The sun is shining!

We started to walk the usual way to the creek but turned back again since they were going to hunt hares.

We started to walk the usual way to the creek but turned back again since they were going to hunt hares.

I was late going on our walk this morning which turned out to be a good thing since the hunters came, a bit late too actually. I didn’t come far until the hunting leader approached me and asked if I could walk elsewhere today since they would walk around in a bigger area than usual. I really don’t mind so we walked in to the village instead. They also told me that they’ll stop hunting February 15 since that’s the last day they can hunt hare.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

There might be an occasional hunt for wild hogs after that date though but so far nothing was planned. I have to admit that I thought they would give up early as they usually do but they are still going on even if some of the hunters have given up. I had hoped that we would be able to walk to the bog on our second walk but since they still are out there I thought there was no use in bringing any digital camera if we walked through the village again, so I brought the Hasselblad instead.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

Perhaps I should have brought one with me because I suddenly realised that we hadn’t walked to the little lake north to the village for quite some time. The sun was shining and it was 5C (41F) in the shadow so the snow started to melt rather quickly. There were lots of branches on the ground and prone to fall as I am I naturally did fall πŸ™‚ My right foot got caught beneath a branch and when I tried to get rid of it I blocked my left leg with the branch πŸ™‚ I can tell You that the ground still is very soft and I didn’t feel a thing when I landed on my knees πŸ™‚Β 

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

DSC_0040

 

The wind that blows are rather nasty and sort of semi strong so my scarf kept flying around all the time but I was so glad I used it.Β But as soon as we went in to the forest it made me so warm I felt like I was boiling πŸ™‚ but that’s better than freezing after all. I have also vacuumed my cottage and scrubbed all floors, it feels so nice to walk barefoot on newly washed floors and here it lasts for a day as most, that’s life when having four dogs πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0045

 

They say we’ll have sunshine tomorrow as well and that it will be slightly colder, so I won’t be surprised if it gets warmer and starts to rain πŸ™‚ I hope the hunters stay away tomorrow so we finally can walk up to the bog again! I really want to find that other bridge that they say is in good condition.

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

Jesus ( the second from left) and his friends.

Jesus ( the second from left) and his friends.

 

It’s time to feed the dogs and after that I’ll feed myself too. Tonight they show Grimm on channel six and after that I think I’ll watch a dvd because it is way too early to go to bed at 7pm πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Jesus has a lot of friends. They all look bigger than he is.

    Many lovely photographs today. I like the one with the old shed next to the lonely pine. The wall has such interesting weathering on it. And of course I love the shaggy ponies and the shaggy cattle. The cattle are looking at you as if to say “What do you want, human?” I used to board my horse at a barn that had beef cattle with exactly that attitude. πŸ™‚ I think they learned it from the coyotes.

    The dogs and I managed to get outside early enough to catch the fleeting sunshine we had this morning. It was also warm as long as I was behind a big snow drift and couldn’t feel the wind.
    I saw two American robins in the back yard. They are supposed to be harbingers of spring but they actually hang around all winter so no hope there. 😦 The forecast is for several days of snow. It’s very cloudy now and looks like it might start any minute. I think I will refuse to shovel any of it anymore. I will just wade through it.

    Enjoy the day and I hope the hunters leave so you can find the bridge.

    February 7, 2015 at 4:42 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      He does but there aren’t twelve of them yet πŸ™‚ There are a few slightly bigger ones that think they are too cool to play with the younger ones πŸ™‚

      The walls of that shed were red when I moved here and that’s nice but now those walls look interesting instead and that’s better πŸ™‚

      Highland cattle calves are truly cute πŸ™‚ I think they were more interested in the dogs than me though, perhaps it’s the first time they see dogs, there aren’t too many around and the hunting dogs mostly run around in my part of the village.

      So You’ll get even more snow! I actually showeled away some here today, mostly because if it gets colder again I’ll be walking around on ice instead πŸ™‚ I fall too often as it is anyway πŸ™‚ It’s amazing how much difference even a weak wind does! Our Robins rarely stay over winter but some stay longer if the autumn is long and warm.

      I too hope they’ll stay away tomorrow, it would be nice to show some photos that shows something different for once πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 7, 2015 at 4:54 pm

      • Caryn

        It started snowing. Supposed to snow until Tuesday. I am very displeased with Mother Nature right now. :/

        February 7, 2015 at 7:38 pm

      • Wev are suddenly having a storm here! I’m a bit surprised since it’s way up north but we seems to have gotten some of it too. The gusts are so hard my little cottage trembles. I think the wind has changed direction some because at the moment I can just hear it roaring, I hope it stays that way!

        February 7, 2015 at 9:37 pm

  2. Robin Larkspar

    Darn those hunters.

    February 7, 2015 at 6:40 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      They were very polite when asking me to walk elsewhere and I didn’t mind but I didn’t expect them to go on the entire day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 7, 2015 at 6:56 pm

  3. jaz

    everyone is getting snow except me! a huge storm is going just north of us and all we are going to get is rain. i guess it is time for me to give up on winter for this year!

    February 7, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The only one that really wants it doesn’t get it πŸ™‚
      Well, February isn’t over yet but I guess the chance of You getting any real winter is minimal now. Westill have at least the entire Mars when it is winter too but it looks as if winter’s giving up here too. The predictions says we’ll get it warmer again from tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 8, 2015 at 6:27 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Chiming in late to the party today! Had my niece and nephew for the day then the whole family for dinner tonight. So the morning was cleaning and cooking. I too mopped my floors today – we had four dogs too! Our three and their dog. Full house! Its now going on 8:30 pm and I am sure you are sleeping soundly! πŸ™‚ I think there is nothing wrong with going to bed at 7 p.m. πŸ™‚ Some nights I am so tired I’d like to but manage to stay up for at least another hour. πŸ™‚ Such great pictures today, and just look at Jesus growing big, alongside all his friends! I hope your Sunday will be good – I am going to make carrot muffins tomorrow.

    February 8, 2015 at 3:29 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      That’s the only thing I like about snow, the dogs stay clean and so does my floors πŸ™‚

      I think I woke up for a few minutes around when You wrote here but normally I sleep πŸ™‚ That’s way too early even for me πŸ™‚ The problem going to bed that erly is that I’ll wake up even earlier than normal, I usually wake up at 5 am. It wouldn’t matter in summer when it is daylight almost the entire time but now it would be just boring πŸ™‚

      Yes he is growing a lot now πŸ™‚

      The wind is howling and roaring and it’s -5, our morning walk will be nasty I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 8, 2015 at 6:33 am

  5. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Seems like we are not the onky folks getting more snow and would be happy to share some with others. It’s not that we don’t enjiy it, as we do, but after getting 33 inches first, then 12 inches a week later, then another 3 inches we have plenty here in NH. And, we are in the process of what forecasters now call a multi-day snow event ehich could bring up to 12 inches more.
    Enjoyed seeing the cattle and horses whi did not seem to mind the winter weather.

    February 9, 2015 at 3:03 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is odd that You get all that snow and we’re getting spring temperatures! 48 inches with snow is an awful lot! We’ll get warm for a few days more but nights will still stay cold.

      I would appreciate if You kept the snow, I like it rather much when we don’t have any πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

