It’s time to bring out the pots.

This was an unusual sight , sunshine last weekend.

This was an unusual sight , sunshine last weekend.

I’m late so this will be a short one. I have seeds to sown that has been soaking in water for a few days and now need to get sown in to pots. Today I’ll sow peonies. I usually manages to get any seed growing but in my entire life I’ve never managed to get a peony plant from seeds.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0033

DSC_0038

 

Well, I actually managed to bring up one tine plant but got so surprised when I saw it I accidentally removed it with the weeds that grew in the pot too 🙂 tomorrow I’ll sow some Rosa glauca seeds, my favorite wild rose and the seeds comes from my own bush growing outside my entrance. Those rose hips are loved by the birds so I barely managed to get any before they had eaten them all 🙂

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

 

We now have 8 inches of snow on the ground and it is over for this time, now it’ll be cold instead. But already on this weekend we’ll have a day or two when it all starts to melt again, just to be followed by a few cold days again, it might even rain even if it will be way below 0C (32F), I don’t look forward to that!

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

DSC_0053

 

It is time to bring out the pots!

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Robin Larkspar

    Good luck with this year’s peonies!! There is nothing more beautiful in winter than snow on pine trees.

    February 3, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Thank You!
      We’ll know in two years if I was successful 🙂 This first summer they’ll only grow roots.

      Piune trees or spruces, it is very beautiful! I’ve noticed I take plenty of photos showing just that 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 9:05 pm

  2. jaz

    have fun sowing those seeds. spring will be here before we know it!

    February 3, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Unfortunately it will take two years until I know if I was successful this time 🙂 The first summer it only grows roots.
      It feels like spring is very far away at the moment, I sure hope we’ll get an early one this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 9:06 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like fun, sowing seeds. Peonies are one of my most favorites! Your weather sounds like what we just had…maybe its slowly making its way towards you! 🙂 Have a good evening!

    February 3, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like it a lot and it takes two years until I know if I was successful this time. They only grow roots this first summer. I have a few peonies two tree peonies and a few “normal” ones and they are unfortunately filled ones and I like the ones with less petals. Well I like all of them to be honest 🙂

      I don’t trust the predictions but according to them we’ll have cold nights but soem days will be warmer like they’ll be this weekend.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 3, 2015 at 9:09 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I think we got another 14 inches. I removed it from the absolute minimum of places and left the rest. I simply refuse to shovel or snowblow anymore. Maybe I will do some tomorrow since more is coming on Thursday. Bah.

    There was an article in my paper this morning about starting vegetable seeds. While I was reading it I wanted to plant some seeds. Hah. The ground will probably not be visible until late May at the rate we’re going. 🙂 I need something newly green in here, though. The world is much too white right now.

    Here’s to success with the peony seeds. I have only done them from root divisions and they have all been successful.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 3, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      That is a lot!
      I never shovel more than a minimum here 🙂 I don’t have that much shovel to be honest, or yards from my entrance door to the gate and where the car stands 🙂 I think it will stop snowing here for a while now.

      Yes this is a good time to do so IF one can have it indoors until spring arrives 🙂 Otherwise I think it is quite useless 🙂 Annuals are perfect to sow just before the snow falls, then they’ll start germninate exactly when they should later on in spring. Not especially many years ago we had snow here until late May, that is just awful!

      I hope that at least a few seeds from each will germinate and! survive my treatment 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 4, 2015 at 6:27 pm

      • Caryn

        I remember getting a blizzard in the middle of May. The trees had all leafed out and the weight of the snow on the leafy branches brought down a lot of trees.
        It seems we got 40.5 inches of snow in one week. Apparently it was the most snow in a single week in this area since the dawn of time. Well, since the dawn of keeping records about how much snow fell. 🙂 More is coming tonight but it won’t be as bad as they first thought. That means it will probably be worse. 🙂

        February 4, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      • We had snowfall the day I graduated June sixth 🙂 It lasted for ten minutes and after that summer returned 🙂

        40,5! They got something like that way up north here and that was a record for them and more is falling there at the moment. I’m so glad I live rather south in this country 🙂

        Yes they are always wrong so prepare for the worst 🙂 🙂

        February 4, 2015 at 9:02 pm

  5. Här vrålsnöar det för närvarande. Stora tunga snöflingor och det ligger väl kanske 1 dm på marken och träden. Vackert, men trist! Jag hade precis fått se snödroppar och vintergäck inne i Klintehamn på bild (det är nog lite varmare där bland byggnaderna) och såg fram mot en tidig vår och så blir det vinter. 😦 😦 Nej, inte kul alls…..även om det är ljust och fint och Santos inte blir så skitig när man går ut! Och så ska vi till Visby idag och det är nog lite moddigt på vägarna!! 😦 😦 😦
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 4, 2015 at 11:35 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det har småsnöat här hela dagen men det blev nog bara en centimeter till. Det märks knappast på de två decimeterna vi redan har 🙂

      Ingen idé att hoppas på en tidig vår, man blir bara besviken. Jo det är faktiskt mycket varmare inne i en stad kan skilja flera grader.

      Visst är det gott att ta en en ren hund 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 4, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

