Very strange!

DSC_0067

Yesterday evening something very strange happened, I sat here in the kitchen watching something on my laptop when  Hector suddenly came running down from the bedroom upstairs. He was so afraid his entire body shivered and he just couldn’t stop to pee. I thought it best to let him out to the garden to finish what he had started and then he refused to go inside again.

 

DSC_0079

DSC_0080

DSC_0082

 

It took me some time to make him come in and he ran straight in to the living room and there he intended to stay. So I grabbed the mop, to dry up what he had sprinkled on his way down and walked upstairs. There was nothing there! I can’t for my life guess what it was that scared him so much? I went down and after a long while he followed me upstairs again but jumped when I was going to open the door to the closet I have up there. Nothing there either! well some mouse poops but nothing else.

 

DSC_0095

DSC_0096

DSC_0098

 

So we all walked downstairs again and I think it took an hour and then he just walked up like nothing ever had happened 🙂 🙂 🙂 I had followed him outside when I let him out to see if I could find anything there that might have scared him. I looked at the roof if anything had fallen down there or hit it, what I don’t know because what would fall from the sky? a meteor? 🙂 I also checked the ground beneath the bedroom window but no signs of anything there either (snow is fantastic in that way, nothing can touch it without leaving a mark) like if a bird had flown into the window. But nothing could be seen there either.

 

DSC_0100

DSC_0101

DSC_0102

 

He just walked upstairs so what ever it was doesn’t bother him any more. It could of course have been thunder but I think I should have heard anything too and no one was shooting, it was just too dark for hunting. I soo wonder what it might have been 🙂 Otherwise nothing special has happened here. We now have somewhere between 6-8 inches with snow and the nights are getting a bit cold now, -6C (21,2F) and tonight will get colder they say. I’ve started the radiator in the dog house too, not too warm because the old boys would refuse to go inside then. They usually stay outside even if the temperature drops to -30C (-22F) 🙂

 

DSC_0109

DSC_0110

DSC_0112

 

It is time for a cup with hot cocoa and a sandwich or two.

Have a great day!

20 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I remember one time when I heard my old dog Tegan making a major barking racket downstairs. It went on for quite a while so I went down to investigate. She was running around the downstairs and barking in a total panic and I could not get her to stop. I asked my mother what had happened and she said “There was a loud explosion and the dog started barking.”
    Now, my mother was mostly deaf and Tegan was totally deaf. I was the only living thing in the house that could hear and I hadn’t heard any loud explosion. Not even a soft explosion. I have no idea what the two hard of hearing entities actually heard.
    In any case, I could not get Tegan to calm down so we had to take her to the vet. I’ve been around animals in all kinds of distress and I’m pretty calm but this was different. Nothing was helping her and she was terrified. The vet was all chatty and blithely commenting that something had certainly frightened her. Finally I snapped at him, “Make it stop before she codes.” They had to keep her overnight while they gave her some kind of tranquilizers to calm her down.

    It is snowing heavily here. It’s supposed to continue throughout the day and into the evening. It’s also Ground Hog Day. They say Punxatawny Phil, the Official Ground Hog, saw his shadow so there will be 6 more weeks of winter. I don’t know how the heck he saw his shadow when there is no sun out to cast one. Oh, wait, Punxatawny Phil is normally dragged from his cozy burrow in the wee hours of the morning and subjected to a million suns worth of stage lighting while they take his picture and drunkenly celebrate Ground Hog Day. No wonder he sees his shadow. 🙂

    I guess I should try to blow some snow away to make room for more snow.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 2, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thst was even stranger! I was thinking of some kind of vibrations from the ground continuing inside the cottage but none of us except Hector noticed anything 🙂 I did actually hear as strange sort of bang in one of the walls upstairs, the wall is very thin and isn’t any bearing wall but it sounded like something hit it hard but I couldn’t see anything that might have 🙂 So my guess at the moment is that iot was something similar that happened yesterday. But to be honest, Hector didn’t react to the sound so I guess that isn’t it 🙂 🙂 I do wonder what iot was Your mother and Tegan heard?

      We have those tiny flakes here and those I don’t mind, they never build up anything, I hope it’s the kind that will fall these comming 24 hours 🙂

      I was thinking something like that when I heard the poor rodent had seen its shadow but no sun was there to help giving one 🙂 Lots of lights around so I guess that no matter where it looked there would most likely be a shadow it could see 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes give space for more snow 🙂 I hope You don’t get much of it though!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 2, 2015 at 9:12 pm

      • Caryn

        I heard on the news this evening that Punxatawny Phil bit the mayor’s ear. The video was funny. 😀 😀 😀
        I’d do more than bite, if someone dragged me out of my warm den at zero dark thirty on a wet winter morning just so I could see my shadow. There’d be some mighty blue air in my vicinity as well. 🙂

        Last count was 14 inches. More coming on Thursday.

        February 3, 2015 at 7:36 am

      • He he he I would have too 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I think we have around 8 inches now.

        February 3, 2015 at 6:51 pm

  2. Ghost.

    February 2, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Well, they didn’t react much to the one I had in my garden center, a man dressed in black with a black hat, so I don’t think so.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:18 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    Sounds like a spooky spirit from the Bog.

    February 2, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    • Hi Robin!
      But why on earth would it be in my bedroom 🙂 God knows there are strange things out there so I hope they at least stay out of my cottage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:19 pm

  4. Christer,
    Cats are strange. I swear they see things hidden from us. My cats sometimes run through the house as if they are being chased. Their fur is up straight as if they are afraid. A few minutes later they go to sleep: one is on the chair and the other on the couch.

    We are both suffering from the arrival of winter. It was really late in coming this year, but it packs a wallop.

    The woods look so desolate covered in snow.

    Have a wonderful day tomorrow.

    February 3, 2015 at 2:56 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I wouldn’t have been the least surprised if it was any of the cats, they are like they are 🙂 🙂 🙂 but this is very unusual for Hector, there must have been something scaring him but so far I can’t find out what it might have been. I’m leaning towards a bad dream even if I don’t think he ever has had one in his entire life.

      Yes suffering is the right word! But it’s much worse further north than here, some have over a yard of snow now 🙂

      It was desolate, no one had walked there before us so the snow was so smoth looking.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:37 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Chiming in rather late tonight, the day just flew by….first time I have gotten to sit down this evening. I wonder if Hector had a bad dream? Poor boy, nothing worse than being scared and not being able to tell you why! 🙂 I hope he settled down okay for the night. Such lovely pictures today! I love cloudy days waaaay better than sunny – any time of year but especially in the winter. If we have cloud, the weather is usually warmer. Its a sunny week and our temps are somewhat decent. Really cold at night, but bearable during the day. I made a cinnamon apple buttermilk cake tonight as I had apples to use up. It made the house smell delicious! And I guess its good as almost half a 9 x 13 pan is gone! I am sure you are in the middle of some good sleep right now, since its going on 9:00 p.m. here! You might even be getting up for the day! Have a great Tuesday!

    February 3, 2015 at 4:00 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m leaning towards a bad dream even if I don’t think he has had one in his entire life. But it only took an hour and then he walked up to my bed again 🙂

      I’m the opposite, I love sun 🙂 But I can gladely take a few foggy days when I don’t have to drive in it 🙂 But You are right, in winter sunny days are much colder and clear nights are the worst because there’s nothing to keep the warm air from leaving the ground. So I want cloudy nights and sunny days in winter 🙂

      That cake does sound delicous 🙂 I haven’t made any cakes or pies in a long time now, I made a few during my christmas vacation though 🙂

      I had one hour left to sleep when You wrote here 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:41 pm

  6. I no longer have to guess what happened to Mele those few years ago. I’ve photographed them..over and over. She has finally began coming back into our COLD bedroom and sleeping at the foot of the bed..and watches whatever it is with great interest. I’ve watched her get slowing used to whatever it is. I’ve taken flash photo’s and captured it moving. My Granddaughter actually has film of many of them zooming around her room at such a speed that there is only a streak. I can see the “streaks” with without any camera, flash or anything. Sometimes they show up white and sometimes dark..sort of archs. Some are HUGE and others much smaller. We can quickly touch the screen of the laptop and stop the film and look at them. They are just disks that are rather translucent. Very strange and if they are here…and my granddaughter and daughter in law (who works for the police department) has filmed them..WHY isn’t more being said about these …things. I used to be scared to death..and slept with our bedroom lamp on for a long time..but no one has been hurt…there are other things that have happened around here and continue to happen but I have noticed..that the less I take photo’s AND talk about them..the less the disturbance. Mele still gets spooked from time to time and tries to crawl up under my arm..but calms after a bit. So…and this is just a guess…I think that whatever spooks her from time to time now is that something NEW comes into the room. I still don’t like to be alone here at night…but so far, so good. Poor Mele, at first ran about like crazy trying to find a place t hide. There is much more to the story…but…it’s gone on for six years now…and it comes and goes. There is nothing that can be done and no one has been injured…just terrified…and stressed..and I have been both! 🙂 Dogs can see and hear and sense many things we cannot.

    February 3, 2015 at 7:02 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m glad Mele has gotten used to it now! I don’t think it was anything similar here though, mostly because Hector went upstairs after an hour again and still doesn’t seem to be bothered by what ever happened.

      I do wonder what it is that’s flying around in Your home? At least it doesn’t want any harm, that You would have noticed by now. I have been thinking a lot of it but can’t figure out what it might be. It seems to like attention though since You say it shows less if You stop talking about it and photograph it. There are so many things we still don’t know about this world and beyond and what You have in Your home is really interesting even if it is scary. Perhaps it’s time to bring in a medium? I would have brought in one to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:50 pm

  7. För många år sen när vi hade vår tax Brasse så hände två konstiga saker – den ena är oförklarlig – men den andra visade sig till slut ha en mycket förklarlig orsak. 🙂
    En natt när vi låg och sov djupt, Brasse som då var 15 år (han blev 18) låg bredvid mig och sov i sängen.Så vaknade jag av att han gnyende vräkte sig ur sängen. Väl på golvet så for han hysteriskt darrande runt mellan väggarna, sprang ut i hallen och vidare in i matrummet där han gömde sig under bordet. Han var totalt skräckslagen och vägrade att komma fram. 😦
    När vi försökte få tag på honom så sprang han ut i vardagsrummet och så där höll det på. Han var i totalchock…..Vi blev mer och mer rädda för att han fått någon typ av anfall, eller att han skulle få ett hjärtstopp när som helst. Till saken hör att han alltid kom fram till en för hjälp när det var något fel, han skulle normalt inte ha hållit sig undan så där! 😦 😦
    När det hela hållit på en kvart så ringde jag veterinärjouren och undrade vad jag skulle göra. Ja, vi kan ju skicka djurambulansen, fick vi till svar. Men vi var då tvungna att fånga in honom först! Och det var ju inte att tänka på!! 😦 😦 😦
    Efter en halvtimme hade han lugnat ner sig så pass att vi liggandes på golvet fick klappa honom. Och till slut så fick vi äntligen lyfta honom och sätta honom i knäet. 🙂
    Efter ett tag hade han hämtat sig hyfsat och vi bar in honom i sängarna och la honom mellan våra huvudkuddar. Han och vi somnade helt utmattade och när vi sen vaknade på morgonen så kunde jag försiktigt börja känna på honom för försöka se om det var något kroppsligt fel. Men han reagerade inte för något – tills jag kom till ena framtassen! Hans ena sporre var alldeles blodig och det visade sig att den satt helt löst! 😦 😦 😦
    Tydligen hade han fastnat i något i sängen under sömnen på natten och slitit sönder den, så det var bara att gasa iväg till veterinären som fick fixa till det hela. Till saken hör att han – som alla andra av våra hundar – hatade att få klorna klippta och då vakna av att det förmodligen gjorde fruktansvärt ont och inte veta vad som hänt, måste har varit en chock. Alltså hade det hela en naturligt förklaring….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Den andra – helt oförklarliga – händelsen kan vi ta en annan gång!

    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 3, 2015 at 10:03 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Stackars Brasse!
      Tror jag att det var panik om det plötsligt gör jätteont där samtidigt som han hatade att få klorna klippta 🙂 Men att det skall ta sådan tid att lugna ned dem, Hector var skräckslagen men efter en timme gick han upp utan att bry sig det minsta 🙂

      Inga problem efter det heller så även om han aldrig verkar ha haft mardrömmar innan så lutar jag mig mot att det nog var något sådant som hände.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 6:55 pm

  8. Christer – to go along with the strangeness, I see a touch of red in the tree trunk just to the right center of the 3rd photo from the end. Am I seeing theings? What might that red be?

    My cat, Lightning, suddeenly acted like he was dying – would not eat, walked only a few steps as if in pain, as would not come out of the enclosed atrium where his litter box and food are. He always sleeps on my legs at night, and jumps into my lap as soon as i sit down anywhere except the breakfast table, but for 2 days I expected to see him just pass away. Now today, he seems fine. He’s about 14 years old (don’t know for sure since he was a rescue), so he’s a bit creaky, but I have no explanation for the last week. Strange things all over the world, I guess…..

    February 3, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    • Hi Texas Ann!

      No You are not seeing things 🙂 It took a while till I found it 🙂 It’s a red plastic ribbon that shows what way a hunter must go to reach a hunting tower.

      That is a strange behaviour and my cats always blame me for anything happening to them even if I’m not close 🙂 But some animals stays away if they feel sick, my first dog was like that and they don’t go back to normal until they feel good again. Bertil, the evil cat is just the opposite, he’s only kind and comes close when he is sick 🙂
      I’m glad Lightning is back to normal again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 7:00 pm

  9. As we do not have any pets, it would be difficult to venture a guess as to what was so upsetting to Hector. Glad he is feeling safer now. The snow photos do look so peaceful and lovely and the monochromatic colors are nice.

    February 5, 2015 at 2:02 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I still have no idea what it was that scared him so much but he runs up like always now so I guess he has forgotten it now.

      I could just as well have just taken those photos in black and white 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 5, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

