It’s a coffee day.

We walked on the fields to get to the creek this morning. The wild hogs have dug the ground so much it's almost impossible to walk there now.

We walked on the fields to get to the creek this morning. The wild hogs have dug the ground so much it’s almost impossible to walk there now.

They predicted heavy snowfall here yesterday and with the speed the snow is falling ion the ground today we’ll have an inch in two or three years 🙂 It does snow almost the entire time and the flakes are as big as a pinhead or slightly smaller 🙂 🙂 🙂 They also predicted it would start to be cold today but now it might start tomorrow. If it eventually happens the predictions says very cold for at least a week, I’ll believe it when it happens 🙂

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

The day has been rather pleasant so far, slightly above 0C (32f) and no wind. We’ve been walking along the creek today, first down stream and then up-stream, I tried to find any wolf tracks but no luck today. I did see deer and wild hog tracks perhaps one day old. The fox and hare tracks however were fresh this morning. I also found what I thought was foot prints of squirrels but the size of them were too big, perhaps we’re having mutated mega squirrels in the forest 🙂

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

 

I also took a walk by myself to try the Edixa camera with the “new” tele-photo lens. It’s an odd lens because I needed to have the aperture on 5,6 to be able to see through the camera, if I had it on for example 16 the seeker became really dark, that never happens on any other camera. I can’t zoom with it but it is sort of zoomed to maximum by itself, so everything seems to be really close even if I photograph something from a long distance 🙂 I’m not sure how to adjust the camera since it might be a “light eater”. But I’ve done as I have done on my Hasselblad and can only hope for the best now.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

 

This is otherwise a “I have no energy” day or “I need a lot of coffee day” to be able to do anything 🙂 It looks like it is the same with both dogs and cats too, well I won’t give them any coffee 🙂 All are sleeping and not a sound can be heard in the cottage. I can understand that Nova and Sune is tried now since Nova has been walking without a leash most of the day which means those two have been chasing each other all the way 🙂 

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

It’s time for another pot of coffee and perhaps a few hard bread sandwiches. Tonight is Grimm night on channel Six, the third season has been great so far and I guess it will continue that way. I’ll also start with the seeds I bought by putting them in water for a day ort two before I sow them and put them outside and forget about them 🙂

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope it doesn’t snow so much that you can’t get anywhere. With the melting and warm temps we had last week, we lost alot of snow. I can see patches of sleeping grass in my yard. But they did predict cold starting today and they are right. The temp is -21 but the wind makes it feel like -38. Disgusting. And I do have to go out today – I forgot I have to pick up my Dad from the airport. He’s coming back from a trip to Hawaii. 🙂 I wish I was going to Hawaii, not coming home! Great pictures today! My favorite is the last one! 🙂 Morning has just started here, so coffee is on the agenda here as well. I notice the light getting stronger in the morning now, which is so nice as well. I still like it better when it gets lighter in the evening, I don’t get so tired then! 🙂 Have a good Saturday!

    January 31, 2015 at 3:14 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The flakes are slightly bigger now but I doubt we’ll get especially much.

      I can see lots of grass still because the much of the snow we did get melted away again. They predict slightly colder tomorrow and after that it will drop to -13 as coldest during the week.

      I would have loved going to a warmer climate and stay there too 🙂 Well I can’t complain much about this winter since it has been so warm.

      I do like that old root cellar, too bad it isn’t mine 🙂

      I can notice that it is getting lighter in the evening but not in the morning yet. I think it will be almost daylight when I come home at the end of next week 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 31, 2015 at 4:12 pm

  2. jaz

    i would love to have an old root cellar like that too. i wonder if anyone uses it. we have a big storm heading our way. i sure hope it doesn’t miss us. we could get lots of snow. i just don’t want anymore ice.

    January 31, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      No one use that root cellar any more. I had a great one where I lived before and I miss it.

      I hope the storm doesn’t miss You! I’m glad if we don’t get any here though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 31, 2015 at 7:29 pm

  3. Ja du, vad gör man en sån här trist och gråmulen dag när man varken dricker kaffe, te eller choklad!? Själv bestämde jag mig för att testa min egengjorda slånbärslikör som vi inte drack av i julas (vi satt ju ensamma på julafton och på juldagen var det inte läge) – och gissa om den var god. Ska nog ta ett glas nu förresten!
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    January 31, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    • Hejsan Susuie!

      Jag har aldrig testat någon likör men jag gillar inte smaken av sprit, föredrar öl istället. Gillar inte vin heller om jag skall vara ärlig. Men slånbärssaft är ju bland det bästa man kan dricka i saftväg 🙂

      Kul att du gillade den 🙂 Pimpla inte i dig hela flaskan nu 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 7:16 am

  4. Christer,
    The creek isn’t frozen over so it must have been a bit warmer than freezing. Here the world is freezing as it is so cold. The new snow didn’t help nor will the storm due starting Sunday night. I am so tired of snow even though we haven’t had much. It is just that it all came at once.

    I was freezing when I went out today because of the wind. You know the scene in Close Encounters when Richard Dreyfus is at the red light and all the metal signs begin to wave back and forth and they make a metal noise. Well, that’s what the signs outside the store sounded like. It was like being in scifi movie.

    Have a great evening.

    February 1, 2015 at 2:37 am

    • Hi Kat!

      The creek need rather cold weather to freeze because the water rund fast at the moment. But it was around 32, this morning is a bit colder and weäve gotten more snow now, they say it will continue to snow until tomorrow evening. Even I have to admit that it looks pretty out there right now 🙂

      That is a good scene and my imagination would spin up in over drive if I had seen something similar 🙂 🙂 🙂 A drive always get much funnier when that happens 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 7:23 am

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I read this earlier in the day and meant to comment but got distracted by the idea of hard bread sandwiches and went off to make some. Then I got further distracted by other things.

    Anyway, the point of view on that stone wall makes it seem like someone has painted a big X right across the photo. 🙂

    Here it is wicked cold now and going to get colder. The wind is very strong. The local police closed part of the main road in town because the wind was blowing across the lake so hard it was picking up snow and causing blizzard conditions just on that little bit of road. Someone drove off the road because of low visibility.
    We are in line for another big nasty snow storm Sunday night into Tuesday. 47 days until spring. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    February 1, 2015 at 2:44 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      Hard bread has that effect on people 🙂 I went fetched me some as sooin as I read hard bread here in Your comment 🙂

      It does but can only bee seen properly when the grass has dies and frost/ light snow covers the top of the stones 🙂

      Just cold here this morning and it is snowing for real now 🙂 Still perhaps only an inch but it willk continue to snow until tomorrow evening they say. Even I have to admit that it looks pretty outside now 🙂 No wind at all 🙂

      I really dislike it whan the wind blows the already laying snow away so it is like driving in a bizzard! It’s hard enough to drive on slippery roads as it is without the problem of not seeing anything 🙂
      It will stay fairly calm here now when the temperature is dropping, it usually calms down when that happens. That’s the only thing I really like about “real” winter 🙂
      Here only god knows when spring comes 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 7:31 am

  6. Well..a different story in Southern California. Lots of gorgeous clouds the past couple of days..some light rain..but not even a sweater needed today. Just a nice old worn denim shirt was enough. Lovely. Not many yard sales but hit one that was GREAT. Big fluffy waffles for breakfast..with sausage and eggs.. We can even have coffee on the front porch in the mornings…and others are freezing.
    I saw that bridge across the creek in one of your pictures and hoped you didn’t try to walk on it. I remember the time you fell in. Christer, you live in a world that reminds me of Fairy Tales of Trolls and frightening things.. dark, mysterious and interesting. Now even wolves are afoot. 🙂 LOVE it!

    February 1, 2015 at 6:44 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I do envy You for that weather! It has been snowing all night here, still only an inch of it but it will continue to snow until tomorrow evening. It will get colder from now on too but that I don’t mind so much since it also means the wind will calm down.

      Waffles for breakfast (or pancakes) shows the huge difference in breakfast culture between America and Sweden 🙂 🙂 🙂 If we have waffles or pancakes (which is almost unheard of) as breakfast we never have anything but jam and/ or whipped cream on them 🙂 🙂 🙂 We can have pancakes with pork as dinner though but waffles are still almost only seen as a kind of dessert. I wouldn’t mind a few waffles as breakfast today though, with the persimmon jam I made 🙂 I don’t like whipped cream especially much though so I would skip that 🙂

      All bridges with a handrail are slippery free now days, they have put nets on them 🙂 The old ones I still avoid though 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I’m pretty sure I saw a few trolls yesterday but no signs of wolves 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 7:38 am

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Christer, we have plenty of snow in Nashua, NH with the 33 inches received last Tuesday and today, Feb 2, Groundhog Day, it is snowing again with up to another 12 inches (or more) expected before it ends late tonight. But, we are indoors with a supply od DVD movies from the local library and leftover lasagna for dinner. It was interesting to read your comments about waffles for breakfast (Mona’s did sound good). We will have pancakes and bacon on this snowy day!

    February 2, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I think we might have 6-8 inches as most here and that’s quite enough for me 🙂
      So today is Groundhog day! Well the risk of him seeing hos shadow must be slim if it still snows 🙂

      Lots with dvd’s and lasagna, could it be any better?

      It is fun to learn how different we use the same food 🙂 Waffles is only seen as dessert here, I’ve never heard anyone here have it with anything else than whipped cream and jam 🙂 Much the same with pancakes even if we do have it with pork in it. We even have pancake cakes for birthdays here :-)They are sooo delicious 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 2, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

