I wonder where it went.

DSC_0091

I have very little inspiration today, can’t think of anything to write about. It has snowed some and then it rained some and then the sun showed for a few seconds they say.

 

DSC_0092

Salmiak.

 

DSC_0094

DSC_0095

 

The temperature dropped some on my way home and the roads got a bit slippery but nothing I couldn’t handle. I thought I was driving in to fog but it turned out to be zillions of tiny snow flakes, it didn’t seem to hit the ground though so I wonder where it went?

 

DSC_0100

DSC_0101

DSC_0102

 

The fire is burning in the stove, I have a pot of tea ready to be drunken but I think I’ll make some cocoa later on, I can feel that it is going to be colder from now on and will prepare by drinking hot cocoa πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0105

DSC_0106

DSC_0107

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope you found a bit more energy – nothing worse than feeling like that. I get like that sometimes….I usually just sleep. πŸ™‚ I wonder if those little snow pellets just flew away with the wind? Strange that it looked like fog. We are back into our cold spell starting today. It was so very lovely to have a nice almost 2 week break away from the bitter temperatures…..I hope it doesn’t last. I must say, this January has not been so hard on my psyche that in previous years. I think alot has to do with the warmer weather and that my Department bought me a SAD lamp for my down days. πŸ™‚ Every little bit helps! I love hot cocoa/chocolate and what I have been doing everytime I make some now is put a few drops of peppermint extract in it. So good!!! Have a good evening!

    January 29, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Too late to find any energy now, I’m about to go to bed πŸ™‚

      I guess they did, it was the kind of snow that seems to never hit the ground, just keep flying with the wind πŸ™‚ The flakes are so tiny and thin that they really don’t look like snow from a distance. It’s quite common here and that kind of snow can keep falling all day without becoming any thicker layer on the ground.

      Our cold spell is just about to start but it doesn’t look like we’ll get it as cold as You’ve had it, -11 seems to be the low point here. I’m just happy if the storms finally stops so I don’t care if it gets a bit cold πŸ™‚ Today it was fairly light until I was almost at home after work πŸ™‚ I should get one of those SAD lamps, I sometimes just turn towards the strong lights we have by the paintbox at work and stand there to get that light into my brain, with closed eyes, otherwise I think I would get blind πŸ™‚

      I don’t have any peppermint at home otherwise I would use that too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I thought you were wondering where your inspiration went. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for labeling the photo of Salmiak as he surveys his domain. Otherwise I might have thought it was Bertil. They look very much alike.

    It’s quite nice here today. The sun is shining brightly and it’s almost up to freezing point so some of the snow is melting. There was a great long double spear of an icicle hanging from a wire outside my front door. I have no idea how that happens because there’s nothing above that wire to drip on it. I was worried it might fall while the dogs were out there. It melted and fell while we were walking down the street. Here’s a photo.
    DSC08336

    I agree that hot cocoa is an excellent preparation for cold weather. Hot soup is too. I have plenty of both stocked up. We have more snow coming and very cold temperatures, too. Winter is putting its foot down, I guess. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 29, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well, that too I guess πŸ™‚

      Even I sat and looked for a long while wondering which one of them it is πŸ™‚ But I remembered that Bertil was walking behind usΒ΄when I took that photo πŸ™‚

      What an odd iceicle! I’ve never seen anything like it before, how on earth could it buld up like that? πŸ™‚ Is there perhaps a branch inside all of that ice? It wasn’t that long ago I saw a branch with two ends hanging over another branch. Could ice have been built up around it perhaps?

      Yes hot cocoa is the best and I’ll buy plenty of rose-hip soup tomorrow and I have “dinner” soups here at home. This is truly the soup season πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 29, 2015 at 9:15 pm

      • Caryn

        There was nothing inside that icicle except more icicle. There’s always an icicle at that point on the wire after a big snowstorm. I think the snow on the wire must melt and run down from both ends of the wire and meet in the middle. It’s never formed like that before. I’m trying to figure out how it could grow both above and below the wire in such a way that the lower half would then melt faster than the upper bit and cause the whole structure to turn like an iceberg. The answer eludes me. I need a physicist. πŸ™‚

        January 30, 2015 at 1:13 am

      • Really odd that it has that shape then πŸ™‚ Yes how has it been able to grow upwards πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Let me know what the physicist says πŸ™‚

        January 30, 2015 at 2:41 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! i am getting cabin fever! my car broke down days ago and they just called now to say it was fixed. but, i have o way to get to it. we had ice today and my other cars do not go in bad weather. somehow tomorrow i will have to go and get it. we have had way more ice than i need this year. it is awful! teddy can’t go out either because it is too dangerous. i can tell that she is really bored too. enjoy your cocoa! joyce

    January 29, 2015 at 10:21 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Isn’t that typical! I hope You’ve gotten it back by now!
      You would still have the problem of getting the other car home too even if they had worked well in bad weather. I’m so glad they have a car I can borrow in the garage I go to.

      Haven’t You had unusually much ice this winter? We’ve been lucky so far but the roads have been so cold so normal warm rain has frozen during nights here so the roads have been nasty to drive on anyway.

      Do You now You can use sugar to de ice the ground? It works just as good as salt but doesn’t hurt our dogs paws.

      Have a great day, hopefully with the car by now!
      Christer.

      January 30, 2015 at 2:40 pm

  4. Christer,
    I am so glad to be free. My guy came today and got my car out and then shoveled the front for me and a little of the back for Gracie. The snow in some places is over 4 feet high from all the drifting.

    Tomorrow I have to go to the dump and to physical therapy. They don’t sound like fun but just getting on the road will be enough.

    Nothing much to talk about as I haven’t seen any one or gone any place. How boring.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    January 30, 2015 at 1:26 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Not even when we got 1,5 yard of snow during one night I’ve ever been snowed in like that πŸ™‚ I can fully understand how it must feel to suddenly be free again πŸ™‚

      I’ve done my errands today after work so now I won’t even look towards my car until Monday morning. But I have to say that the roads were much better than I thought they would be this morning after looking outside, we got perhaps 4 inches of snow during the night.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 30, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

