Sometimes I need stronger stuff.

It was a bit warm during the day so much of the snow melted away before I came home.

It was a bit warm during the day so much of the snow melted away before I came home.

I was a bit surprised this morning when I saw that we had gotten around 10cm (4 inches) of snow during the night. I start working an hour earlier on Fridays so I was sure now plow had been on the roads I was going to drive on. To my big surprise they had, at least on the two first thirds of the way, the last third was unplowed but since very few others had driven there it wasn’t especially slippery yet, my tires work fantastic on snow but not so fantastic on ice πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

This is the time of year when we usually have little to do at work, there were a few things we could have done but since they weren’t supposed to be painted until next week we chose to do maintenance instead. I always wash the paintbox with distilled water every Friday morning but every now and again I need something stronger. The walls in the paintbox are made from some kind of plastic that will let the powder paint fall off easily, it doesn’t after a while and that’s when I need the stronger stuff.

 

DSC_0029

The sun broke suddenly through the clouds.

The sun broke suddenly through the clouds.

 

I can’t use thinner when the factory is full of people, they sure would be angry if I did because those fumes would fill the entire factory πŸ™‚ So I usedΒ methylated spirits instead. When I’ve done that the plastic walls are like sandpaper so I need to wash the entire box twice with distilled water again, otherwise the powder will stick to the walls as if I had glued it there. I’ve done that once and I’ll never do that mistake again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So it will hopefully be like cleaning an entirely new paintbox on Monday when we start painting again.

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

I drove to the super market on my way home to get some fire logs and dog food. Once again they were out of the brand I always buy but I didn’t buy any other brand this time because after the visit to the super market I was going to the post office/ grocery store in Gudhem to pick up a package and they sell the usual brand. I was lucky, I got the last sack πŸ™‚ Normally I buy it in the grocery store in the village where I work but didn’t think I would have to go there today since I was on my way to the super market.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

 

I bought the dog food and a few things I had forgotten at the super market πŸ™‚ and picked up my package. I’ve bought a tele-photo lens to my Edixa camera. It was really cheap (I bought it on our Ebay called Tradera) and once again the shipping was almost more expensive than the thing I bought πŸ™‚ I couldn’t use any of the other lenses I already have because this old camera has a today unusual mount called M 42. I was lucky no other saw this lens because it’s hard to find any with that mound now days.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

 

The mail woman had already been here when I came home, very unusual, they are normally here late in the afternoon and I’ve gotten the first seeds I’ve ordered this year. These comes from Gothenburg Botanical Garden and it sounds professional, doesn’t it πŸ™‚ Well these seeds are nothing out of the ordinary and can be found in many places to be honest but I like to support that garden this way, by buying their seeds. I’m waiting for more seeds though, from Gardens North in Canada and from a Swedish firm called Impecta. But no more seeds after that, I must take care of them too πŸ™‚ This year I’m buying many annuals, something I haven’t done in many years.

 

Jesus is still walking around with us :-)

Jesus is still walking around with us πŸ™‚

The last of the sunshine.

The last of the sunshine.

 

It is time to put more firelogs in the stove, give all the animals their food and make a pot of tea and something to eat for myself too.

Have a great day!

9 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos today, especially the ones where the sun broke through for a minute. I like photos # 4 and 5 and the close up of Bertil looking very predatory and colorful in the sunlight.

    I was wondering about Jesus. I’m glad to see he is still around and I hope the wolves stay away from his door.

    It’s snowing here again. The stuff we’re getting now is supposed to be a dusting. It’s a heavy dusting. There will be more snow later on tonight so I hope the dusting doesn’t hang around long enough to become part of the bigger storm. It’s beginning to look a lot like the Arctic here. I expect to see polar bears and musk oxen any time now. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 30, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was so nice to finally see the sune again, even if it only was for a few minutes πŸ™‚

      I do like number 5 and the second with Bertil.

      It is nice to see Jesus walking around here and now he has a few friends not much younger than himself. But I wonder what wolf would be daring enough to try to take him, there are several rather protective cows that would try to kill that wolf if it dared do that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is enough to just come close with the dogs to make them nasty angry πŸ™‚

      We’re about to get lots of snow tonight they say and by the looks of the sky I guess they might be right. Up to inches they guess. It will get cold too so this time it will stay for at least a week.

      It would be a sight to see musk oxen πŸ™‚ We have a herd of them up in the north, they immigrated here from Norway once and liked it here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 30, 2015 at 4:44 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am sure but I just have to ask, you do wear protective breathing gear when cleaning with all the chemicals I hope?!? πŸ™‚ I could only imagine how my lungs would feel after something like that when they react to the stuff I use to clean my tub (and its organic!). I am sure proper PPE is in place at your work. We are currently snowing as I type this – but then we are going to get a nasty surprise (well, not a real surprise) and the cold is coming back. I hope it lasts for the weekend only and I am glad I have no where to go this weekend except for Sunday evening! I hate going out when its so nasty cold out! Glad to see Jesus is still amongst you! πŸ™‚ What a hassle to find no dog food – I have to buy the 18 kg bag which lasts just under a month and hate when the store is out. Never fun to find it elsewhere – because it usually takes me off my planned path of errands to run. Grrr! I guess if you are ordered seeds from Canada that its safe to trade? I was always told you can’t send seeds out of the country in case of disease. One of my most favorite seed ordering places in my province is called Heritage Harvest Seeds. They have a great website and their goal is preserving heritage seeds. Give them a google when you have the time. They only ship to canada, but if its safe to ship, I can send to you. I would check with Canadian customs to be sure and safe!! Have a great Friday evening!!!

    January 30, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I didn’t use anything today when I used the alcohol, I had the ventilation on and it is very strong. I would have used the breathing gear if it had been the stronger stuff like thinner. I have the top of the art protection when I work with the dangerous paint and any kind of dangerous dissolvents. This alcohol is just regular alcohol to be honest but they’ve colored it red and they have put in something in it that makes it taste like shit and one starts to vomit if one tries to drink it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Up to 16 inches of snow is predicted for tonight and this time it will stay foir at least a week, it will get colder from now on. I don’t mind as long as we don’t get any more storms or more rain πŸ™‚

      It’s nice to see Jesus walking around in the pasture and now he has a few friends in his own size too πŸ™‚

      I had been a bit unhappy if they hadn’t had the right dog food in the grocery store. I think I have enough until Monday but I’m not sure. I buy 10 kg every week πŸ™‚

      It all depends on what kind of seeds it is. For instance, it is forbidden to import any kind of tomato and potato seed to Sweden. There are some seeds that You can’t buy from other countruies, like tree and bush seeds but You can import all seeds from any perennial or annual plant from what I know. Even here within the EU there are some strict laws to follow. The tomato and potato seeds are illegal to bring in to Sweden and any potato You might have too, It is forbidden to bring any kind of citrus plant from the notrthern countries here to the countries around the Mediterranean and so on. So it is important to check the laws before ordering any seeds from out of country. The laws in the USA are almost as tough as the ones they have on drugs πŸ™‚

      I’ll check that web site, the Swedish firm I mentioned, Impecta, also sell heritage seeds and we have one that only seel those kind of seeds. But it is always nice to know more of those businesses just in case one want something special.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 30, 2015 at 5:01 pm

  3. jaz

    bertil looks like a cat with a mission! we were only supposed to get a dusting here last night but we got about 3 inches on top of snow. the city was at a standstill this morning. my snow melt is not working so we have a real mess on our hands. a big storm is heading here for sunday night. at least i am finally getting some winter!

    January 30, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think he is, always πŸ™‚

      The latest predictions has cahnged from 6 inches of snow as most to 4 as most. I wouldn’t be surprised if it didn’t snow at all tonight πŸ™‚

      I really don’t like it when the snow covers the ice, I hate it when I slip on places where I thought it was safe to walk!

      I’m so glad You finally got winter! I think ours just started too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 30, 2015 at 7:07 pm

  4. jaz

    oops…i meant on top of ice.

    January 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

  5. Happy Friday Christer –

    That sounds like a lot of work to get your paint box cleaned, but in the long run it will make your clean-up easier, so it is worth the effort. Are you allowed to take photos of your work area? It would be interesting to see what you do all day, but I guess even if you could take photos it would be impossible to take pictures & do the work at the same time (unless you grow a couple of extra long arms :)). I wonder if the interior walls of the box have some kind of Teflon in the coating that allows it to have some ability to resist paint build-up?

    It sounds like you will have lots of interesting seedlings to plant this year. There are so many annuals that I love to grow, but it is a lttle sad knowing that they only last the one growing season, but their color & beauty are worth it. Do you know why potatoes & tomato seeds are illegal to bring into the country? I imagine it is not wanting diseases they can get to spread to native plants, but it could be something completely different. I don’t have the patience for growing seeds or a place for the grow light I would need since it is so dark here much of the winter either. I just buy my container plants & hanging baskets as small as I can find. Usually the 4 inch early starts are also less expensive & I know that even though they don’t look impressive in the beginning, by May the pots will be overflowing & full of greenery and flowers. So many people buy the fully grown annuals all in full bloom. They pay a lot more for flowers that will not last long.

    It is nice to know that Jesus is doing well & getting bigger all the time. I guess being born out in a freezing cold field did not cause him any problems. But then animals have been giving birth to healthy offspring without man’s interference for a long time, so I thought he would be fine. So you bought youself a new camera accessory. With the cost of shipping, I find myself buying fewer things on Ebay & online. Like you, I often find the S&H cost is as much as the item I want. I just set a limit for myself of what I am willing to pay for the item & shipping combined and if it exceeds that I usually don’t buy it. I buy a lot of fabric for my quilting on ebay or Esty and if you buy more than 2.5 yards the shipping goes way up. It is only cost effective if I need to buy up to 8 yards from that one seller because that can ship for the same as the 2.5 yards. So I wait until I can buy as much as they can get into the flat-rate envelope. Some sellers will only mail 4 yrds. at a time because they worry the package will come open otherwise while other sellers cram 10 yds. in the envelope & tape the whole thing to keep it from exploding during shipping. Everyseller has their own rules. It seems like you are getting some snow this winter. Here the weather continues to be unusually warm & we have not had any winter at all. I have not needed to wear my wonter coat & regret bring my winter clothing out of because most will not be worn this year unless something really changes. The new term they have given winter is Junuary because the days have been around 60 where the normal should be 42 degrees for a daytime high. A couple of weeks ago I saw crocus about to bloom and now the trees are budding. The plants are all about two months ahead of schedule and even the birds think it is spring. I hope we don’t have a sudden freezing spell & all the buds & flowers are killed. With no snow the ski resorts sit closed which makes the ski & snowbaorders cranky. No snow in the mountains & little rain in the valley is not good when we have a drought situation. They say there is going to be a severe water shortage this summer if we do not get substantial rainfall this next month or two. I enjoyed your photos as always, but that 2nd photo of Bertil crossing the bridge is wonderful. The contrast of the dark trees, the snow & Bertil’s fur make it look almost surreal. Glad you were able to buy the last bag of dog food. It sounds like the stores need to order more of that brand since it keeps selling out. Hope you have a good weekend.

    January 30, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      It does make it easier in the long run to keep it clean so it’s worth it. It’s not that hard work to be honest but it takes a while to do it πŸ™‚ Yes I am allowed to take photos but then I need to bring my camera with me πŸ™‚ I don’t paint everything by hand, the machine can take care of most of what I paint.
      I don’t think it’s teflon though. The powder stucks to anything that conducts electricity, like when I rub my hair the paint stucks really good πŸ™‚ This plastic is supposed to be a bad conductor but some paint always stuck and the longer it is between the clean ups with justthe water the better the paint stucks in there.

      I hope I will have a lot πŸ™‚ But most annuals will be sown where they’ll grow. That will make them flower a bit later when I have very little else that does. Some however, like the Calceolaria, the slipper flower will be sown indoors though. I’ve also a few peionies and those won’t show until next year.

      He was lucky to be born a warm winter, some of the calves that were born a few days before him died and this is his mothers first calf and she thought it was a good idea to sleep outdoors when the snow was falling. I annoyed her so much that she finally went indoors with him πŸ™‚

      I was lucky with this tele-photo lens, normally they cost five times more than I paid πŸ™‚ But I think I have everything I need now. I have one normal lens and at least one tele-photo lens for each camera I have now. The package fee has been more or less the same for what ever I’ve bought on Tradera, they all use the same company it seems πŸ™‚

      Yes it looks like winter finally has arrived. The snow that was supposed to come this night will come later today, in two hours or so and it looks like it will go on falling all day and the night too. No risk of an early draught here though, it has been raining so much that the bog is slowly looking like the old lake it once was πŸ™‚ I hope You’ll get enough rain before it is too late!

      I do like that photo too!

      I don’t know why they haven’t ordered enough of that brand but I normally buy it in the village where I work and they always have it there thankfully.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 31, 2015 at 6:43 am

Leave a Reply

