! 🙂 Not long now for all of us to see proper daylight. I am counting the days….So you had a spring day today! Lucky! Our day today looks like most of the pictures you posted. Gray, dull and so lovely! 🙂 Well, for me anyway….we are due frigid temperatures starting Saturday. “They” are predicting a daytime high of -30. *sigh* Our Canadian east coast apparently is getting hit pretty hard. There are cancellations everywhere. Hope your cup of tea hit the spot, I am having my afternoon cup as I type! Have a good Tuesday evening!

    January 27, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Soon it will be daylight when I step out from the factory after work 🙂 It was a rather nice feeling to see almost daylight today 🙂

      It was so nice and I really didn’t want to go inside again!

      We usually have a period here with -30 in February and I guess it still can happen even if it at the moment doesn’t look like it, the cold weather always move one day away from us 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 27, 2015 at 9:17 pm

  3. Synd att du inte gillar vädret, jag tycker det är jätteskönt! 😆 Idag har vi äntligen barmark igen, gillade inte när vi – alltså på vår tomt – hade MASSOR av snö och sen så när man åkte iväg hemifrån så var det barmark överallt. Orättvist!! 👿
    Det var ju skönt för jänkarna att dom slapp undan med bara förskräckelse innan, hade inte varit kul för dom med en halvmeter snö och halka. Dom är inte lika vana som oss! 🙂
    Idag är det dock väldans grått och trist, så det blir ingen skogsprommis. Har också en del annat att pyssla med, bl.a. att möblera om lite. Eller rättare sagt hänga om lite tavlor – och kanske göra en ny. Eftersom Rolle hatar när jag flyttar möbler, så brukar jag med jämna mellanrum “möblera om” på väggarna eller i hyllorna och i skåpen. 😉
    Sen köpte jag en ny omgång med akrylfärg på ÖB i måndags och nu börjar jag få en idé till en tavla. Fast det är en sak att ha idén i huvudet och hel annan att få ner den på kanvasen. Men jag tror att jag börjar ana hur jag ska förverkliga tavelidén. Tänk att det ska vara så svårt trots att jag nästan enbart gör nonfigurativa tavlor. Har gjort några andra, men då är det riktigt knepigt! 😳
    KRAM
    Susie

    January 28, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Å andra sidan ser ju snön till att inget skadas av en sen frostnatt eftersom allt kommer igång senare hos er. Till mig kommer våren två till tre veckor senare än till grannarna som bor 100 meter ifrån mig fast högre upp. Jag får dessutom alltid frost långt innan de får den. Liver är tufft, bara till att vänja sig 🙂

      Det blev ju lite värre längre norrup, New England fick en hel del har jag hört.

      Jag förstår Rolle så väl 🙂 Tror jag möblerat om här tre gånger på de femton år jag bott här 🙂

      Konst skall värka fram 🙂 Spelar liksom ingen roll vilken genre det är. Hade det varit lätt hade vi ju inte haft all de stora konstverk vi har 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      January 28, 2015 at 6:07 pm

  4. Caryn

    Usually we don’t get that much snow at one time. There have been years when we’ve gotten whacked multiple times, though.
    I have to dig out a space for the dogs because they are short and the snow is over their heads. Also, Piki Dog needs to be underneath something before he will poop so I dug out a hollow underneath the neighbor’s arbor vitae. He’s not happy about it but he’ll use it.

    January 28, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    • I have these huge lilacs, it would have been perfect if my dogs had chosen those to do their business 🙂

      January 28, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

