Snow is a too good insulation.

DSC_0020

Today was supposed to be the coldest day this winter, so is anyone surprised if I say we have above 0C (32F) temperatures and a lot of sunshine today 🙂 🙂 The sunshine hurt my eyes when I went out after work, it is so seldom we see it now days that I think we might be turning to nocturnal creatures now 🙂

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0026

 

I was hoping this cold weather would have frozen the bog enough so we could take a walk on it for once but the thick snow is a too good insulation so it didn’t take long until both Sune and Nova broke through the ice and seconds after it was my turn to do it 🙂 There are no deep holes where we were supposed to walk so we could have kept on walking but my rubber boots leak and the dogs get so muddy that I thought it best to turn back anyway. I have to say I feel disappointed. 

 

DSC_0027

The snow started to fall from the branches as the sun started to heat up the air and a weak wind started to shake the trees.

The snow started to fall from the branches as the sun started to heat up the air and a weak wind started to shake the trees.

DSC_0029

 

I think we’ll walk upstream the creek tomorrow morning after a cold night and this time I’ll find the good wooden bridge so that we can go out on the bog that way instead, my neighbor says the ground is less filled with water down there and we might even get close to the little lake. It all depends on how well Hector’s legs can manage to walk in deep snow, he has had some problems this year when the snow has been a bit deep. I can always go to the lake when ever I want to anyway, Hector is more important.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

So close but still so far away. If we only had managed to reach the huntinbg tower we could have walked quite far on the bog without sinking through the ice again. I can't remember when the bog was this filled with water.

So close but still so far away. If we only had managed to reach the huntinbg tower we could have walked quite far on the bog without sinking through the ice again. I can’t remember when the bog was this filled with water.

 

I’m so tired today that if it hadn’t been so late in the day I would have taken a nap but I fear that if I do I won’t wake up until late tonight instead 🙂 So I’ll make myself a big pot with cocoa, a sandwich or two and then fall asleep in front of the tv, it’s so uncomfortable that I can’t sleep for too long there 🙂

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    HI Christer! Well, I for one am not surprised. “They” usually get the predictions wrong…. 🙂 We are currently snowing and will snow now for a couple of days. I have to admit the weather will be decent – keeping at around -15 or so. Not too bad. Its when the sun comes out and the wind picks up is when it makes for bitter cold days. Sorry to hear your boots leak – that is one of the worst feelings in the world! I love the snowflake picture and of course cat pictures always make me smile! Such a pretty boy!! I hope you were able to get a nap in but have enough energy for the evening! Have a good one!

    February 6, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I don’t think anyone of us is surprised 🙂

      I have seen a few flakes here but nothing much thankfully but it looks like we’re going to have a foggy night.

      As long as the wind doesn’t blow -15 isn’t that bad but even the tiniest wind will change that to a frrezing hell 🙂

      I’ve known this for somew time but just forgot to buy new ones, wet and cold feet aren’t nice at all 🙂

      Bertil is kind enough to allow me to photograph him, his brother can be rather difficult to catch 🙂

      No nap so it will be an early night here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 6:57 pm

  2. Robin Larkspar

    Getting snowblinded is painful. Like your area, we don’t see too much sun in winter. There is well over 2 and half feet on the ground right now, and very frigid temps. Too bad the bog hasn’t frozen. Bertil is looking very well.

    February 6, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes it was painful for a while 🙂
      We only got 8 inches as most and now it has started to melt away again. Winter is far from over so we’ll most likely get more befor it’s over.

      Bertil is for once not hurt in any fight 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 7:04 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! sometime could you tell how old your little family is? i am sure you’ve mentioned it but i can’t remember. we are an awful lot colder than you are but we are supposed to be in the 40’s by sunday. maybe some of our ice will finally melt though they are calling for another ice storm on monday. joyce

    February 6, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Orvar and Hector are on their eleventh year (in September), Bertil and Teodor must be around 5 and so is Nova (will be 6 in September). Sune will be three this April.

      The temperature will jump up and down every day fromnow on, only tomorrow will be cold all day. Winter is far from over so it can still be very cold and we can still get lots of snow I’m afraid.

      Haven’t You have unusually many ice storms now?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 6, 2015 at 7:08 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    Come on over and visit. My world is filled with ice. The side streets are rutted ice, and even small inclines are difficult to get over. The worst is yet to come as we will be having a storm starting Sunday and lasting through Tuesday. My sister is getting around 15 inches, but they are not sure how many I will get as it may start out a rain-snow mix.

    Last night was freezing. With the wind chill, it was -10. Today was just a bit better. As of the end of January, we were way below our usual snow amount. Now we are well above. This has been a horrible January.

    Stay warm!

    February 7, 2015 at 4:09 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ll do that as soon as our snow has melted away 🙂 The night was supposed to be cold but it wasn’t so I could hear how the water was dripping from the rioofs nbow when I opened the door for the dogs. I guess it’s stupid to hope it’ll all have melt away from the roads till Monday morning when I’m driving to work again 🙂

      It has been unusually warm here all winter, we almost sunk to normal ones last week but never really made it 🙂 Well winter is far from over here but it can just as well stay warm now.

      Have a great day!’
      Christer.

      February 7, 2015 at 6:54 am

  5. Både igår och idag har vi haft bra väder. Ja, idag faktiskt otroligt bra; Strålande sol och + 2 grader så nu bör snön vi fick i veckan smälta undan lite. Vilket både är bra och dåligt! Dåligt, eftersom jag det då blir så skitigt att man måste skölja av hela Santos så fort man varit ute en sväng. Bra, för att då kanske vi närmar oss våren! 😀
    M en idag ska vi roa oss med en liten skogs- eller strandprommis. Det senare om det inte blåser alldeles för mycket, vilket det varnats för. Men precis som du skriver, förmodligen är det jättelugnt och skönt istället! 🙄
    TREVLIG HELG ❤
    Susie

    February 7, 2015 at 10:46 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Sol och nästan +5 här idag och det blev aldrig särskilt kallt under natten så nu smälter snön rätt fort. Men det finns ju gott om det 🙂 Våren kommer inte än på ett tag 🙂 det är långt kvar tinnan vintern ger upp 🙂

      Vinden är inte stark här men den biter så jag har försökt hålla mig i lä när vi promenerat, men inte lyckats så bra 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 7, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Leave a Reply

