Too bad I have to work on days like this!

DSC_0046

I went out on my lunch break to go to the grocery store because I had forgotten to make dinner at home yesterday and I also forgot to order any at work. Guess if I got surprised when it was so warm that I only had to wear a t-shirt! The sun was shining, the wind absent and the birds singing. I looked at my thermometer when I came home and it had been 9,4C (48,9F) as warmest today! The sun doesn’t reach the thermometer this time of year so it did show the correct temperature.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

The weather will be just as lovely tomorrow so it’s almost that I wish I was sick and had to stay at home 🙂 🙂 🙂 The ice on the roads had almost melted away completely except for a few places where the sun doesn’t reach, so it was a joy to drive home after work. It won’t be long now until I have daylight when coming home from work 🙂 Already on Thursday it will go down at 4:55 pm and that means I most likely will have some daylight left when I step out of my car here at home 🙂 It won’t be long until we only have a few hours of darkness during the night 🙂

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

I heard the fox barking in its strange way when I came home, I’m so glad it stayed away from the hunters because the land owner had finally given in to the other hunters. But I heard the fox so I’m, glad to say it is too smart for the hunters 🙂 I can’t for my life understand why they want to hunt fox?! They can’t eat it, they can’t sell the fur and it keeps the amount of mice, rats and voles to a minimum and to be honest, foxes are truly beautiful!

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

It is time for something to eat and perhaps a pot of tea, it is just too warm for cocoa today 🙂

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Sílvia Pazzinatto

    Мне нравится следить за вашей повседневной жизни. Спасибо за обмен эти моменты настолько уникален …

    February 9, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    • Hi Sílvia!

      I’m glad You like it here 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 11, 2015 at 6:12 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You’re having my winter and I want it back. 🙂

    Here we are in the midst of Winter Storm Marcus, I think they have called it. I refuse to accept that winter snowstorms have names. Call me old fashioned but it’s just not right. If you give something a name, it tends to hang around. This one isn’t even a real blizzard. It’s just a big, slow, snow-dumping event.

    I can sort of understand an old-style English or American fox hunt. You get to ride horses really fast across the fields and through the woods and over the walls and you get to see fox hounds and terriers do what they were bred to do. Merely walking around in the woods, looking for a fox in order to shoot it is just not very dramatic. How pedestrian. 🙂
    Of course nowadays the part of the fox is usually played by a human dragging a cloth soaked in fox scent. Or the fox is a coyote and coyotes don’t play the part very well. They are not foxy smart. They are fast, though, so it makes for exciting runs.

    I’m watching the snow pile up again. It was big fat flakes for a few hours. Now it is tiny flakes. Doesn’t matter. It’s all white crap.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 9, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Sorry! Finders keepers 🙂 🙂 I’m very happy with this weather right now 🙂

      They tend to name even the weakest wind now days but mostly they just cal it the Norwegian storm or Russian snowe storm. I have to admit that I didn’t think storms had nationalities 🙂

      Even though the English/ American fox hunt is really cruel to the fox I do understand what You mean. These guys just sit there waiting for a fox to be scared enough to leave its burrow. They really used the wrong kind of dog for both foxes and hares, they used at least one Labrador retriever?! Well the dogs sounded to have fun but I doubt it was too successful 🙂

      The night is clear so I might go ouytside to watch the stars leter on, it’s so warm I’ll only wear a sweater 🙂

      Have a great day in the snow!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 7:19 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Your weather is incredible! I can only wish that for us…but we are still at least 2 months away from anything remotely warm. I love foxes too, they are beautiful. We can sell the fur here, but I don’t condone killing of any kind. I prefer Nature to take its course and let animals die when its their time. You are right, they keep the vermin down. If anything the hunters should hunt the mice and voles…..that would make me happy! 🙂 We are cloudy today and cold but not frigid. Tomorrow will see a nice -5 but then we get nasty again. Welcome to Canada! Well, all of Canada is not like this, just us and the two provinces to the right of us. 🙂 Have a good evening!!!

    February 9, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      This is very unusual but I’ll enjoy it for as long as it lasts 🙂 Normally this is the time of year when it’s -30 here, I can’t remember that it ever has been this warm in February for as long as I’ve lived.

      It isn’t possible to sell the fur here and I’ve never heard of anu hunter wearing a fox fur 🙂 They claim the foxes takes too many deer younglings but ten again, that’s their job. Hunters are more and more quationed here, people ask what the use is to have hunters when we’re getting back the wolves, wolverines and bears. No one needs to hunt for their survival any longer so most people think that the animals should be left alone. I would love to see hunters pointing their guns towards the ground shooting voles and rats 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2015 at 9:10 pm

  4. jaz

    we are really having similar winters except for the ice. i have had much more than you have. i love foxes and would hate to see any killed. the kids gobbled the banana pudding! there was not a drop left!

    February 10, 2015 at 12:31 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes You’ve had much more ice than we have but we’ve a a bit more snow instead.

      I just can’t see how they can justify a fox hunt, they do much more good than harm, if any harm to be honest. they simply just wasnt to kill them because like like to kill them.

      I so understnd those kids 🙂 🙂 🙂 That is my absolute favorite dessert 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 10, 2015 at 6:25 pm

  5. Christer,
    You are so much warmer there than here. We, however, are warmer than Boston as it is raining, and they have snow. The three day storm has left rain then snow then rain and more snow. I am mostly afraid it will turn to ice.

    We also have foxes, and they are beautiful. I see them every now and then crossing the road. I don’t know if there is still a hunting season here. There used to be a deer season.

    Sorry you can’t skip work to enjoy the day. Maybe it will still be lovely when you get home.

    Have a great day!

    February 10, 2015 at 4:32 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It was almost as warm today but it will drop from now on. It will stay above 32F during days though. I really don’t mind if it got cold though, it is afterall only early February yet. But I don’t want snow, rain or storms 🙂

      The deer season is over, the hares continues to Feb. 15 and the foxes are unfortunately allowed until Mars 31st. But I know they’ll stop hunting here after next weekend unless it’s wild hogs they want. Foxes are so beautiful and take so many rats, mice and voles it should be forbidden to hunt them at all!

      I don’t have any vacationdays left to take 🙂 I’ll get more in Mars or April, can’t remember which 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 10, 2015 at 6:34 pm

  6. Robin Larkspar

    I have never understood fox hunts, with people on horses and a mob of dogs chasing a fox. How is that a sport?
    I love foxes, I think they are beautiful and interesting.
    I wish you had not bragged about wearing a t-shirt on a sunny day. It is frigid here, and very deep snow.

    February 10, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      They don’t hunt fox that way here and never has thankfully. It’s forbidden even in Britain to hunt fox that way now days because it is cruel to the animal. Here they just sit and wait for the dogs to chase them out of their burrow or by the fields so the dogs chase them out there. No matter which I think it is wrong!

      It was almost as warm today but temperatures will drop from now on but still stay above 32F during days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 10, 2015 at 6:37 pm

  7. I have always gotten upset at Fox hunting. I don’t understand it either. I mean why Fox? Even as a little girl I hated hearing about Fox hunts.

    February 11, 2015 at 5:30 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I guess back in the days when everyone needed their hens and perhaps rabbits a fox could destroy their lives if it killed all of the animals but now days none of us relöy on our own hen and rabbits to survive. So they just want to kill something, that’s the only reason I can think of!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 11, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Leave a Reply

