I shouldn’t be surprised.

DSC_0119

I could see the last shivering moments of daylight when I came home after work today, soon it will be light enough to take photos when walking with the dogs again 🙂 We still have a very high humidity here (around 96%) even if the temperatures are way below 0C (32F), usually the humidity sinks when it gets colder and it was foggy on my way home after work, not that common when it is this cold either.

 

DSC_0106

DSC_0107

DSC_0108

 

Two hares scared the living daylight out of me on my way home. I could see the first one rather early but got really surprised when I realised it ran towards my car and it refused to jump of the road. So I hit the brakes and turned left (I was alone on the road and drove slowly) and to my big surprise the hare jumped in the same direction! I barely missed it. I think I drove 100 meters (much the same in yards) when another jumped up on my left side and ran out in front of my car! I barely missed that one too.

 

DSC_0105

DSC_0113

DSC_0114

 

Later on there was this deer standing on the road too but it had the courtesy to jump off the road in to the forest when I came close. Well at least I now know that my heart is ok 🙂 🙂 It would surely have stopped if it had been in a bad condition 🙂 I shouldn’t be surprised really because it is when it almost is dark when the animals starts to move around again. It’s a good thing the roads are so slippery that we all drive rather slow so we are able to see them before it is too late.

 

DSC_0115

DSC_0116

DSC_0117

 

It’s time to start soaking more seeds that will be sown this coming weekend. I have a species of quince that I keep in water with detergent in the fridge at the moment. I’ll keep on changing that water and detergent several times every day for ten days before I sow those seeds and put the pots outside. They mustn’t get warm because if they do they’ll die. It can be really interesting sowing seeds 🙂 I’ll also have one pot in which I’ll sow the seeds, then I’ll put lots of ashes over the soil and after that I’ll pour boiling water over it all, I hope that can resemble a bush fire 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0091

DSC_0092

DSC_0093

 

But first I’ll make a cup of hot cocoa and something to eat.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0099

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    HI Christer! Nothing worse than animals that jump out in the dark onto the road…..good thing you were able to avoid them….I love your pictures today. Those trees are incredibly tall!! I just love the red cottages against the white of the snow, very magickal!! We had our coldest day of the week yesterday, now it is supposed to stabilize. We are due some snow overnight and into tomorrow. There are bare patches under trees and I don’t like that, the trees need as much moisture as possible and I worry that the roots will die. I am going to start sprouting seeds too, but these ones are to eat! 🙂 Have a good evening!

    February 5, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      And why did the first one have to run towards my car 🙂 🙂 I sometimes think they all are suicidal 🙂

      Those pines are perhaps 30 meters high, the entire forest around my cottage isn’t older than 50 years, the ground was so poor that it not even were good enough to have cattle gracing on it 🙂

      Our cottages (but none of thes etodays are cottages to be honest, they are stables and sheds 🙂 🙂 ) with their red colors reallu shines in this white world.

      So far the coldest we’ve had is -7. They had predicted around -14 as coldest but I don’t cpmplain 🙂

      Bare poatches? Do You mean no grass or anything else growing there? If so that’s just as the trees like it, no competition for water and nutricions. Some trees, like the walnuts have poisonous leafs that kill anything that grows beneath it so nothing there will be able to take anything the tree wants for itself. So there should be no riskfor the trees at all.

      Too early to start vegetables here, perhaps tomatos and peppers but the rest will have to wait since we never know for how long winter will stay.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 5, 2015 at 8:46 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi again! Sorry, I should have been more specific. Bare patches under the trees meaning no snow, so the ground has no insulation. I worry about the roots on the trees too vulnerable with no snow. But hopefully today and tomorrow we will get enough to cover the patches. I wish I could plant a walnut tree but our growing zone is not warm enough. Depending on which garden catalogue I read – we are either zone 3a/b or 2. Not great for growing….

        February 6, 2015 at 4:51 pm

      • If it is local trees I doubt theeir roots will be damaged, most trees also have roots that go very deep and they don’t drink any water when it as as cold as You have had it. Deciduous trees stop drinking water when the temperature drops to 0C and some conifers continues to drink water down to -5C. Our parts of the world are actually deserts during winter.

        It’s nice to know someone with a worse zone than I have 🙂 4a-4b is my zone 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        February 6, 2015 at 7:01 pm

  2. jaz

    sounds like hare suicide to me! i have a whole setup in my garage to start seeds and really should do that this year. maybe tomorrow i can get it together to order seeds. i haven’t done this much in the past so i should get serious about it. it is so cold here! way below zero, i’ve lost count!

    February 6, 2015 at 12:10 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      It sure feels like it when it almost happens 🙂

      I usually sow perennials and trees/ bushes since I toss them out into the cold after a few days 🙂 I do sow a few annuals indoors and tomatos but I tend to sow directly at the place when it’s warm enough in early spring.

      It’s above 32 here today! This was supposed to be the coldest day in a year but changed to a warm one instead 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 3:21 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love that third from the end photo of the single tree in front of the building. It’s almost monochromatic except that one can see the red on the building. (Note that I am not saying what I think the building is. Don’t want to repeat calling someone’s home a barn. 🙂 )

    It seems you have suicidal hares. Although, if you had your headlights on, the hare that came toward you may have been lamp blind and not seen you at all. The second hare has no excuse.
    Here we have suicidal chipmunks. Much harder to see because they are very small. Just a tiny dark blob with a sticky-up tail speeding across the road as fast as possible.

    It snowed again today. They are saying it will snow all weekend and into next Tuesday. Might be 6 inches between Saturday and Sunday and an unknown but probably big amount for Monday/Tuesday. Depends on how fast the storm strengthens and where it tracks. This is beginning to look like the record winter we just had a few years ago. I’m not pleased. :/

    Enjoy the evening.

    February 6, 2015 at 2:54 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      A wise decision 🙂 🙂 🙂 That is my favorite shed and it looks like it is forgotten somewhere in the forest but it isn’t 🙂 It stands just beside a house but I love to photograph it so the house doesn’t show 🙂

      Yes tyat first one was probably lamp blind but that doesn’t excuse that it jumped in the same direction I turned 🙂 🙂 🙂 The second one was just stupid 🙂 Cats are worst here, they always wait until the last second and then throw themselves in front of the car 🙂 Teodor is one of the worst of all, he jumps out just like the others and then he runs in front of the car until he reach the cottage and suddenly turn left. He scares my neighbors every day like that 🙂 We don’t have chipmunks here and voles tend to stay where they are in the ground 🙂

      We actually had sunshine for a while, it hurt my eyes when I went outside after work 🙂 Our weather will be very mixed when it comes to temperatures this coming week, I wish the weather could decide what it wants to do 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 3:30 pm

  4. Det är hemskt om man skulle bli tvungen att köra över ett djur! 😦 Här in träffar det ganska ofta att man ser vårt landskapsdjur igelkotten överkörd. Vilket är lite förvånande, dom går ju så sakta över vägen!? 😦 😦 Och vänner till oss låg bakom en bil som med flit (!!!) körde över en. Dom följde efter bilen och när den stannade så visade det sig vara en vanlig man med fru och barn i bilen!? Våra vänner blev helt chockade, men inget förvånar en längre…… 👿
    KRAM
    Susie

    February 6, 2015 at 1:38 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag hatar att köra på ett djur, tack och lov har det inte hänt så ofta. Det är faktiskt fåglar som flyger in i bilen som händer oftast här, de tror de skall hinna före men gör inte det. Annars är det rävungar och grävlingar man ser oftast som överkörda här, tack och lov har jag klarat mig undan från det.

      Det måste ju varit fel i huvudet på den föraren!!! Inte helsike kan man göra sådant med flit om man inte är skadad i hjärnan. Fast sjuka idioter finns det tyvärr gott om.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

