It gives hope.

DSC_0020

It is below 0C (32F) but the sun is shining and it gets so warm on the south side of the cottage that the snow melts away rapidly now, it’s actually so warm in the sunshine that I was thinking of going outside while drinking a pot of tea. I would have if it wasn’t for the nasty wind but at least it gives hope of a spring coming to us in a hopefully not too far future. It started yesterday evening and the wind was so strong that my cottage trembled in the gusts.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

The wind changed direction slightly after a while so the night was calm anyway. I could hear the wind howl and roar and slept like a baby during the night, I usually do when the storms blows. Still this was just at the edge of the storm, it was much, much worse way up north. The Swedish parts of the Eurovision Song Contest started yesterday and I was watching the program when the wind blew as worst. Like always my sister and I was texting to each other during the competition but I had so bad signals that my text messages had problems reaching her, they all came at the same time 🙂

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

The show was so bad yesterday that I’m not sure I’ll watch the coming ones. They tend to start this with the best songs and these were so bad that I wonder how bad the ones were that didn’t make it to the programs 🙂 They usually get a couple of thousands songs to choose from every year. 

 

This is how it looked where we mostly walked, not much to show but there was less snow on the ground beneath the trees.

This is how it looked where we mostly walked, not much to show but there was less snow on the ground beneath the trees.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

The wind was still rather nasty this morning when we went out for our morning walk but we walked in to the forest where the wind couldn’t reach us. We followed the creek up streams to get to the bridge that lead to the bog. The snow was rather difficult to walk on, it’s the kind that is slippery if You understand how I mean. We reached one of the better bridges but not the best one, I could see that there was water beneath the snow in some places but couldn’t figure out if it just was melt water from yesterday or if it was a ditch beneath it. so I turned home instead.

 

The hunting tower, not far to the better bridge.

The hunting tower, not far to the better bridge.

Not this one though :-)

Not this one though 🙂

DSC_0037

 

Hector was tired after walking in that snow, it was fairly deep too and I had barely turned around to walk homewards when Orvar started to run in that direction, it looks like he was tired of it all and wanted to get home fast 🙂 But it was quite nice walking around out of winds reach and we met my neighbors when we came home after one and a half hour, they were just about to walk the same way as we had 🙂

 

I couldn't see if thay had put a net to prevent sliding of the bridge on this one.

I couldn’t see if thay had put a net to prevent sliding of the bridge on this one.

The yellow sign says bridge number 1. I'm not sure I would call that bridge :-)

The yellow sign says bridge number 1. I’m not sure I would call that bridge 🙂

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

 

I’ve done my laundry and now it hangs on my patio to dry in the warm sunshine and strong winds. The fire is burning in the stove and soon I’ll watch some ski biathlon on tv before we go out again.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Glad to hear there was no damage from the winds. Sometimes winds can blow so greatly that things fall over or get torn off of buildings. For us on the Canadian prairies, we usually have wind as there is nothing to shelter it away but a sure sign of spring is when the winds pick up and never stop! 🙂 We are cold this morning, -22 and the direct north wind makes it feel like -29. It is cloudy too so I am not sure what the day will bring. I am watching the chickadees feeding at the feeder and they are very busy. I hope that is not a sign that it is going to get really cold. I hope you enjoy the skiing – I am going to have a restful day I think. Have a good Sunday evening!

    February 8, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m glad too but the real storm was way up north so I don’t understand why the wind was so hare here. Warm winters always means a loit of wind and especially strong storms here, it all calms down when spring arrives 🙂

      We’ve had a really pleasant day, as long as I stayed out of the wind 🙂 The sun heated up the air so much that I walked around with an open jacket for long periods! Can’t remember when that happened in February the last time 🙂

      I think it is more a sign of very little food in the wild 🙂

      I did enjoy the skiing and today a Canadian came in sixth, his best competition ever 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 8, 2015 at 3:53 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    There might not have been much to see on your walk but there was lovely water and shards of thin ice. And the chuckle of BRO 1. 🙂

    It does not sound as if the Eurovision song contest will be worthwhile watching but there might be some surprises. It could also be the Sharknado of talent contests; so horribly bad it’s funny.

    It’s snowing here. Surprise, surprise. I’ve removed the first 6 inches from the front walkway and widened the outlet to the street. The dogs will have to punt. It will snow until Tuesday. There’s another storm forecast for the weekend along with Arctic cold. Really. I expect to see Polar Bears in the yard any day now. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    February 8, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Lots of water and the water level is so hgh now that the ground was uncomfortably soft even a yard away from the water 🙂 I did laugh when I saw that sign 🙂 🙂

      I can only hope that it will be a sharknado competition this year 🙂 It was so bad yesterday but still not enough to be funny 🙂

      We’ll have cold nights and warm days here according to the predictions, how strange that You have the winter and we not! Well I’m not complaining really 🙂 Please take a photo when the polar bears arrive 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 8, 2015 at 4:21 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    Christer! The photos of all the little streams are beautiful. I love looking at them, and would love to walk by them. Sune is so grown up now, and like your other dogs, looks happy and busy! And the Queen of the Universe, as always, is quite lovely and photogenic. Such great photos today!!(well, such great photos every day, really)!!

    February 8, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I love walking there but the snow made it a bit difficult for Hector with his bad legs. I wouldn’t mind if it got cold again after the snow has melted away so the ground got hard and we could walk even where the ground is soaked, that’s not possible at the moment.

      The queen of the universe walks without a leash more and more now, so far we’ve been lucky in not meeting any hares 🙂

      Yes Sune look so grown up now but he isn’t in his mind 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 8, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  4. jaz

    we had almost 60 degrees today. unreal! at least the ice melted. we had strong winds too. oh well, i guess i should start planning my gardens and get on with the next season!

    February 9, 2015 at 12:21 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      We had 48,9F here troday so the roads were rather good to drive on when I drove home 🙂 We still have loits of snow here in the village though.

      It’s too early for me to think about annuals and vegetables yet, well I eed to sow tomatos now though but the rest vcan wait. I’ll get more in to it at the beginning of Mars I guess.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 6:11 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    I’m glad you’re getting warm days but I am jealous. Spring seems so far away with the weather we’ve had for the past two weeks. Luckily, though, we didn’t get the snow north of us is getting.

    The birds were singing this morning so maybe they are more hopeful than I that spring will come.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    February 9, 2015 at 2:11 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Today was spring warm 🙂 The ice on most parts of the roads had melted away, it was a pure joy to drive home today 🙂 but it is odd that we’re having warm weather and You the cold!

      Still long to spring here, April as best I guess unless the climate has gone fully wild 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 6:13 pm

  6. Var uruselt Melodifestivalen var! 😦 😦 😦 Inte en enda bra låt, den enda som var minst dålig var den första – och den blev naturligtvis utslagen. Fast jag hörde inte hela utan såg bara kortversionen. Jag orkade inte titta på skräpet från början utan hoppade in i slutet. Ska inte titta på fortsättningen om det finns nått annat – bra – att se istället. 😦 😦
    Igår utlovades vi fint väder, men blåsigt och det senare stämde. Vi hade halv storm och samtidigt så snöade det lite. Så fint kan jag inte hålla med om. Alltså skötte sig SMHI precis som vanligt! -(
    Men idag – då har vi haft lite sol, vindstilla (äntligen) och +5,5 grad. Inte illa! 🙂
    I helgen har jag roat mig med är att tömma våra bokhyllor. Vi har MASSOR av böcker som samlar en hel del damm, så jag bestämde mig för att tömma en del av dom. Började med den jättestora över skönlitteratur och fick ihop 6 jättestora papperskassar. Rolle fick ta 3 av dom igår till Katthemmets loppis och fick två deckare med sig hem. Ska åka med dom andra 3 idag.
    Sen började jag idag med deckarhyllorna och nu har jag fått ihop 5 fulla påsar som jag inte ens orkar lyfta. Ska ta med dom till Visbys Katthem på torsdag. Vill inte ha dom på loppisen här, då finns ju risken att man köper tillbaka någon bok! *fniss*
    Men…sen har vi väl en samling på 2-3 meter SF som vi förmodligen ska göra oss av med. Du läser ju sånt, är du intresserad? Vi vill inte ha något betalt, men jag vet att böcker är tungt så du får själv bekosta frakten i sådant fall. 😕

    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 9, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Samma här, det var första låten som var nåpgot att ha resten var ju ren skräp! Jag undrar hur illa de var som intre kom med 🙂 🙂 🙂 Jag och min syster har ju seden att sms:a till varandra under tävlingen, med inte allt för snälla kommentarer om deltagarna, så jag måste nog kika på alla låtarna första gången, sedan kan jag byta kanal 🙂

      Riktigt vårväder här idag, solsken, ingen vind och 9,4C! Synd att jag inte är så rik att jag slipper jobba 🙂

      Tack för erbjudandet man jag har samma problem som ni 🙂 Har så mycket böcker att de inte får plats någonstans utan ligger i pappkassar över hela stugan 🙂 🙂 🙂 Jag måste göra som ni och skänka bort en hel massa böcker för de samlar bara damm där de är. Tack i alla fall för SF böcker är något jag verkligen gillar!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Leave a Reply

