It looks like winter finally arrived.

The view from my kitchen window this morning.

The view from my kitchen window this morning.

The snow flakes did become a bit bigger during the night than they were yesterday, so now we have prehaps 4 inches of new snow. It’s hard to tell because we have a weak but persistent wind that manages to blow around the snow. It isn’t especially cold but the temperature is dropping slowly now, I guess we’ll keep this snow for some time now.

 

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

 

It is quite nice outside though, even if there’s snow everywhere. We took our first walk in the village but the wind was a bit annoying even if it wasn’t especially hard. We were out walking before they started plowing the road and were actually the first ones doing that, not a single track could be seen in the snow. I did see a few hare, fox and deer tracks though but in the pastures.

 

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

 

I’ve also been out on two walks on my own so I could take a few photos with both the Hasselblad camera and the Edixa. The dogs didn’t want to go outside again strangely enough. After we had been to the bog I wanted to continue down to the creek but they insisted on walking home again, so they didn’t mind me walking away on my own. There’s a first for everything I guess 🙂 They didn’t mind running around in the garden though so they’ve been doing that a lot today.

 

DSC_0083

DSC_0084

Long time since this dog house was used.

Long time since this dog house was used.

 

I’ll start making my dinner for the week as soon as the dogs have gotten their dinner for today. I’m not sure what I want to eat at work next week, perhaps I’ll have lamb this time. I’ll have lots of fried vegetables though, that’s the only thing I’m sure of at the moment 🙂 I think I’ll bring out my old wok today. I actually bought it when I watch what they call an infomercial, or tv shop as we call it. This one isn’t made for an electric stove but for open fire, gas stove or a fire heated stove as I have. I tried it on an electric stove but it didn’t work especially well since it has a round bottom, it took for ever to heat it up properly and the rest of the hot-plate was burning red 🙂

 

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

DSC_0090

 

It is time to have something to eat and I have some rice porridge waiting on the stove right now.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0103

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy February! Winter finally found your corner of the world….I hope it doesn’t last and that the temperatures get better. We are (once again) in a deep freeze. -36 with the wind currently. I am not going out until later but the cold is supposed to stay. Which is a real shame. I am going to make blueberry pancakes for breakfast this morning once everyone in the house wakes up. So far its just me wide awake and one cat! 🙂 I may even make a carrot and sweet potato soup for dinner, but will have to poll the family on that one. I love the pictures today – the snow makes everything look so clean and white! Good luck with the wok cooking. Have a great Sunday!

    February 1, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m not sure I can find any happy in February 🙂 🙂 🙂 well it is at least short 🙂

      We had hoped we would manage to go through this winter withoiut actually getting any winter 🙂 But here it is and I better take it with a smile since I can’t do anything about it anyway 🙂 We won’t get those temperatures though, atthe moment it looks like -11 is the coldest we’ll get for the coming ten days.

      I must admit that I’m not a big fan of sweet potato but I wouldn’t mind some ordinary potato soup, this is truly soup weather. I think I might make some pancakes next week, too long since I had that the last time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 3:58 pm

  2. jaz

    it looks like our big storm might give us nothing more than rain and ice. i am so disappointed! all winter these fronts come through and we seem to be right on the line where snow meets rain and we get ice. haha…now you know how to make a tutu!!!

    February 1, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hope that You at least don’t get ice and rain! Not a good thing when that falls on the snow.
      The Norwegian weather site, which is the one I trust the most, says we’ll get cold weather until Friday and then it’ll turn again. I’m hoping for an early spring this year 🙂

      Yes now I know just in case I need one 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 4:55 pm

  3. I’m Glad that w don’t get snow here. Pretty in the pictures, but a mess when it melts!

    Stay warm!

    February 1, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      So right!
      But it looks like we’ll have this for a week and then they say it will turn towards warmer again. I just wish the weasther could decide what it wants to do 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 4:56 pm

  4. we had a wok like that, we also used it on our wood cook stove, with the round thingy taken out, it worked great but not on the electric at all, you’re right about that. Its about time you got winter, lol,

    Christer if you ever make a tu tu would you please take photos of it for us, lol,

    its minus 35 Celsius today, with more snow, we have certainly angered the snow gods in this part of Canada! It just won’t stop!

    February 1, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes I take away that one too and the wok fits perfect, sometimes it gets a bit too hot though 🙂

      I wouldn’t have complained if winter had stayed away until next time it’s time for winter or perhaps never to return at all 🙂

      Yes I promise You that if I ever make a tutu I will show it here 🙂 🙂 🙂

      – here at the moment, I don’t need it colder 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 5:19 pm

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love it when the snow is just right and it outlines all the edges of things. The roof on that barn in the second photo has lovely texture between the snow and the shingles.

    It’s blindingly sunny here today but it’s cold again. The wind is gone so it’s not so bad as yesterday. I took Rocky and Piki Dog to day care. There’s no place to really walk safely around here because of the snow cover. They’ve been cooped up since last weekend with not a lot of real exercise. I figured they could play off some energy so they’ll be ready for the next period of being snowbound. I’m in the 8″ to 12″ zone for this new storm. I hope it blows out to sea and we get nothing.

    While checking out the snow load on my roofs, I noticed that ice has pulled one end of the gutter away from the house. Wonderful. Well, it can’t be fixed until the spring so no point in worrying about it.

    I missed the tutu lesson. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    February 1, 2015 at 5:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do too but I think the owners of that house would be very upset if they knew You called their rather pretty house for a barn 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I would love sunshine even if it meant it being very cold 🙂

      Here it’s safe to walk as long as they hav-en’t done anything to the road, they just remove the snow so the ice beneath shows instead. It’s great to be able to leave them at day care like that! 8-12 is a lot!! I do hope You’ll get lucky with it blowing out to sea instead! I’ll hold my thumbs for good luck!

      No poit in worrying but I would stare annoyed at it every time I went outside 🙂 I hate when I see things like that but can’t do anything about it until spring arrives 🙂

      It was Joyce who showed when she made a tutu for a little girl 🙂 Now I know how to do one if I ever would need to 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  6. Var ute nyss med Santos och då var det fortfarande barmark – till min stora glädje! 🙂 Och inte var det halt alls – till min ännu större glädje!! 🙂 🙂
    Jag hatar att halka. Är livrädd för att ramla omkull. Visserligen ramlar jag mjukt och hitintills har jag aldrig brutit något, men stukat mig har jag gjort. Inte skönt….. 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    February 1, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Så snön missade er helt! Bara till att gratulera 🙂

      Här var det ju is på vägen innan snön kom, så det var nästan trevligt när snön kom och gjorde vägen mindre hal, sedan skrapade de vägen och fick fram isen igen 🙂 🙂 Jag får ju inte trilla på grund av höfterna, men jag gör det titt som tätt och än hänger de ihop 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 1, 2015 at 8:23 pm

  7. Hi Christer –

    I just finished catching-up on this weekend’s posts. It looks like real winter has a firm grasp on you now. I was surprised you said it was fine outside for walking. I wonder why the dogs didn’t want to take an extended walk with you? Maybe they just prefer the warmth of the indoors after walking in the snow for a while. I felt sorry for Hector when I read about his mysterious fright the other day. Do you think he may have had a bad dream that he had a hard time waking-up from. Just a thought since you couldn’t find any signs of what scared him so badly. Some dogs seem to have very intense dreams where they are being chased. My sister had a retriver that would move his legs as though he was running while asleep & a few times he would leap up & crash into the walls. Even though his eyes were open, I think he was still asleep & dreaming. It is not uncommon for dogs to have night terrors. Hopefully it won’t happen again. I have wanted to start cooking some Chinese food with a wok, but I have an electric stove & I didn’t think a traditional wok would work well without a gas flame so I haven’t bothered to get one. Maybe there is some kind of flat bottomed wok, but I doubt electric heat can be controlled the way you can control a gas stove or your wood stove. I tried a new soup recipe this weekend that turned out well. There is an Italian restaurant that makes a delicious soup called Zuppa Tuscona. There are websites that give copycat recipes for many of the chain restaurants most popular foods so you can make them at home usually for a lot less calories too. This soup has crumbled hot Italian sausage, diced onion, chicken stock, slices of potato, cream & choppen kale. I added some smoked paprika & minced garlic for a little added flavor. It was nice & spicy. Enough to make my nose run, but not overpowering. Next time I may use half hot sausage & half mild to take the heat down a notch.

    This was a very difficult weekend for me as Toby had to be put down on Saturday evening. Her body began shutting down earlier in the week & it was clear to me that she was suffering when she could not eat anymore. She went downhill very fast & lost so much weight she felt like a bird when I picked her up. Fortunately, I had made arrangements in advance with a group of woman vet’s called Compassionate Care to come to the house to do the euthenasia when I needed them. Euthanasia is the only service they provide & As awful as it was to end Toby’s life I was relieved that her suffering had been short. Having the vet come to the house was much less stressful for her than having to take her to the emergency vet on a Saturday evening . Toby turned 25 last month and she was tough until the end. She had to have a 2nd injection of sedative because she fought to stay conscious. I was able to have her in my lap as she slowly went to sleep. The vet was wonderful & very gentle with her. Her body was taken to an animal cremation service for private cremation. I am so grateful for every minute of companionship we shared. Yesterday, for a split second, I thought I saw Toby walking down the hall & when I was in the kitchen this morning I swear I felt her rub up against my leg like she always did while she waited for me to serve breakfast. I guess my mind was playing tricks on me, but for a moment I felt she was there with me & maybe she just wanted me to know she was OK now. What I do know for sure is that my home that was filled with the lives of 4 crazy sweet cats just a few years ago is strangely lonely & quiet tonight. It will take some time to adjust to that stillness.

    February 3, 2015 at 1:03 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I’m so sorry about Toby! It’s the toughest decision to take even when we know it is the right one. 25 years is a long time! I still see my old dogs and even if it is 14 years since my first went I still see her walking around here 🙂 Sometimes I forget and just shout out loud that it is time to come in 🙂 My hope is that they stay around and greet us when it is our time to go.

      That is a great service those vets do! I wish we had something similar here but it’s a great progress that the farmers and hunters around here don’t shoot their dogs or cats when it is time, now days they too go to the vet to do it. I’m not sure if I can get the vet to come to my home though but I know they do it in all bigger cities and twons.

      Hector usually sleep very calm, otherwise that has been on my mind too. His brother on the other hand seems to be running and having fun the entire time he sleeps 🙂 Nova can have bad nightmares but that’s not strange since she was abused badly her first year and Sune also seems to have fun when he dreams 🙂 At the moment I am leanbing towards a bad dream though.

      There are flat bottomed woks and they do work great on an electric stove but it takes a whiule when adjusting the temperature. But then again a wook is meant to work on the highest temperature so that’s no big problem really 🙂

      That soup sounds delicious but I would probably go the other way and make it even hotter 🙂

      Have a good day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

